We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We arrived at this hotel on 24th February with very high expectations after staying in Grand Palladium Punta Cana last year and we were not disappointed. We were upgraded to a junior suite on arrival. The hotels is set in amazing grounds and it was lovely to see the animals roaming all around. All the staff were very polite and extremely helpful. The food in the buffet restaurants was very good with plenty of choice, there was always something for everybody. We ate in the al a carte restaurants quite a few nights and these were very good. The entertainment teamed worked very hard and I even won a bottle of Tequila playing a game of bingo one day. The bedrooms were very clean and comfortable, although we did hear a couple of people moaning about not having a flat screen tv, what do they want they are on holiday, can watch tele all the time at home. There was always plenty of sun beds around the pool and on the beach. I would recommend that people visited Xel-Ha it was a brilliant day and one of highlights of the holiday was swimming with the turtles on Akumel Beach. We travelled on the Dreamliner which had plenty of leg room and none of us seemed the suffer jet lag like we normally do. I would recommend this hotel to anybody as this is the second Palladium hotel we have stayed in and they were both brilliant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Director de Hospedaje at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Elaine P,

Thank you for taking the time to share highlights of your vacation with us.
We are indeed delighted that you had a wonderful vacation with us once more. We are happy you enjoyed our beautiful grounds, friendly service staff, food and entertainment. We look forward to hosting you once more for a third and fabulous vacation with us. Kindly advise us prior to your next arrival.
See you soon.

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos

Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,780 - 1,786 of 5,463 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

19th February 2014 – 2nd March 2014
Have put average but if option to choose "good" would have put that.

Firstly let me start by offering a great many thanks to the following staff
Alfredo at Colonial reception – the only one who took an interest in our problem (stated later in the review)

Antonio, Alexandro and Edwin at Kentenah bar fantastic guys and service impeccable

Louis at White Sands adult pool bar fantastic service, polite conversation and makes great gin and tonics.

William at White Sands outdoor restaurant – excellent service could not do enough for us

Alfredo at White Sands bar – great service and great character (hope you get back into Riviera)

Landy – Colonial outdoor restaurant always smiling and excellent service

Mari Crus our cleaner thank you so much (hope you got the tip we left in the room)

All the above are true ambassadors for this hotel and unlike the head manager at Colonial reception were eager to please and provide a fantastic service during our stay.

Gripe - Check in took one hour and thirty minutes. Fantastic we were upgraded to the Mayan Suites in Colonial. Area around the building smelt of urine, was noisy and the room had pungent musty smell. Good looking room but decided the smell and noise were too much so tried to change the room. The receptionist was very unhelpful and stated there were no other rooms available so try in the morning. The following morning the head manager was truly unhelpful he stated we would have to wait for the lady named Roxanne that dealt with that. We waited and waited some more asked the head manager what time she was due in and he said 09:00 am. We waited waiting one hour ten minutes we approached the head manager again and thank the lord Alfredo stepped in and took ownership and resolved our issue. Why could the head manager not have done this is beyond me. Think Alfredo should be promoted. Anyway gripe over we were given a room 4415 in Kentenah. The room was good recently renovated not as big as Mayan Suites but big enough. Not a great view off the balcony but hey plenty of great views in and around the complex.

Complex – 4 hotels in one Colonial, Kentenah, White Sands and Riviera (this one is for holiday club members only). The place is massive perhaps too big. Loads of pools and also 2 adult pools which we found the one in White Sands was excellent, was quiet and had a bar what more could you wish for. The large pool in White Sands was a lot less rowdy than the one in Colonial. There is plenty of wildlife in and around the complex and is very well kept. As this place is so big there is a lot of walking to do although there are golf buggies and a train that run frequently which you can flag down and hop on.
Room – Kentenah plush rooms recently renovated, hairdryer in bathroom shower over bath, very large comfortable bed, flat screen TV, fan and aircon. Good room. NOTE* would be wise to take an umbrella as it did rain one evening and there isn’t one in the room. There are some lovely looking rooms over in White Sands located around the lagoon which runs through the complex. These are round buildings which are right at the water’s edge and also come with a canoe.
Restaurants - there are seven al-a-carte overall and also buffet restaurants in each hotel section and outdoor ones also used in the day. There are 2 restaurants that can be booked in advance these are the Teppanyaki and the Fish restaurants. The fish restaurant was awful, the food and the service was slow and terrible, overcooked fish, cold food and inattentive waiters. All the other restaurants are ok although there we tremendous queues and waiting time of up to an hour and forty minutes. The food is ok nothing to shout about, sometimes cold or luke warm, in fact I found the food over at White Sands outdoor buffet at lunch far better. Oh nearly forgot ”everyone is equal but some are more equal than others”, holiday club members get to book all restaurants so head straight to the front of the queues and straight into the restaurant to dine adding to the stress and anxiety of everyone else stuck in the queue.
Gym and Spa – excellent facilities Gym opening is 08:00am but you can get in around 07:00am which helps if you want to go for breakfast afterwards. Towels are provided as well as 2 different types of iced tea and also water. There is a pool here as well but is only for Spa users.
Entertainment- there are stages at each hotel section with performances every evening. The performers work very hard at what they do. There is also afternoon games around the larger pools as well as water aerobics etc.
Bars – loads of bars but we found the best ones were in the Kentenah lobby and White Sands Lobby as they were more contemporary and also the bar staff were fantastic. Beer is Sol not Corona which for me was a bit of a let-down an as with any complex like this if you want brands you have to name them when ordering.

Summary - Overall this is a good place if you do not mind queuing for restaurants. As mentioned the food is ok but does not leave you in awe. The rooms over in Kentenah are good, the pools are good plenty of places to escape if need be. The place itself is clean and tidy with plenty of bars. This place acclaims to be a 5 star which I do not agree with as I have stayed in places such as Secrets Maroma which is truly a 5 star and I have to say knocks socks of Colonial. My advice would be if you can afford to then pay a little extra and choose somewhere else but if money is tight and as stated you are ok with some of the issues I have mentioned then give it a try but for me personally I will not be heading back.

Room Tip: Get a room in Kentenah or White Sands NOT Colonial
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy4Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Director de Hospedaje at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Andy4Cheryl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experiences with us.
We are delighted that your received great service from the team members whose names you have highlighted, we will definitely inform them of your gracious comments. We extend our sincerest apologies that you had issues with your accommodations during your stay. We will definitely use your comments to help us to improve our services throughout the resort. If there is anything in the future that we can help you with, please do not hesitate as we would be delighted to assist.


Best regards

Alberto Gallegos

Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Please note that this is a review of the TRAVEL CLUB, not the resort itself. With over 2000 reviews of this hotel, there is very little else one can say.

Also, this is from an American, English speaking perspective. My experience may not be the same as the Spanish speaking guests.

OK...so typical vacation club set up. An employee at the bottom of the food chain sits near the registration desk. Offers you the spa gift card or the free excursion. We were there the first week of March. We wanted to get a spa credit, and we've done this before....so we were willing to sit through the pitch. We went to the desk, asked them what they would offer and it was a $200 spa credit. Looking at the prices of the spa (which are surprisingly expensive), $200 may take care of one person. So we asked for two $200 credits and got them.

They have several time slots in the morning. Some include breakfast, others are just to go to the sit down and hear the pitch. The breakfast tacks on another hour to the talk.....you have to sit there with some fake salesperson the whole time...and finally the breakfast is the same as you would get in any of the hotel restaurants.

The time slots are scheduled for 45 minutes...if you know what you are getting into and can see through the BS....then you actually can get done in 45 minutes.

Ok....this is a well oiled machine. Everything is set up to put you at a disadvantage. None of the guests face each other....so you can never see what anyone else is saying or their facial expressions.

They first sit you down with their "opener." It's like going to a car dealership and every time you want to try and negotiate, the salesperson has to go back and talk to the manager. These openers have no real power.....just start the pitch off.

So there are several different tiers you can join...all come with bigger rooms, more amenities and, of course, a higher price tag.

We looked at the lowest model. This came with a junior suite and 30 weeks of stays at any Palladium and then 30 weeks of stay "International." It's actually sounds like an insanely good deal. They claim there are no black out dates, they claim you always get a junior suite no matter where you stay. They offer a list of amenities that are applicable only to the palladium resorts....like free airport transfer. These weeks are good for 30 years. They also claim ANYONE can use the weeks, friends, family, random people. You have to book through their website (www.world-pass.com). The website is a complete joke. There is no live chat. There are no FAQs. When you actually book a reservation, there is no reservation number or any ability to refer to your booking....you just send an email to the address listed on the webpage....very shady.

The cost.....so the opener pulls out the fake cost structure and shows the package lists for $51,000. This is like looking at the MSRP on a car....no one pays the MSRP. All of a sudden, it is a special deal the day we are there.....$10,800. Oh and today only....they add on another 30 weeks. We asked the opener to get rid of the "extra 30 weeks" and then drop the price. She said that is the absolute lowest price. OK....so we say no thanks.

Then.....this is the best part. The closer comes to sit down with us. This guy, Marcus, has been there for at least 4 years...we've seen him the last time. The fact that he is still nickle and diming people at the resort tells me he hasn't gotten too far ahead in the this organization. He is the prototypical used car salesman. He is greasy, shady, arrogant and a complete phony. He really is a disgusting human being. And we didn't buy anything (so there isn't any ill will or we feel like he tricked us).....i'm just saying this as a fact....that this guy rips people off for a living.

All of a sudden, the closer comes in and can miraculously adjust the price. He takes away the extra "30 weeks" and drops the buy in price to $7500. If you were truly able to book a junior suite anywhere in the world for 7 days.....this price actually sounds really good. And we are very conservative people.....i'm afraid to invest in a CD.

But the bottom line....can I trust dropping $7500 to some shady Mexican company, with a horrible, zero liability website........and the answer is no.

So sleazy Marcus says....why don't you just do a trial. You can have 2 weeks for $400. Ok...they supposedly have a deal with Animal Kingdom in Disney World. So we went for it (staying at animal kingdom in a junior suite for 7 days would be a ton more expensive than $400). Paid $400 via credit card. As soon as we left the talk...we went right to the website to book Disney. As I stated before, there is no confirmation.....you just send an email with your preferred dates. We had a few more days left at the resort.....so we had enough time to go back for a refund.

We heard nothing back from the company. So we went back to where they hold the talk and found Marcus. Oh...how shocked he was that it didn't work. He called the reservation number for us. On speaker phone.....the reservation agent stated that Animal Kingdom was not available for the dates we chose (remember they claimed no black out dates?). So we asked them to book another available week. What do you know? The reservation agent could not find a single available week for Animal Kingdom. What a joke. We got our $400 refunded, which was a good thing....b/c I was prepared to take Marcus out back....he weighs about 120 lbs soaking wet.

Morale of the story.....it didn't work for us. Maybe it works for some people. At the very least, we got our $400 spa credit. I would certainly advise people to try this out in the beginning of their vacation.....so they can get a refund before they leave the resort. I highly doubt we would have gotten refunded when we came back home.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
30  Thank sonofcalabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Director de Hospedaje at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Sonofcalabria


Thank you for taking the time to share details of your vacation with us.
We do apologize for the issues you have highlighted, we assure you, that we will take very serious each one of your comments in order to improve our services.

It’s a shame that you had let the resort without talking with us regarding to this experience.

Should there be anything in the future that we can help you with, please do not hesitate to advise us as we would be happy to help.

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos

Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Having stayed in other hotels in Mexico I was wanting to try somewhere different and away from the main resorts of Cancun and Playa Del Carmen...well I definitely made the right choice. This hotel is amazing...from the stunning scenery and the activities available to the amazing food choice.
We flew on the Dreamliner and have to admit this was an added bonus to the holiday, a great flight with plenty of legroom and great entertainment. After arriving at Cancun airport we had to endure the nightmare process of clearing immigration and Customs to then arrive after a 90 mins journey to a beautiful hotel. Not the only negative of the hotel is the check in process, it is an extremely slow and boring process however we were supplied with a welcome cocktail and the rest of the holiday made up for this.
I could break the rest of the trip down into segments however this review would then go on for pages when in fact all there is to say is ignore the negative reviews, this hotel is amazing, the staff are friendly, hardworking and always on hand to assist, the grounds are beautiful and clean and the pools are the best ive ever experienced. The restaurants are amazing (especially the steak restaurant and the Brazilian) and the choice in the buffets is extensive. Also I know some people have commented that the drinks are watered down, however I can assure you the Smirnoff and Diet coke that I was drinking definatley wasn't! more like they were extremely generous with the vodka.
I would highly recommend the rock pool, this was amazing and the day beds are fantastic.
I would also recommend a visit to Xel-Ha and swim with the dolphins, this was a fantastic day and one I will never ever forget.
All in all this was one of the best holidays I have ever had and the hotel is the nicest I have stayed in. I am already looking at returning next year. If you are thinking of booking this hotel, then do it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Director de Hospedaje at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Kerry M

Thank you for taking time to share such of good comments of our service and facilities, your comments motivate us to improve our service every day.

We hope to have you back in a near future.


Best regards.

Alberto Gallegos

Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Visited the Grand Palladium for the first time last year - what an amazing place!!! The staff were so friendly and helpful there is a great choice of restaurants something for everyone. Beautiful rooms and very clean. Cannot wait to come back and celebrate hubbys birthday in style. Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: Junior suites are spacious and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Director de Hospedaje at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Colette R,


Thank you for taking the time to share details of your vacation experience with us. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our friendly service staff and variety of restaurants throughout the resort. We look forward to hosting you for another GRAND vacation at the resort. See you soon.


Best regards

Alberto Gallegos

Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Very late review. Visited the GP colonial the past 2 years for our wedding anniversary, cant wait for our 3rd visit this May. Special thanks to Valentine and Santiago at the Colonial bar for making us feel so welcome. Great food and drink and very good value for money. Counting down the weeks till we return.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank suzibrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Director de Hospedaje at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear suzibrew,


Thank you for taking the time to share details of your vacation experience with us. We are delighted you shared such a special occasion with us. We would be more than delighted to inform Valentine and Santiago of your gracious comments. We look forward to hosting you for a third vacation at the resort. See you soon.


Alberto Gallegos

Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Once again this resort exceeds my expectations. Beautiful resort with lots of beachfront. Plenty for all to do. Wonderful staff all around. Go visit the Punta Emilia bar on the beach and the bartenders will take care of you. Tell Bernardo, Mr Johnson sent you.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MrJohnson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Director de Hospedaje at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Mr. Johnson,

Thank you for taking the time to share details of your vacation experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our beaches and helpful service staff at the Punta Emilia bar. We look forward to hosting you for another GRAND vacation at the resort. See you soon.

Alberto Gallegos

Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
3.9 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
1.2 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
TRS Yucatan Hotel
TRS Yucatan Hotel
#4 of 22 in Akumal
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: £174 - £489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing