We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what is all the fuss about?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2013

from the reviews i thought this would be a much better experience than it was. our room smelt like mildew, there was mold in our shower and the icing on the cake was that our "king size" bed was in fact two twins pushed together with king sheets. really?!?! i would be more understanding if say the hotel had been packed to its gills and improvisation was their last resort but there were at best only 15 other villas occupied (and i mean at best!). the staff were certainly friendly but since our main requirement was a comfy place to sleep this didnt come close to fitting the bill. there are are far more comparably priced nicer properties in akumal and tulum to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbixter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

We started our vacation in a major hotel in the area, but found the service to be less than personal or accommodating. After the first four days there, we decided to move from the all inclusive experience of being filled around like cattle, with the same lack luster menu every night.. to a local spot we'd heard about by chance walking down the beach. Villas DeRosa!! We stayed the remaining ten days and had a blast scuba diving on the reef and enjoying a less crowded version of the same beautiful water and beaches. We stayed in a 3rd floor condo with a big private balcony overlooking the beach. One floor up was the roof (with a view more impressive than anything we've ever seen down here!) and a bar on friday and saturday night with 5 buck cocktails and 2 buck beers. AND great music! The staff was awesome and helpful, suggesting beaches and restaurants withing cheap and easy cab distance that felt like hidden gems the masses miss out on. You can definitely tell they've lived and loved the area. Thank you for an amazing trip, and my boyfriend and I will see you next year for our honeymoon!

Room Tip: view from the 3rd floor was AWESOME!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattColorado499445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I have been going to Akumal and staying at Villas Derosa since 1992. The food is outstanding, the staff is very friendIy and accommodating. The condos are clean, very comfortable, have beautiful scenery and beach front. The addition of Wi-Fi has been really appreciated! We use their in-house dive facility (Aquatech) for our cave diving excursions and will continue to do so in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed here for 1 week in a top floor ( of 3 floors) 1Br. condo. We arrived late, around 8:00PM and Rebecca was in the office waiting for us. She was very friendly and accommodating.

Our condo was very spacious, and clean, though furniture and accessories very dated. That we didn't mind, though the old, splotchy sheets did turn us off! I complained to Rebecca right away, and she apologized saying the housekeepers add too much detergent and don't pay attention to it dissolving, therefore the stains. The next day we had brand new sheets.

Air con worked fine, it's just in the bedroom, which we knew in advance. Ocean at your fingertips, and a breeze in the evening made it comfortable w/o air con throughout. The outside terrace is huge w/built-in seat w/cushion on each side (great for a nap or reading). Breakfast on our balcony every morning after a walk on the beach is the best way to start any day!

Kitchen was fine and had all we needed. We brought our own ground coffee, and purchased other groceries at a supermarket about 15 minutes away. We were very happy to have a kitchen, but did go into town for dinner every night. Some very good restaurants in town, which is a 10 minute drive away. (Can't walk there via the beach because of large rocks separating the town from this beach). We did have a rental car, and it was needed, as there's not much in the area, and you have to drive yourself or depend on expensive taxis, or the cheaper "collectivos" to go offsite. We ordered dinner to be sent to our condo the 1st night and it really wasn't very good. There's not a restaurant on site, just a kitchen where they'll prepare meals for you which are ordered off a menu and delivered to your room or one of the few tables around the pool.

We did have lunch and/or drinks a couple times at the beach bar next door (owned by the ex wife of the Villa owner). The food and margaritas there were delicious.

Pool small but refreshing on a hot day, but feels very closed in as its in a small central courtyard. Used it when wind caused a choppy sea, making it dangerous for swimming.

There's so much to do in the area, I didn't get as much beach time as I like! Tulum not far away, saw ruins, but restaurants very expensive compared to Akumal Playa (beach side of town vs Akumal Pueblo on other side of highway), so we didn't go back, though the beaches looked great and waves much calmer than the beach in front of our condo.

Went w/ Riviera Adventours for snorkeling in Turtle Bay, Ya Kul lagoon, and Dos Ojos cenote. Great tour, loved our day with Virginia and Rachel her assistant. (See my tour company review and Virginia's restaurant, Oscar and Lalo's, both great!).

All in all we really enjoyed our stay, but will probably choose a different location, closer to the town, and with a more updated condo next time we go back.

Room Tip: More privacy on top floor, than ground floor beach front, also felt safer as we left doors to balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntiecocoSanRafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We spent one week here and had a great time. Big apartment that fit 2 adults and three kids, easily. A bit run down but ok. Wifi did not work predictably. The location is superb, right on the beach. Closer to the water that any other resort in the area. We had a car so we could drive various cenotes, ruins, and activities. Roads are good. Snorkeling in Akumal and in the Yal-Ku lagoon are musts. Very kids friendly and lots of fish and sea turtles.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us very good suggestions for beaches and places to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank UE_DC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We really enjoyed our time there. We had a ground floor suite, was awesome! The staff was all excellent. Thanks Rebecka and Tony Jr.!!! :) We will definitely book again. We stayed for 4 nights, and will definitely stay 2 weeks plus next time. We had a ton of room in the suite. Excellent! The only suggestion to Villa DeRosa is to put up some kind of window coverings to provide a little more privacy on the ground level suites. We heard alot of people are repeat yearly customers. We met so many really nice people there. Is a really great place to stay. Location is great. And the beach is really clean!!! Great job!! Can't wait to return and hopefully be a yearly repeat customer also. Cheers! :)

Room Tip: We had a 1 bdrm King bed oceanfront! Excellent! Tons of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Very clean hotel, greatest staff that you can imagine!
To quote a member of the staff: "we know this hotel is not perfect, but we're doing our very best".
And that's what they really do!! Always busy with their guests, asking if everything is ok. Best place we had in Mexico. Stayed for 2 nights, but wanted to stay longer. Too bad for us we had to leave because the place was fully booked. Thanks again to the great staff! Keep up the good work. If I really want I can write also some "minus" points, but I won't because this place doesn't deserve negative comment. Also, there's no "real" restaurant, but they have a great kitchen with room/pool/beach-service without extra charge. If we're coming back to Akumal, this would be our home again. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Room 10 has pool side view, but is good because the lack of the strong and salty sea breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herr_Jurgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
1.1 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#14 of 21 in Akumal
342 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#13 of 21 in Akumal
446 reviews
1.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas DeRosa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas DeRosa Beach Resort

Address: Lot 36 Aventuras Akumal, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Akumal
Price Range: £56 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas DeRosa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas DeRosa is a small family owned resort offering 1,2 & 3 bedroom beachfront condos with hotel rooms facing the swimming pool. Each condo enjoys a private balcony, spacious living area with dining room and fully equipped kitchen. Local or international meals can be catered to your dining room or enjoyed at our beach bar or poolside cafe. Aquatech, our on-site PADI dive center, is available for reef diving, cenote diving and dive training. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas DeRosa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquatech Villas Derosa Hotel Akumal
Aquatech Hotel Derosa
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing