We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymooners on tour!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great holiday, would recommend to anyone, food fantastic, especially the Brazilian restaurant. We both think Mexican cows are some how better than English. All the food however breakfast dinner,tea or the 24hr snack bar.
Location was good, about an hour and half away from airport. Can seem quite long after the flight but worth the wait. Beautiful beaches. Not to far from akumel beach where you can swim with turtles.
The grounds of the hotel are stunning, you need a couple of weeks there to just get round all the pools and bars. Over10 Alacarte restaurants, 47bars all well maintained.
Staff very friendly, and all do a great job but be careful with the timeshares they try to hook you in with.
Excursions: Coco Bongos best night of your life. Take the VIP package and stay as long as possible, or even better go more than once.
Swimming with Dolphins. We didn't go with the hotel, we went with reps to dolphinus, Absolute amazing experience, highly recommended.
Xplor is incredible, very tiring but worth it for zip lines, underwater caves and off road buggies.
All in all great hotel. Close enough to all excursions with beautiful surroundings

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Steven:

Hola Amigos! We feel truly honored to have had the chance to host you during your honeymoon in Mexico for showing you the greatness of our country and our hotel!

It is our main purpose to create the best ambience for our dear clients, and it is amazing to know that you enjoyed the facilities, location and services.

Please do not hesitate to come back for another great experience, we will be waiting anxiously your next visit!!

Kind regards from sunny Mexico!!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,638 - 3,644 of 10,182 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We visited Grand Bahia Principe Akumal in July with kids in tow and I must start by saying that the grounds are just beautiful! Very clean with groomed landscaping (both natural and maintained) and beautiful views! Bring a book because there are hammocks waiting to cradle you! The employees (aside from a few cranky towel boys) were so polite and friendly... The rooms are nice (ours was definitely more appealing than the photo on the Bahia Principe website with the turquoise paint and crazy comforter) and super clean (spoken by a true germaphobe). The room air conditioner wasn't the best but compared to the temperature outside, it always felt refreshing to enter our room after a day playing in the heat.

The beach areas were clean and maintained and snorkeling finds were great! My advice is to bring your own snorkeling set, as the ones sold on property are really expensive. Lots of fish and other creatures. Keep in mind that if you chose to stay at Coba (a different area in this property), you are not within walking distance to the beach. You must take a little hotel shuttle to the Akumal or Tulum areas of the property to have beach access. At Coba, however, there is a cute little water park-like feature for kiddos! Breakfast at Coba buffet was a favorite for us even though we stayed at Akumal.

The buffet at Akumal was pretty impressive and a wonderful variety of foods were consistently offered. There was a different dinner theme each evening (China, Spain, American, Italian) and many dishes to compliment! We enjoyed visiting the buffet for each meal, but were also looking forward to eating in the various restaurants in the resort (which brings me to a negative of the property).

You are granted three dinners (or maybe more if you are a "golden" check-in guest) at the various restaurants throughout the resort, which is a nice escape from the buffet. However, you are not able to make any dinner reservations at the restaurants until you check in, so we made that our first priority upon arrival. We were highly disappointed to find out that availability at most of the restaurants was extremely slim. Other guests who arrived the prior week and were staying for two weeks had booked almost everything by the time we got there. Not wanting to eat at 8:00 p.m. with kids, we opted for the buffet most of the time. We did get into a couple of restaurants, but our kids were not able to come to one because they did not have slacks to wear. Yet, while we were in the restaurant, adults arrived not dressed according to code and were still let in (we did see two men - one in shorts and one in swim trunks - being offered pants by the hostess. Never mind that they still donned flip-flops). What we observed in both restaurants we attended was that many of the tables were empty (yet reservations were hard to come by?). Something just didn't add up.

While in the restaurants, the staff was extremely polite and accommodating and the presentation of certain courses was really cool (picture flaming liqueurs and elaborate fruit and cheese trays). Appetizers and desserts were delightful but the main courses were very lack-luster (this especially rang true in Frutas Del Mar). Beware before ordering the seafood plate.

The second negative (and this is probably very common in resorts like these) is that you see signs hung up all over the pool and beach areas stating that you cannot reserve patio/beach chairs. Well, low and behold, on our way to breakfast the first morning at 8:00, there wasn't a bare chair in the place (they could stand to stuff a few more chairs on the decks too). After learning our lesson, I set my alarm for 6:00 a.m. for the rest of the week and did the walk of shame each morning to reserve our chairs (and I wasn't even close to being the first one out there). We also noticed that by 1:00 p.m., some of the reserved chairs hadn't even been sat in. There should be employees monitoring this and clearing spots that are not being used so that other guests who are actively using the pool can have somewhere to sit.

Our kids did have a great time at the kids' pool and loved the daily games and pool activities. They also really enjoyed the freedom of going back and forth to the 24-hour snack bar (although it seemed that the soft serve ice cream machine was broken more than not). Lunches in the snack bar were delightful and there was always a delicious rice or noodle wok dish made fresh each day. Food is not served poolside and you are discouraged from taking food out of the snack bar and to your pool/beach chair because of the birds and other wildlife. There is a swim-up bar and a few other bars near the pools and beaches that provide cocktails (included).

A perk of the property is the little Mexican Market (area of the resort called Hacienda) where you can do a bit of shopping for souvenirs. While we never attended, we did hear that the evening entertainment at Hacienda was fun.

All in all, we definitely enjoyed our stay here and it made for a nice Mexican vacation with kids. Just bummed that I had to worry about getting a pool chair at the crack of dawn instead of having the pleasure of sleeping in. Also I wish that availability at the on-site restaurants was better.

P.S. If venturing off property, look into taking a taxi instead of arranging for shuttles (especially if going to Xel Ha). You'll save so much money and time! There are tons of cabs that sit outside of the property just waiting to be hailed in by the bellhop.

Hasta La Vista!

Room Tip: When booking, opt for the "golden check-in," which I believe gives you a room closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KMW5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Client:

We are honored to have hosted you and your family during your summer holidays and we thank you for the time you took in writing your experience!

The comments received by our guests are very important as they give us the tools to improve our services and personal attention, thank you for letting us know your observation that we will share with the departments in charge to take the proper actions. In the other hand we are glad to know that you all had a pleasant stay.

We hope to say to you Hola again in the future, we are confident you will have a better experience.


Kindest regards!


Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just came back from here it is our second time.This time we got married the resort was lovely and all the staff where very helpful gina and sandra the wedding co organisers where lovely nothing was to much for them from the minute we got there they catered for everything the wedding was great and we had the hotel take our photos they here beautiful and we where quoted 410 english pound they take the money in paso,s and when we came home i was charges 535 pound I am upset as we asked a few time how much in english I feel you are pressured to buy these we did not intend to pay this much but feel the photos where nice but if i was told 535 i would have not paid this we only got 67 photos even though they took 300 so i do think i have been ripped off other than the photos we had a great wedding and holiday i was going to go back next year for our anniversary but because they have taken much more out our bank i will have to think hard about this if they do this to every one how much money are they making

Room Tip: make sure you know the conversion for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank williynewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Client:

Thank you so much for giving us the chance to be part of this important celebration and sharing it with everybody!!

We feel so happy to see you had a very beautiful moment due to the great attention and effort of our staff, be sure we will forward your kind words to Gina and Sandra who will be so happy to receive them.

Concerning the situation you mention, we have informed you by e-mail that we will do the proper follow up with the department in charge of this service in order to clarify it.


Best Regards!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Booked with Thomsons and had a free upgrade to golden. Once we arrived we were all whisked off to the golden lobby to check in. We all got a welcome magerita which was welcome after a long flight. Once checked in we was taken to our rooms. We travelled with our 2 boys and mother and father in law and nephew so we had three rooms in total. I had emailed a head to request matress toppers and high floor. All beds had matress toppers, though we where on third floor our nephew had ground floor. The room was spacious with a large 4 poster bed and a single bed. We also had a bottle of tequila and bowl of fruit waiting for us. The only negative issues of room is that air conditioning was ok when first arrived but unfortunately did not work well towards 2nd week of stay.
Food was lovely. My son celebrated his 10th birthday so had a meal in portofina which was lovely. They even bought him a cake in shape of love heart complete with candle. We also dined at Le gourmet, arlequin, la gran tourtega and mik ado where excellent. Special thanks to sebastiana and Leticia who where great and made our day when bringing us drinks. Please remember to tip as wages are low. The other special thanks goes to Brenda from kids club the kids had a fantastic time and even added there hand prints to the wall of fame. Other than our issue with air conditioning we would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank bella7966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing our hotel for spending your last family holidays, it was a great pleasure to be at your service for the second time.

We really regret and do apologize for the inconveniences you may have had with the air conditioning.

In the other hand we feel really happy for make you feel fully satisfied about our services and left you so amazing life time memories of your holidays. We want to thank you for writing your valuable comments regarding your visit to our hotel, there is no better inspiration for our Staff.

We will be happy to welcome you at your second home at the Mexican Caribbean, so do not hesitate to contact us again for your next visit.


Our Best regards!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Riviera Maya.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Returned weekend of 2/8 and already booked a holiday for next year as got the blues.

This resort is big with golf carts carrying you about. If one is not available a $1 in someones pocket and they are happy to pop you on a golf cart to your destination.

We mainly stayed at the entertainment pool as my son had numerous friends there and they all played for 2 weeks without bickering or fighting. The entertainment team were excellent and some friends we met got them to stitch me up on my birthday !!! THANK YOU. lol. Only down side at the pool was you need to be there between 5:30 and 6:30 (latest) or all the beds and shades are taken. Unfortunately some people do not stay on the loungers and go back to bed. Maybe random pool checks in the morning after 9:30 would be best practice to remove towels if no one is present.

The drinks are good with branded makes available if you ask and the cocktails are refreshing with crushed ice. Mango Tango is "old school" now go with the Miami Vice or Mud Slide.

The beach from Akumal lobby is a short walk where is an abundance of beds. We stayed in Villa 67 and it appears they may start building 2 or 3 further blocks in front of this with surveyors putting stakes out during our stay.

You have the use of ALL the facilities as if you're at your own resort as well as the abundance of food at the buffet or 24 hour snack bar. This is applicable across the three hotels.

On the subject of food, there is abundance of choice within the buffet's and I'd be surprised if anyone would go hungry. The food is constantly topped up and a keen eye is kept upon it by staff to ensure nothing is ever left empty. There a number of al a carte restaurants but you need to book these upon arrival as they go very quickly. Unfortunately you cannot email ahead anymore. We found the Arlequin and Gourmet the best. Mediterranean is a complete let down and Brazilian over rated. Unfortunately the hotel lady misbooked the Japanese for when we were 40,000 foot in the air and could not rearrange it due to popularity so cannot talk about this one. Don Pablo mainly fish choices and Dolce Vista very good Italian.

The Tulum and Cobra sites were very busy in the buffets and seemed even hotter than Akumal as there was little wind blowing through.

Overall ALL the staff are very friendly and always happy to help, which with an exception of a handful is always done quickly. No request is ever too much for them.

You can get a taxi to turtle beach for 170 peso each way and it costs 300 peso each to snorkel for approx. 1.5 hrs with an individual guide and the turtles. This cost three of us 1270 peso (£60) and was a lot cheaper than the Thomson price !!

The evening shows were good. Not into magic but it was amazing how he pulled doves out with his sleeves rolled up !

You won't be disappointed.........look out for the iguana's, coetes and racoons.

We stayed in the gold section and moved rooms after 2 days having requested a sea view. Remember if you don't ask you don't get !

And lastly the people/families we met made the holiday so thank you to you all if you read the review. You know who you are and hopefully we will meet again somewhere in the future.

ANYONE WHO MOANS ABOUT THE RESORT IS A MISERABLE SO AND SO. IGNORE THEM AND GO AND HAVE A GREAT TIME !!!!!!!!!

The only negative I have was I thought our American friends are painful some of the young Canadians we came across were a nightmare and loose all their manners and morals when heading south, but hey ho they are young and on holiday.

Room Tip: Golden section Villa 65,66 or 67.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank aajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear GBP client:

Thank you so much for choosing us as your best option and for sharing your recent experience in our little Mexican paradise!!

We feel so happy to see we could provide you a memorable service for you and your family. It is wonderful to know you have met good friends in our facilities and also because you enjoyed the pools, restaurants and food variety, all our services are oriented to reach the entire satisfaction of our clients and your recognition is the best reward we can receive.

Our visitors from all over the world are very important and their observation, suggestions and compliments are always taken into consideration as they help us to improve the attention and quality of our resort.

We hope to have the fortune to welcome you all in the future we are sure you will feel like home once again!


Kind regards!




Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

While the place is beautiful we had a hard (impossible) time getting our room comfortable. We travel triple occupancy which means that we need to use that couch or additional bed, our AC barely functioned and it was bearable for those sleeping in the main bed but for those in the cot/rollout bed there was no air, and since the AC was not functioning the room was stifling hot. We tried for 3 days to get management to fix the AC but to no avail. Very disappointing, as unbearable nights will be our memory of Bahia principe Akumal

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie-d4191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Jamie:

We would like to thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination, it was a truly pleasure to be at your service.

We inform you that we have already shared your feedback with our General Managers and departments involved in order to correct these situations. We really regret we were not able to fulfill your expectations during your stay and your observations are very important to help us to maintain the excellent quality of our resort.

We hope you give us the opportunity to host you and provide you a different holiday experience.


Our best regards!


Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Hotel is kept very tidy, in a lovely area right on beach,used local bus and taxis for trips out as much cheaper than tour operators.Staff very friendly.
When eating in specialized restaurents it can get very hot and uncomfortable as no air con,only ceiling fans. All in all a very good holiday.Would I go back Yes.

Room Tip: Perferred top floor, no lifts 3 flight of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiltshirefriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Client:

Thank you for choosing us for your visit to Mexico and for taking the time to share your impressions of your recent stay with us.

We ara happy to know your stay was excellent and you loved the location of our paradise.

Thank you for considering returning, we will be excited to welcome you back!


Receive our warmest regards.


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
2.5 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
6.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico | Cancun Km 250, Playa Aventuras, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#3 Family Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: £152 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 758
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an no additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 758 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (no additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing