We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Segway - fun for all”
Review of Segway Fun Tours

Segway Fun Tours
Ranked #11 of 25 Tours in Akumal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are offering Segway tours in four of the most beautiful resorts in the Mayan Riviera (Grand Palladium Resort & Spa & the Royal Suites, Barcelo Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, Iberostar Playa Paraiso Golf Resort & Spa) and Vidanta Riviera Maya). This is the most unique, funny and eco-friendly way to know every single corner of these four fantastic resorts. Please check our web site for further information, tour times, etc. Dare and have fun! Ofrecemos tours abordo de Segways en cuatro de los mas hermosos resorts de la Riviera Maya (Grand Palladium Resort & Spa & the Royal Suites, Barcelo Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, Iberostar Playa Paraiso Golf Resort & Spa y Vidanta Riviera Maya). Esta es la mas exclusiva, divertida y eco amigable manera de conocer cada rincon de estos tres fantasticos resorts. Para mas informacion, horarios, etc.
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had an excellent time, it was the highlight of our vacation. We had 4 people in our group, ages 12 to 58. Ms. Fernanda Oliva was most helpful with securing reservations and explaining details when I was persistently cautious. She made me feel very comfortable by answering very detailed questions about the safety and experience to be expected. We were not staying at the resort, so Fernanda assisted us with getting Palladium day passes at a 50% discount. It was an all inclusive resort, so after the Segway tour, we stayed and enjoyed the pool, food and drinks (all inclusive).

Mr. Gee (guide/trainer) was excellent at teaching the group how to ride a Segway for the first time. We all felt very safe and in control. The machines were sturdy and well maintained. Mr. Gee was funny and entertaining, providing a wonderful tour and an awesome experience. If you have the time, this is one of the best things to do in Akumal.

We are definitely going to do the Segway tour again when we return on our next vacation.

Thank Cobia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
segwayfuntours, Owner at Segway Fun Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Kyle,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with the community. We are glad to know you enjoyed the experience. As you could see by yourself is a very safe activity for the whole family and it’s something completely different to other Segway Tours since it takes place in a wonderful environment.

Please get in touch with us again if you consider a new tour. We will manage the same arrangement with the hotel management so you can have a good offer for the day pass.

See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We took the chance to show our kids (10 & 11.5) how segway will run at the Palladium Resort at Akumal/Mexico We run across the whole resort and get show all the impressing areas of the resort, we get time to get up to speed with the segway and the trainer propose us a good way how to run across beaches and offroad areas. We get shown a small cenote in the resort and can run 20km/h great expierces. Thanks to Mr. G!

Thank Torsten O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
segwayfuntours, Owner at Segway Fun Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Torsten,

We are glad to know you enjoyed our tour. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future. It is quite an experience to run these amazing machines on the beach, right?

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We also chose this experience for our first full day on property and I would highly suggest it! It really helped us to understand the layout of the properties and it was a lot of fun. There are certain areas that could be challenging to some; you need to be alert and pay attention to instructions and ask questions about any concerns that you might have.This tour is approximately an hour to an hour an half long and if you have problems with your knees or legs, it could become tiresome or slightly uncomfortable, as you help to guide the Segway by the position of your feet and leaning with your body. Our guide was Omar Guzman and he was wonderful! If anyone needed to stop and rest or use the facilities he was happy to accommodate them. He also made regular stops to make sure that everyone was drinking water and staying hydrated. He was very personable and knowledgeable about the resort and had a funny and happy disposition, even when one of our group members ran him over and knocked him off his Segway! We had a party of seven, ages 13-59 and everyone had a great time! We would highly recommend this fun and resourceful activity for the beginning of your stay at Grand Palladium. (You do need closed toe shoes and I recommend wearing sneakers with a supportive soles. I'd also recommend a hat or visor, sun screen and sun glasses). It's way fun!!!

Thank sightseeker29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
segwayfuntours, Owner at Segway Fun Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear sighseeker 29,

We are really happy to know you enjoyed our tour. You have perfectly described what we want to do. This is fun activity that help you to discover some of the best kept secrets of this wonderful resort.
Many thanks for having shared your experience with the travelers community.
We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a great time on the Segway tour. We did it our first day at the resort and it really helps to learn your way around. Antonio was very patient with us. He was always joking and funny even though we were a little high maintenance. LOL The kids thought it was the best thing ever. It was a fun experience and you won't regret doing it.

1  Thank mardigrasbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
segwayfuntours, Owner at Segway Fun Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Mardigrasbound,

Many thanks for your comments and for having had a great time doing our tour. It is not only about how amazing these machines are but, specially, to have a great and funny time with our guides, the other visitors and, of course, discovering some of the best kept secrets of the resort.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We did the segway tour during a stay at the Grand Palladium in the mayan riviera.
Like others have already mentioned, it is so fun, and although it may look difficult,
the segways are very easy to drive and control. Each rider gets a very thorough
training lesson, and practise, once all the riders feel comfotable, then the resort
tour begins for the group. We drove all over the resort and on the beach etc.
Highly recommend the segways, its a great time and good value.

Thank thewarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
segwayfuntours, Owner at Segway Fun Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Thewarden,

Many thanks for your kind comments. We hope to see you again in your next visit to the resort and hopefully you will do the tour again with us.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Segway Fun Tours also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Segway Fun Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing