We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great snorkeling, some construction noise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Akumal Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling, some construction noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

All is perfect, the beach, the snorkeling right there with the turtles and in the coral reef, the grounds, the restaurants, the impeccable service everywhere including the two restaurants, etc.

Our bungalow was not very private, so we had to close the curtains all the time. Also, it lacked lighting close to the sofa to read at night. Otherwise, we found it very comfortable and impeccably clean, in a simple furniture ambience, which for us was fine.

The construction noise next door issue: yes, if you are sensitive, it is irritating at times. We stayed April 3 to 15 and on certain days it was worse and did "get to us", but all in all, we were still very happy with our stay. How come? It's still a great place to be if you like snorkeling.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auplaisir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    157
    46
    9
    4
See reviews for
141
177
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
des moines, iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We've stayed here several times over the years--we tried the inclusive at other resorts in Akumal, but prefer the smaller, low-key atmosphere here. It has everything you could want including the beautiful beach right in front of your bungalow. It's easy to just relax and enjoy the wonderful views and snorkel, but also easy to rent a car for a few days and discover the cenotes and other attractions down toward Tulum. Restaurants nearby including Lol-Ha onsite and a grocery down the road. What more could you want?

Room Tip: We prefer the cozy bungalows to the hotel-type building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingbeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Hotel Akumal Caribe is a wonderful choice for the traveler who doesn't need the plush luxury of an all inclusive resort. My husband and I have stayed there several times and always have a relaxing time. The rooms are spotless and comfortable, the service friendly, and the restaurants very good. But the big attraction is being on Akumal Bay, with the ocean and numerous sea turtles just steps away. Days can easily be spent snorkeling in the usually quiet bay or resting on comfortable lounges under shady palapas. The reef is just minutes of kicking away; it is convenient to be able to see the reef fish without having to book a tour. Yalku Lagoon is also available at just a kilometer away. On a not too hot day this is easily walked, or one can take a taxi. Many cenotes and ruins are easily accessible from Akumal with a rental car. I would agree with some reviewers that beds are a little hard; we got foam pads and were comfortable, but if a soft bed is important, another resort might be preferred. Also, the construction noise is irksome at times. But all in all, a great place to stay for a certain kind of traveler.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karenduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlinville, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The bungalow/hotel rooms here are fine for a comfortable stay in Akumal. The draw is really the beach and swimming with the turtles, so you won't mind that the room has no TV. The AC works well and keeps the room cool. The bathroom is nice, clean and beds were comfortable. We appreciated the coffee maker in the room and the safe for passports and valuables. The breakfast which was included was at Lol Ha and was plenty of fruit and pan dulce or toast along with coffee and juice each morning. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bglenn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was our 3rd visit to this lovely little place; much has stayed the same and we have loved it!
The property is newly repainted. so fresh and clean. The rooms have been updated and painted, new linens and a small mini kitchen set up for your convenience.Great towels for
the bath and beach. Comfortable shower, plenty of space, even a little safe for passports and cash. We had 2 balconies looking up and down the beach and over to the pool. Always shaded with the palm trees and open to the breezes. Didn't even think about using the AC because it was so comfortable. Jorge and his wonderful staff are most helpful, attentive and always there with a smile. The Lo-Ha has a nice continental breakfast and/or delicious omelets, lots of other options if you need more. Most of our lunches were in the Beach Bar; the food was tasty and the drinks plentiful... 2 for one at happy hour. Plus the most beautiful beach just 1/2 dozen steps away. Lucy's bakery/ice cream, the moustache restaurant (can't remember the name) and Pescadero's are as good as ever. The dive center has it all to rent but don't buy your gear here....too $$$$. The little supermarket has everything you might need if you happen to be eating in or need snacks. Funky little outdoor food bar next door, great for breakfast for a change. Nice little souvenir shops, some fun art and jewelry, basic little spa, bikes, fishing adventures side trips to Tulum or various cenotes.The little town of Akumal across the highway is a fun outing as well. Everything is here..... just beyond the white entry arches
A bit extra busy on the weekends but its nice to see the local families enjoying their own beach and community.The security is here, if you need it. The beach and the entire area is groomed every morning and kept tidy all day!
But....
Sadly the growth of large all inclusive resorts nearby and the growing number of people who are snorkeling have just about ruined this pristine little bay. The close in coral reef has always been the perfect place to snorkel but its over-use " Is Now Its Demise ". Now the coral reef itself plus its ability to support life for all the variety of living coral, fish, sting rays, turtles, etc. is being slowly destroyed. They have failed to protect the crown jewel of Akumal Bay....too many people taking snorkeling lessons, too many excursions coming into Akumal Bay from other resorts....
its killing itself for many of us now and more that won't be able to enjoy it in the future. The turtles that have lived, mated, laid their eggs and returned for centuries.....
the turtles that this area is named for.... will soon be a wonderful, once very special memory.
If you don't care about the snorkeling, the fish and the turtles; it is still a beautiful little place....
One that used to make wonderful memories for our family and friends.

Room Tip: corner rooms are the bestin the hotel.....las casitias akumal, in the same area are great for famili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tsw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akumal2u, Owner at Hotel Akumal Caribe, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your very complete review and your great comments about our property. Sadly, you are right about the bay. It's the commercial tours we have not been able to control due to a legal dispute over private property rights of the Ecological Center next door to us. All they want to do is control the commercial traffic in order to comply with the permit for the limits of use of the bay. However, there are other commercial interests that do not want this control. It's not about limiting the use of the bay to individuals. Federal Zone is public. Limits have to be set on outside tour operators bringing in masses of turtle tours. For more information go to
www.akumalbayinfo.com

I hope this is useful information.

Thank you
Regards
Laura B Wolfe
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
271 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel after passing through on a day trip last year (we stayed at Gran Bahia Principe). When we saw the beautiful beach and felt the local 'vibe' we knew we had to try it out and we were NOT disappointed!

HOTEL
It is certainly not luxurious so you need to know what you are getting into. There are no TVs and the decor is minimal (although they are slowly updating all rooms). However, what it lacks in frills it makes up for in location and authenticity. Our room was spotless and cleaned daily and the kitchenette was perfect for keeping food cold and preparing snacks. The beds weren't nearly as bad as some reviews mentioned and I've heard they are upgrading all of them as well. It would be great to have a broom in the closet to sweep extra sand of the floor - being beachfront means you track more dirt in, but I'll take that any day!

BEACH
Simply stunning. Take the time to watch a sunrise from the beach, or walk around to the rocky point. You will feel like you are on the edge of the earth. The sand is soft, the water is warm, and the snorkeling is wonderful. It does get busy in the afternoons but not nearly as busy as we experienced at a resort last year. The hotel has a private area at the top of the beach and we found it remained quiet and uncrowded as the majority of visitors stayed closer to the dive shop.

FOOD
We did not get a meal plan because we wanted to try the different restaurants in the area (and I would encourage you to do the same) but the continental breakfast daily was perfect. A fresh plate of fruit, your choice of toast or Mexican sweetbread, coffee and fresh orange juice. It was a great way to start the day and you could always snack later if you want.

AMENITIES
I will admit the WiFi wasn't 100% all the time, but we only used it to send one email so I can't say we really cared. It does work from the room and the beach (close to the hotel).

CONSTRUCTION
We were extremely worried about the construction next door but I can honestly say it didn't bother us at all, despite the fact they were out putting piles in. The wind and the waves covered up most of the noise and you could move farther down the beach if it really bothered you. The construction is happening immediately next to the pool so it would probably be louder there but we didn't spend much time there. One downside is that they did start at 7am daily and worked through until dusk, Monday through Saturday. Sunday was quiet. It would not sway my decision to stay here again.

OVERALL
This hotel is an absolute gem and I would strongly encourage anyone looking for a truly authentic Mexican vacation to stay here! Our trip only cost a few hundred dollars more than our all-inclusive last year and the experience was ten times better!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean so there isn't a bad view to be had. We opted for a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akumal2u, Owner at Hotel Akumal Caribe, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review! I was so happy to see that you captured the essence of what we want to provide in a vacation! It's really not about the frills with us, although we are working on the rooms like you said.. it's about the ambiance, the people, the destination, and the beauty of the simplicity of it all.

We have been at it since the 60's and have not changed our place much. It's what people appreciate and hopefully we can keep on attracting visitors that are seeking this type of experience!

Thank you!

Regards,
Laura B Wolfe
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Villas Maya Bungalows at Akumal with our children and 2 grandsons, 6 and 8. We had two bungalows and it was perfect! Spacious, clean, a little funky but a perfect spot for us. The kids loved the pool, the adults loved the beach and swimming out to watch the turtles feed. It could not have been more perfect! We had great meals at Turtle Bay and loved our day snorkeling at Yakul Lagoon, just down the road!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.9 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
2.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#20 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akumal Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akumal Caribe

Property: Hotel Akumal Caribe
Address: Hwy 307, Km 104, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Akumal 77500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akumal Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beach in front of Hotel Akumal Caribe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Akumal Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Akumal
Akumal Caribe Hotel
Hotel Akumal Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing