We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay on a great beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The bungalow/hotel rooms here are fine for a comfortable stay in Akumal. The draw is really the beach and swimming with the turtles, so you won't mind that the room has no TV. The AC works well and keeps the room cool. The bathroom is nice, clean and beds were comfortable. We appreciated the coffee maker in the room and the safe for passports and valuables. The breakfast which was included was at Lol Ha and was plenty of fruit and pan dulce or toast along with coffee and juice each morning. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bglenn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was our 3rd visit to this lovely little place; much has stayed the same and we have loved it!
The property is newly repainted. so fresh and clean. The rooms have been updated and painted, new linens and a small mini kitchen set up for your convenience.Great towels for
the bath and beach. Comfortable shower, plenty of space, even a little safe for passports and cash. We had 2 balconies looking up and down the beach and over to the pool. Always shaded with the palm trees and open to the breezes. Didn't even think about using the AC because it was so comfortable. Jorge and his wonderful staff are most helpful, attentive and always there with a smile. The Lo-Ha has a nice continental breakfast and/or delicious omelets, lots of other options if you need more. Most of our lunches were in the Beach Bar; the food was tasty and the drinks plentiful... 2 for one at happy hour. Plus the most beautiful beach just 1/2 dozen steps away. Lucy's bakery/ice cream, the moustache restaurant (can't remember the name) and Pescadero's are as good as ever. The dive center has it all to rent but don't buy your gear here....too $$$$. The little supermarket has everything you might need if you happen to be eating in or need snacks. Funky little outdoor food bar next door, great for breakfast for a change. Nice little souvenir shops, some fun art and jewelry, basic little spa, bikes, fishing adventures side trips to Tulum or various cenotes.The little town of Akumal across the highway is a fun outing as well. Everything is here..... just beyond the white entry arches
A bit extra busy on the weekends but its nice to see the local families enjoying their own beach and community.The security is here, if you need it. The beach and the entire area is groomed every morning and kept tidy all day!
But....
Sadly the growth of large all inclusive resorts nearby and the growing number of people who are snorkeling have just about ruined this pristine little bay. The close in coral reef has always been the perfect place to snorkel but its over-use " Is Now Its Demise ". Now the coral reef itself plus its ability to support life for all the variety of living coral, fish, sting rays, turtles, etc. is being slowly destroyed. They have failed to protect the crown jewel of Akumal Bay....too many people taking snorkeling lessons, too many excursions coming into Akumal Bay from other resorts....
its killing itself for many of us now and more that won't be able to enjoy it in the future. The turtles that have lived, mated, laid their eggs and returned for centuries.....
the turtles that this area is named for.... will soon be a wonderful, once very special memory.
If you don't care about the snorkeling, the fish and the turtles; it is still a beautiful little place....
One that used to make wonderful memories for our family and friends.

Room Tip: corner rooms are the bestin the hotel.....las casitias akumal, in the same area are great for famili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tsw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akumal2u, Owner at Hotel Akumal Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for your very complete review and your great comments about our property. Sadly, you are right about the bay. It's the commercial tours we have not been able to control due to a legal dispute over private property rights of the Ecological Center next door to us. All they want to do is control the commercial traffic in order to comply with the permit for the limits of use of the bay. However, there are other commercial interests that do not want this control. It's not about limiting the use of the bay to individuals. Federal Zone is public. Limits have to be set on outside tour operators bringing in masses of turtle tours. For more information go to
www.akumalbayinfo.com

I hope this is useful information.

Thank you
Regards
Laura B Wolfe
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel after passing through on a day trip last year (we stayed at Gran Bahia Principe). When we saw the beautiful beach and felt the local 'vibe' we knew we had to try it out and we were NOT disappointed!

HOTEL
It is certainly not luxurious so you need to know what you are getting into. There are no TVs and the decor is minimal (although they are slowly updating all rooms). However, what it lacks in frills it makes up for in location and authenticity. Our room was spotless and cleaned daily and the kitchenette was perfect for keeping food cold and preparing snacks. The beds weren't nearly as bad as some reviews mentioned and I've heard they are upgrading all of them as well. It would be great to have a broom in the closet to sweep extra sand of the floor - being beachfront means you track more dirt in, but I'll take that any day!

BEACH
Simply stunning. Take the time to watch a sunrise from the beach, or walk around to the rocky point. You will feel like you are on the edge of the earth. The sand is soft, the water is warm, and the snorkeling is wonderful. It does get busy in the afternoons but not nearly as busy as we experienced at a resort last year. The hotel has a private area at the top of the beach and we found it remained quiet and uncrowded as the majority of visitors stayed closer to the dive shop.

FOOD
We did not get a meal plan because we wanted to try the different restaurants in the area (and I would encourage you to do the same) but the continental breakfast daily was perfect. A fresh plate of fruit, your choice of toast or Mexican sweetbread, coffee and fresh orange juice. It was a great way to start the day and you could always snack later if you want.

AMENITIES
I will admit the WiFi wasn't 100% all the time, but we only used it to send one email so I can't say we really cared. It does work from the room and the beach (close to the hotel).

CONSTRUCTION
We were extremely worried about the construction next door but I can honestly say it didn't bother us at all, despite the fact they were out putting piles in. The wind and the waves covered up most of the noise and you could move farther down the beach if it really bothered you. The construction is happening immediately next to the pool so it would probably be louder there but we didn't spend much time there. One downside is that they did start at 7am daily and worked through until dusk, Monday through Saturday. Sunday was quiet. It would not sway my decision to stay here again.

OVERALL
This hotel is an absolute gem and I would strongly encourage anyone looking for a truly authentic Mexican vacation to stay here! Our trip only cost a few hundred dollars more than our all-inclusive last year and the experience was ten times better!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean so there isn't a bad view to be had. We opted for a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akumal2u, Owner at Hotel Akumal Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your review! I was so happy to see that you captured the essence of what we want to provide in a vacation! It's really not about the frills with us, although we are working on the rooms like you said.. it's about the ambiance, the people, the destination, and the beauty of the simplicity of it all.

We have been at it since the 60's and have not changed our place much. It's what people appreciate and hopefully we can keep on attracting visitors that are seeking this type of experience!

Thank you!

Regards,
Laura B Wolfe
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Villas Maya Bungalows at Akumal with our children and 2 grandsons, 6 and 8. We had two bungalows and it was perfect! Spacious, clean, a little funky but a perfect spot for us. The kids loved the pool, the adults loved the beach and swimming out to watch the turtles feed. It could not have been more perfect! We had great meals at Turtle Bay and loved our day snorkeling at Yakul Lagoon, just down the road!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsay159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel in July 2013 after a 6-day church mission trip in Mexil Yucatan. It was like paradise after living in a small village for 6-days. The rooms were comfortable, nice showers, cold A/C. The bed could have been a little more comfortable but after 6 sleepless nights in a hammock, it did the trick. The snorkeling was amazing. We saw plenty of turtles, squid and fish of all types. I would recommend it to those in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCTravelMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I complete agree with the previous post. The beach was wonderful. Clean sand and water with awesome weather. The food was a knockout. We never had a bad meal the 5 days there. The service was 5 star. Bar tenders, waitstaff, and cleaning crew were top notch. The negatives were the awful wifi service, some ants in the room and the beds were too hard. The positives outweigh the negatives by far !!! Thanks to all the staff for making a great trip. We would love to come back to akumal and the wonderful resort and town.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank JPH7916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akumal2u, Owner at Hotel Akumal Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our place and the food! I wanted to let you know that we just got a separate wi fi connection for the hotel rooms and this will certainly help make the signal stronger. Lolha Beach bar was sucking all the connectivity from the rooms. Now we should be better! Also, we will be changing out the mattresses little by little for the bungalows, and we will be taking out all concrete bases in the Beach Front rooms and brand new mattresses there. A good night's sleep is so important!
Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Laura B Wolfe
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Akumal Caribe in the bungalows...and wanted to leave after the first night. The bungalow I stayed in was old (but large), had an incredibly hard mattress, had lots of people walking past three large, ground-level windows, had lousy wifi reception AND did not have curtains that went all the way across the windows.

Since I was stuck there for 4 days, my wife talked me into making the best of it. While waking up with a cranky back is never fun, I did come to find that there are three really great things about this hotel that make the accommodations (almost) worth it.

The first is the beach. It is literally steps from your room. The beach is very, very popular for snorklers, many of whom are in very large group. It turns out that the large groups are from other hotels. Guest of the Akumal Caribe can walk right up, grab a guide and be off in the water. The snorkeling is fantastic - we say many turtles and fish, along with one giant and nasty-looking barracuda. The beach is busy but peaceful, with a special section cordoned off for guests.

The second is the food. I was very pleasantly surprised that the food was really, really good. Lots of variety for both Mexican and international dishes - all of it was delicious.

The third is the staff. They know that Akumal Caribe is a little long in the tooth so they seem to make up for it with plain old effort. Not everyone speaks the best English but everyone seems focused on making your stay enjoyable.

While on day 1 I was ready to leave but the end of day 4 I was planning to come back - this time with my kids! Hopefully by that time they'll have fixed the awful beds in the bungalows!

Room Tip: If you don't mind old rooms and rock-hard beds, the bungalows are big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBFCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#13 of 22 in Akumal
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.8 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 22 in Akumal
2,165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
2.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akumal Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akumal Caribe

Address: Hwy 307, Km 104, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Akumal 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#13 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: £120 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akumal Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Akumal Caribe is a peaceful family-friendly resort located on the main bay in Akumal, Mexico. It is steeped with history and provides personal service, relaxation, delicious food, great views and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Akumal Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Akumal
Akumal Caribe Hotel
Hotel Akumal Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing