We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Thank you for the upgrades!! We have been to the resorts at this location many times.
We travelled with 2 grown daughter and 2 young grandsons. November 14th to November 21.
When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by a double upgrade to the ambassador suite. Our grown daughters also received upgrades to junior suites. The only complaint they had was lack of hot water and the water pressure. I must thank them for the VIP wristbands which allowed us to have all the perks of the Royal section. We were able to book al la carte's for the 6 of us, myself and husband, two daughters and two grandsons, without any problems. They loved the show table. The new kids club was up and running the second day that we were there, and it was a great hit with they boys age 3 and 5. The mascots in the kids club and the breakfast with them was a hit with the 5 year old. The upgrades in the rooms are awesome. The beach was great as usual. Thanks again for a great holiday!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bubba&sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear bubba&sunshine,

Thank you for your good comments and for your time.

Best regards from the Riviera Maya.

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,697)
There are newer reviews for Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,445 - 1,451 of 5,697 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Truly amazing resort. Sunshine all week. Stunning beach with lots of palm trees and palapas. No trouble finding a spot, sunny or shade troughout the day. Love that the sea's swimming areas are shallow. The staff is amazing, they work hard but always with a smile on their face. Food was great, buffet and no reservation a la carte restaurants, except maybe at the Italian restaurant, I ain't a picky eater, but just could not eat the lasagna, it wasn't good. The pools are amazing, though really deep. Wildlife and vegetation everywhere, well kept grounds. Everything really clean. Had a junor suite located in villa 49, on 3rd floor. Near everything. Don't miss the rock pool on Riviera's side. And for tranquil moments, the' adults only ' pool. Ans do enjoy a little tequila while enjoying music in the lobby or the shows. I'd like to insist on the amazingly attentive and hard working staff. Special mention to Augustin at El Dorado steak-house and Carlos at Rodizio brasilian restaurant : these two were exceptionnal at their job and at charismatically teaching a little spanish... haha.. So much fun! I'll be back soon as it was a really nice stay. Thank you all at Grand palladium.

Room Tip: Villas 48 to 50 very central, easy access to everything from the mangrove shortcut.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sofcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Sofcard,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your opinion.

Please, don't hesitate to contact with us if we can help you with anything.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just returned to snowy and cold Canada after a magnificent week at this truly amazing resort. This was the first time (wont be the last) that my wife and our 9 y/o daughter have experienced an all inclusive resort. We stayed in villa 43, close enough to the resort, restaurants, pools and the beach.....the room was a double room with two double beds more than enough for the 3 of us. Room was spacious with little balcony (we were on bottom floor) important to note here like others have that it is very easy to hear furniture being moved around above you! Bathroom was spacious, beds comfortable and our housekeeper "Saturnia" was simply awesome, we made sure we left her a tip everyday......mini bar is restocked everyday with beers, water and pop. Kantenah has an amazing array of restaurants including buffets. We ate at the Japanese and it was awesome, make sure you book in advance for a "show table". The Mediterranean was Ok but you can also eat at the sister resorts, Colonial, Riviera and White Sands. Try the Ribs and more and steak house...very nice. Food was awesome, drinks were plentiful and service was great, check in was a breeze and check out was just as easy. Be sure to bring small US $$$ as it can be hard to find anyone with small stuff. Easy walk to the beach from the resort...beach was superb.....lots of fish, great snorkeling, lovely white sands, some minor rocks at times to navigate but nothing to worry about. Make sure you get to Coba for a true Mayan experience, one of the very few left that you can actually walk all the way to the top! truly magnificent, we went with a tour group which is on a separate review. The resort has a ton of wildlife.....our daughter loved it, we saw Coatis, Racoons, Iguanas, frogs, birds, butterflies, crocs (they have a croc pool) and flamingos in a pond....we also saw a small snake which was awesome.....this place is magnificent.....food was truly excellent, water superb. Be prepared to walk around to get the best experience of the resort, they just opened a brand new kids waterpark and it is truly awesome.....this resort is a class above and we will be back.....cannot recommend it enough. Great work Paladium.

Room Tip: ask for a high room to avoid noise from above
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank crikey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear crikey68,

Thank you so much for your good comments.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stunning Resort
This was our first visit to Mexico and the Grand Palladium Kantenah. We have been to the Palladium in Jamaica before.
This is a beautiful resort.
We were given a Mayan Suite as an upgrade for a contest I had won. These rooms are beautiful and right on the beach. We particularly loved the outdoor Mayan Shower. These are only on the bottom floors so make sure to request this if it's something you’re interested in. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. The room was always kept very clean and quite often towel art was on our bed after maid service.
The Mayan Suites are the further south end of the whole Grand Palladium complex but even at that we didn't find the walking to the lobby all that bad. Of course there are carts that get you to the Kantenah lobby and then the train that will get you to the lobbies of the other parts of the Grand Palladium. We mostly used these on rainy days which we did have a few of.
The grounds are kept immaculate. We were very impressed. They are many animals, birds and reptiles to see. The Coati are very cute but people have to learn to stop feeding them. They were starting to become very aggressive at the outdoor lunch buffet by our second week. They are not afraid of you at all and I'm sure it's because of being fed by people all the time. We did notice near the end of our stay that they seemed to have disappeared. We wondered if they had maybe been caught and moved to a new location.
Food was great. We ate at the buffets for breakfast and most of our lunches. Servers were mostly right on top of things but there was the odd time we had to wait quite a while for our morning coffee. No big deal though as we were in no big rush. Hey people you’re on vacation, Chill! We usually ate at the Al a cartes for dinner. It's hard to choose but I think our favorite was the Italian Restaurant - Portofino at the White Sands/Riviera section. We also loved the steak house - El Dorado and had a great time at the Japanese restaurant - Sumptuori. The best dessert was at the Japanese restaurant. It's a special not on the carts that they bring around. It's the deep fried ice cream. Very Yummy. Again the service at the al a cartes was great. We found the staff so friendly and eager to please at all times. We also ate at Punta Emilia on the beach a few times for lunch as well as Mare Nostrum, Ribs & More and the Brazilian- Rodizio. The Brazilian was quite the experience but couldn't do it again on our second week after eating so much meat from our 1st experience there. Need to learn to say, STOP!!! But very good.
As part of my contest winnings we also received a free private dinner on the beach. It was beautifully done. We were picked up at our suite and driven onto a secluded part of the beach where they had a path of candles leading us to our table. There we were surrounded by torches and lovely background music. Our private waiter served us a very delicious meal. It was perfect until the very end when the rain decided to make an appearance again. By the time they had use back to our room we looked like 2 drowned water rats. We didn't let it bother us as dinner was over and it just made it more of a memorable evening.
The beach at the whole resort is gorgeous and the water was very warm. There are some rocks in many of the areas so I would recommend water shoes. Once you get past the rocks its fine. We did quite a bit of snorkeling and saw many fish. Never did we have a problem getting a beach chair but then we were there during the slow season. As for the pools we mainly stayed at the Kantenah/Colonial main large pool. Very nice pool and great swim up bar. The only problem I found being that I’m short I always had to swim as the water is deep. It was not that big of a deal for me as I like to swim, just more concerned about getting pool water in my drink. LOL We did go to the main pool at the White Sands/Riviera and it was not as deep so keep that in mind if that is a concern for you. The children's centre/pool at the Kantenah side of the main pool area was under construction while we were there. I know it is finished now and I'm sure all the kids are going to love it. Lots of great slides and water toys for them. We did visit the salt water pool one day. Very interesting and something you should see and do.
We went to a few of the late shows in the evening and they were very well done. Our favorite was the Pirate show on Friday night. We were also there for Halloween. The animation team had a special show that night and then a haunted house for the older crowd (no kids as too scary) to visit after the last show. That also was very well done and lots of fun.
During the day the POP team keep you entertained if that is what you want. We did a few things and won a T-Shirt and a bottle of Tequila. The day time entertainment is done mostly around the main large pools or down at the beach. On rainy days they were in 2 of the Lobbies with activates to entertain you. The POP team are all a great bunch of people.
We did visit the spa one day it was a real treat. Beautiful, quiet setting. It’s too bad that they are going to start charging you to just use the pool, saunas and hot tubs. I believe the fees will begin sometime in December. Let’s hope they decide to not do this.
All in all we found the Kantenah a very beautiful resort and would recommend it to everyone. Young and old, a couple’s vacation or a family vacation it seems to have everything you need. A vacation is mostly what you make of it. Relax and Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: We thought the Kantenah section was the nicest of the whole Grand Palladium Riviera Maya resort.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Caribbeangirl57,

I appreciate your comments about your vacacions with us. Thank you for your time.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

the day we arrived to when we left we didn't want for anything and the resort was huge and beach and rock pool excellent swimming in the pool with fish i will never forget always food available somewhere. beautiful surroundings wildlife everywhere. the staff very attentive music on most nights we are looking at dates to go again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mark972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you mark972.

I am glad to know that you have had a great time with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at the GP Kantenah Oct 6th-12th. This resort is AMAZING. When we arrived we were upgraded!! The room was immaculate! There is a ton of wildlife. The coatis are adorable, but don’t leave your plate because they will come get your food!! Our 1st night we just walked around to get a feel for the resort, and let me tell you it’s massive. I love wearing high heels, but ladies this resort is so huge and there is tons of walking that I would not recommend heels. The resort grounds are gorgeous, and well maintained. They have daily pool/beach activities – something for everyone. Lots of beach volleyball games going on – which my fiancé really enjoyed. The beach is beautiful. Not rocky at all. We snorkeled, and took a kayak out in the water a ways. The food at the buffets and in the Ala Carte restaurants was DELISH. The Japanese Steakhouse is a MUST. It was so good. But you must make reservations. We ate at the steakhouse 1 night and I ordered the Filet Migon, it was good, but a little overcooked for my liking. But I would still recommend eating there. The staff was so nice, and helpful. Tip your waiters and bartenders - Trust me they remember!! They see to it that you are taken care of if you tip them! (it’s not required, but it certainly is a nice gesture) We did a couples massage at the Spa, and it was Heaven. The spa is so beautiful, and relaxing. We went to Xel-Ha one day, and that was awesome. It’s about a 35 minute ride from the resort if you take the Collectivo. We went into Playa 2 nights, because there wasn’t a lot going on at the resort in the evenings. The have the white party on Monday nights, and that was fun, but for the most part there isn’t too much going on at night. We watched a show 1 night and it was less than mediocre. Our vacation was amazing, and I would def recommend this resort to anyone. I would for sure return back to the resort for another vacation. The staff, grounds, activities, and beach were all top notch!!

Room Tip: We were in block 48, on the 2nd floor, and it's not a bad location. Ladies, I would advise weari...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clasyali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear clasyali,

Thank you for your comments and for your time.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We just came back from an amazing week at Grand Palladium Kentanah.
We stayed in Villa 48, which next to the nicest part of the beach ( three minute walk). A week before we left I email the hotel, asking them to do a little something special since we were celebrating our first year anniversary. We got upgrated to a junior suite, and has a bottle of champagne in our room upon our arrival! Great little gesture!
The covered paths that you can use to get around a great when it is raining ( we got two evenings of rain, and a full day).

As for the staff, what can I say, they are so nice, and helpful. Go see Jose at the beach bar ( left of the beach). And Francisco in the sports bar, he's always so busy, but so nice!

We are every night in the a la carte restaurant, our favorite was the Ribs (our new york cut and rib eye cut steaks were so good), and the Japonese ( dont forget to reserve if you want the hot plate).

as for the buffet for breakfast, so much choice, Landie our waitress was a gem, and Oscar at the Panini counter was always there with a smile!

We did not go to any of the shows due to the fact that we like to eat late, so we were always missing them. But we always went to the lobbies, since there is always live music playing at one of them, which makes a great ambiance while having a drink.

This resort is worth it, yes it is big, but walking make you digest all the food, and drinks that you consume during the week, if not, there are the little trains to take you from one lobby to the next!

If you are a sports fan, the sports center is well equiped. The tennis court are amazing, well lighted if you play in the evening.
We had a blast playing shuffle board while it rained one afternoon. the pucks glide easily!

I would go back anytime to this resort!

Room Tip: If you are a beach lover, stay at the Kentenah part of the hotel, they are closest to the beach, sin...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anne-Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Anne-Marie P,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your comments.

Sincerely,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
149.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.9 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
149.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
14.9 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
22.9 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#72 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#6 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: £155 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Kantenah are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantenah Palladium Grand
Grand Palladium Kantenah Hotel
Palladium Mexico
Palladium Grand Resort
Hotel Grand Palladium Kantenah
Palladium Kantenah
Grand Maya Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort Spa
g Palladium Kantenah
Grand Palladium Mayan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing