We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Holiday Ever!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Loved this resort! Great facilities, beautiful scenery. Excellent entertainment and food. Helpful, friendly, clean. Many pools and long beaches with plenty of shelter and chairs. Little piece of heaven. We will be back many times I'm sure!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Royal Gold section, the little extra touches were nice to have but not essential. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Joanne:

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, and then for your support and very kind words.

We are very glad to know that your vacations were memorable and unforgettable, due the great services offered in our resort.

Please do not forget to contact us before your next arrival and you will have much more memorable vacations than the last time.

Best regards from Sunny Mexico,



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,811
    2,331
    737
    307
    205
See reviews for
2,770
4,079
73
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,986)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was a little hesitant on going the "all inclusive" route (usually go to smaller, more out of the way places), but this resort really delivered an exceptional experience. The location is wonderful, almost right between the quaint town of Playa Del Carmen (highly recommend exploring, start with the beach & 5th Ave, and go from there!), and the ruins of Tulum (get there early if you don't want be constantly fighting a crowd). We also went to a Cenote very close by called Dos Ojos, absolutely blew me away, fresh water cave systems, be sure to rent a mask, most of the beauty is actually hidden from above the water....this is also the choice you should make if you are looking for a more out of the way, natural experience. No throngs of people, just the beauty of the natural wonder. The hotel itself is very pretty, very expansive. Nice beach areas which were my favorite. The south end of the resort has a little beach that had a surprising amount to see with a mask & snorkel. Highly recommend bringing your own set, so you have it any time you want. Also, the Jacuzzi Bars were a hidden little gem we really loved as well. The food & drink was plentiful, and for the most part quite good. Some of the free drinks I found had diet soda in them which I am not a fan of. I stuck to things I knew - beer, wine, tequila, margaritas....a lot of the others were a bit sugary for my taste. Lots of iguanas all over the resort, and other little animals called Coatis - raccoon type animals with long striped tails. We took a snorkeling trip to Cozumel through the onsite company - Scuba Aquatic, did not disappoint. It was one of my first true snorkeling excursions - easily accommodates a beginner or more advanced - we went to 3 beautiful sites. The "Collectivos" are a wonderful way to get cheap & easy transport to either Playa Del Carmen or Tulum (or any stop between). They are white vans that seat about 10-12, and much cheaper than a taxi, with very frequent , regular stops. Be sure to take advantage of the knowledge of the concierge - particularly if you want to do something fun off site, they offered us many wonderful suggestions to make our trip truly unique.

Room Tip: Didn't spend a lot of time there except sleeping, so not sure it matters! We were in the 6100 bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roxanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Roxanne:

It is really nice to see that you took a little bit of your time to let us know your impressions about your recent stay at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal.

We would like to thank you for your comments and observation about our food & beverage and facilities. This type of feedback helps us to measure our guest satisfaction, and to continue working hard to please our clients.

We wish we can welcome you back in the future, so do not forget to contact us before your next visit.

Kind Regards,



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I am registered blind and this was my first ever all inclusive holiday after emailing the management at the hotel to ask if my room could be next to my parents room they fulfilled the request the hotel and staff were amazing Ricardo in the main restaurant was so verry helpful and also Carmen in the entertainment bar was amazingly supportive and helpful if you only have one allonclusive holiday then book this hotel you will not be dissapointed also the food and drink was first class will deffinatley go there again many thanks for a first class stay and a wonderful holiday from christopher in Bradford Yorkshire

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chrishuby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Chris:

Thank you for this wonderful review about your resent stay at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal!

It was an honor to host you and your family, our main goal is to make of our guest's stay the best experience possible due to the quality of our services and according to their needs.

We feel glad to know that we were able to create a very good atmosphere for you. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, be sure we will pass your comments to Ricardo and Carmen, we are sure they will be happy to receive them.

Please we hope to welcome you in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact us again before your next visit.

Kindest regards!



Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Wonderful vacation! Staff were always friendly and eager to help. The resort is very large and at first was overwhelming but once settled in it was great. The food was very good. Beach was nice and the pools were nice and warm. I would recommend staying at the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winnieOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Winnie:

Grand Bahia Principe Akumal would like to thank you for trusting and for choosing our resort to spend your holidays.

We are grateful with your comments regarding your recent stay and we appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the beach area, our pools and the service received by our staff.

We hope to have a second chance to welcome you in the near future.

Kind Regards from the Mexican Caribbean



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Traveled as a family with 10 & 12 year olds. Every family member loved our week stay at Bahia Principe. We have traveled to the Mayan Riviera area numerous times and this is by far our best stay. Traveled with Apple Vacations and everything was well done. The staff is superb - courteous, respectful, and well trained. Resort is beautiful and well maintained. The building we were in was near the lobby and we were concerned about it being noisy - absolutely no noise could be heard in our suite when the doors were shut. Ocean and large beach area offer areas for swimming, snorkeling (with plenty of fish to see) and relaxing. We never had to reserve a beach chair. Kids loved the variety of pools. The on-site dolphin show was entertaining. Tennis & basketball courts were a fun distraction on a cloudy afternoon. The food was delicious and options were plentiful in the buffets. The reservation restaurants were all delicious. The large size of the resort made it enjoyable to explore all of the Bahia properties; but we were pleased to be staying at the Akumal property so that we were right on the beach.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank kay34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear TripAdvisor member:

Thank you for taking a little bit of your time to write an amazing comment about the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya!

We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed our facilities in the entire complex, the quality of our food, the rooms but overall the service provided by our entire staff, we are really committed to offer to all our visitors the best experience ever. We thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your family holidays; and we sincerely hope to host you again on your upcoming trip to Mexico.

Be sure that your kind words will be shared with the departments involved because they represent a valuable tool of motivation to our team.

Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival to make it even more special.


Warmest regards,



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We came here to elope and stayed a week. The wedding coordinator was very helpful and friendly. The food at the buffets and a la carts were wonderful (I recommend the Japanese and Brazilian restaurants). I have traveled to foreign countries & have learned not to compare places to "back home."

I had two complaints: our jacuzzi tub didn't work (which is the whole reason I paid for the upgrade). And the one hour time limit for wifi is ridiculous. I found out on the last day we could have paid for a week of unlimited service. I wish we had been told that at check in. We would have gladly paid.

Otherwise wonderful trip!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Erica:

It is wonderful to know that you took the time to write your recent experience at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal!

We are grateful for your kind words about our wedding team and the quality of our a la carte restaurants.

In the other hand we do apologize for the inconveniences you may have during your stay, however it is important that our guests report any situation they may encounter during their stay in order to solve it immediately, our Public Relations team and Front Desk staff are available for assisting our clients with anything they may need.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival, we will be glad to be at your service once again!

Kind regards from Mexico!


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife & I made our second visit to this resort as we liked it so much the first time. This time we were disappointed. First of all the room was very nice, although we had asked to be moved from the first one as it was so far away as my wife had some tempory mobility issues. Our first disappointment was the buffet, the first visit the buffet food & service was great, there was even a waiter who came around with an after dinner dink cart & would make Irish & Spanish coffees at the table- no more,secondly the selection & quality of the food is not what it was previously.As far as the a la cartes are concerned the best one by far was the Guormet, it really was very good, in fact I would book all 3 meals there. The $5 per day charge for the safe key in the room for a resort of this caliber is also rather cheap. The room service , bar service & beach & pool service was very good but the entertainment in the theatre &lobby was very poor compared to other resorts we have visited, too much lip synking & not enough live music. In conclusion we not visit this resort again, although we have found that the second time is never the same as the first.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the first number 5 or under.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 154943Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member:

First of all, we would like to thank you for your visit at the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal.

We are very sorry to know that we did not meet your expectations with some of our services this time, be sure we will share your comments with all the departments involved. Thanks a lot for sharing your important points of view about our services; it will be a huge tool of improvement.

We hope you can give another chance to offer you a better and unforgettable experience.

Kind regards,



Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Chetumal | Cancun Km 250, Playa Aventuras, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#6 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 758
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an no additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 758 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (no additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing