We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

This is our 3rd time to stay here and once again were quite impressed. The rooms are spacious and well maintained. Right on the beach. We stayed in a beach front room and could walk right out the sliding glass door onto the beach. The beach bar is next door and served pretty good drinks. Service was lacking regarding the kitchen, but when we did eat onsite, it was fresh and tasty. It was also difficult to catch someone in the office if you needed something. Only other complaint is there is no "do not disturb" sign and we were awoken daily by maid Service pretty early. Overall, highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txcornbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    79
    29
    19
    8
See reviews for
87
97
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just awesome location, very friendly staff. We were there during low season so things were very quiet. We had a rental car so we were ready to drive to local attractions/restaurants.
Gorgeous view from our condo cleaned daily, full kitchen and free internet.

Incredibly helpful staff accommodated our late arrival and when we called ahead, had food and drinks waiting in our room when we arrived.

Note this is a small, family-owned operation so stay in touch before your arrival (call a few days ahead, day of arrival)

Room Tip: Get what you can afford but the beach-view condos are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I made the reservations over the phone and via email with Tony DeRosa. It was incredibly easy to make reservations directly with the owner. In the past; with other resorts, I made reservations with a clerk on the phone who had no vested interest in whether I have a great vacation or not. Making reservations online may be simple, but the personal service that I got while dealing with Tony was not to be beat. I think that extra customer service is very rare in the hotel industry today. It made me feel like we were welcome and they were happy to see us on the vacation.

My previous trips to Villas DeRosa was in 1999 and 2000. I expected the resort to have grown older, but actually it was pretty much the same. I think all condos that are 40 feet from the ocean will have more weathering. So if you are expecting a new condo with updated decor, you will not get the ultra modern decor BUT you will get a gorgeous view of the turquoise water and white sandy beach. I did notice that the larger resorts did not have ocean front rooms. There is not a room luxurious enough to replace ocean front with the sounds of the surf. We stayed in the ocean front condo and was absolutely heaven to have breakfast, lunch and dinner sitting at either the dining room table or our patio table enjoying the view. The condos are decorated in a theme appropriate for the Mayan Riviera and is perfectly comfortable.

We paid extra for the all inclusive meals and it was worth it. The food was great and so was the service. Lucio was the chef and he did everything humanly possible to make our meals the best. The food was delivered hot and exactly at the time we requested. I loved the fact that we did not have to discuss and decide three times a day, where we were going to eat, etc. It makes the vacation so much more relaxing when you eat at an all inclusive. I doubt there are many resorts in this area who offer this service. Even the ones who do, are such large resorts with over 500 rooms, that you would not receive the personalized and individual attention that you get at VDR.


We arranged round trip airport transfer with our reservation and I highly recommend it. A taxi from the Cancun airport is US $150, one way. There was a mistake on our reservation so we did not have a van to pick us up at the airport. VDR did reimburse us for the airport taxi.

There are two iguanas that live in front of VDR, near the office. I enjoyed feeding them fruit or flowers each day. Across the street was a family of coatl. I tried to take a photo, but the camera was too loud. There is a nice area for snorkeling in front of the resort. The turtles nest directly in front of VDR as well as the other condos in that part of the beach. I love turtles and it was such a special feeling to know hundreds of turtle eggs were being protected by CEA and hopefully soon all those turtles will make it safely to the ocean. Of course, no lights allowed at night shining on the beach as it will confuse any newly hatched turtles.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

The Villas de Rosa is located directly on the beach so it has a fantastic location. However, the place is poorly managed, run down, dirty, food was not very good, air conditioning was poor, and the manager did not even send the van to pick us up at the Cancun airport as scheduled.

We made our reservations with the owner, Tony DeRosa, who seemed very professional and handled everything promptly. He was not at the vilas though and we had to deal with the hired help. Our package included transportation to and from Cancun airport, room and meals for 8 nights, and a couple of days of cenote diving. As stated, no one picked us up at the airport so we had to pay $150 to a fleabag taxi to transport us to the villas. Thankfully, we were reimbursed but it was a hassle.

The food was not very good even though their cook did the best he could.
We were supposed to start our cenote diving on Sunday but our guide was never notified to meet us. Therefore, we didn't start diving until Monday. The guide was pretty good as far as I was concerned but I have never dove in cenotes before. My partner who has a lot of experience with this was not impressed with the cenotes we were taken to.

The great thing about this place is it sits 20 yards from the ocean. It has great views but the place has become run down. Maintenance on beachfront property is not easy nor cheap. The beds were not comfortable--they put 2 twin beds together and call it a king. The sheets and towels were very old and the detergent used is very perfumey. The water pressure in the shower was poor.

If you are looking for a beachfront room and not worried about the living conditions, then this would be a place for you. I would not return to this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and daughter and I were on a week long vacation that was predominantly a cave diving trip but my wife and daughter and my dive buddy's wife and daughter were not cave diving. There were 7 cave divers and 4 non cave divers. Villa deRosa arranged our transportation from the airport in Cancun in two vans and arranged for the driver's to stop briefly at the Walmart in Playa del Carmen so we could stock up on munchies, etc.

When we arrived at the hotel (about an hour's ride from Cancun airport) we were greeted by Tony Jr. He was gracious, friendly and helpful as he was the entire week. We had a2BR/2BA room on the 1st floor which opened right out onto the beach. The water was about 30 -40 steps from our covered patio. What a view!

The hotel's beach has a fringe reef about 100 yards offshore which break up the incoming surf giving the shoreline some protection (which turned out to be a very good thing as Hurricane Ernesto came ashore Tuesday night/Wednesday morning). Both bedrooms are airconditioned (very well) but the living room, dining area and kitchen are not. The day we arrived, if we opened the sliding glass door to the patio and the front door, the flow through breeze was great. But if you shut either door, it did get hot immediately.

The rooms were nice sized and the bathrooms were clean and neat. Towels, soap and shampoo were provided. Soon after we arrived, one of the staff appeared bringing us bottled water and a variety of soft drinks. There was also a large bottled water dispenser on the kitchen counter. The kitchen included microwave, coffee maker, stove, sink and refrigerator. As we were part of a dive group, we had paid for three meals a day at the hotel so this may or may not be supplied for all guests.

Speaking of food; we told the staff what time we wanted breakfast served every morning as we had dives scheduled every day and needed to be setting up tanks and gear by 8am. Every morning like clock work, our breakfast was delivered by a smiling staff member. While the hotel offers ala carte menu choices, our group decided on what we wanted each day for breakfast and dinner and it was delivered to each room. Overall the food was good to excellent with a mix of American (mostly breakfasts) and Mexican items. There were a couple items that weren't as popular in my room, but that is mostly due to picky eaters.

The hotel has a pool in the center of the buildings surrounded by a wall so it is very private. The pool was very warm and not extremely clear, but it did feel good at the end of the day for a relaxing soak. You can also access the roof for great views of the beach and nice photos of the shoreline.

The hotel organized our cave diving and provided two wonderful dive guides, Alessandra and Daniel. We enjoyed both and they introduced us to wonderful caves. We obtained all our tanks from the hotel. They were able to supply single and double tanks, weights, towels and lunch each day.

Everyone at the hotel was pleasant, cheerful and helpful making the entire week stress free and enjoyable. The night the hurricane was making landfall, the staff distributed candles and matches in expectation that we might lose power. We did lose power for a short time but it came back on and stayed on through the rest of the week.

For us, it was a wonderful vacation. The hotel provided everything we expected and did so in a professional, polite, cheerful manner. I highly recommend Villas DeRosa for anyone wanting a relaxing beach front vacation with or without cave diving.

Room Tip: I would recommend the ground floor rooms so you can walk directly out onto the beach and, if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was my 11th stay. The staff is always warm and freindly. While I was cave diving, my wife worked from the condo. The Wifi was great and the staff was very attentive to ensure she had lunch and that she was having a good time. Every night we had a great dinner brought to the room. From a cave diving perspective it is a great one stop shop with excellent guides who have access to the newly found caves and the old favorites. We were lucky to be there during the turtle season and spend our last night sitting on our deck watching a turtle come out of the ocean and lay her eggs. We were about 10 yards away!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Love the following at Villa:
- Bed sheets were really soft and nice after a hard day cave diving.
- Air conditioning unit worked well - noisy,
- Wifi worked well during our entire visit, fast!!
- Great little wall safe.
- They printed our boarding passes and was there to see us off when we left
- Picnic food from the restaurant was good. We did sandwiches a couple days.

Overall, I thought so many things were and well worth the price of admission.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DParris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
1.0 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#17 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
2.6 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas DeRosa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas DeRosa Beach Resort

Property: Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
Address: Lot 36 Aventuras Akumal, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas DeRosa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas DeRosa is a small family owned resort offering 1,2 & 3 bedroom beachfront condos with hotel rooms facing the swimming pool. Each condo enjoys a private balcony, spacious living area with dining room and fully equipped kitchen. Local or international meals can be catered to your dining room or enjoyed at our beach bar or poolside cafe. Aquatech, our on-site PADI dive center, is available for reef diving, cenote diving and dive training. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas DeRosa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquatech Villas Derosa Hotel Akumal
Aquatech Hotel Derosa
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing