We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family and I just got back from our stay at the Grand Palladium, everything was great! The Japanese Restaurant hibachi grill was great! need to stand in line by 7:30am (concierge desk opens at 8am ) to book reservation for the next evening, it books up fast we got a 530 reservation, but well worth it! Second favorite restaurant was the Mexican Restaurant waiter was great brought us a Tequila Boom Boom shot which was really yummy, shrimp dish was delicious.

Beach was nice white sand, nice breezes, not to crowded, we did go out early to get shaded chairs, pools are really big and water is great, water does get warmer in the afternoon from the sun. We walked to the salt water pool but did not go in it very secluded and not may people very nice. It is true the resort is really big there are walk ways through the forest area that take you to different parts of the resort which is cool can get confusing, they have a train car that takes you lobby to lobby comes in handy when you dont want to walk.

The only problem we had was we booked through Miami Vacation Store because they some how use the Grand palladium name in the web page and it comes up before the Grand Palladium Hotel Group which is main web site. Anyway the upgraded us to a Jr suite because the ran out of the standard rooms which was great. But when we got there and checked the suite was in the Riviera Resort rooms 6709 and 6711 of the Palladium which was the furthest Villa's from all 4 of the resort lobbies which is were everything is all the bar and restaurant and pool. No beach near by. These suites are more for couples with the big tub in the middle of the room, not for a family with teenage kids. We asked to be move to the Colonial which is what I originally booked they moved us the next day, but beware if you change rooms you have to be out of your room by 12 and cant get in the new room until 3pm. The new room was perfect and comfortable and we loved the rest of our trip!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Assistant Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Greetings Kim Y,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us.
We are happy you enjoyed our Japanese and Mexican restaurants as well as our beaches.
Our management team has noted your comments in order to improve our services.
We look forward to hosting you for more vacations to come.
As such please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your next visit.

Kind regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,010
    1,309
    467
    204
    150
See reviews for
1,754
2,067
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (996)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My Family & I have visited the Grand Palladium several times & find it to be very inviting. Our 1st year there we meet Francisco Medina. He was a bartender there at the pool bar. He made us feel very welcome & helped us learn some Spanish vocabulary & we taught him some English. To my surprise he is still there & in the sports bar. If you visit stop & say Hi to him, you won't regret it... He is a pleasure to talk to.... The pool was very clean, we had no wait at the steak restaurant & it was delicious. Our rooms were cleaned everyday, we had transportation from resort to resort that we were able to share. This Hotel has been the most helpful especially since I didn't know a word of English. Until next time we will miss you Grand Palladium & Francisco Medina..

Room Tip: We have been pleased with every hotel room we have stayed in there..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Accommodations Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Greetings Christell...

Thank you for sharing details of your vacation experience with us.
We are elated you enjoyed our friendly staff like Francisco Medina, restaurants, pools, bars and facilities.
Our management team has noted your comments in order to improve our services.
We look forward to hosting you for more vacations to come, as such kindly advise us prior to your next arrival.
Should we be able to assist you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Colonial resort with 4 children ranging in age from 15-20. We had requested adjoining rooms but we were given 2 rooms in the same building which was fine. They had tried "upgrading" us to Kantenah but we told them we wanted our Colonial room we had booked and we are glad we kept it because the other room was far from everything. Building 20 at the Colonial is centrally located and an easy walk to all buildings and the beach.

We used Funjet vacations/Lomar and I would highly recommend it. They took care of everything as far as shuttles, etc. They even helped us check in upon arrival at Cancun airport to depart for home. Had beer 2/$5.00 on the shuttle which was a nice gesture for the hour or so drive to the resort. Lomar also had a representative in the hotel lobby to help with booking the Dolphin excursion and also a free shuttle to Playa Del Carmen, only catch was you had to stop at a Diamond store for 45 minutes on the way to town. It was kind of neat and salesman weren't high pressure but you cannot barter at this place.

The entertainment at the hotel was the best we have seen, they have obviously spent countless hours rehearsing and learning all the dance routines, etc. We have been to Cabo, Dominican, Costa Rica, Bahamas, etc. and none of the entertainment was even close to the People of Palladium. Great job to all of these hard working entertainers!

The dinners we had at the a la carte restaurants were all good. We did Chinese, Mexican, Italian and Ribs and More. T bone steak at Ribs and more was very good and we all enjoyed the Chinese restaurant. Some restaurants are very warm but that is to be expected when it's 90 degrees with 80% humidity. Every bar we walked up to we were served whatever we asked for even if we would order 4 or more drinks at a time. Give them a tip because they work hard all day long and never seem put out to have to serve for 12+ hours a day.

The refrigerators don't get cold which a lot of other reviewers have stated. We just put the beer on ice in the ice bucket supplied in the room. Only one day did they not restock the beer. Biggest complaint would definitely be the beds and pillows. We all had neck aches the entire trip and still do after returning home. They have to know this is a huge problem because it has been in numerous reviews about this hotel. The pillows are so big and hard we either didn't use them or use the little orange decorative pillows. This is the one thing that would possibly stop us from going back to the Palladium, can't understand why they would not upgrade these when they know 90% of the people do not like them.

They have vendors in the hotel lobbies while the entertainment if going on and we shopped nightly and found some nice stuff. The last night they had a casino night in the Colonial lobby where they give you 5 chips and you can either play roulette or black jack. When you get to 80 chips you get a t-shirt and 90 chips you get a bottle of tequila. My daughter won the tequila and I lost my chips within 10 minutes.

The swim up bars are great, we enjoyed the Colonial because it is 4 foot deep while the Riviera is 5 foot deep and you are constantly getting pool water in your drinks. We took two blow up floaties and the staff never said anything about them so assume they are OK. They came in handy for hauling drinks back to our spot! They have activities poolside all day long as far as dancing, ironman competition, bingo,etc.

I would say this is a 4.5 star hotel, would be a 5 with updated rooms with flat screen TV's, refrigerators that work and all new beds and pillows. We would recommend staying here and may return sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Colonial building number 20 is the perfect location but rooms are not updated yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Accommodations Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Greetings G J

Thank you for sharing details of your vacation experience with us.
We are elated you enjoyed our restaurants, pools and bars and facilities.
Our management team has noted your comments in order to improve our services.
We would like to note that we are already updating the Colonial side, you will love them.
We look forward to hosting you for more vacations to come, as such kindly advise us prior to your next arrival.
Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This was an amazing place from the location the food and the wonderful staff they could not do enough for you. We had a problem on our landing we rang reception and they were knocking on our door literally 90 seconds later. Don't take beach towels you dont need them all supplied clean and fresh every day. Transport is available in the resort we didnt use it there are plenty of short cuts and it was fun trying to find them. Only one negative in an otherwise fabulous holiday not really for women more men and that is to eat in the ala carte restaurants you have to wear trousers and a top no vest tops have to have sleeves whereas women can wear whatever they want other than that brilliant

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Accommodations Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Greetings Sue W

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday review with us.
We are delighted you enjoyed our facilities and , friendly service staff as well as our beautiful resort.
We look forward to hosting you once more, as such kindly contact us prior to your next visit.


Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Grand Palladuim Colonial Resort and had an amazing holiday experience. The
hotel was amazing and the beaches were breath taking. The staff in the bars and restaurants were very helpful, at times they had a lot of holiday makers to deal with and at times they were short staff in the main restaurant. The gym was the best fitness centre I have seen on holiday and the fitness instructor Dave was very helpful as I went every day for 6.30am. He went out of his way to provide instructions to guests using the equipment. The pools were accommodating for all and plenty of sun beds and reasonably spacious. Plenty to do in terms of activities and lots of excellent choices of drinks within the "all inclusive" selection. Food choices were the best I have ever seen and served to a high standard!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rukhsana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Assistant Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello Rukhsana N,

Thank you for sharing your holiday review with us.
We are happy you had a wonderful experience and will definitely inform Dave of your gracious comments.
Should we be able to assist you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.
We look forward to hosting you once again.

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We planned this holiday as a once in a lifetime trip for 8 adults and 5 children (aged between 5-14) in july 2013 This hotel surpassed all our expectations. The staff were extremely friendly and could not do enough for you to make sure the holiday was a truly memorable experience. We ate in all the buffets which were excellent, the food and service was brilliant, our personal favourite of all the buffets was the Tikal. We tried several of the al-a-carte restaurants which we thoroughly enjoyed all of, but for us the rodizio stood out as our favourite.
We pre-requested that all of our rooms were located in the same block (having never been to the resort we did not express a location preference.) We were not disappointed our rooms were of a good standard and in a great location as having to carry small ones to bed a few nights they were not too far from the reception.
The pools were lovely and clean and bar staff were extremely friendly, we loved the small pool located behind block 46 as it was quiet and secluded.
Beach was everything we anticipated with plentiful sealife to be observed. The animals that wandered the resort were amazing and our children particularly enjoyed the iguanas.
We made several trips - (tulum, xel-ha, explore, akumal and playa del carmen) Akumal was an amazing chance to swim with turtles. the older children loved explore.
Really recommend taking the Segway tour ( do this at beginning of trip) as it is an excellent way to find where everything that this hotel has to offer is.
We had such a wonderful time on this "once" in a lifetime trip that we have have just booked to return in 2015. And are even bringing friends too!!!
Roll on july 2015

Room Tip: we stayed in the kantenah rooms and could not complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Assistant Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Greetings maria m,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us.
We are happy you enjoyed our pools, beaches and friendly service staff.
Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your next visit.
See you in July!!

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I would like to start by saying that we have stayed in Sandals resorts, Disney resorts, and various 5 star resorts throughout the world and we thought this hotel was brilliant. It was very clean and well maintained. The food was of a good standard and there was so much to choose from. At night you could go to as many restaurants as you wanted and it was a welcome change to have our food served to us. We would definitely recommend the Japanese and Chinese restaurants. All the staff in the resort were very welcoming and the service was great. It is a great hotel for kids, my son loved seeing all of the animals roaming about the resort. We really had a wonderful stay and would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Assistant Manager at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Greetings P R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday review with us.
We are delighted you enjoyed our Japanese and Chinese restaurants, friendly service staff as well as our beautiful grounds.
We look forward to hosting you once more, as such kindly contact us prior to your next visit.
See you soon!

Best regards

Alberto Gallegos
Accommodations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
6.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
4.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,900 reviews
22.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,598 reviews
4.5 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Akumal
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing