We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous relaxed spot away from the crowds”
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Villas Akumal
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Las Villas Akumal for three nights in a 2 bedroom ocean view suite. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The location is about a 15 minute walk along the beach to Akumal beach where there are a couple of supermarkets and Lucy's restaurant, which was very nice with assorted meal options and great ice cream. Unfortunately it was very windy all three days we were here which made the snorkeling less than ideal. However the Ocean View was worth the extra expense. I found that booking through Orbitz that the price was achievable and even on the windy days sitting on the balcony and looking at the waves in the ocean was very agreeable The price posted in the office was more than twice what I paid. We arrived early and sat by the pool for a few hours until the room was cleaned at 2 PM. We were given a free drink. The next day we were sitting on the balcony and a friendly staff woman asked if we would like a fresh coconut which was very good.
The walk to town is a bit long but is made easier if you walk on the road and the walkways in front of some of the other hotels. However there is no route all the way there without walking some on the beach. While pleasant, walking on the sand is a bit slow and tiring after awhile.

Yal Kul lagoon was nice on the windy day easy to snorkel but visibility was still not great. Still a nice afternoon stop.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelb0y2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

Although labelled as Akumel, Las Villas is an apartment complex, in the middle of nowhere, among a small cluster of private villas – no shops or restaurants, so don’t stay here unless you want to get away from everything. It is about a 20-30 min walk along the beach, northwards, to Akumel itself. And there’s very little there either – not even a decent restaurant. These apartments would make a reasonable base if you have a car, but I wouldn’t stay there without one. That said, the main coast road is only a very short walk from the apartment, where you can pick up a minibus to Akumel or Playa del Carmen very easily.
We first stayed in Apt 109A one bedroom/diner and bathroom. This is classed as a Junior apartment, “Garden view” but translates as “street view”. It was very noisy, because our neighbours played music and watched TV til the early hours. The acoustics are terrible and the party-door between this apartment and the next is totally uninsulated, so you hear everything. We also came back one evening, after a day away, and found our door wide open to the street! Evidently, reception had organised some repairs to be done, but clearly this was unsupervised.
Due to the noise, we changed apartment, to 001A, which was a self-contained, kitchen/diner/lounge with two separate bedrooms, each with an en suite bathroom (even though there were only two of us), which was bigger and MUCH quieter, because it didn’t have a party door to another apt. Kitchens in both apartments were well equipped and general cleanliness was very good.
Ocean view apartments are generally much better, having large windows and sliding doors to wide verandas with chairs, tables and hammocks. And, of course, ocean views! Garden view apartments have no outside sitting or dining space and look over a short green space to the road and car park opposite.
Breakfasts are provided from 8am and are basic but adequate – fruit, cereals, pancakes and breads with jams, maple syrup etc and tea, coffee and juice. There is a basic menu for other meals.
The swimming pool is quite nice, actually two, one shallow for children and one about 1.5M for most of it, with a short, shallow slope. They run a pool-side bar in the afternoons.

Room Tip: Ocean view are significantly better and worth the extra. Avoid apartments with a party door to anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor_Sandrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We are finishing our last of four days at the hotel/condo complex. We were switched from a Garden View Junior Suite to a Two Bedroom, ocean View Condo because of construction. It is a beautifuland wonderful space with great views, a large patio, glass all across the ocean side and everything we want when we visit Mexico.

Maid service is great and the fully airconditioned (haven't used it becuse the ocean breezes are perfect) with a full kitchen and dining area. We wave in room internet plus TV with English channels. We overlook the two pools and are only 50-60 feet from the beach and ocean.

A continental (very light) breakfast is included with coffee, fresh fruit, french toast and cold cereals. Not many choices but still good. The hotel also serves lunch but not dinner.

I would rate the property as 4.5 stars. I may not have rated it this high if we had one of the basement rooms. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view condo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARTarea51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A great facility with friendly staff make this the perfect place to stay and with apartments in a variety of sizes it works for just about any composition of group. Theyare willing to work around people coming and going at different times and just make it happen, The location is wonderful in a quieter part of the bay with just the right length walk to town to work up an appetite. What a great place to unwind!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_WLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it. The accommodations are actually little independent villas with a small kitchenette. The furnishings were perfectly fine, although not excellent. The bed was a simple mattress on a firm concrete base with no boxspring. There were two small pillows.
The sand on the beach here is a little more coarse than it is in Tulum, but it is quite nice.
My main concern with my experience was that the room I was given was literally underground. There was a part of the ground sort of dug-away which allowed for a window, but otherwise it was completely dark and very humid-smelling.
I did book the room through Expedia, not directly with the hotel, but the information given for the room said that there was an outside balcony. Something clearly not possible with an underground room. In addition, there was mention of a coffee maker and a few other kitchen items, which were not present.
I did talk to the staff about it and showed them my room confirmation which described the room I had booked. They acknowledged that indeed my room was not as described, but didn't offer any sort of apology or compensation. I did write all of this in their feedback sheet and included my e-mail in case they wanted to follow-up. It has been a month and I haven't heard from them.

In summary, it did look as though some of the rooms were very nice. The location is very nice, although quite a distance from the restaurants/bars/stores of Akumal bay. However, there is a whole level of rooms like the one I was given which are clearly much less-desirable. I would be very careful to be sure what room you are getting and what it includes before booking.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an above-ground room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Viajero9002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Las Villas has been my home away from home in the Rivera Maya for over ten years now. Usually staying sometime between October and January, Las Villas has accommodations for almost any occasion. I've had whole family trips, work retreats, a bachelor party, and romantic getaways planed in Akumal, and I wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else. Las Villas has grown along side its valued return guests, and has introduced/improved many of their amenities. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, with a different atmosphere for each one. The beach and water sport options are either right there, or a walk down the beach into town. Diving, snorkeling, kayaking, fishing... all first class. Las Villas's restaurant overlooking Jade Bay is the best way to start any day, and room side delivery of for a personal grill at night makes entertaining so much easier. I would recommend Las Villas to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwright24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I spent a week here for our annual office global meeting. I could not have asked for a more perfect location. It's a short walk up the beach to town, which offered plenty to do when not working and a quick drive to the Tulum Mayan ruins. I would also strongly suggest visiting the Tulum Gran Cenote.

Iv'e never seen a staff try harder to make your stay comfortable while at the same time respecting your privacy allowing you to soak in the beautiful water front views.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#15 of 22 in Akumal
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1.6 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.9 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 22 in Akumal
2,172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Villas Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Villas Akumal

Address: Km 104 Fracc. Akumal C, Playa Jade | Carretera Cancun Tulum, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: £97 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Villas Akumal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Las Villas Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Villas Akumal Hotel Akumal
Las Villas Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing