We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Nearby Hotels
US$354
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$219
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Oasis Tulum(Akumal)
US$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$425
US$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$393
US$335
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$467
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (14,264)
Filter reviews
14,264 results
Traveller rating
7,872
4,055
1,467
500
370
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,872
4,055
1,467
500
370
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier lobbycozumel buffetle gourmeta la cartesfishgolden lobbysnack barplaya del carmenquiet poolakumal beachshow tablemichael jackson showmain buffetother resortsgreat resortdon pabloactivity pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7,247 - 7,252 of 14,264 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just returned from a 10 day stay at this resort. grounds are amazing, very clean and well kept for the most part.( did find a disgusting dirty pair of underwear on a deck chair one morning that the staff would not remove so had to find a stick and do so myself). ate only at the buffet's and they were above average, good selection, awesome desserts. pools are very nice but not nearly as large as they are portrayed in the photos, what look like bridges over the pools are actually dividers making for two smaller pools rather than one large one. does not appear to be an adults only pool anywhere, if there is, its not enforced.there is also no poolside drink service which would be nice. the room was excellent and we got everything we had asked for in our booking. Put a couple bucks a day inside the mini fridge and you'll be well supplied with cervezas and snacks each day.They do however charge $5 a day for a safe, which i have never encountered before. The staff overall go above and beyond to treat you like you matter, especially in the restaraunts. my only real complaint during our stay is that they have taken gouging tourists to a whole new level in any shop anywhere on the resort( $27 american for a small bottle of sunscreen, etc.) I would definately reccomend this resort though, great value for the price point.

Room Tip: bldg 31 overlooks the activity pool and is very central. close to lobby, Two pools, spa.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here for a week in February and had a great time. We booked this as a package holiday with Sunquest from Canada.

This resort is on a big property with two other resorts (Bahia Tulum and Bahia Akumal), so that there are many options for lounging, shopping, and eating. A short distance away is a golf course with a fourth resort (Bahia Sian Ka’an). Coba is not beachfront (no ocean view rooms), but it only took about 10 mins to walk to the beach from the main lobby (and I’m a slow walker). Out of the three resorts, Coba seemed to be the cleanest, had bigger rooms, and the best food. All the grounds and buildings were very well maintained.

FOOD: The food was excellent, and there was a lot of variety between the buffets and the snack bars. The “healthy” section in the buffet provided excellent lighter options for all meals (poached eggs, steamed veg, granola and nuts, lean cuts of meat, etc). The a la carte restaurants were generally good. I can recommend Mikado (Japanese) and Le Gourmet (French). The seafood one was a bit disappointing.

ROOMS: The rooms were fairly clean, but everything smelled musty and moldy. The pillow and blankets were so musty that I couldn’t sleep. Covering the pillow and lining the blanket with extra towels helped. All clothes hung in the closet also took on the moldy smell. Maybe I’ll should start travelling with a bottle of Febreeze…

TRAVEL:The Bahia Principle resorts are FAR from the airport. The brochure said 60 mins from Cancun Airport, but it was more like 1.5 hours. In total, it took us nearly 2.5 hours on the bus after all the stops at other resorts along the way. It really cuts into holiday relaxation time!

SERVICES: The amenities (gym, beach towels, spa, bars, etc) were good, but service was often slow. We found that the other lobbies had better front desk service, and less waiting at the bar or lounge in the evenings. The free wi-fi in the lobby was a great convenience – it was busy in the evenings, so you might have difficulty getting connected. Again, try the other lobbies.

The staff were very helpful and pleasant. If we needed anything, they were very accommodating. The hair dryer in our room was broken, and it was fixed within a day. And when we forgetfully left the do-not-disturb sign on the door, they left a bag of clean towels on the handle!

Unfortunately, the guests at Coba had a tendency to reserve pool lounge chairs early in the morning (one of my pet peeves) – like, before 8:30 am. Luckily, we were always able to find space at the beach or pools at other resorts. In fact, my favourite spot was the Tulum main pool, which is by the beach and the yoga sanctuary. The beach at Akumal, toward the southern (right) end was less crowded – but still close to the bar, bathrooms, and snacks.

ACTIVITIES AND ENTERTAINMENT: There always seems to be something to do. The pool activities engaged a lot of people (aqua aerobics at Tulum pool seemed popular). There was dancing just outside Coba lobby in the evenings (could be noisy if your room was nearby), and the shows were themed music, dancing and games. The live music in Akumal lounge was a nice way to unwind at the end of the day.

There was also a Dolphinarium on site at Akumal (mixed feeling about this). As well, there is a nice snorkelling area near Akumal beach. There were also shopping and shows at an auxiliary location called Hacienda Isabel. Events here cost extra.

All in all, although we had a good time, we will likely try another resort next time we’re in the Mayan Riviera.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MTGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We just returned home from one week at the Coba on May 5th. I am baffled by anyone who could write a negative review about this resort...I have only wonderful things to say!
The rooms are large and clean with all the amenities you could ever want..including a free mini bar stocked daily. It was always cleaned by the time we found our way up from the beach with an adorable towel art creation on our HUGE bed:)
The food was out of this world..I could've eaten at the buffet every day and never tired of it. The selection and quality was amazing. Not to mention the service..we were offered mimosas and Baileys for our coffee at breakfast! We tried four different a la cartes, and each offered a unique experience. The first was Tortuga which was really cool..meat on swords! My biggest tip here is to skip some of the earlier cuts of meat because they get progressively better...and there is A LOT of meat to be had lol. The second restaurant was Mikado which was delicious. It offered a small version of the Tempanyaki experience..excellent atmosphere, service, and food. I actually would've done this twice. The third was the gourmet restaurant at the Tulum resort I think. Service and food were good. The last was Tequila, which was fun and authentic right down to the mariachi band. Food was delicious!
The resort itself is huge and we never did see it all, however it never felt overwhelming and we found our way quite easily, the trollies are fun and convenient. You could throw a stone in any direction and hit a bar..no shortage of great drinks. One bar had serve yourself beer taps! Big thanks to Jose at the Coba beach bar...such a friendly and hilarious guy:) he added some special memories to our trip.
Now for the beach, beautiful! We never really had a problem finding chairs with palapas if you looked hard enough. The water is warm and filled with wonderful fish who swim around you with no concern.
We did some great excursions, most of which were on our own. Getting around is easy and not intimidating at all. You can make use of taxis and collectivos right from the entrance of the resort. Tulum ruins are amazing but very hot..wear a hat and lots of sunscreen, seriously! Playa del Carmen, 5 th avenue is fun, tons of shopping to be found. We also snorkeled with the turtles in Akumel Bay, and in cenotes which was an experience of a lifetime!
I loved every second of my vacation and would love to go back because there was so much we didn't get to do. I also felt quite at home and holy cap do I ever miss the food & mojitos lol.
Long story short...GO!

Room Tip: We stayed in 23B on the third floor which was centrally located to everything, big thanks to Felix!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GwennePeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

stayed at the coba for a week just got back 2nd may my friends stayed in akumal and i have got to say the rooms at the coba are alot nicer than akumal .The staff are very friendly and helpfull ,The food is good loved the 24hour snackbar :) the shuttle carts are great they take you to the beach,and the other lobbys went to tulum and saw the michael jackson show it was good. Definitely going to go back next year .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

If you or someone you know found a blue under water camera at the pool by the beach the first week of May. Please contact me had pictures of our grandsons on it we took at this resort. Would be great to get this back.Thanks for any help you can offer.

This resort is ok for the best part, needs some things done. Better customer service for starters seems most staff at the lobbies do not want to assit you with requests. They send you some were else only to be redirected some were else only to end up were you started. Cleaning and making the beds for us was done around 5 - 5:30 in the afternoon, some times the beds were not finished being made or no towels left. We did have our room problems solved after a couple of days.

Food was ok you could find things to eat but they should change the selection more often. The pools were nice and no shortage of them to be found. We never had problems getting a place to relax at the pools or the beach and we were a group of 7.

The pool bars closed around 5 pm which we found odd, seeing that it was still quite warm out and at times we stayed there till 9 or so .
This was our fist trip to Mexico and not sure if we will return, but for sure we will not be staying at this resort.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FRANK3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews