We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value All Inclusive we have been to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This is without question the best value all inclusive resort we have stayed in (3rd to 18th November 2011).
We emailed in advance for three room near to beach. This request was delivered and we were placed in the Kantenah part of the hotel - block 51 and very near to the beach. The rooms are fine, spacious, decent bathroom and good to have an ipod docking station.

THE RESORT:
Huge! The four hotels that are joined to make the hotel complex cover a massive area. The condition of the grounds is first class. Gardeners everywhere making sure everything is spot on. It really is a joy just to travel round the resort itself. The resort is also within a jungle and a genuine one at that. The walk from our room to the main part of the hotel was across a very long bridge through the jungle. There are obviously mosquitos about but you have to expect that given the location. Also saw one small snake on the bridge, nothing to worry about though.

BEACH:
Stunning. And the sea was beautiful. You could walk out really far. We saw lots of large fish and even two big stingrays swimming about.
At the top end of the resort you find the seawater pool. A really beautiful area and well work the walk to enjoy relaxing in a slightly different location.

CHURCH
We are not church goers but the church within the hotel grounds is really beautiful.

ANIMALS:
Lots of creatures absolutely everywhere. They are really cute and didn't seem bothered by the guests. Another really nice part of the overall experience.

HOTEL TRANSPORT:
Having said that the hotel is huge, the hotel provides fantastic transport. Using the trains and golf buggys to get about the resort adds to the fun. We all loved the train journeys.

FOOD:
Excellent and the best we have experienced in all inclusive hotels. This is down to quality but also the massive variety due to many restaurants. A few tips. The lamb at the Mare Nostrum is first class. The Bamboo has great food and is the most beautiful of the restaurants. A really great night out. Rodizio is has really nice decor but is basically lots of meat served at regular intervals. Portofino is a really nice Italian.
All of the buffets are great and at lunch time there is so much to chose from - the wonderful beach bar or numerous buffets.

DRINK:
There are so many bars that you never get bored. The drink quality is good and chose is great. Ladies loved the cocktails as well. Different bars had different premium branded drinks. Everything is well described in the bar menus. The serving staff do a great job of ensuring you don't have to leave your seat if you don't want to go to the bar yourself.

ENTERTAINMENT:
Really good for an all inclusive resort. The shows were well prepared but our favourites were the live banks in the Colonial Lobby, particularly the rock band each Saturday night.

SPA:
Got to be the best spa and fitness room we have seen in any hotel.

As a general rule we do not return to all inclusive resorts - always nice to try a new one. However we fully expect to return here and no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone thinking of going.

Room Tip: Email in advance. Most views are of jungle so don't worry too much about which floor. The Kanten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank JohnCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2012

Dear JohnCarter,

Thank you for your comments and for your time to share us your opinion.

It's very important for us to know the opinion of our guest about their holidays in Grand Palladium.

Please, if you decide to visit us in the future, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Happy New Year!!!

With best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,791 - 2,797 of 5,572 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

Everything was good here, except it was far to go eat or go to the pool just because the resort was so large, would def do it again though.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2012

Dear dave h,

Thank you for share your opinion about your holidays in Grand Palladium Riviera Maya.

Happy New Year!!!

Sincerely,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

If you like walking through covered walkways and lovely beaches and loads of wildlife you'll love this place.

The trip out - We did have a very long day as the flight left late from Gatwick and we also had an extra hour on the flight due to a headwind, all of this and a 2 hour transfer at the other end it does make it a long, long day. You also have a 6 hour time difference so your body thinks it's midnight when really it's 6pm their time. We tried to stay awake as long as we could. If you can make it until 10pm their time, it does make it easier to get into the time difference over the next few days.

There are 3/4 Hotels in this complex which makes it a very large place to walk around, but it's great. For those that don't want to walk there are trains which go from lobby to lobby, you don't have to wait more than 10 minutes for one!

We stayed in one of the standard room, but I did email them to ask for an upper floor with one large bed, which we got with not problem. There are no lifts in these blocks so 3/4 flights of stairs is good exercise. The standard rooms are clean large and maintained well. They aren't 5* luxury but that's not what we expected for the amount we paid - but still very good.

The restaurants are very good and you only have to book for the Seafood and Beach BBQ all of the others you can just walk around and book there and then (you may have a short wait but not to long). If you can't find anything to eat that you like in this place - you are just being fussy.

The bars are all very good and staff there mostly very happy people who work very hard for a living. We stayed in the Colonial which has a good lively area but not to load. Others bars where good but we did like this one the most. If you want the bar that has the branded drinks you can find this in the Kantanah lobby it can be quite quirt but they do have a piano player in the evenings until 10pm so it's relaxing (not for everyone I feel).

The wild life around the complex is brilliant, if you want to see wonderful birds/butterflies, lizards, and furry critters like, racoons, coatis and some others that I don't know the names of, this is the place to go. They are also very eco friendly - which is great.

We are beach goers so spend most of our time down there, If you like the sea be careful as there are rocks dotted around, so look for where every body else is getting in and out as the sand shift from one end of the beach to the other quite a lot. When it's calm you can snorkel which is very good. No problems getting sun beds at all times of the day.

The SPA area is very nice and very relaxing, it's free unless you want massage etc but even these are not to badly priced. There are pools, stream rooms etc which are great.

We where told that the jungle mossy spray does not work! we used it through the 2 weeks and didn't get any bites at all. We did not stay by the pool area much which may have made a difference. They do spray the areas regularly during the rainy periods as this does make the mossy's multiply, so stay away from grass are's and you should be ok.

We did do Coco Bongo (which we did in Cancun 4 years ago) this one is smaller than the Cancun one but the show is still very good. We are not clubbers but this is a good evening out.

All in All we had a brilliant Holiday and would recommend this place, we don't usually go back to places as we like to try new places/hotels, but this one would be worth going back to.

Room Tip: Upper floors are mossy free - mostly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diversx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear Diversx2,

In behalf of Grand Palladium team, I woudl like to thank you for taking time to give us your feedback about your vacacion...We appreciate very much each comment of our guest....This is help for improve our work every day.

Best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I have never written a review before and we have stayed at a lot of different resorts and countries. Our stay was from December 11-20. So first for the good:
The resort itself is beautiful. It is a nice change that the resort has left over 80% of the resort natural habitat. We saw more animal, butterflies and birds than at any other resort. We loved the Adult "Secret Pool" and spent every day there. The spa was relaxing and beautiful too. We did not have children and wanted a quiet relaxing holiday and we were able to find it at this resort. The resort is large but not too large that you can not walk were ever you need to go and with all the good food the walking is a bonus to help burn off the extra calorie intake.
The food was always very good with something for everyone no matter how picky the eater. As mentioned by several people it was fantastic that we could go to any al-a-carte at anytime and not have to make reservations in advance. We tried four the Brazilian, Steak House, Mexican and Ribs and More. I loved the Brazilian they have a to die for Green Dipping Sauce. My husband loved Ribs and More the Veal was melt in your mouth and the Lamb was great. We did not particularly care for the food at the Mexican although the Squash Flower soup was wonderful and the Pumpkin Creme Brulle was ambrosia, I wanted to go back for it every night we were there. The buffet was always good as well. We loved the beach bar and most days went there for lunch.
The staff was always friendly and helpful. The only issue we had was with a young man named Paulo who started out very nice and talked to us every time he saw us, we thought it was great then when he tried to get us to buy into the vacation club and we refused he did not talk to us often ignoring us even if we were right beside him for the rest of our stay. It was worse than if we had been treated badly from the get go.
The shows were very good for the most part we especially loved the "Variety Show" that was put on by all the animation staff of the resort it was very good. The dancers were very good as well and we enjoyed each show. Our only complaint would be that they should switch up the shows every second week as they repeated and we stayed 10 days to three nights there was a repeat show.
We stayed in a standard room and it was adequate and clean although as mentioned by others it could use some updating, there was some mildew issues on the lamp shades and such and our toilet seat was broken. Given that we are just coming off of the slow season one would think that all the repairs in all the rooms would have been done before the high season. The beds were okay however the problem I found was the plastic mattress cover on the bed with no other cover on top so you ended up sweaty and sticky during the night. I was very happy to find that the safe was free. As at many resorts we have stayed at we have had to pay for it. Also the electrical outlets really are sparse there were only three in the whole room and if you have a lot of things that need to be charged definitely bring a power bar with you.
The beach was okay however very rocky definitely need water shoes, there are no sand whales at this resort so the ocean has her way and washes the sand off the beach and leaves the coral and rocks in its wake. We had two yellow flag days and the snorkelling on these days was very good with a lot of cool fish to see on the reefs. As for swimming the water was cloudy we have been to much nicer swimming beaches in the past.
All in all we loved our stay and would recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjsugarcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Thank you cjsugarcube for taking time to share with us your feedback about your vacation in Grand Palladium. I will take note about your comments and I will check all with our team. All comments are very important for us.

Please, if we can help you with anything, don't hesitate to contact with us..

Best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

As the title sas this was the best place we have ever been on holiday !!

We went the first 2 weeks in December..We went with my husband my daughter, her partner and my 11 year old grandaughter. We had emailed them before we went as it was a famly holiday to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and when we got there after an uneventful flight we were told we had all been upgraded to a junior suite in villa 8 which was lovely. Their was a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we arrived in the room!

From the minute we checked in with the really friendly girl on reception, the guy in the great hats who took us in the little golf carts to the villa, we could not have asked for more pleasant helpful happy staff, from the bar staff, waiting staff and cleaners. If you passed any of them in the buildings there was always a hello from them
We were in the Colonnial and the reception area blew us away as did all the other lobbies. They were spotlessly clean and very impressive..I don't know where other people feel they are not 5 star, they were amazing. There were flamingos, racoons , crocodiles (in a pen!) and other really interestinganimals that were allowed free roam around the sites. it is very ECO concious which is another advantage point as far as i was concerned.
ROOMS
The rooms are all set in villas amongst the mangroves and so from the road cannot be seen They were very big with a massive bed that even when you stretched out you couldn't touch the person at the other side !! There was a sofa(which had been made up in to a bed in my daughters room for my grandaughter), 2 chairs and a table in the room and a lovely balcony looking over the mangrove. it was all marble , bathroom was spotless spotless, there was an IPod dock, telly, fridge stocked every day with water, beer and soft drinks and a lovely coffee maker. Thanks to Laydi for keeping it lovely and clean !!

POOLS
These were amazing all of them. We tended tostay around the Colonnial pool as we liked that one. It was constantly being cleaned by a man in the water cleaning the sides. There were always plenty of sunbeds even the second week when it started to fill up a bit more. It was a short walk to either the beach bar, or the buffet bar and the swim up bar was lovely

FOOD
We ate A la Carte.most nights and theses were lovely. The steak house and the mediterraean restaurants we found were the best but they were all very nice. The first morning we had champagne at breakfast as it was a novelty. The breakfast buffets were fantastic with so much selection as were the lunch time buffets in the main lobbies and beach buffets. However I did find the eveing buffets not so good, but that might have been that i did notf ancy what they had put out and tended to stick to the salads.

ENTERTAINMENT
There was always entertainmnet around the pool every day and the staff worked really hard in getting people to join in.My gradaughter Mya is quite shy and did not want to go to any of the clubs. A big thanks to Alex(Alejandro) for really taking the time to making her feel special and pulling her up to do things and getting her to dance on a night time .There was a theatre in the Colonnial and Riviera The shows were incredible the dancers were amazing ..how they remebered each dance routine for the 2 shows they did each night with a different theme amazed us. I felt the best was the pirates theme night with Raoul playing a fantastic Captain Jack. There were some incredible acrobatics in all the shows and one even included a horse. There was also always some going back and forth getting drinks from the bars so you didn't have to move.

EXCURSIONS
The trips can be a bit pricey but well worth the money to go to . We got a taxi (500 pesos return for 5 to Playa del Carmen and then took the ferry over to Cozumel. We swam in the cenote which was amazing visited the ruins and the rest of the family did the fantastic train the dolphin day and speedboats which they really enjoyed

There is so much more I could say about this place but there is justnot the space . We have already decided to return next year at the same time for some more of this luxury! After that wewill be trying the same resorts in jamaica brazil and Dominican

Room Tip: keep $20 pesos notes for tips as you walk around Go at 5 pm too book the show table atthe japanese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank UK-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2012

Dear UK-Leeds,

In behalf of Grand Palladium team, I would like to give you thank you for your excellentes comments...and I am happy to know that you and your family have enjoyed your vacation with us.ç

Please, if we can help you with anything, don't hesitate to send us an e-mail.

Happy New Year!!!

Cordially,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

As many reviewers say , the grounds and beach are beautiful. The staff are polite, helpful and very hardworking. The standard room was perfectly adequate and kept very clean.

A few minor points. We asked for a block away from the road noise - Block 7 top floor -still has the dull background roar of the highway if you wanted to sit on the balcony and enjoy the 'jungle' environment .The food - great selection of choices and generally well prepared but too often in the buffets the food was luke warm, even allowing for the buffet factor. Matter of taste but .. The a la cartes were pleasant ( except the sushi/ sashimi in the Japanese which was shocking) but not memorable. As the hotel filled the real waiting times were extending from the quoted 45 mins -to 75 mins.Again as the hotel filled the beach bars were getting busy and some cultures clearly don' t recognise queuing! Tip - the Kantenah end of the beach is much less crowded.
All in all a really enjoyable resort and good value. Do go out and about and use the collectivos - 20 mins to Akumal to swim with the turtles - 30 pesos each one way.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jools58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2011

Dear jools58,

Thank you for taking time to give us your comments about your vacation in Grand Palladium. I am glad to know that you had have a great time with us.

If you decide to visit us in the future, don't hesitate to send us an e-mail.

Best regards,

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Everything was awesome!!! The best part was the kids club. It stayed open till 11:30 pm and took kids 1 year old and up. Our kids ages 7, 4 and 2 loved going there. They were truly entertained by the kids club staff all day which gave my husband and I a chance for some alone time.

Room Tip: Block 21 was close to the kids club, beach and the buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank asakure1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Dear asakure1,

In behalf of Palladium team, I would like to give you thank you for your time and for your comments about our Miniclub.

I will share your comments with the rest of the team.

Best Regards,

Happy Christmas & Happy New Year!!!!!!!!

Banesa Mª Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an
3.8 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
TRS Yucatan Hotel
TRS Yucatan Hotel
#4 of 23 in Akumal
2,349 reviews
6.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: £160 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Easy Market Spa, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HotelsClick, Palladium Hotel Group, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing