We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice if you don't mind sleeping on a rail route! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice if you don't mind sleeping on a rail route! ”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We went as a party of 12. It was a great place for kids.
The food was good and as a parent it's the only place I have ever been to where they bring out the highchair table sanitised and covered in cling film. It made me feel they really cared about my child's health and hygiene which was BRILLIANT.
Food was good and on a few occasions people dropped serving tongs on the floor and the staff ran to pick them up so they wouldn't contaminate the food. Excellent!
Lots of lazy Americans getting the little train buses everywhere but we enjoyed walking from one end of the resort to the other.
The problem is you can't escape the little buses. They run you down. They're always in the way & they run all night next to the front door of your room. V noisy & rumbley and that's without the reverse beeps and the loud radios some of the drivers had on! It's hard to sleep.
Our air con didn't work v well & our fan squeaked.
The bed was enormous!! 2 x 4.5 ft beds pushed together so 9ft wide! Amazing!!!
Would stay again but they could do with pedestrian and bus routes as the buses are EVERYWHERE!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Babyfor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear TripAdvisor member,

We fell so happy to read that you have enjoyed yourselves here with us!

We take pride in offering our guests good accommodations and the very best in food and beverages. It is nice to know that you have enjoyed our service and the hotel facilities. Being a three hotel complex gives us the opportunity to have several options to offer to our guests.

We all are looking forward to welcome you, your family and your friends for your next visit at your second home at the Mexican Caribbean.

With best regards,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,982
    3,399
    1,288
    473
    297
See reviews for
3,784
5,484
129
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,295)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed here 30th June to 14th July 2014, for anyone concerned about it being the hurricane season and the rain, it literally rained once in the day for about 30 seconds and was still boiling hot and in the early evening for about 10 minutes maximum one of the nights. It is hot all day and in the evening aswell, don't forget mosquito repellent and tablets just in case as they are super expensive if you have to go to the pharmacist!! When we arrived to Cancun airport from London there was an hour wait to get through passport control, nothing to do with the hotel but be prepared when you get off the plane as it is super hot in there!

Hotel!
Great hotel! Absolutely huge so you won't get bored! The room was really spacious and plenty of english/american channels with films, handy for anyone that has to wait ages for their girlfriend to get ready like my boyfriend ha! We stayed in a hacienda room, not sure what the difference is in the rooms other than small amenities like bathrobes, a seperate quieter lobby, different buffet for breakfast and lunch, seperate pool and beach area and extra a la carte meals. The only thing i didn't like was the 2 hour drive from the airport, that is it!

Taxis/transport!
Don't get taxis as a taxi to playa del carmen cost us 350 pesos each way, get a bus from outside the hotel (its not what you'd expect, they're like new ish toyota mini vans with air con!) which cost us 40/50 pesos each way.

Playa del carmen!
Lots of shops and good deals in the day, we went and saw the baby lion, tiger, jaguar and monkeys, so cute and friendly! Beware if they are together and they're playing with each other and getting over excited try not to get too close as they do play with each other by biting so just be careful! I think its 25 US dollars for a photo with one but so amazing to hold one!! In the evening we went to Senor frogs which was a cute little bar, the drinks are lethal but amazing! :)

Restaurants!
You can use all restaurants at the 3 hotels, we mainly used the tulum as it was right next to our room and most of the buffets were the same, we upgraded our room so had extra a la carte meals, book these as soon as you arrive as they fill up quick! Our favourites were the italian at the coba and the japanese restaurant, if you go here try and get a show table as its amazing! If you like animals theres loads of racoons at the 24 hour snack bar which love to be fed, they are super cute and friendly!!

Excursions!!
We booked with Thomas cook, all of their excursion prices are in US dollars, you can pay in pesos or GBP or a mixture but they work out the exchange rate and you may be better off taking dollars even if just for your excursions. We did the whale shark trip, its a 2 hour drive to cancun then you get on a boat out until you find the whale sharks stay there with them for a good while and then go to Isla Mujeres for snorkelling around the island, it is amazing and definitely worth the time and money!! I'm not a great swimmer or massive fan of fish or the sea but would definitely do it again! We also swam with turtles at akumal beach which was about 10 mins away from this hotel it was great and by the same company as the people that do the whale shark trip, very friendly and speak most languages. The other trip we did was the TC project which is an all inclusive "bar crawl" my boyfriend isnt a massive drinker but really enjoyed it aswell, the show at coco bongos was amazing!! The 3 excursions came to about £250 per person for all 3, the whale shark trip being the most expensive and longest trip. Everywhere you go you can pay in pesos or US dollars, hope this helps!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tara1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Tara,

We are glad to know that Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort was a good host during your vacation.

Thank you for giving us your nice feedback about the time you had here and the activities that you had enjoyed. I believe that your suggestions will be very useful for other readers.

We do look for the opportunity to welcome you back again to your second home at the Mexican Caribbean!

Best wishes,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

this hotel fell at the first hurdle and from there on it was all down hill. when we arrived we was told that our room had been double booked and that we would have to be moved to another location. we booked in advance and even had emailed to say this was a special holiday for us all as mother in-law was 70 husband was 50 and it was our 25 wedding anniversary. this was always going to be just a one time deal to travel this far. the room we was offered was not even in the same hotel but a sister hotel on the same grounds. our room was meant to be in the Tulum upgraded part close to the beach and private pool. we got room over looking the busy high way near the kids pool !!! really not thought out was it.
after complaining several times that this was not what we paid or book for we was moved slightly more in to the resort away from the high way. but Thomas cooks couldn't give a dam attitude was much to be desired, even told by one of the team I quote "your in Mexico what more do you want". The hotel found them selves plying us with free bottles of alcohol really this is 24hr all inclusive how much can a person drink.
the bathroom of the first room flooded due to over flow on toilet, room two toilet leaked due to bad up keep. room two flooded again due to heavy down pour of rain and ceiling leaking, luckily it was me that found this not my unstable on her feet mother in law otherwise this could have been so much worse. Room keys stopped working one day on our return to the 3rd floor rooms bugs even cockroaches in the food halls and staff just looked on, I could go on and on. would I visit again NO WAY was I disappointed YES did Thomas cook deal with any of this NO. to add to this I came home with a bug that even my dr couldn't sort out and was ill for 8 weeks after our return. would I ever go to the chain of hotels again , I very much doubt it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Dab1tch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to write your impressions and suggestions, to improve the service we are offering.

We are very concerned to learn about your disappointing experience and are sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations. You may rest assured that we will check every point mentioned in your review to make any adjustments necessary as soon as possible.

Our goal is to work and improve every day to be the popular family resort that has been appreciated by thousand of guests and we appreciate every comment to make our services better.

Kindest regards,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Lovely resort. Only problem was sunbeds being reserved by 7.30am. Not a problem for us as we prefer the beach. Great choice of food at buffets - however dining rooms could get quite hot with no air con. Rooms fab and great attentive maid service. Couple of the family had stomach upsets but convinced that this was due to the heat rather than the food. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Alison,

Thank you for your kind review which you have shared with other travelers. We appreciate that you took the time to remember our Resort.

The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from our guests is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service.

As we love to receive the positive comments, we also are taking notes about the things that we can improve and make it better for our guests and we thank you for bringing them to our attention.

It would be our pleasure to host you again.

Kindly Regards,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, was probably my most liked resort of all the ones I've been to thus far. In part because of the service, the quality of the rooms, but also because of Coba's food... I know that sounds odd, but it's because the Grand Bahia resorts are all connected, and you have access to the other Restaurants/Buffets of the chain.

Service
The service was absolutely amazing. People were respectful, and kind, and I find that Mexico (in comparison to the other Caribbean countries), doesn't seem to hassle you as much for attempts at draining you of money. I Think this is attributed to better living standards, the amount of traffic they get, and likely because they are advised against it. Instead you get lured into attempts at Timeshare sales. That's the only negative, but we just avoided those as much as possible.

Food
I know you all love your food, and who doesn't? I don't choose a vacation based on food, but it sure helps when you have a wide selection of tasty food, and healthy choices. Tulum had a pretty good Breakfast menu, but the Lunch/Supper wasn't as great. Thankfully, Coba's was much better, so we ended up going there for Dinner most days.

Rooms
The rooms were really nice, I'm not sure if there are older sections with inferior rooms, but ours was nice. No complaints there.

Beach
Beach was ok, the only problem was for Snorkelers (me). Unfortunately there aren't many corals, and visibility was poor. So there isn't much to see when snorkeling, we ended up going to Akumal Bay and Yal Ku Lagoon, which were pretty decent places to explore.

Another problem, was the Sand Bags (mountains) they setup to "reduce" waves, which are setup in such a way that they create Violent Rip Currents... Me and my girlfriend at the time got pulled out through the Bags, out into open Ocean, and she nearly drowned. I threw myself into the Current to reach her, and help her keep her head afloat, and to throw her on the Sand Bag, only to get pulled out further. Luckily a big wave came in and helped give me a push as a lunged onto the sand bag.

It's quite dangerous and watching the children play on them later made us both cringe. Something to watch out for, for adults and children alike.

Coba has better (newer) facilities, and better food (and bigger selection), but is further from the Beach. Tulum on the other hand, is right on the beach, but is a little older, and its food isn't as great.

Either one is a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Mike,

First, thank you very much for your stay with us and taking the time to write your impressions and suggestions for improving the service we offer.

The comments and suggestions we receive from our customers are very important to maintain quality and service in the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum.

Hope to see you back soon with family and friends!

Sincerely,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We visited in June,hotel and service was excellent,disappointing at night after 10pm, everything closes and no entertainment after this time,local nightclub down the road in the hacienda. But for parents with slightly older children,we ended up going back to our rooms this made location of hotel worse as nowhere else to go that didn't take 30-45 minute taxi ride.This was the only downside,no complaints with anything else except one major complaint.. Hotels cashpoints have a device on it as 3 of our party of 13 withdrew money,all of us have had our cards cloned and have had thousands of pounds taken from our card accounts,being withdrawn in America,this is not purchases,they are using a cloned card and withdrawing money.Please be warned,do not withdraw cash unless you have to,use a bank with cashpoints inside the banks to do this. This is no reflection on the hotel, however I would advise them to check their machines regularly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sparkles1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Guest,

With pleasure and appreciation we would like to take this opportunity to thanking you for sharing with us your recent vacation experience.

We are honored that you have chosen our Hotel as your holiday destination and pleased to hear that you had a good time during your recent visit.

We are very concerned about your comment and like to express our apologies. Please note in order to review this concern as soon as possible we kindly ask you to please contacting me directly to view all details and pass on your comment immediately to the responsible bank. As a customer focused company your comment concerns us and it is in our utmost concern to address it at our earliest convenience to the responsible authorities. We are thankful for sharing this information with us, to be able to interact right away. We are very sorry but like to outline that none of the bank machines correspond to our hotel nor company itself and therefore will pressure the authorities to proceed with a full investigation process to provide immediate assistance.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Receive our warm regards

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We have arrived back from the grand Bahia Príncipe in the Rivera maya what a fantastic time we had . The staff could not do enough for you , the food was off a really good standard . The complex was excellent only problem was the sun beds ie lack off them. The staff however did try to stop people from leaving their towels , unfortunately this did not work as people would still not abided by the rules . You had to get up between 7 and 7.30 which in my opinion was ridicules . The first day we lay on our towels on the floor by the pool , but to be honest that was the only gripe we had with the hotel. We went on 3 trips fat cat , chichen - it'za and coco bongo I would recommend 2 out off the 3 fat cat & chichen - it'za , coco bongo is more for the younger generation . We would defiantly go back to the resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philewatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPTULUM, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We appreciate you for taking the time to write your positive impressions and suggestions. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

You can be assured that we look forward to welcoming you “back home” where your Mexican family awaits you.

Best wishes,

Wendy García
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
143.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
23.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
11.6 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Address: Carretera Chetumal Benito Juarez, km 250 | Local B, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 978
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 pools (including 2 with Jacuzzi for relaxation) 1 Jacuzzi Large sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity and scuba diving centre Entertainment amphitheatres WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) and in rooms additional charge) 1 buffet restaurant 3 a la carte restaurants 6 Bars Snack-Bar Wedding gazebo Dolphinarium (additional charge) Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 978 rooms including 4 types: Superior, Superior Junior Suite, Superior Club Hacienda and Club Hacienda Junior Suite. The Junior Suites are larger than the Superior rooms. Room facilities: King size bed (Superior Junior Suites) or 2 full size beds Sitting area (Superior Junior Suites) Fully-equipped bathroom: shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Hydromassage bath tub (Superior Junior Suites) Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar (included) Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set WiFi (additional charge) Club Hacienda rooms (See page 18, Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with activities for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Tulum
Tulum Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Tulum Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Gran Principe Tulum
Gran Bahia Principe Mayan Riviera Resort
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing