We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

A great 10 night stay in this hotel, didn't even need to leave the resort as you felt you left by getting the free trams to the other parts. Great food though out the whole holiday, with great little restaurants you could pick out of. Drinks were all lovely as well with the chose of branded drinks it was great. Lovely holiday and would book again tomorrow

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brighton37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Brighton:

We are very happy to have had the opportunity of hosting you.

The nice notes like the one you kindly posted on the TripAdvisor webpage are very appreciated by us. Thank you for taking some time to express your impressions during your stay at the Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort.

It is very nice to read that you enjoy the warmest service that we Mexicans are able to give to all our guests. It is very nice to read that you have appreciated the restaurants and buffet area.

Thank you for the good publicity to family, friends and other future travelers and hope to see you back soon in the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum.

Best Regards

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,605 - 4,611 of 13,108 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We just returned from 7 days at this massive resort on the Mayan Riviera (arrived February 15 and left February 22, 2014) and even though we enjoyed our trip to this side of Mexico for the 5th time, we were appalled at the actions of the German director of the Tulum property.
I will start with the good.This property is very large, a benefit of staying at one and playing at all three (Tulum, Coba and Akumal) which is very appealing when booking, even though it is one of the more expensive properties.
The food was amazing, kudos to the chefs. They try to hit the tastes of all visitors that come from around the world and do a fantastic job.
The waiters, waitresses, host, hostesses and bartenders always had a smile and were willing to make your experience as enjoyable as possible. Great people who worked extremely hard and had to deal with many rude people. Tip them well.
The cleaners, maids, grounds keepers etc. all worked above and beyond expectations. These people are some of the hardest working people I have ever encountered and should be tipped accordingly. They may not be the ones who interact with the patrons daily, but they are the ones who keep the place spotless and beautiful.
The front desk personnel at check-in and check-out were cordial, organized and efficient. However, when a complaint was brought to their attention, the response was surprising. I will get back to this in a minute.
Our representatives with Air Canada were very helpful and always there if needed, for any complaint, to book tours and for transfers to and from the airport.Thanks to you guys for keeping track of your patrons.
The Dive Shop personnel are also professional, knowledgeable, always smiling and very helpful. They take their job as dive instructors very seriously and look after the divers.
In general, we enjoyed ourselves at these properties. The pools are clean, lots of palapas and lounge chairs at the pools and the beaches. Plenty of activities for all, beautiful surroundings and always smiling friendly workers.
It's too bad that on Wednesday February 19, one person's actions destroyed the quality of this resort the rest of the personnel have worked so hard to achieve and maintain.
At all resorts, people put their towels and beach belongings on lounges to save, yes there are signs showing that this is frowned upon this, but it is done anyway by EVERYONE. Our first couple of days at Tulum, after having breakfast and going for walks or working out, we would head with our stuff to the pool or beach. NEVER did we ever have an issue with finding a palapas with lounge chairs to lay under. There is plenty for all to enjoy, whether at the front of the pool or a little further back. The ambiance is the same.
Now on Wednesday, my husband and I put our towels on two lounge chairs and placed our personal beach bags on top of the towels. He was going for a dive that morning, so we were there early (730ish) as he needed to get something quick to eat and then get to the dive shop. We didn't want to carry all this stuff with us to the buffet (and since the rooms are quite a distance from the pool and it is a long walk to go back and forth it just makes sense to bring it with you as the buffet is right beside the pool). We were gone maybe 20 minutes and when we came back our towels were gone and our beach bag of stuff thrown around onto the chairs. The guy in the chairs next to ours stated that a tall German man had a huge pile of these blue towels in his hands. When he was asked what he was doing, he pointed to the sign about no saving chairs and left with all these towels. When I found this out, I went to the front desk to put in a complaint and they informed me that this was one of the directors of Tulum. I was upset and asked what someone who is alone or a mother with her children are suppose to do when they need to leave for a few minutes to go to the bathroom or to get something to drink, and was told that every time we need to leave the chairs we are suppose to gather up ALL of our belongings and take them with us. Are you kidding me? What kind of ignorant comment is that? Think about what this entails and how disconnected that thought stream is.
Now when ever anyone stays at a resort, they are responsible for these beach towels, basically renting these towels for the time that you are there. If they get lost or stolen, then we have to pay $60 dollars for each towel. We are always warned about theft at the resort and to keep our valuables in a safe place. These towels are just as valuable and were stolen from our possession. Yes, these towels belonged to us for as long as we were paying to stay at this resort. And not only that, they were taken from under our other personal possessions that this gentleman had NO right to go near let alone touch.
It doesn't matter how pissed off he was with everyone ignoring the signs, he should of thought of how his selfish and ignorant act was going to affect all those people he took from. From what we were told, there had to be over 50 towels in his hands. What do you think those 50 people think of you and your actions? We have stayed at many resorts and never have I come across such a thoughtless, disrespectful act by a manager, especially at a resort that prides itself as a four and a half to five star establishment. Completely unacceptable action.
We have travelled to many places and stayed at many all inclusive resorts. We don't complain about anything at resorts unless it truly is an issue that needs to be mentioned for future travellers. Well this is one of those times.
Whether I would go back and stay at this property? I can't say. There are so many other great and newer resorts that offer many perks and treat paying customers with respect, which will now be a larger part of the decision-making process.

RW

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ruth_Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Realtions at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Ruth & Shaun:

On behalf of the Bahia Principe, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about us.

The management and staff extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences which you may have experienced

Please be assured that we have addressed your letter to the general manager in order to take measures as we always strive for excellence in service.

We will do our outmost and work to improve your next experience with us, if you can give us another change to restore the confidence in our chain, it will be our pleasure to serve you in the best possible way.

We appreciate the time in leaving us your comments.

Kindest regards,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Fantastic complex,thought Tulum was the nicest of the 3 hotels. Plenty to do, very interesting making your way round the whole resort. You could just spend all day watching the wildlife. We just had the basic room which was a good size and well cleaned. Didn't really need to use the mini bar. The food was very good particularly the al a carte restaurants. You need to book these in advance. As this was the first all inclusive we had pave done I didn't appreciate the branded drinks! Would definitely go back particularly with a group.

Room Tip: Depends on mobility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Diane:

First of all thank you for your loyalty in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us once again to enjoy your holidays.

We appreciate you for taking the time to write your positive impressions and suggestions. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

We want to thank you again for your valuable comments and for convincing other future travelers to visit our resort.

Regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was our fourth time to Riviera Mexico, each time at a different resort. Perhaps my expectations raise each time? took me 2+ days to wind down, as nothing was as promised on check in, or compared to previous experiences. 1. Chose the more expensive Junior Hacienda suite, as others on this site indicated the benefits were greater. Not so. While the pool is very nice, and not as large and crowded, that is the only benefit. Drinks not as good as the main bar, which be warned, This is a VERY large resort, so walking is a must. Walking not a problem for us. I walked the way to the main bar, just to get a drink with grapefruit juice! 2. Others on this site indicated one could email ahead and get restaurant reservations...you must have some clout! we tried, and received an email back stating you must make them when you arrive. Asked our travel agent to try, same response. when we arrived, we were only able to get 5:30 or 9:00 reservations. Good luck! 3.) Had to sign my life away for a third room key for my daughter....could not believe it! Also must pay a daily fee for a lock for the safe. Have never run into this in my life. 4.) Minimal items in the daily frig....unless you leave $$ for the staff, then you get a snack size candy bar and chips. 5.) We requested a 2nd or 3rd floor room ahead of time (per our travel agent), but received a first floor room. Perhaps that was a blessing in disguise, because a couple of rooms above us were broken in to and had their electronics stolen. FYI...leave them at home, because only the smallest will fit in the min-safes (which you must pay to use on a daily basis!) The rooms were significantly smaller than we have experienced at other resorts in the Riviera. 6.) The buffet should meet most people's tastes, it was a bit overwhelming for us. The first restaurant we ate at was our favorite, Arlequin(?), the others were okay. We did not gain weight on this trip. Perhaps it was all the walking?
The beach is absolutely beautiful! Almost all the staff was wonderful, happy and welcoming, they work very hard! Transportation service from LLomas travel was excellent. The shows were good, typical resort shows. Disappointed that we didn't find much to do after 10:00. There is a club for the younger crowd, and a very nice shopping area which we enjoyed. Didn't need to leave the resort.
Probably would not go back to this one, since we have experienced better.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank deehemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Member:

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort and taking the time to write your impressions and suggestions, to improve the service we are offering.

It is our priority to provide excellent customer service throughout the entire stay and be ensured we will be discussing your concerns with the responsible department officer to not only identify but react and resolve such matters.

We will do our outmost and work to improve your next experience with us, if you can give us another change to restore the confidence in our chain, it will be our pleasure to serve you in the best possible way.

We appreciate the time in leaving us your comments.

Kindest regards,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I'm recently back from a 10 night stay at this massive complex. Weather was very kind to us during our stay. We stayed in Tulum part. It took us about 4 days to find our way around, you can jump on little carts to visit different parts of complex. Lots of wildlife everywhere as its on edge of jungle ! Food good but bit samey, drinks very good, especially cocktails, pools lovely as was the very long beach. Room was very nice, 2 double beds. Went swimming with dolphins nearby and can also recommend captain hook cruise , great fun ! All in all a Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Choose villa block 18'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marygreen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Mary:

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort and taking the time to write your impressions and suggestions, to improve the service we are offering.

We hope that you will not hesitate in returning in the near future and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all again.

Warmest Regards,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Good Reviews for the Gran Bahia Principe, Tulum
1. great food in the buffets
2. pools were clean
3. beds comfy and nice dark rooms for sleeping
4. beach was nice and the ocean was warm!
5. FUN shopping at the Hacienda
6. Plenty of beach activities to choose from
7. Enjoyed Zumba on the beach, dance lessons by the pool and pool aerobics
8.The gym was very well maintained
9. enjoyed the 24 hour snack bar with great chicken tacos


Bad Reviews: BE AWARE OF THE WATERED DOWN DRINKS!
1. the DRINKS are watered down or they add sugar syrup. I am a one girl drink and then....wahooo PARTY...... NOT at this resort.....They appear to be adding tons of liquor to your drinks, NOTHING.... not even a little bit of a buzz. They are tasty and full of sugar! NOT IMPRESSED! apparently (Premium drinks with extra charge) what?? really??

2. the darn trolley trains are most annoying when trying to walk back to your room. They race around the resort like the Daytona 500!

3. Wi-fi in the lobby. one hour of free wi-fi however, you have to use your one hour at once and you can not go back for another 24 hours to use up your time. I think this is not necessary why limit at all.

4. only available bottled water is in your room. if you want more bottled water, you have to buy it at the gift shop for $4.00 (you can buy tequila for $7.00) You can fill up your water bottles at the bar. Most resorts I have gone to before, have ample bottled water supply.

5. having to pay $5.00 per day for the safe that is already in the room is kinda cheap. It should be part of the service, however I did know this when I booked my trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bowchickybow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Member:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a detailed review about the Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort . It will certainly help us to keep focus on costumer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We extend our sincerest apologies that your stay was not up to your expectations. Our team works very hard to ensure our facilities and service is superior and strives to be the best hotel around.

Please be assured that we have addressed your letter to every manager in order to take measures as we always strive for excellence in service.

We trust you will allow us another chance to restore all your confidence in our chain.

Our kindest regards,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Overall this resort is a good value for your money. Hubby and I stayed here for our 21st anniversary and had a great time. We stayed in the Tulum part and it was very nice. Was able to book the restaurants we wanted the day after we arrived for the week; all of them, including the buffet were very good. The pools were large and the water was warm. Drinks were fine, didn't seem to be watered down much. Here are some pros and cons:

Pros: Location -- (May be a con for some); this resort is a little more than an hour from the Cancun airport, but it's well worth the drive once you get there. Very beautiful beach areas and everything you needed is right there, even shopping. We never left the resort!

Rooms were nice, spacious and clean. There was a problem with the shower running water out of the bathtub but it wasn't a big deal. Bed was comfy; didn't have any problems with that.

Cleaning staff was great. Always had a clean room every day we were there. Mini-fridge was stocked every day.

Pool areas were a lot of fun. Lots of activities daily and the drinks were flowing freely. : )

Cons:

Air Conditioning in the room -- it worked fine once you knew how to work it. Turns out the door to the balcony has to be shut just right or it cuts off. We called twice to have it "fixed" and no one explained to why it wasn't working right. Took us three days to figure it out on our own; once that happened it worked just fine.

Room safe -- still the key kind; would be nice for it to be electronic.

Wi-fi -- Not a big deal, but only free right in the lobby and only for one hour in a 24 hour period. Even if you sign out. Wi-fi service was spotty at best with the paid service -- we couldn't get a strong enough signal throughout the resort to purchase it so we didn't (you are on vacation after all!)

Variety of Mini-Fridge -- would be nice to see a better variety of drinks. Every day it was the same thing. Would be better if you could request more beer, soda, (i. e. whatever you like most) instead of the same thing every day.

If we visit the Riveria Maya again, we would definitely consider this resort again. For the price, it was a good deal. Would recommend to anyone. It's not a 5 star resort with lots of service, but it is a nice resort with the AI features and a very beautiful beach!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOEBUCKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear JOEBUCKJ:

First of all we thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Your comments are very encouraging as we are intent on being the leading hotel in the Mexican Caribbean.

We strive to do so through the genuine warmth, professionalism of our staff, and highly personalized service so it is always rewarding to know the suggestions and comments from our guests which help us to be stronger and better and also help to guide us in knowing what areas we need to improve.

All in Bahia Principe Riviera Maya hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our resort and we will make sure your stay is nothing else but a great experience again.

With Best Wishes,

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
2.1 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#14 of 22 in Akumal
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 22 in Akumal
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Address: Carretera Chetumal Benito Juarez, km 250, Local B, Akumal, Municipio Tulum, Quintana Roo. 77760 | Local B, Akumal 77776, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: £125 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 978
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing