We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Las Villas Akumal
Nearby Hotels
US$312
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$392
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$285
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$357
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
250
98
19
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
98
19
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenhammock chairsrooftop restaurantbedroom villaocean viewan easy minute walkincluded breakfastown bathroomfree kayakshuge balconyyogurtquiet locationdining tablequintana roolol ha restaurantdos ojosspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Las Villas Akumal for three nights in a 2 bedroom ocean view suite. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The location is about a 15 minute walk along the beach to Akumal beach where there are a couple of supermarkets and Lucy's restaurant, which was very nice with assorted meal options and great ice cream. Unfortunately it was very windy all three days we were here which made the snorkeling less than ideal. However the Ocean View was worth the extra expense. I found that booking through Orbitz that the price was achievable and even on the windy days sitting on the balcony and looking at the waves in the ocean was very agreeable The price posted in the office was more than twice what I paid. We arrived early and sat by the pool for a few hours until the room was cleaned at 2 PM. We were given a free drink. The next day we were sitting on the balcony and a friendly staff woman asked if we would like a fresh coconut which was very good.
The walk to town is a bit long but is made easier if you walk on the road and the walkways in front of some of the other hotels. However there is no route all the way there without walking some on the beach. While pleasant, walking on the sand is a bit slow and tiring after awhile.

Yal Kul lagoon was nice on the windy day easy to snorkel but visibility was still not great. Still a nice afternoon stop.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelb0y2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Although labelled as Akumel, Las Villas is an apartment complex, in the middle of nowhere, among a small cluster of private villas – no shops or restaurants, so don’t stay here unless you want to get away from everything. It is about a 20-30 min walk along the beach, northwards, to Akumel itself. And there’s very little there either – not even a decent restaurant. These apartments would make a reasonable base if you have a car, but I wouldn’t stay there without one. That said, the main coast road is only a very short walk from the apartment, where you can pick up a minibus to Akumel or Playa del Carmen very easily.
We first stayed in Apt 109A one bedroom/diner and bathroom. This is classed as a Junior apartment, “Garden view” but translates as “street view”. It was very noisy, because our neighbours played music and watched TV til the early hours. The acoustics are terrible and the party-door between this apartment and the next is totally uninsulated, so you hear everything. We also came back one evening, after a day away, and found our door wide open to the street! Evidently, reception had organised some repairs to be done, but clearly this was unsupervised.
Due to the noise, we changed apartment, to 001A, which was a self-contained, kitchen/diner/lounge with two separate bedrooms, each with an en suite bathroom (even though there were only two of us), which was bigger and MUCH quieter, because it didn’t have a party door to another apt. Kitchens in both apartments were well equipped and general cleanliness was very good.
Ocean view apartments are generally much better, having large windows and sliding doors to wide verandas with chairs, tables and hammocks. And, of course, ocean views! Garden view apartments have no outside sitting or dining space and look over a short green space to the road and car park opposite.
Breakfasts are provided from 8am and are basic but adequate – fruit, cereals, pancakes and breads with jams, maple syrup etc and tea, coffee and juice. There is a basic menu for other meals.
The swimming pool is quite nice, actually two, one shallow for children and one about 1.5M for most of it, with a short, shallow slope. They run a pool-side bar in the afternoons.

Room Tip: Ocean view are significantly better and worth the extra. Avoid apartments with a party door to another apartment
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor_Sandrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We are finishing our last of four days at the hotel/condo complex. We were switched from a Garden View Junior Suite to a Two Bedroom, ocean View Condo because of construction. It is a beautifuland wonderful space with great views, a large patio, glass all across the ocean side and everything we want when we visit Mexico.

Maid service is great and the fully airconditioned (haven't used it becuse the ocean breezes are perfect) with a full kitchen and dining area. We wave in room internet plus TV with English channels. We overlook the two pools and are only 50-60 feet from the beach and ocean.

A continental (very light) breakfast is included with coffee, fresh fruit, french toast and cold cereals. Not many choices but still good. The hotel also serves lunch but not dinner.

I would rate the property as 4.5 stars. I may not have rated it this high if we had one of the basement rooms. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view condo!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARTarea51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A great facility with friendly staff make this the perfect place to stay and with apartments in a variety of sizes it works for just about any composition of group. Theyare willing to work around people coming and going at different times and just make it happen, The location is wonderful in a quieter part of the bay with just the right length walk to town to work up an appetite. What a great place to unwind!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_WLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This hotel has a lot going for it. The accommodations are actually little independent villas with a small kitchenette. The furnishings were perfectly fine, although not excellent. The bed was a simple mattress on a firm concrete base with no boxspring. There were two small pillows.
The sand on the beach here is a little more coarse than it is in Tulum, but it is quite nice.
My main concern with my experience was that the room I was given was literally underground. There was a part of the ground sort of dug-away which allowed for a window, but otherwise it was completely dark and very humid-smelling.
I did book the room through Expedia, not directly with the hotel, but the information given for the room said that there was an outside balcony. Something clearly not possible with an underground room. In addition, there was mention of a coffee maker and a few other kitchen items, which were not present.
I did talk to the staff about it and showed them my room confirmation which described the room I had booked. They acknowledged that indeed my room was not as described, but didn't offer any sort of apology or compensation. I did write all of this in their feedback sheet and included my e-mail in case they wanted to follow-up. It has been a month and I haven't heard from them.

In summary, it did look as though some of the rooms were very nice. The location is very nice, although quite a distance from the restaurants/bars/stores of Akumal bay. However, there is a whole level of rooms like the one I was given which are clearly much less-desirable. I would be very careful to be sure what room you are getting and what it includes before booking.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an above-ground room!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Viajero9002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews