We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great place to vacation.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I just returned back from a week at this hotel. I have to say that we are not the least disappointed that we chose this hotel. What a great concept of being able to the other 2 resorts. The trams take you where you want to go and we were never waiting very long. The pools were nice and we used them often. Other guests do come early and put their towels down on the chairs as a way of reserving, even though there is a rule not to. Same down on the beaches, but what can you do. People don't always read or follow rules and I find it best just to roll with it. It's vacation, right?

The good points far out weigh the bad and here's what I found.

Beaches are very nice, as are the pools. Grounds are constantly being taken care of and are immaculate. Rooms are nice, but could use some TLC. Nothing to drastic and won't take away from your experience. Wildlife will eat your food if you leave it unattended. Birds got my breakfast my first day. Racoons and Coatis ( like a Racoon) will come up on your chair and take food of your plate at the snack bars at night. They are really brave and cute, but are wild animals and will bite. A strict rule not to feed them or approach them, although the staff would probably not scold you. Other animals also.

Food is really good and lots of choices. Make your restaurant reservations as soon as you can. There are quite a few choices, but best to get them reserved as soon as possible.

Entertainment is really good and performers are very friendly as is all the staff I encountered. Lev Jackson ( Michael Jackson impersonator) poses for pictures after a stellar show. A band doing the Beatles were also pretty good. Fireshow and more.

The room I was in didn't have any grounded outlets. I had my laptop with me and couldn't charge it in the room, just in the lobby. That didn't really hamper me, since I only checked things at night. 1 hours of continuous access per device in the lobby. The signal was strong in my room (311), so if you wanted to pay for premium internet it would probably be o.k. 45 dollars US or something like that a week. 5 bucks a day to keep your valuables secure in a safe. Should be free, but not a deal breaker. Water pressure isn't great, so could be easy to clog the toilet. Just keep that in mind.

All around though, this is a nice property and well worth spending a vacation at. My wife and I are talking about returning next year.

Room Tip: Junior suites are close to the lobby. You will hear music at night, but shouldn't be to loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Griffin2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are thankful for your time and the effort you have put into this comment in informing us and our future guests about your previous stay at our Hotel. This is a really complete and nice review! Thank you so much.

Do not hesitate to come back and visit us again.

Warm regards,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,812
    3,309
    1,255
    461
    275
See reviews for
3,630
5,343
129
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,250)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

As said paradise, just back from 2 week break and not one bad thing to say about this place, booking again for next year defiantly. Staff are so fiendly and the place is spotless, we stayed at the tulum which was close to the beach and had a exclusive pool are , the cocktails and brand name drinks was a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Davy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Davy,

With pleasure and appreciation we would like to take this opportunity to thanking you for sharing with us your recent vacation experience.

We certainly will be looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful Hotel complex in the future.

Best wishes,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I and my wife along with 3 other couple have just returned from a 5 day stay. I will relay some of my opinions along with those in my group. First off, the grounds are beautiful and massive. They must own roughly a mile of beach and as most resorts go you must arrive early to get a good spot. The rooms were nice some of our couples were more recently updated than others, but were overall nice. Nice with one exception, the lack of good air conditioning. Two of the four couples experienced this. My room was so hot one night I spent the night drenched in sweat, after I had already called earlier in the week to ask if something could be done. They sent someone out but nothing was done. The second time I called no one showed. They also charged $5 a day for a lock for the safe in the rooms, which I felt should be provided and petty.
Upon arrival we also tried to make reservations at a few of the restaurants on site and were unable to get reservations at a decent time. Most were after 10 besides one at 8:30. We did keep one reservation at the Italian restaurant and the food was what I expected ok. We spent the rest of the week eating at the buffet restaurant. Which the whole group was pretty pleased with finding something we all liked every night. We did eat at one other place the "24" hour a day buffet by the beach, that was mostly barely edible along with being closed later in the week. After lunch time it was better because you could order food freshly made for you. Only other thing is none of the restaurants I attended were air conditioned. After spending all day in the sun, I myself would like to cool down for a while
The beach was clean but a little on the rocky side, but not too bad. We tried to swim later at night and were told we couldn't because of the sea turtle beds. The beach is covered in protected sea turtle beds, which are not really in the way at all. If you try to use one of the public bathrooms the lights shut off after a minute of two, so imagine how fun that could be.
Overall we still had a great time, but I think you could do better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ppags84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort for your vacation, that means a lot to us.

We are happy to see that there are elements of the hotel that you quite enjoyed, however we are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service. We have already shared it with our manager in order to improve and enhance quality. Indeed, your well being and entire satisfaction is our primary goal.

It would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a great and unforgettable stay.

Best wishes,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a great place to go for a holiday and is much more relaxed than Cancun. The food and drink with various A La Carte restaurants were very good as were the internal bus service from centre to centre. Everything was spotless and well looked after. Have recommended this place to our friends and anyone who asks about it.

We had a great 2 weeks where we chilled out and got fat

Room Tip: There's something for everyone ie couples, families, newlyweds and kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Gary,

We are honored to have had the opportunity to serve you. Your generous words are greatly appreciated as we are certain your review will prove invaluable to other travelers.

Being a three hotel complex gives Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort the opportunity to have several options to offer to our guests. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the food. We are proud in creating memories that last a lifetime, give unforgettable experiences to our guests and pleased to see that we have reached our goal.

You can be assured that we look forward to welcoming you and thank you for your recommendations!

Best wishes,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Excellent time here. Some minor issues but soon resolved. Lovely location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was a bit here and there although we all agreed it was worth the money. Would we stay here again... Yea. Recomended by friends and would visit again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greencrumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review which you have shared with other travelers. We appreciate that you took the time to remember us.

The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from our guests is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service.

As we love to receive the positive comments, we also are taking notes about the things that we can improve and make it better for our guests.

It would be our pleasure to host you again.

Warm regards,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a good time at the Grand Bahia Principe tulum. We stayed there for one week in mid july. Its a good overall vacation for what we paid for. Couple of improvements should be made. Lobby and restaurants should be air conditioned. Hotel rooms are a bit outdated. No business center if you need to finish some work or use the computer you have to bring your own to the lobby. Since this resort is very big, the shuttles should be more available at all times. It is confusing which shuttle to use and where to wait for them to pick you up. Tipping always works to make things happen when its almost impossible :). Kids club is basically for 7 and under. My kids were 10 and 12 and couldn't do much besides being at the pool and the beach.

THE AQUATIC CENTER ( MOTORIZED WATER ACTIVITY ) SPECIFICALLY "JET SKI" WAS A BAD EXPERIENCE. THEY DONT HAVE FLOATS ATTACHED TO THE KEYS. SO IF YOU FALL OR DROP THEM THE KEY WILL SINK AND THEY WILL CHARGE YOU 25 USD.

On a positive note, the food was great at the buffet and a la carte restaurants. The beach and pools are great too. If you plan to swim in the ocean bring some water proof shoes as it is very rocky in the tulum area. The service is good in general. No bugs.

Hopefully you find this review helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a room close to the beach or close to where ever you think you spend most time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wmahroum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

This is how we would like to express our thanks to you and inform you about our excitement and happiness that you had such a lovely stay with us.

Be ensured that your comments have arrived us and that we will be working on the suggestions you have made, however also we would like to outline that it will be our pleasure to pass your feedback on to our staff members! It is guests like you who provide us with feedbacks we will be motivating our staff and honor their hard work!

Herewith, 'Thank you'! very much,

Best wishes,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks and have to say that this hotel is absolutely fab. Great service, lovely surroundings, very comfortable and the food was excellent. With 3 buffet restaurants and several speciality restaurants, you could eat somewhere different every night (Japanese and Brazilian restaurants were our favourites). Hotel grounds very well maintained and the staff were extremely friendly. We tend not to go to the same hotel twice, but will definitely make an exception for the Gran Bahia Príncipe Tulum.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Heather,

We are really happy to know that you enjoy our Hotel and the facilities of the three Resorts. Thank you for choosing us for your vacations and for your feedback!

Our main goal is to offer a great service and always be there to help our guest for any inconvenience that they might have during their stay.

We hope to attend you and your family really soon!

Kindest regards,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
26.7 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#75 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Address: Carretera Chetumal Benito Juarez, km 250 | Local B, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 978
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (1 h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing