We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent resort”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at Akumal and must say it was an excellent holiday. On arrival we were upgraded free of charge to the golden section which was lovely. Check in was really quick and luggage was delivered direct to our rooms. Food selection in the buffets was amazing and did vary every day. The a la carte restaurants were also lovely. Only complaint throughout our full holiday was the lack of air con in restaurant and bars. They all do have ceiling fans but sometimes this was not enough. We were really worried about the coatis and iguanas that roam around the resort but they were not as bad as expected. Don't bother with you and won't come near you unless you offer them food which you are not supposed to do. Overall brilliant holiday and will defo return.

Room Tip: Rooms in golden are closer to pools and lobby but there is wee trains that go around the resort to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HR2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear GBP Client:

Marvelous words you have given us in your feedback, we are really happy to see you had an excellent holiday during your stay in our facilities. We appreciate the time you took to share this with the TripAdvisor community.

Your word about front desk and restaurants will be sent to the Managers of every area to recognize our effort and improve the areas needed.

Please visit us soon again, we will be so honored to be at your service.


Best regards!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,748
    2,306
    724
    301
    195
See reviews for
2,726
4,020
72
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,961)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Gran Bahia Principe is a top-notch resort! No question about it. My family and I stayed at Bahia Principe's Samana resort in Dominican Republic last year (2013) and were quite impressed. So we decided to spend this summer at another of Bahia Principe's resorts and chose Akumal.

There were minor irritations at the start of our vacation - like not getting the villa we had requested and were assured we would get it which were 65 and 66. It was a miscommunication or lack thereof. Our family of 9 (2 seniors, 2 teenagers, 5 adults) were assigned villa 71 which is located midway between the dining room/buffet and the beach. Speaking with the front desk at the Royal Golden and the front desk at Akumal lobby was like talking to the wall. The one person who was able to do something for us was Ana, the Air Transat Rep. Very helpful, super efficient person and a linguist (speaks 5 languages) got us two rooms in 68. Four of us moved and the rest remained in 71.

Food

The buffet was excellent. Bahia Principe places a high emphasis on food safety and cleanliness. On one of the days the food inspectors were there - masks and all. It was in Tulum I believe where the table of five inspectors were sitting right beside us enjoying their lunch. None of us suffered from food poisoning / stomach cramps which was one of our concerns regarding Mexico. At our briefing the first morning with Ana, she did mention not to drink tap water but it was safe to brush your teeth and shower. At the airports in Mexico you will see signs posted in English and Spanish to refrain from drinking tap water.

Internet access

Royal Golden offers free internet all day long. But in the lobby (s) you only get one free hour per day. It's important to remember that you MUST use that one free hour in ONE SITTING. If you sign in for 5mins and log off, you have essentially forfeited your remaining 55mins.

Air-Conditioning

None in the dining rooms/buffet. It can be unbearable sometimes especially during lunch hour. Even with the overhead fans you will feel the humidity although it's not so bad during breakfast and dinner. Tulum had the best air-flow - at the lobby and in the dining room. Actually all three - Akumal, Coba, and Tulum had nice aiir-flow in their lobby (s). You could just fall asleep in one of the couches

Nightly Enternainment

Not too shabby. The circus was fun to watch.


All in all we enjoyed our stay very much at Bahia Principe Akumal. We may come back next year or try another Bahia Principe resort like in Jamaica or the one in Spain.

Room Tip: The lower the number, the closer you are to the dining room/buffet. Any number in the 60's is cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Client:

Hola!!! :) We are so glad to see your comment posted on TripAdvisor!

We feel deeply grateful for your decision in staying in our hotel during your visit in Mexico and we really appreciate your kind words about our services and little observations, your feedback has been forwarded to all our staff and managers in order to keep working in the entire satisfaction of our clients.

We look forward to welcome you again is this Mayan Paradise.


Best regards!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have just returned from two weeks at this hotel ... We were upgraded to golden club had a fantastic room over looking the ocean that was spotlessly clean check in took less than ten mins & the bell boy was waiting at our room for us with our cases .. The hotel and grounds were superb everywhere was spotlessly clean for so many people there the staff were superb would do anything to help & always ad a smile on there faces we had some great laughs with George bush the barman in the amphitheatre bar, entertainment was good for all inclusive ... Food was really good plenty of choice the Brazilian alcarte & don Pablo were excellent the staff in the 24 hour snack bar were great we always called in for one on the way back to our room... We spent the first week round the pool with activeties going on all day so you never got bored the other pool is a lot quieter but that's down to personnel choice we spent the second week down at the beach which was a lot cooler if you walk to the right over the rocks ull find a deserted beach like something out of a bounty advert the sea was so clear & the fish were amazing to watch ... Thank you so much GNP for making our holiday special ...

Room Tip: Block 66 or 67
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dexter4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Dexter:

First of all, thank you for choosing us as your hosts in this beautiful paradise!!

It is great to read this amazing review regarding the service received during your recent visit to our hotel. Our mission is to exceed our guest´s expectations and we are glad to know that we accomplished this goal with you.

We look forward to welcome you back and give you another unforgetable lifetime experience.


Best regards,



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just got back from a week stay in GBP Akumal and I must say the stay was amazing! The staff was friendly and services were top notch. We were first given a room with 1 king size bed while we needed 2 double and we were promptly switched to another room the next day. Buffet food quality was more than expected and the restaurants had their share of good food. The beach was very nice but be cautious, there are plenty of rocks scattered all over the place under water. Overall a very nice stay and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ram505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Client:

We really want to thank you for taking the time to share these important comments with us and for giving us the opportunity to host you during your.

Our guests are the best supervisors that we can have. It is for great words like yours that our personal finds the motivation to keep in the good word! Thank you so much!

We hope you can come back soon to visit us, I am really sure that you will love even more your next stay.

Our best regards from your house at the Mexican Caribbean!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have just returned from this hotel after two week holiday. This was by far the best holiday I have been on. From start of holiday to the last day I could not fault anything with this resort. Rooms were spotless, cleaned every day and fridge stocked every day, also bed got turned down every other night complete with chocolates on each side. Complex was spotless, I have never seen as many staff in one complex that we're constantly working and cleaning. Nothing was a problem here staff were always helpful and friendly. Food was lovely, we had 4 restaurants to use each week but we only used 4 in total, Japanese, Brazilian, French and Italian all beautiful. Had seen other reviews saying that main restaurants were a a bit repetitive, yes they were but with the amount of food that was on offer you could have a different meal for each night you were there. Pools were gorgeous, beach was lovely but a bit rocky( take beach shoes). We got a taxi one day to paradise beach which was amazing - I have never seen a beach like it in my life, it is a must !. I only had one fault and it was some of the guests, there is a 24 hour room service facility which some guests in my block used quite often but we're leaving their dirty plates with food outside their doors which we're attracting the animals that run around complex. These should be kept in rooms and cleaner will lift in morning instead of causing a mess outside rooms. As I said this was my only problem and I can honestly say I am hoping to book same hotel fir next year - you will never go to Spain again after being here- amazing!! We stayed in villa 67 due to an upgrade which was ideal ,


Overall holiday was fantastic
Staff were spotless, helpfull, friendly and funny.

Room Tip: I was in 67 on top floor- didn't fancy ground floor with the animals about
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquelinebennett07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Jacquelin:

We thank you for have chosen our beautiful hotel to enjoy your last holidays and for taking a little bit of your time to share your experience!

It is a real pleasure to read that you had a fantastic stay, but over all that you had the chance to appreciate the comfort of our rooms and the beauty of our facilities. Your comments will be shared with our entire team to motivate us in continue creating this wonderful moments.

Please visit our paradise again, we are sure you will enjoy it even more than the first time.


Kindest regards!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Riviera Maya
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Grand Bahia Principe is a big complex with 5 different areas, which I’ll refer to as hotels, or 4+1 if you will – the Akumal one has a “prime” sub-area (no difference from the main Akumal hotel, where we stayed). Akumal and Tulum hotels are located at the beach, walking distance. Coba and, especially, Sian Khan (which is to the opposite side of the highway, inland) are not. If you stay at these latter two hotels either you take a small bus to the beach (5,10 minutes respectively) or be ready for walking (for Coba only, since the walk from Sian Khan is unfeasible).

For wild life lovers like ourselves this resort has an excellent location: beach front with wide reef ahead brimming with tropical marine life including rays, barracudas, turtles, sand sharks, all sorts of reef fish, a paradise for a snorkeler. Note it’s not a rocky beach, you have sandy areas too. Also, I’m writing about the Akumal beach and its reef which is much nicer than the adjacent Tulum beach, without natural reef break and thus full of artificial waves breakers – huge sand bags. These are not unpleasant in my view, but render the Tulum beach a few cuts below the Akumal one, just 2-5 mins walk. There are a few sand bags at the Akumal beach as well but I found them very well integrated and not impacting the natural value of the beach itself. The gardens are superbly maintained and are very well integrated with the surrounding mangrove vegetation. Coatis, badgers, squirrels, iguanas, exquisite birds, among others, are your regular pals when you hang around the resort.

I am not a pool lover, especially with that entire ocean out there, just jumped in for 5 mins once for my younger kid. But, if you are, you’ll be delighted with the pools area.

Service is very good in general and staff is friendly and efficient. Restaurant buffets are rich, offering a wide range of alternatives. In what concerns a la carte I recommend the Italian; Mexican is good, seafood one is a cut below. There is one 24-h snack bar on each hotel which may be handy. Beach bars are open 10-17h and offer a variety of alternatives. There is no air conditioning in areas other than rooms, just ceiling fans - for me this was not a problem at all.

Rooms are spacious, very clean and very well equipped and maintained. Ours was in the ground floor, which I found good, and well located (1 min walk to front desk / buffet, 2 min walk to the beach). The complex offers 3 floors buildings with 6 rooms per floor. Depending on where exactly your room is (check my note on the 4 “hotels” of the complex) your walk will be longer (most probable) or shorter than what I indicated for my room.

I am a scuba diver and snorkeler for 20 years, have been around the globe, and it’s hard to imagine a better beach with front reef than this one for a one week vacation with kids.

IMPROVEMENT NEEDED:
There is, however, one aspect needing urgent improvement: control of plastic waste on the surroundings, beach front, and the ocean. It’s dismaying to snorkel and keep finding plastic debris floating on the reef, where turtles dwell and may feed upon the plastic presuming it’s food, and die because of it. This is not fiction (I’m putting my marine biologist hat on). Many more plastic bins and recycling sites are needed within the resort and, especially, along the beach front. Educational campaigns to users (clients) are needed flagging up how important it is to preserve the natural environment the resort is embedded in. Avoid use of plastics on the beach, adopt the “hard plastic”, recycled, glasses, asking for their return. Launch campaigns where clients are encouraged to clean the beach front on organized initiatives. Finally, more man effort is needed from staff cleaning the beach front, sand, ocean, in end of days, making sure every single plastic and other debris are removed.

As a local leader, the resort must play an active role developing and adopting sustainability policies along the lines I leave above. This will place the Piñero group ahead of everyone else on this regard and set the bar much higher for others on sustainable tourism.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Marmifero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear TripAdvisor user:

We are grateful for giving us the honor to host you recently in our complex located in Riviera Maya, and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedbacks that will be really helpful to improve the areas needed.

We would like to inform you that our hotel along with the Ecological Foundation EcoBahia work daily to make our visitors and workers aware about the ecological impact that some of our actions could cause, that is why our team take actions constantly to help our environment in its preservation.

We invite you to visit us again in the future and enjoy this beautiful paradise.


Receive our warmest regards from the Mexican Caribbean!


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

First the positives - reception was excellent, fast check in and friendly. Lots of choices for pools. AC in the room worked 24/7. Buffet was clean and well varied selection. 24/7 snack shack at Talum was helpful.

Negatives - Ants in the room and all around the pool deck. Room appear spear shop worn. Raccoons dominate the snack shack in the evening - someone will get bitten. Ceiling leaked in bathroom from room above. Our floor got very wet due to shower door set up. All inclusive did not cover a room safe, wifi that worked or the par 3 golf. The premium wifi was expensive and only worked near the lobby - not pool side or in your room. Buffet got a little boring after seven days. Booking special dinners was impossible as everything earlier than 9:00 was already booked when we got there. Best pool chairs are "towel reserved" by 07:00 in spite of signs. Staff washed the deck chairs overnight in the lower party pool (with the swim up bar). Too few staff for table service during evening shows.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richardthetravellguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Richard:

We are gratefull for your visit to our hotel and for giving us the chance to be at your service!

We welcome all comments and suggestions of our clients because we are confident that it is only by receiving our guests' feedbacks that our hotel will obtain the tools to improve the quality of our services. We thank you for letting us know this and we will forward the information to the person in charge in order to take the proper actions.

We would like to inform your that we will be so happy to host you again in the future.


Our best regards!



Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
27.2 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#75 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Chetumal | Cancun Km 250, Playa Aventuras, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#6 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 758
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 758 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing