We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal
Nearby Hotels
US$312
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$389
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$369
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (10,629)
Filter reviews
10,629 results
Traveller rating
6,544
2,619
848
362
256
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,544
2,619
848
362
256
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnack bardolce vitainfinity poola la carte restaurantsfishdon pablofrutos del marakumal buffetother resortsbutler serviceakumal sectiontulum ruinsmain lobbyshow tableactivities pooladults only sectioncancun airport
Filter
Updating list...
5,629 - 5,634 of 10,629 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stepping into the room I knew right away that I could smell mold! When we were there in may, 2012, it was the beginning of the rain season, granted it rained mostly in the evening, but all 3 resorts were flooding, not only very dangerous, but showed how little maintenance if any at all is done on these resorts! We had to be moved to different rooms because there was a flood in our room. I must say, I was disappointed in this resort, especially since i have done some traveling. This is not a 5 star by any means. Save your money, don't go here!k

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yukongal53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdirectorbpaku, General Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Dear Mr/Mrs:

On behalf of Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya, we are grateful to receive your comments and suggestions from your experience in our complex.
All comments and criticism are well accepted because our clients are the most important value in our chain. On behalf of the General Management of the hotel, receive our most sincerest apologizes, for have not been exceed your expectative during your staying with us. However we thank you, to offer to us the opportunity to learn from this experience.

Receive our warmest regards


Alberto Hernandez
General Manager
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Hello, I just wanted to say that i just got back yesterday, we stayed june 3-10 and lets just say that we alreaday are depressed we are home, First of all, i know its alot further from the airport,but dont let that detour you from going there. We stayed at the golden section, and basically, the villas (which are 3 floored building withs about 5 rooms) are facing near the ocean. I requested a top floor, in hopes to see a better view, and upon arrival, they gave me what i wanted! I loved that first impression, rooms are soooo clean, marble sinks, jacquizzi tubs, and big big beds with nice tvs( not that you will be watching tv much). Now what we loved about this place was how effiecient everything is. The resort is HUGE let me warn you, thers about 75 villas in just the akumal resort, and you are allowed to go swim at cobas or tulums resorts and eat there. The only thing is at coba they have no beach, but there buffet has a better selection then akumals, even though akumals resort is still very good, The servers work hard and always give you what they want. They live off there tips so be nice :) Now the beach is amazing! alot of palapas for shade and beach chairs but the water is a clear green water, and is luke warm. I bough a floatie from home which i just layed all day on and the waves push you around,. The entertainment crew comes out on the beach at around 11 and they get the crowd going and get everyone into the ocean to do water areobics, and they have "the hottest men contest" which is funny, they work so hard, and then at 9pm they do indoor shows at the akumal, everynight is something different, but wow, do they put on a show, and i respect that. Advice is ask for villas 65 66 or 67, if you dont book golden section, request villa 47 its literally beside the lobby and the pool! drinks are pretty fun, they have one called the blue hummbingbird an the monkey bay, try those! Carlo at the swim up bar makes them awesome, we tipped him 5 dollars the first day, and he would have drinks ready for us right away, even if there was 10 ppl ahead of us. We swam with the dolphins, and they are so well treated and so cute! it is expensive to buy the video and pics after, but we bargained and they actually lowered there price (100 dollars for 42 photos of my and my bf and a dvd of us swimming with them), also go into playa del carmen, dont pay a taxi they will charge you 35 dollars, where as if you book with mariam(the hotel planner) they have a shopping tour, which its a airconditioned bus that picks you up at 4 and takes you there, and then the driver waits for you till 830! and its 17 dollars for round trip! sooo worth it, and be sure to pre book all your al-lar cartes, like 2 weeks in advance, email gerry hte guest service manager, and i hightly reccommened the mikado( japanese) and the arlequen(steak lobster, 5 course meal, super high end) and the le-gourmet( you have to wear pants, gentlemen no shorts :) other then that it was a amazing trip, and the good thing is on the beach, since its farther out, theres no vendors harrassing you! any questions feel free to email me!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank daniela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdirectorbpaku, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Dear daniela D;

First of all thank you for trusting the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal Resort and choosing us to enjoy your holidays. We really appreciate that you are taking the time to write us some valuable comments about your stay with us and I will pass on the comments to all the persons mentioned in your mail and all the departments involved. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort.

We believe that your comments will become very motivation for others to live an experience of life time and make a holiday dream come true, so we thank you again for have contributed and placed your positive feedback.
Hoping to have the oportunity to have you one more time among us .

Warmest Regards

Gabriela Velazquez
Public Relation Manager
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

A large group of us (14) stayed at this hotel in Feb 2012. We were all very impressed. Food was better than other resorts we have tried before, and service was good. Plenty to do at the resort. Bar staff work their butts off! Only complaint is that the distance from the airport is long. 90min bus ride. Also distance to Playa del Carmen is 30 mins. Check out Akumal beach. A 10 min bus ride and a free attraction. Swim with giant turtles. Very cool.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ilove2travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdirectorbpaku, Public Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Dear ilove2travel77:

First of all kinds regards from Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, your home in the Mexican Caribbean. Thank you so much for your comments, we at Gran Bahia principe Akumal are 100% orientated to customer satisfaction, reason why it makse us very proud of our staff and the management when we received comments like the one you kindly sent us.

Once again thank your email, hoping to see you very soon back again at your mexican home.

Kindest Regards

Gabriela Velazquez
Public Relations Manager
Gran Bahia Principe Akumalq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This is the place to snorkel and just enjoy a beautiful view of God's creation. They have great restaurants in the area too. What a great combination...

3  Thank cljay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at GBP Akumal for two weeks and returned home on tuesday and had the best two weeks ever. Im a really fussy eater but never went hungry theres so much food! The brazilian restaurant was really good all the a la carte's are good though. The drinks were not very strong but thats usually the case on all inclusive holidays, we solved this by ordering a shot of tequila and pouring it into our drinks and it works! For a couple in our twenties the night entertainment wasnt really for us but we enjoyed drinking during the day instead, if you dont want to drink a lot theres plenty of other stuff to do. The beach was lovely with hammocks. The pool near the snackbar at ackumal was lively and a good laugh but if you fancy a quieter pool theres plenty. Id reccommend going on the bar crawl the reps organise because we met loads of people, people of all ages went and met up again throughout the holiday. I cant understand how the resort recieves some bad reviews, we both loved it, its posh but not too posh that you feel out of place

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
subdirectorbpaku, Guest Relations Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2012

Dear Sashall2012:

First of all thank you for trusting the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal Resort and choosing us to enjoy your holidays. We really appreciate that you are taking the time to share some valuable comments about your stay with us, and I will pass on the comments to all l the departments involved. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality and service in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort.
Hoping to have the oportunity to host you one more time.

Warmest Regards


Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews