We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for . . .”
Review of Villa las Brisas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa las Brisas
Ranked #3 of 6 Akumal B&B and Inns
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for . . .”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

You want to chill out and relax? This is exactly what my wife and I were looking for, and found, during our recent vacation to Akumal and VLB. This serene Villa offers very nice accommodations right on the beach on Akumal playa sur.

Rooms: Pro's: Nicely appointed and very clean, clean, clean. Superb balcony on our upstairs condo unit. Great beach and ocean views. Good design and layout. We enjoyed being able to take a shower and see the ocean at the same time. Very comfortable and pleasing to the eye. The kitchen has everything you need and more. Pots, pans, glasses, lime squeezer, etc.
Cons: The window treatment in the kitchen is "see-through" at night with the lights on inside and is right at the top of the stairs. Neighbors cannot help but get a eye-full when climbing the stairs and passing the window. Also, the bed was very small. Definitely not queen sized more like a full-sized bed. It was a little hard, which I like and it worked out just fine. Some minor issues with the maid. The first day we received no maid service whatsoever. (mid-week) Another day we did not get any soap and we were out! On another occasion we did not get any kitchen towels. Minor inconveniences which could probably have been corrected by contacting the on-site owners. Nonetheless, I am not waking someone up at night for soap or kitchen towels.

Beach/Playa: Pros: Right on the beach. I mean right on the beach. No walk whatsoever. Clean sand, palm trees, nice lounges, hammocks. Peaceful, serene, quiet. There are currently undeveloped lots on each side of this Villa which add immensely to the "feel" of the beach. Nobody breathing down your neck or hearing your private conversations. This is as good as it gets in Akumal these days. Most areas are over-crowded and busy - not VLB.
Cons: Nada

Service: Pros: The owners, Kerstin and Horacio are nice and unobtrusive. When they are home they are helpful and kind. They stay out of your way and allow you to enjoy your privacy and quiet.
Cons: When the owners are not home there is no service available. They do provide phone numbers should there be an emergency.

Safety: Perfecto! Never felt unsafe at any time. Beach vendors are NOT allowed in Akumal anywhere. We were never bothered or harassed while on the beach, in town, either Tulum or Akumal, or anywhere. Daytime, nighttime, we felt safe everywhere.

FYI: During our ten day stay in March/April the wind blew every day. IMO not a calm nice breeze. Most days it seemed windy to me and it definitely negatively impacted our snorkeling experience. This could be typical of this time of year although it certainly helped to keep our room cool as it has no A/C. You MUST rent a car if you are staying here for any length of time. There are no restaurants nearby or shopping The alternatives are cabs which are very expensive and impractical or collectivos. We really like to use collectivos, however, it is a ten minute walk to the highway to reach them - not recommended.

Overall, this place is very nice. We would love to return here someday. If you want to relax, and you have a rental car, this may be the place for you. Our gratitude to Kerstin and Horacio for helping to make our stay a very pleasant one. Viva Villa Las Brisas!!

Room Tip: Both condos, upstairs or downstairs are very nice. If you don't like stairs take the ground lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bendorbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our family of 5 spent a week at this villa over Christmas 2013. It is beautifully appointed in a beach front position. There is snorkelling equipment and a kayak at your disposal. We hired a car so we could get to local sites such as Tulum, Coba Sian Kaan and various remote cenotes. The kitchen is well appointed so we enjoyed shopping at the local supermarket and cooking up a Mexican feast in the evenings. There are some large resorts adjacent but they don't detract from the feeling that you have escaped the rat race. I wish the beach itself was cleaner ( lots of polystyrene,shoes,bottles) but the water was pristine.Thank you Horacio and Kersten.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jangk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Kristin and Horacio, the owners are perfect hosts and we love the beach in front of their house. Tulum and Playa del Carmen are just close by for night life and full of restaurants, and the place is just a sooooo quite place to rest far from the rush and tourist areas such as Tulum and Playa del Carmen. There is no peddlers on the beach and the hamacs are just there to make your perfect day dreaming. BTW, the villa and the rooms are well decorated and clean and remind me of Spain rather than Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b2bwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I had such a beautiful time at Villa Las Brisas! Our room was on the second floor facing the sea and I can explain how therapeutic the feel of the sea breeze and the sound of water can make you feel so relaxed. My husband and I drove to Akumal beach to snorkel and we met a lot of cute turtles. Back on our beach we snorkeled all day and just loved being in this large open aquarium swimming with the cute little fishies. Kristin was a great host and we are so grateful for her hospitality. The rental is clean and has all the amenities of home - t.v., wifi, etc. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaggermove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 6 night stay. Kerstin was out of the country during our visit, but we had a great experience meeting and dealing with Horacio - very friendly but definitely giving us our space! The stretch of beach is absolutely gorgeous and the villa is beautifully decorated and has all of the amenities you could possibly require. The one thing we would have liked is a more comfortable bed. However, we find that typical of most places I n Mexico. Daily maid service is provided except for Sundays which we think is just fine.There is indeed free wifi and they also provide bottled drinking water. The terrace on the second floor where we stayed has lots of sitting space, comfortable chairs and is covered in case it rains. the lounge chairs they provide on the beach are also newer and plentiful.If we ever go back, the only thing we so would do differently is rent a car during our stay. All of the restaurants are quite far away and we were quite horrified at the taxi prices there as compared to other parts of Mexico we have visited. We were happy that we didn't stay in the main beach area of Akumal as its quite overcrowded there and not as clean as Aventuras Akumal. We highly recommend Las Brisas is you want a quiet beach vacation. Our only advice is to rent a car while you are there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coricoert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland Bc
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The property provides a quiet place to relax and enjoy the sun and beach. This location is ideal for snorkeling right in front of the property. Kerstin and Horacio were very gracious hosts supplying helpful information on the area. We utilized the Collectivo to get around as taxis are very expensive here.

Room Tip: If kitchen facilities are required be sure to request that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whynemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is one of my favorite places to stay at - anywhere in the world. Kerstin,Daniel and Horacio are awesome. I have been there every time of the year and no AC has always been fine. The sea breezes provide great sleep. We were there for Wilma and that was somewhat challenging but beyond that it is a perfect resort. Congrats Kerstin and family! Tom

Room Tip: Stay on the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 703tomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
1.1 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
341 reviews
1.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1.8 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#17 of 23 in Akumal
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oasis Tulum Lite
Oasis Tulum Lite
#125 of 175 in Cancun
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa las Brisas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa las Brisas

Property: Villa las Brisas
Address: Etapa A Fracc. Aventuras Akumal #44, Akumal 77737, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifull beach front condos ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Las Brisas Hotel Akumal
Villa Las Brisas Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing