We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Oasis Tulum
Nearby Hotels
US$312
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$285
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$357
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$389
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$369
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,486)
Filter reviews
2,486 results
Traveller rating
980
731
341
202
232
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
980
731
341
202
232
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscalm resortdos lunassmart carmartini barjean paulnoeli gomezgrand guestswhite boxocean frontfishmakigarden viewinfinity poolfree snorkelingtacoplaya del carmenswim up bar
Filter
Updating list...
1,218 - 1,223 of 2,486 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I cannot believe I spent money at this place. We stay in Playa Del Carmen all the time but wanted a nice place near Tulum. DONT pick this place as we had an oceanfront room with no hot water for a shower. EVERYDAY we took cold showers and when we spoke to the staff they DID NOTHING. Food and service was okay at best and I felt ripped off everyday of this vacation. Our oceanfront room smelled like raw sewage for most of our stay. We begged for bottled water for 6 hours and finally someone brought 4 bottles. If you can CANCEL your trip now DO IT as I wish I had. Back in the summer of 2013 when I booked it the place had decent reviews. Three weeks before our the trip I saw nothing but bad reviews. AT THAT MOMENT I SHOULD HAVE CANCELED AND FOUND ANOTHER RESORT. I can honestly say this is the first time on any vacation I wish I could get a full refund!!!
CANCEL, CANCEL, CANCEL AND FIND A BETTER RESORT!

Room Tip: We heard nothing but people complaining about the other rooms at this resort and we had an oceanfront room and it was bad.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BryanSmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest:

It is unfortunate to have not met your expectations. Your comment has been taken into account and will be referred to the appropriate area taking the necessary steps to correct these inconsistencies in service and provide better care in the future.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Grand Tulum - Christmas week. We were a family group of 32. They went out of their way to accommodate our large group. We had a wonderful time. The hotel was beautiful and the rooms overlooking the beach were breathtaking. The staff was very helpful, our rooms were lovely, although a couple of us had problems with no hot water. The beach was fantastic and the snorkeling was great! Everyone enjoyed the food, the buffet was always good, although sometimes they couldn't stay ahead of demand. The restaurants were lots of fun for a leisurely dinner or lunch. The drinks were great - if they were watered down, that was a good thing or we would have no memory of the trip! Bar service was great - delivery on the beach! Everything was always kept beautifully clean.
I would say the things other people have complained about are true - there was a feeling that the staff might have been overwhelmed by the demands of a full resort.
Because we were travelling with both babies and elderly people and teens, we were very aware of safety hazards - no railings, marble floors and steps in odd places. Still no accidents. All in all it was a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Ground floor beach side - glorious!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Merrilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We are pleased to greet you at the same time thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit . Likewise express our appreciation for the flattering words we received from your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to serve you and make your stay with us an unforgettable experience.
Hope to see you again soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Beautiful hotel. Great food and drink selection. Very clean. The bartender Ramon in the Lobby bar is great. The Spa is a MUST! Luciano was the best !! Would come back to this hotel just for the massage.

Room Tip: Had a third floor ocean front room. No hot water in shower in the a.m.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandy10090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest:

It is a great pleasure to receive feedback on our service and this motivates us to keep improving and so ensure a high quality service. We hope soon to receive back to our hotel where we welcome you with open arms and the satisfaction of seeing him again.

Again, we appreciate your trust in us. We are at your service.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Overall, this is a nice, modern resort on a very nice beach with very nice staff. However, it is overpriced and the management and operations as well as the hotel's ability to manage expectations can become quite frustrating -- as others have mentioned in their reviews.

We had reserved a Sian Ka'an room expecting to be on the ground floor opening up to the beach. We ended up getting a Sian Ka'an suite on the second floor -- which was a huge and nice room -- but as nice as it was, the windows don't open and there is no balcony and that is what we thought we were paying extra for. As we explored the hotel some more and walked to the north end of the beach/resort, it became obvious that all of the Sian Ka'an units were different (some were very private with an actual patio deck before getting on to the beach). Effectively, if you book a Sian Ka'an room, you could get a suite on a higher floor with no balcony, a unit that opens up to the beach, or a unit that also gives you a private patio deck. I personally think this is unfair and they should categorize these separately so that you know what room you are booking, else it is misleading. Given that this trip was a Christmas and Birthday present to my wife, I thought we were safe by booking the best room they had, but alas, we were disappointed.

We did complain and were moved into a beachfront room after a couple of days. This room was less than half the size of the suite and the balcony door to get on to the beach was not a sliding door but was a spinning door. The worst part was that there was a heavy table and chairs right in front of the door, the tile floor was uneven, and the ceiling pot lights stuck out a bit too far. This resulted in us having to rearrange the heavy furniture (and due to the small size of the room, there wasn't any convenient place to put it) and trying to open the door sounded like fingernails on a chalkboard as the spinning door scraped the tile floor and the pot lights. It definitely seemed like more work and annoyance than it was worth...

The other Grand rooms around the resort that faced the pool looked pretty nice and had proper balconies with sliding doors. IF you book at this resort, I would suggest getting one of those rooms and not splurging for an oceanfront Sian Ka'an room -- it's simply not worth it.

Other cons about the resort were the limited number of restaurant choices and the restaurant reservation process. You could only reserve a restaurant the day of and starting at 9am (the line up starts to form around 8:40am) and there were usually only 1 or 2 restaurants to choose from that evening. There's a total of 3 restaurants to choose from (only 1 or 2 of them would be open) that Grand guests get to reserve at, the buffet and rodizio do not require reservations. On average, we wasted the first 40 minutes of our day waiting in this line, usually to find out that only one restaurant was available and we had a choice of 6pm or 9pm...

As Grand guests, we thought we would have access to all the non-Grand restaurants, but that's not true. There were a couple (one was called Dos Lunas) that Grand guests didn't have access to... granted, the food didn't look as good as the buffet any way.

There is supposed to be food available all night, but it's difficult to find (they move it to a different location each night, for no good reason) and the quality is less than mediocre -- they had burgers a couple of nights that barely looked cooked and we weren't sure how long they'd been sitting there either...

The room service food is free/included, but there is a charge to have it delivered to your room (I think it was about $15). We didn't bother so we're not sure how speedy/tasty it was.

The only "top shelf" alcohol that being a Grand / Sian Ka'an guest gets you was Johnny Walker Red Label and Bombay Sapphire. Crown Royal was an extra charge and I hadn't heard of most of the brands they were using to make our drinks. Bottles of wine were everywhere but you had to pay for it and wines by the glass were included in the all-inclusive.

Coco Frio (whole coconuts with water and its meat) were available at the beach/sushi bar, but also for a charge... for an all-inclusive, there was quite a bit that wasn't included.

The coffee shop also left a lot to be desired.

If you speak Italian or are visiting from Italy, it seemed that you would get some super service. There seemed to be a special guest services for Italians and special activities on the beach and at the Cafe del Mar rooftop lounge most evenings.

On our second to last day, it seemed like we were about to get harassed to attend a timeshare seminar while waiting to make reservations in the lobby, but we managed to dodge it by explaining our plans for the day and the fact that we were leaving the next day.

Although, the grounds were generally clean, we did witness a teenager (who probably shouldn't have been served liquor) vomiting on the main walkway to the rooms/pools from the lobby and no one cleaned it up for at least 5 hours (we walked by it several times).

Finally, the public bathrooms always seemed to be clogged and overflowing with feces and smelled like that even when they weren't... gross.

Ok, now for the good:
- Very modern, clean lines decor -- you do feel like you're at a luxurious resort
- The beach is great -- really nice sandy beach and it is rocky as you enter the water as others have indicated, but the water is crystal clear, warm and very calm, the reef is very near, and this makes for an excellent snorkeling experience, lots of beautiful fish. Do be careful of the sea urchins on the north side of the beach (near the dock), it's best to enter the beach near the southern end by the boats that are always parked there
- The food is really good everywhere. Our favourite were the lamb tacos at Sarape and the meals at all the restaurants (the few that were open) were very tasty.
- The smart car was great (although it's terrible on gas), for $30 we got it for about 29 hours (picked it up at 10am one day and returned it at 3pm the following day) and were able to visit Coba, Dos Ojos Cenote, and Akumal Beach (all highly recommended).
- There is a colectivo that stops right out front and is a convenient and affordable way to get to Playa del Carmen (also highly recommended, it's a beautiful beach with decent shopping).
- Staff are very pleasant, although they don't really go out of their way to assist you and prefer yes/no answers to your questions.
- The beach activities were included and you could rent kayaks and pedal boats for free (20 minutes) and there was also a free snorkeling tour (unnecessary if you can swim and have your own snorkel gear -- flippers were not needed since the water is so calm) -- but if you want life jackets or snorkel gear without the tour, you would have to pay.
- The evening entertainment was pretty good. It usually started off quite cheesy but got good. However, you could tell that all the performers were amateurs and actually one night during the fire show, the performer must have doused too much gasoline and the front row actually got sprayed with gasoline, many of them leaving screaming and rubbing their eyes shortly after. Tip: don't sit too close to the fire shows...

Overall, we were patient and maintained a positive attitude and while we enjoyed our second trip to the Mayan Riviera, we wouldn't return to this resort nor would we recommend it due to our experience. We stayed at The Royal in Cancun and if we return to Mexico we will either try The Royal in Playa del Carmen or the Akumal Beach Resort (since both beaches are also really quite nice, better than Cancun).

Room Tip: Do not bother with a Sian Ka'an room, it's not worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you had on you recent stay. We offer our sincere apologies. Please note that all of your comments and opinions are very important to us and will be submitted to the right department to take the necessary actions to correct them and provide new options for you in the in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel to change your perception of us.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My family (myself, my wife and two boys) stayed at The Grand Oasis from Dec 29/13 to Jan 5/14. Generally speaking we enjoyed our stay. Below are my pros and cons for this resort.

Pros:

Kids Club - When vacationing we usually put our kids in the resort Kids Club for the morning and then collect them after lunch. My kids had a great time at the Grand Oasis Kids Club despite the fact that most of the other kids did not speak English and the weather was not always sunny. All credit goes to Adriana and Dulce who are great! They provided fun activities and took great care of our boys. Thank you!

Staff - The staff (housekeeping, table servers, Kids Club, bartenders, and maintenance) work hard and are great hosts. The staff are the back bone of this resort.

A la carte Resturants - We found the food and service in the A La Carte restaurants to be very good. Reservations were easy to get, there was a good selection of dishes, and the food was really good. The wine was also reasonably priced too (180-600 MX). Thank you Jorge (Pool Bar), Rubicel (Dos Lunas), Noe and Cleo (Al Sur), and especially Alma in the coffee bar.


Cons:

Check In - Takes way too long.

Gym - The gym is tiny with only a few free weights and dated equipment. If you're into working out you'll have to be creative. There are no towels or cleanser to clean equipment after use. Some of the equipment was out of order.

Salesmen - Immediately after a lengthy checkin we were approached about some "special offer" and "free gifts" if we reserved our next stay. We politely declined saying we had just arrived. The sales pitch continued every day which was annoying. All said we did not pre-book another stay.

Main Buffet - I found the food selection to be a little disappointing and it was a little chaotic at peek times.

Summary
While the weather or the resort wasn't perfect, our kids had fun and we had a relaxing holiday. That said I do not think we will return to Grand Oasis as there are many other resorts and choices for travellers in this part of Mexico.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atención C, PR at Grand Oasis Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest:
Let us thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Such opinions helps us know our weaknesses in order to improve in the future. We regret the inconvenience occurred during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel to enhance your perception.
We reiterate our thanks.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews