We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Akumal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Akumal”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

At two AM I got up and walked down to the snack bar for Internet reception. My bed was the second worst mattress I have ever been on. The worst was a hide a bed at my friends house. You know the kind of hide a bed where the bar runs across your back. Internet service was possibly the slowest I have ever used. Very good staff for being underpaid. I always tip the behind the scenes staff. Pool is perfect. Food and drink was good but overpriced. I prefer to support the other local eateries as I felt they had better value. It was really busy along the beach which made for good people watching. I could go on but the bottom line is this hotel is overpriced for the sleep that you won't get.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haragas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    161
    47
    9
    4
See reviews for
149
183
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We are at hotel akumal caribe right now. We are on night four of a five night stay. Sleepless. Yes the location and beach is excellent but hard to enjoy when you cannot sleep. Think of the worst sheets and hardest bed you have ever encountered and times it by ten. Perhaps a one night stay would be good. Also, the price is too high.

Room Tip: Bring your own bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haragama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida
Level 6 Contributor
575 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Echoing what others have said, its location on a perfect bay and beach, convenient to snorkeling, dining make this a fine hotel We enjoyed a sea view room with a king bed, small terrace. Although the price was higher than we are used to in Mexico its location is a treat. The room was quite comfortable, the bed harder than we like. It and the problems with the internet were the reasons we did not stay longer. The beach is very popular and the restaurant convenient and served an excellent breakfast. The dive shop was perfectly located and the employees great. The employees overall were excellent.

Room Tip: Must get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Just got back from this resort, they are building a new resort north of the old one, lots of noise.....it almost like they have abandoned the old one....poor service, leaky roofs, uncomfortable beds and the food was bad. On the plus side, the beach is wonderful, snorkelers paradise, lots of fish and sea turtles. But when the new resorts are built and there are a thousand more people on the beach, I fear this natural beauty will be in jeopardy, I really hope I am wrong!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donald.mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Location is paradise, laid back, relaxed and at the same time lots of people (locals and tourists) around. Bungalows need some remodel but when you live on the beach it is not a big deal.
Relax and enjoy it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marconap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel but used their beach restaurant and it was fabulous, the coconut shrimp was heavenly. We came back to Akumal bay for the day just so we could eat in the restaurant even though we had AI at our hotel 5 mins down the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
International
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were on a family holiday so Hotel Akumal Caribe was exactly what we needed. The bungalow was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and had a nice outside terrace close to the beach. The beach itself had some amazing snorkeling with huge shoals, barracudas, turtles and a lot more (but watch out for those nutter fishermen on their boats at top speed, they care nothing for who is in the water!). Nearby you can easily find restaurants and bars. Tulum and other amazing Mayan sites are close at hand. Overall there was very much a family-feel to this place which was very pleasant. Last but not least visiting, snorkeling and free diving in the cenotes is one of my best memory's ever. The negative points: The price was pretty steep for what it was. Shuttles would have been useful. And make sure you hide your valuables as the house-keepers blamed the local 'elves' for a few things that disappeared; hem, right (thankfully for us nothing consequential, only sun-glasses).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.8 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
0.4 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
2.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akumal Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akumal Caribe

Property: Hotel Akumal Caribe
Address: Hwy 307, Km 104, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Akumal 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akumal Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beach in front of Hotel Akumal Caribe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Akumal Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Akumal
Akumal Caribe Hotel
Hotel Akumal Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing