We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Having just returned from a 5 day stay at the vista del mar, my only regret is that it was not longer. Prior to arriving there, I had spent some time in cancun, puerto Morelos, playa del Carmen and Merida. And I loved those places (Puerto Morelos and Merida in particular), my stay in Akumal was the best. When my sister and I entered out two bedroom condo (which could comfortably accommodate 5 people) we were stunned by the magnificent view. Things only got better as we learned that Yul ku lagoon was a pleasant stroll from us as was Turtle Bay. Additionally, you can snorkel in the waters directly in front of the condo as It sits on Half Moon Bay. Once we rented bikes at $6 a day we realized how quickly we could get places including the small town with the supermarket and the Pueblo across the highway where we got fresh mangos, pspayas and pineapples at a pittance. Each morning we prepared a breakfast (buy the eggs, they are the freshest!) and sipped coffee as we watched the sunrise. The condo has a efficient well organized kitchen. We had planned on trying out different restaurants during our stay, but Bueno Vida which is just a few doors down was so delicious and had a huge selection, we were happy to try something new there each night. One day we took the collectivo and I think we paid $3 each or less to get to Tulum fir the day! You could easily get anywhere along the Mexican Rivierra at Minimal cost by using the collectivo which is stationed about a half a mile
away. One reason that I have decided that my visit will be longer next year. Akumal is a pleasant quiet community, I think perhaps ideal for middle aged people as well as those with young children.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is a basic hotel with all of the necessities for a wonderful vacation. Our queen room was clean, with everything we really needed: a mini-fridge, TV with lots of movie channels, coffee maker, dishes and utensils, unlimited bottled water, free high speed internet that is fast enough to make skype/google voice calls, comfortable bed, good hot shower, and best of all, a balcony just a few feet of soft white sand from the Caribbean Sea!
The staff is lovely. Efficient, honest front desk staff, who speak good English for those of us whose Spanish is less than perfect, friendly cleaning people who spend a good deal of time cleaning the rooms thoroughly, and even washing our dishes.
Bottom-line advice to travelers: be friendly, tip well, and you will be treated like an honored guest!

Room Tip: The rooms at the south end of the hotel appear to have the best internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We are a mature couple who do not need the amenities of a resort. Our room was basic with AC, refrigerator, coffee maker and plenty of free bottled water. WiFi was also free. The best thing was that we were on the ground floor just a few feet from the Caribbean. It was a private place on the shores of Half Moon Bay where the tortugas lay their eggs. It is a short walk to our favorite beach restaurant, La Buena Vida, and a short drive to Yal Ku, a wonderful lagoon for snorkeling. It even has a corner market attached to the building for snacks and necessities. The town of Akumal is closeby with stores, beach activities, etc. We have stayed at Vista del Mar six times over the last few years, as well as many other places throughout the Yucatan. This is by far the best value for the money.

Room Tip: If there are only two of you, you would love rooms 1-5. As they are on the ground floor on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank VickiP1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

What do you look for in your accommodation? For the last part of our recent vacation we wanted a place on the beach, not too far from nice restaurants, maybe good snorkelling right out in front, comfortable and clean room amenities, and perhaps an opportunity for beach walks as the sun rises and sets. And this all has to come at a reasonable price,

Rental car and no reservations = no problem. After searching the beach strip in the Tulum area and finding lots of nice places for more than we cared to pay and a few not so nice places within our desired budget we headed north. Turning off at Akumal was purely by chance. We continued to stop at nice looking places to inquire. More of the same, either too pricey or no vacancy. Then we saw a vacancy at Vista del Mar and everything clicked. Although we had to move rooms 3 times we spent the rest of our vacation at this delightful property.

Back to our checklist - this place had it all. The rooms were small but who can fault that when the ocean is 30 m away? There's a small fridge to keep beverages cold and if you don't want to bother there's a cold cerveza from the small store anytime you want. The AC and fan worked and you can open the patio door at night for the sea breezes. Sure the tube TV is a refugee from, oh, at least a decade ago, but who cares? We never turned it on.

We loved this place. Best bargain by far of perhaps 20 places we looked at in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 rooms, 2 on the ground floor and 1 on the second floor. If I had to choose again I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Had another wonderful 12 day stay at Vista del Mar. Very quite and relaxing. Clean rooms and great view. Every year see something new in the bay and always meet some very nice people. Booked our room for next year the day we got back.

Room Tip: Relax, your are there on vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris0249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We recently spent 6 great nights in a very spacious 3 bedroom condo (D) and found it to be just right, especially for the price. The beds were very comfortable, a/c worked but we only used it in one of the back bedrooms because there was ample breeze at night and the ceiling fans worked as well. Well supplied kitchen. We didn't cook much and housekeeping did our dishes each day. Wow. Incredible view with direct sight of sunrise and moonrise. Condo is right in the center of Half Moon Bay. That said the distance between condo buildings is minute- something I had a hard time appreciating from home - so really most buildings on the bay would have essentially the same view and proximity. We rented a golf cart from the hotel and found it just right for going to dinners or the beach but beware the headlights make you visible to others but barely improve visibility for the driver. We used our own flashlights. We never used the pool, about 100 yards away at La Buena Vida restaurant but it looked pleasant. Snorkeling was excellent on the one calm day we had. If we went again we'd ask for a ground floor unit just for ease of being out on the beach but frankly from beach to our door was about 60 seconds! One thing we didn't anticipate was how the building blocked the afternoon sun at about 3:30 and created a "shorter day" feeling than some of the units further north on the bay. Sounds small, and yes we sometimes walked just a short distance up toward the sunnier areas, but due to the breeze and cool temps we had the late sun was desirable.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank sebagolizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Loved the view of the beach & ocean and the sun shining in the balcony in the morning. The rooms were very colourful but clean & adequate. We thought the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean. Next time we would love to rent a condo They were very clean and had lots of room for more than 2 people. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

Room Tip: Next time we stayed at Vista del Mar, Akumal we would rent a suite. The room was small but adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Marilynne160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
1.6 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#14 of 22 in Akumal
344 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#15 of 22 in Akumal
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#20 of 22 in Akumal
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
3.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
2.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 22 in Akumal
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Sol Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Sol Beachfront Hotel

Address: Seccion G Lot 41A | Calle Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Akumal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: £77 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel rooms are in a tranquil setting on an out of the way beach. Each room includes daily maid service, air conditioning, free wireless internet, purified drinking water, TV, coffee maker, an in-room safe, and free parking. All Del Sol Beachfront condominiums and hotel rooms are on the absolute beachfront with uninterrupted views of the ocean. We also have one, two and three bedroom condos available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Del Sol Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Akumal
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing