We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Comfortable Beach Condo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Villas Akumal

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Las Villas Akumal
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet Comfortable Beach Condo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Las Villas Akumal is a quiet little hotel/condo complex on the beach in Akumal. We stayed in a 1 bedroom "basement" condo that was comfortable. The room was clean and service was very good. We utilized the kitchen for dinner 1 night, and the staff cleaned up all of the dishes we left.
The complex has 2 pools, beachfront. There is a complimentary continental breakfast each morning on the roof, with an a la cart menu for cooked orders.
About 1 mile north on the beach is the snorkeling area for Akumal where you can swim with the sea turtles. We walked up the beach from the hotel to go there.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jkahunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    91
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
147
112
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Nice place to sleep. Quiet and direct at the beach. Very nice decoration, clean and the room has everything you need. We stayed at the junior room with garden view which actually is street view. The rooms looking at the pool and sea look great.
What I didn't like, but I guess that is the whole point of going to a place like this, is that the kitchen close at 5 pm. No music at the pool area and at breakfast there is a guy who checks that everything is in Its place but it looks like a sargeant controlling the guests too. And they don't have black tea.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraLaViajera74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

An amazing combination of privacy, mexican ambiance, super spacious accommodations, amazingly kind and gracious hosts and still only a short walk to one of Mexico's special small beachfront town, Akumal. I have been coming to the Yucatan since 1963 and to Akumal for nearly 25 years and each year I continue to fall in love with this part of the world. Las Villas Akumal is a most special home for my wife and myself - every time we are here. Want ot cook - no problem here. Don't want to cook - no problem either - enjoy their ocean view restaurant or have your meals and drinks delivered right to the beach or your villa. Want to go fishing - right in front. Want to enjoy snorkeling or scuba - minutes away. Great rooms; wonderful staff; fast internet (not always common ion this part of the world); wonderful pool; and all very affordable. There are several types of room suites (studios; two BR villas; 3 BR villas) - all with private bathroom for each bedroom - perfect for families. it doesn't get better than this!

Room Tip: my favorite 3 BR suite is 201 my favorite 2 BR suite is 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmstoryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

If you have a family and want to have a relaxing vacation, then this is the place for you. I have spent so many vacations in the past where I brought kids and then had to deal with going out to eat for every meal. Not a lot of fun. At the Villas there are kitchens to make easy breakfast and lunches and with the savings still have enough to take Mom out for dinner several times during the week. There is a beautiful pool to lounge by but also the beach is just a few steps away. There is full time bartender to bring Mom and Dad a cocktail while they sit by the pool and watch the kids swim. If you like to be at a place that is quiet and relaxing where you don't feel like you have to take a vacation....after the vacation...then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights to attend a Wedding. Beautiful spot right on the beach. The villas are well kept, spacious with living area, kitchen and large fridge. We had breakfast incl which was ok but not too special. You could order eggs for an additional cost. There is a small Pool and pool bar. Staff is very friendly. You can walk along the beach to get to the main area of Akumal, dive shop, etc. 15-30min walk.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is the best set up for a relaxing, easy, fun, beautiful and hospitable Caribbean vacation. The units are so spacious and well decorated and each bedroom private and cool. I love the open kitchen so families can enjoy cooking and hanging out. Beach or pool or both it's all right there. Swim in the warm ocean anytime of the day ... and the 1 mile walk to quaint Akumal is the perfect morning exercise. LOVE LOVE LOVE this place it's my home away from home because I will keep going back for more LVA!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nstoryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights from 20 dec and returned for 3 nights from 4 jan. We were originally booked into a junior garden view suite, which was a large room with bed, dining and lounge area. There was no view, just a window with plants growing outside. We decided to upgrade to a beach/sea view apartment. The rooms had wonderful views of the beach and sea with a large grass lawn area out front. The apartment was very large with two double en-suite bedrooms and a large kitchen/lounge area. Full width patio doors opening onto our terrace made the space lovely and bright. We enjoying swinging on the hammocks on the patio and being able to sit and eat our meals out on the private terrace. The beds were comfortable however the pillows were hard and a bit lumpy. The complex is quite small and with mainly families staying it is a quiet place to stay, especially in the evening. There are no bars or restaurants at the site however there are a few bars/restaurants in Akumal that can be reached by walking 15 mins along the beach or a short 5 min drive up the dual carriageway. There is a very small cocktail bar on site near the beach which is open from late morning to early evening. It is also possible to order food in advance for evening meals that can be delivered to your room. Breakfast was included in the cost but was only a minimal continental selection and any hot options had to be paid for as an extra. For the prices charged for the rooms, the selection could have been more varied. We decided to self cater for breakfast and some evening meals. supermarkets are close, 10 mins drive in the direction of Playa del Carmen or 20 mins drive to Tulum. Staff were very pleasant and rooms were cleaned daily, however when we stayed for the 7 nights, the bed was not changed at all during that time. Given the hot temperatures, I would expect a bed linen charge every two to three days. The cleaning was a little superficial and there is a need to carry out a deeper clean occasionally to keep up the standard. In both of the apartments we stayed in, neither of the ovens worked so we had to make do with using the microwave and hobs. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and the location is very relaxing, however the complex is showing some signs of age and the management need to keep on top of maintenance.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#17 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#20 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Villas Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Villas Akumal

Property: Las Villas Akumal
Address: Km 104 Fracc. Akumal C, Playa Jade | Carretera Cancun Tulum, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Villas Akumal 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Las Villas Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Villas Akumal Hotel Akumal
Las Villas Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing