We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Las 3 Acapulquenas - CLOSED

Las 3 Acapulquenas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Surtainville, France
1 review
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We find this restaurant on our road trip after speaking with a woman who tell us about it...
We arrive quite late (3.30pm) but we were welcoming.
Nice place with nice girls who cook an economic and typical food.
There is a very little terrace next to the road, you don't have the view and the atmosphere of a touristical beach restaurant but it is typical and the food is home-made, the fruit juices are fresh and the guacamole delicious!
We recommande it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mel_n0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

After reading so many great reviews of Las 3 Acapulquenas, we were really excited to try them. We'd rented a house in Jade Bay, and were counting on a few nights of good take-out food.

The first time we ordered, my sister stopped by to order chicken, ribs, beans, rice and slaw. For 7 people, she payed about $70 (converted to USD). Kinda steep, but we figured the portions would be decent. They weren't: 5 ribs and maybe 5 pieces of chicken. Barely any beans or rice, which seemed weird, since they're so cheap to produce. Hmmm.

The woman who ran the place was so nice, and was clearly working very hard. She delivered our first order free (though of course we tipped her), so we decided to give them another chance. Two days later, we stopped by to place our order. The friendly woman from before (whose name I've forgotten), wasn't there. Two other women (her sisters?), took our order. My sister speaks good Spanish and was very friendly. They seemed indifferent. Not a deal breaker, but not great customer service either.

Delivery wasn't available that night (only the really friendly woman delivers), so we picked up. Again, we were disappointed by the quantities. For $90 (converted to USD), we got 24oz of beans, 24oz of rice, two sandwich bags of slaw, 7 overcooked ribs and 6 pieces of very dry chicken. I was astonished. We order similar take-out (e.g., Peruvian, Salvadoran) in D.C. all the time, for easily half the price, and twice the quality.

Anyway, I really wanted to like this business. I always try to support locally owned/mom-and-pop businesses. But I wouldn't return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank temple44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Decided to Check it out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were staying in North Akumal and decided to check this out one evening for take out. The guy at outside grill/smoker was out of chicken so we were told to come back in about 30 minutes which we did. We had 1/2 grilled chicken and the rest of the ribs he had on the grill.

The chicken was moist but I felt the ribs were overcooked a tad. 200 pesos. We did not eat the cole slaw that accompanied the meal, but the beans and rice were fine.

Not sure if this place is really equipped or outfitted properly. Made us a little nervous to see the conditions in which the chickens were being defrosted and the slaw being prepared. The standard slaw, rice and beans - okay. Nothing special.

It's probably very convenient for those in Half Moon Bay. Didn't check out the breakfast options.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Food, Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed just up the road from Las 3 Acapulquenas for 3 weeks in Feb. We found this restaurant during our first couple of days in Akumal. The Chili Quilis we awesome for breakfast, the fish tacos were great for lunch and their ribs and chicken were wonderful for supper. We had nearly half of our meals from here. Their take out portions were very generous as well.

Order your whole chickens early they sell out fast.

When we go back to Akumal we will definitely eat here again. Thanks Teresa!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone Sask
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flat chicken and ribs to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We loved this place! We were so happy to get a great BBQ'd chicken we could take home to the condo, complete with rice, beans, tortillas and salsa. Terry is such a wonderful, friendly person. We stopped for breakfast one morning and she came and joined us. A real treat. They will also make BBQ'd ribs for you. Order in the morning as she likes to marinade and parcook first. Wish we'd had time to try them. Next time for sure!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las 3 Acapulquenas also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing