We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel but used their beach restaurant and it was fabulous, the coconut shrimp was heavenly. We came back to Akumal bay for the day just so we could eat in the restaurant even though we had AI at our hotel 5 mins down the road.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were on a family holiday so Hotel Akumal Caribe was exactly what we needed. The bungalow was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and had a nice outside terrace close to the beach. The beach itself had some amazing snorkeling with huge shoals, barracudas, turtles and a lot more (but watch out for those nutter fishermen on their boats at top speed, they care nothing for who is in the water!). Nearby you can easily find restaurants and bars. Tulum and other amazing Mayan sites are close at hand. Overall there was very much a family-feel to this place which was very pleasant. Last but not least visiting, snorkeling and free diving in the cenotes is one of my best memory's ever. The negative points: The price was pretty steep for what it was. Shuttles would have been useful. And make sure you hide your valuables as the house-keepers blamed the local 'elves' for a few things that disappeared; hem, right (thankfully for us nothing consequential, only sun-glasses).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I know prices go up but the same bungalow I paid $39.00 for went to $99.00 just a few years back and now are $169.00……plus tax. Jeez………….Not even a free breakfast. Just continental. You think the management could throw in a couple of eggs. I now pay $136.00 at ABR and it includes all food and and all drink.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Whitecat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were in one of the remodeled rooms. They did a great job - bed was super comfortable and all the tile & bathroom fixtures were redone. There is new nonslip tile throughout the hallways & outside areas - big improvement. Service at the front desk was outstanding as usual, especially from Jorge. Housekeeping was exceptional. We noticed that most of the staff have been there since we started going there years ago. We were disappointed that we had not been told that the pool was under construction and the entire pool/lounge area was off limits. The owner was responsive to our concern & wisely gave a partial refund. Apparently there were weather issues that caused the delay. They worked very hard on it while we were there and it looked like it should be done soon. We also did not know that they now sell day passes to the HAC so people can use the pool, beach chairs & get a room for a daily fee. It was busy there on the first weekend so we assumed that was where most of the people came from. For anyone who has been there before, the Buddha Garden Spa just beyond the pool was moved next to the pink gift store by the office. The palm grove where it was, plus acres of land up to the Akumal Beach Resort, has been sold & will be the home of a Sandals resort December rumored to be done by the end of 2014. That whole area has been leveled all the way to the road (they did leave a lot of palm trees) and there was some machinery work & tree cutting going on while we were there. Breakfast was included at the Lol Ha restaurant which was wonderful every day. We did not see a single tour boat bringing in snorkelers, only snorkel groups going in from the shore. They now rope off swim and boat areas which makes it much safer. Snorkeling was good although we noticed that the reef has deteriorated since we were there 1 1/2 years ago. We definitely recommend the HAC for its quaint location, service, and location. Just be aware of the potential construction next door & ask questions before you book.

Room Tip: Really no bad rooms there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShareTravelInfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This trip was my third time to Akumal since April 2013. First a day snorkeling trip, then a family trip where we stayed in a super hotel about a half mile away and this trip with friends to finish my scuba diving certification requirements. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the pool and with a view to the ocean. The staff was very friendly. The room was nice but average with a noisey fridge. While I loved the towels formed into the shape of a turtle on my bed, my biggest complaint is the dish rag type towels that were pretty useless when we came back to the room soaking wet from diving and/ or needed them to walk on the wet floors. The faucet in the shower was dangerous. The cold water turned off in the standard "righty tighty, lefty loosey" but the hot water was the opposite. I agree with the reviewer who complained about the tour bus loads of snorklers...it's out of control. Sorry to hear from the hotel owner that the dive shop is being moved. To me, the proximity of the shop now to this hotel is a major reason to go back. Of course, the unbeatable moonlight on the water and peaceful beach at nIght are hard forget. Otherwise, this is not my favorite Akumal hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EMTLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The place is small and kind of private... Pools are ok, the beach is great... The food is good, service to... Bar service is great but the selection is poor. Reception is Ok. Activities well are Ok but very few of them, same fot the kids club. The only complaint is the bed... Hard I mean very hard... Room are nice and clean too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_traveler_69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel, in a room on the top floor with a great view of the ocean and two private balconies. The location is perfect, the rooms are very clean and simple. The room had everything I needed - a refrigerator, 5-gallon bottle of water, lots of towels, and working A/C - and what it didn't have (TV, radio, clock) I had no need for. The bed was incredibly comfortable. All the staff were very nice and helpful, as is typical in this part of Mexico. The continental breakfast that came with the room was modest, but tasty (you can order off the restaurant menu for a more complete breakfast). There's also a hotel swimming pool, beach chairs, private beach area, and two restaurants, and it's conveniently located near two dive shops and some very nice stores and restaurants on a beautiful beach with fabulous snorkeling. I think the hotel rooms are a little overpriced for what you are getting, but the location is priceless.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lauranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#14 of 21 in Akumal
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.8 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
21.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akumal Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akumal Caribe

Address: Hwy 307, Km 104, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Akumal 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#13 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: £118 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akumal Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Akumal Caribe is a peaceful family-friendly resort located on the main bay in Akumal, Mexico. It is steeped with history and provides personal service, relaxation, delicious food, great views and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Akumal Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Akumal
Akumal Caribe Hotel
Hotel Akumal Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing