We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Nearby Hotels
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$285
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$392
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$357
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$308
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13,428)
Filter reviews
13,428 results
Traveller rating
7,429
3,713
1,416
524
346
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,429
3,713
1,416
524
346
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pablodiamond clubhacienda sectiontequila restaurantsnack bara la carte restaurantsthomas cookfishgbp tulumbahia principe tulumtulum ruinsmain buffetdolphin poolbreakfast and lunchshow tablemain poolsmaller pool
Filter
Updating list...
4,924 - 4,929 of 13,428 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

just came back from a 1-week stay at Bahia Tulum. Overall was pleasantly surprised with the resort. Very clean and modern facility with good service and good drink / food options for an all inclusive type of experience. Probably best part of the resort is that there are 3 hotels connected to each other meaning that guests can use facilities / restaurants in either one of the 3 and there is lots to do / lots of places to walk around. I asked at the desk and we were upgraded / given access to club diamond lobby which is a small lobby on a side of the resort with their own pool. Club Diamond area is generally less busy and quieter than main Tulum lobby.

One advice is to avoid their Privilege Club promotions unless you are interested in spending $10+ thousand for a membership in a "time-share" like travel club.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AKrylov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear AKrylov:

Thank you for choosing Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort for your vacation, that means a lot to us.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the hotel that you quite enjoyed. We have already shared it with our manager in order to improve and enhance quality. Indeed, your well being and entire satisfaction is our primary goal.

It would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a great and unforgettable stay.

Kindest Regards,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our first time to the Mayan and did not know what to expect. It's a bit of a hike to the resort from the airport, we hired private transportation which in hindsight was an excellent idea, after the flight we just wanted to get to OUR hotel and start enjoying ourselves. Our driver even stopped for some "refreshments" on the way which made the trip even more enjoyable. I would strongly suggest the private transport route for heading back to the airport as on the way home the last thing we wanted to do was spend 2 hours looking at other hotels.
Once at the hotel we were very impressed with the entire place, gorgeous lobby, beautiful grounds, food was good (not great, but this has always been a short fall at all inclusives imho). Another thing concerning food, the a la cartes book up very quickly and we found we werent able to get to all the ones we wanted, while there we spoke to another couple who had also booked their holiday months in advance and said they had made their a la carte reservations at the same time, so this is something to keep in mind as well.
The staff was very good to deal with and alway happy and polite, as in other places we found tipping the bartender big to start with wound up getting us excellent service throughout the rest of our stay, so long as you can go back to the same one.
Iguana's everywhere, so if you don't like them be advised, not warned as they don't do anything but sun themselves and run away at the first sign of anyone approaching.
Very large grounds, but that being said even though we were situated in a building at the far opposite end of the complex the shuttles made it very easy to get everywhere and it was an excellent opportunity to meet with some people from other countries.
Quite removed from any towns or nearby shopping however there is a onsight shopping plaza located at the entry to the grounds which affords you the opportunity to get all your souvenirs as well as a pharmacy for whatever you might need. I suggest buying any sunscreen or other things at this pharmacy as opposed to onsight as the prices for sunscreen beside the pool are outrageous but to be expected.

All in all I can't say enough good things about this place and as a result we are staying at another Grand Bahia in Punta Cana this year, will post again on experiences there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyfisherman_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear happyfisherman_42:

We are very happy to have had the opportunity of hosting you.

The nice notes like the one you kindly posted on the TripAdvisor webpage are very appreciated by us. Thank you for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at the Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort.

It is very nice to read that you enjoy the warmest service that we Mexicans are able to give to all our guests. We thank you also the nice comments about our delicious food and nice grounds.

Thank you for the good publicity to family, friends and other future travelers and hope to see you back soon in the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum. Please inform us prior to arrival to accommodate your requests.

Best Regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.

Wendy García.
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We have just arrived back from 2 wks in the Hacienda Principe section of the GBP Tulum (also known locally as the Diamond Club) section. We travelled from Gatwick on 29th Dec with Thomas Cook.
Flight - no delays! Leg room was ample (we went economy there and Premium back). Service adequate: dinner and afternoon tea going out and dinner and continental breakfast on return. Don't miss out on channel 14 and 15 which shows camera views of the pilots view (great for take off and landing) as well as a view of under the plane to show what you are passing over!
Don't bother paying for the VIP lounge pass that the rep recommends at your welcome meeting - very expensive and not required! Also the rep will warn you about the queues to pay the departure tax. However we didn't see any horrendous queue and thought the whole airport and flight experirnce was absolutely fine.
Note: The departure tax is something that you have to pay at the airport yourself just before checking in for your homeward flight (they only accept Mexican Passos or Stirling in cash for this and it's just gone up to 800 Passos each - about £46 each. US dollars are not accepted)

The coach transfer to the GBP Tulum is just under 2 hrs (but can be less if there are no other hotel drop offs - we did the return transfer in 1 hr 15mins) Don't get ripped off by the rep on the coach who only wants to sell you mosquitoe wrist bands - the don't work and are 5 US dollars each!

The hotel is really mores skive and if you stay in the Hacienda section you go to a. Totally separate lobby in the hacienda area - small and friendly.
All lobby's have free wifi.
Room was easily large enough for 2 adults and a teenager but could have done with a bit of an update - wonky lights, cracked basin in bathroom, plug didn't fit bath etc (nothing to worry about though) plumbing was a little hit and miss with loos getting blocked now and again but all was fixed ASAP.
A la carts are fab - but you must email at least 3 weeks ahead to make all your included reservations (hacienda guests via Thomas Cook recieve 4 a la carte meals per week)
- mikado is oriental and is located in the Coba section (a short golf buggy ride) - make sure you book a show table.
- la gourmet is located next to the mikado and was our joint favourite restaurant (along with Don Pablo at the Tulum hotel section)
The other a la cartes were OK and a welcome change to the standard buffet selection.
Men must wear shirt and long trousers for Mikado, La Fourmet and Don Pablo as this is full waiter service (the other a la cartes are not so formal as are a a mix of buffet for starters/desserts and waiter service for mains)
If you are booked in the Tulum Hacienda rooms you have access to a private pool for hacienda guests and also exclusive use of the Tequilla restaurant for breakfast and lunch buffets (right near your room and next to the beach). We cannot praise Gabriel and Alfredo who work here at breakfast and lunch - the two happiest, most helpful and nices waiters you could meet! Also the omelette chef Abel was really pleasant and made the best pasta at lunch!
All in all we had a great time, the only downside was the unusually inclement weather - 5 full days of rain wasn't great and it was hard to find something to do when it went unusually cold and wet... Thank goodness for the free lobby wifi!
The animation team around the Hacienda exclusive pool were fab - my teenage daughter loved the pool volleyball!
Don't bother with the organised trips to the Tulum ruins or to swim with the turtles at Akumal beach - do it yourself via the collectivo local buses - the lobby golf a parts will take you to the buss stop by the highway if you ask. We found them safe and friendly.
Akumal turtles - collectivo was 60 pesos each way for 3 people (only about £3 for 3)! You must hire life jackets for 72 peso each from the akumal dive shop on the beach as you are not permitted to swim out to the reef without one (reef is only about 3/4 meters off shore) turtles are there and we managed to swim with one for a good 5 mins! Get there early mind!
Tulum ruins was about 90 pesos each way for 3 people on the collectivo and the entrance fee only about £4 each (if that). Take swimwear and a towel as there is a fab beach there - on one of the top beaches in the world list!

Room Tip: Go for the Hacienda rooms at the Tulum!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SCFHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear SCFHants:

Thank you very much for your valuable comments on TripAdvisor and for choosing Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort for your recent stay.

We feel glad to read that you have left the hotel feeling totally invigorated. Thank you for highlighting our “Club Hacienda” and the staff´s treatment. It is important for us to know that our staff’s efforts are appreciated by our guests. At Bahia Principe Hotels and Resorts we take pride in offering our guests good accommodations and the very best in food and beverages.

Thank you very much for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate to send us a note with your wishes before your next arrival.

Sunny Regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel Nov 2012 and have just booked to go back in Oct this year. The facilities, staff and experience was just amazing. Having stayed in the Bahia in the Dom Rep and loved the experience there we came to Tulum, nearly booked for Dom Rep but just couldn't pass on the chance to visit Tulum again, 37 weeks and will be back in paradise!!! Have always meant to share my experience as use this website a lot and find it very helpful, but for me there is really no where as to holiday now I have the Tulum bug big time!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nic1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Nic1874:

On behalf the Management and all the staff of the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum resort, we would like to send you our warmest appreciation for choosing our hotel for your previous holidays.

We would like to thank you for your positive review about our services and for recommending our resort, it is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

We sincerely hope to attend and welcoming you and your family back to our resort this October.

Please write us a little message before your next visit and we will do all our best to accommodate your wishes.

Best regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera

Wendy García,
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and myself went for 2 weeks returning home on the 21st so we were there for the run up to Christmas. The hotel had really gone to town with the decorations. It is one of the best all inclusive we have stayed in. There is no shortage of anything. If you have been out until the early hours and you're peckish go to the bar opposite the beach, they only do burgers or chicken but good enough for that time and of course more drinks and the raccoons are hilarious.
The rooms are spotless and you get a complimentary free bar in the room, only beers, cokes and water, but a nice touch, which they refill every day. You also get crisps and chocolate.
The food is good with lots of variety. Make sure you book the A la carte nights especially the Gourmet and the Brazilian.
The bars have loads of choice and are well staffed so there is not a lot of waiting around. They also have tables in the bars with bottles of just about every flavour of tequila mentionable to help yourself to.
The pools and the beach are brilliant with adequate sun beds.
The staff are the best, nothing is too much trouble. They are constantly on the go but always cheerful and make time for a chat. If you are going with Thomas Cook go on the 100 % Myan it was a fantastic day but it's not for the feint hearted. The half day fat cat is well worth it too.
Make sure you do the Coba and the Akumel facilities as well. The Coba pools are better for the kids there's more for them to do.
if you get the chance book the VIP lounge with the rep for your return if there are places believe me it's worth it we were checked in and in the lounge having beer and sandwiches in fifteen mins all included for £20 per person. All in all a brilliant holiday the weather was lovely got a nice tan but expect some tropical rain showers, they provide brollies in the rooms and please don't worry about bugs of the crawly kind didn't see one. Take mosi repellent though some people had bites, the kids will love the Iguanas. Have a lovely holiday Mexico is amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Batnbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Batnbal:

We take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have written for the benefit of the TripAdvisor community. There is immense pleasure of having a guest such as your self speak in such high regard for our Bahia Principe Riviera Maya. We thank you for your support and above all your recommendation that makes our team proud.

We thank you for recommending our hotel also to your friends; the best publicity is the one that people make at home after their holidays. I hope they were all as satisfied as you were. We will be happy to receive you again for another visit to our hotel.

We thank you for your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back!!!

Regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews