We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We most recently travelled for a week in Nov 2013 for some much needed Vitamin D to the Coba (Golden) The rain came and didn't let up until the Saturday (we left the morning of the following Tuesday) Totally disappointed with the weather(can't control that!) BUT the dining staff at the Coba Premiere was excellent...namely Miguel ...and Maria was great too. While we were 'umbrella challenged' we were always impressed with the way Miguel hustled around that place, always with a smile and an attitude to please his people. It was our 4th time there and we will most probably return.
Diane Nanaimo BC

Room Tip: We were located near the quiet pool and had a great view of the pool and the cote's(neat long ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Diane,

We would like to thank you very much for choosing us for and for sharing your review. It is a pleasure to know your opinion.

Our main aim is to fulfill our guests’ expectations. We are very proud of making you feel at home despite the weather and that you were pleased by the service of our staff. We will be more than happy to transmit your greetings.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,420 - 5,426 of 14,083 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is our third visit to this all inclusive beachside complex comprising of three adjoining hotels, Akumal, Tulum and Coba. The two former are located right on the beach. Guests have full use of the amenities of all hotels and golf buggies are used to get around the resort. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the hotel is kept immaculately clean. The food is excellent and as eell as the buffet restaurants there are numerous gourmet restaurants the pick of ehich are the French goyrmet and the Mikado Japanese restaurant, ( ask for a show table). There is a dolphinarium within the grounds of the complex which offers packages for swimmimng with the dolphins. This horel was recommended to us by friends and I in turn have told other friends who have all enjoyed their time spent there. Although some have spent the entire time in the complex and have admitted to not spending a penny, there are plenty of nearby must see attractions. The pick of which are the local Tulum Mayan ruins and Akumal beach is a must for snorkeling eith giant sea turtles. Indeed durinf early Summer you can even go seimming with Whale sharks. Further afield is Chitza nitza ( I know I've spelt that wrong). All in all if you can get over the fact that it's a long haul flight then you will be sure to have a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Akumal and Tulum are both located on the beach. Although Coba is predominantly larger junior suite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Brian,

First of all we would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. It is an honor to assist and pamper you.

Thank you for making us participants of your overall impression. Your comments about the quality of our service and facilities do that our effort worth it.

We would like to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards from your Mexican home.
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here over Thanksgiving and we had an average stay at the resort. The biggest problem we had was with our room. We were in a junior suite gold club. The sliding door would not lock, mini fridge did not cool, no water pressure in the shower, and worst of all brown water coming out of the faucet. We did't bother talking to management because they took a very long time fixing problems with our relatives room. They were given two consecutive rooms that were already occupied. It took a couple hours to get that fixed so I did't want to mess around with management. I got the feeling that this resort is too large for them to run efficiently.

This resort is huge so if you like a small intimate resort this one is not for you. The buildings and grounds are very well maintained with lots of landscaping. Pools were also very nice and clean although the water was very chilly. Due to the chilly water the pools were mostly empty. One advantage of having a large resort is the beach. The beach goes on forever and there are plenty of chairs for everyone. There are also nice sheltered areas for the kids to swim and look at fish.

We ate at the buffets and three specialty restaurants. Food was very good with no complaints. They even had a kids area in the buffet. Half of our group did get some stomach problems so be careful with the tap water!

So all in all not a horrible experience but it wasn't out of this world! Honestly we probably wouldn't go back given that there are so many different resorts to try out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Richard,

We would like to thank you for your comments. Your opinion is very important to us because it will help us to improve the quality of our service. It is great to hear you enjoyed the facilities we offer to our guests.

We are truly sorry for the issue described. We have reviewed your observations with the hotel management to take the strict actions to reinforce the service.

Nevertheless it is important to remark that for years our resort has worked with the Cristal Food and Safety company "Check Safety First", which is actually a renown British institution, that implied a system which assist and monitors safety and hygiene of food and beverage as well as its handling sanitary procedures and hygiene of employees as well as testing the water which is used for consumption for the customers. This program is based on the international method known as HACCP. Not only do we have regular inspections by the Cristal "Check Safety First" company, but also tour operators from different countries of the world and the local government through its secretary of health. It should be mentioned that the vast majority of this inspections including the Crystal program, are done proceeded without any prior notice.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our 4th visit to GBP and it was fantastic. We ordered a taxi from the airport to the hotel and boy is it worth it. We were greeted with cool towels to refresh ourselves after the long journey and bottles of water :) So far so fantastic, our driver offered rest room stops, but we went straight to the hotel. Checked in at Privilege lounge where we were greeted by Ana and her staff as long lost friends returning home. They are available to ensure that you have everything you need and few things you most certainly didn't think of. After a lovely cocktail we were taken to our room which had a delightful surprise for us, fresh flowers and a bottle of bubbly with a letter saying thank you that we choose to return to the resort.We should be thanking them for all the wonderful times we have had here.
Coming back to a resort you know certainly has many advantages, we were instantly relaxed and knew where to go for some cocktails and dinner. The staff are all fantastic wherever you go, and if you do decide to leave a tip, which is not expected, then their smile just lights up your day. We used Cozumel Buffet most mornings for breakfast and were looked after by Landy and Nalleli. Privilege beach has been extended and the staff there are fantastic fun. We also went to the White Party and Paella and Chill Out which are new endeavors by Ana and her concierge team to make your holiday extra special. Javier, Freddy, Martin and the beautiful Corazon took real good care of us and always had a smile and a laugh.
As Privilege members we have unlimited a la Carte reservations and this year we also could use the facilities in Sian Kaan, can I just say the meals and service we experienced in Alux and Le Gourmet Restaurants were just sublime.
As we celebrated my hubby's birthday and our Silver Wedding Anniversary whilst at the resort we were really spoiled with cakes, the room was decorated beautifully and our Golf Cart driver Juan Carlos even had balloons and music to make our night start with a bang.
All in all a fabulous time, we have certainly sung their praises before but this is my first review so I hope I have given you a great excuse to try the Gran Bahia Principe, you won't be disappointed .

Room Tip: We were in Villa 1 in Coba, excellent location for amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDP28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrivilegeClub, Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear TripAdvisor User,

Receive warm greetings from the Bahia Principe Privilege Club and thank you for taking the time to write about your recent 4th trip to Grand Bahia Principe Coba as Privilege Club members.

We are delighted to read about your vacation experience which included special dates such as your husband's birthday and your Silver Wedding anniversary. We are thrilled to learn the Privilege Concierge team, guided by Ana, was part of such special occasions and that they contributed to making the occasion a memorable one. Your comments on the team at the Privilege Beach, Freddy, Javier, Martin and Corazon are also heartening and will surely motivate them to continue providing the excellent service they are very well known for. Juan Carlos will also be joyful to learn we too, was part of the team that helped creating this wonderful experience.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Cozumel Buffet for your breakfasts and that Landy and Nalleli provided you with exceptional service over there. Your wonderful comments on the food at the Alux and the Gourmet restaurants will surely be forwarded to the Food & Beverage Department in the resort.

We hope in the future your membership benefits continue to provide you, your husband and your family with the additional perks that make your vacations unforgettable.

We look forward to welcome you for a 5th time.

Best regards,

Stephany Tavarez
Customer Service
Bahia Principe Privilege Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was our first stay in Mexico. Excellent resort with no regrets. Gorgeous lush property and pools. Well organized and friendly staff. Villas had large clean rooms and comfortable beds. Free WiFi at the lobby was quick and convenient. Buffet and food was great with lots of choices. We loved the Japanese restaurant, both for its food and show!!! Well organized and friendly staff. Check in at the front desk was quick and easy. Jaime Alatriste from BDTravel (Best Day) gave excellent service and made us feel safe and welcomed. He helped us book excursions and final flight arrangements. Loved that we could go from one resort to the other. We would definitely recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 79Lisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Lisette,

We are delighted to read that you were pleased by the facilities. We are very proud of our job because your comments show us that we fulfilled your expectations and you really had a great time with us.
It is a pleasure to pamper our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon for another relaxing vacation.

Best Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just came back from a one week stay at the Coba and I can honestly say believe the positive reviews and question the negative ones. I realize you can't please everyone and we all have our preferences but in general you should have a good time here. The food was good, the drinks plentiful and the staff was friendly. The rooms were nice and clean (we had no strange odors in ours like some people mentionned). The beach is nice and long enough for a good walk. There are some areas with rocks but in general it's nice sand. Do book your a la carte restaurants early because they do go fast. It's true you do a lot of walking to get around the different hotels and the beach but if you don't want to walk you can use the transportation that runs throughout the 3 resorts and the beach. It's very good and you don't wait long for it plus there are stops with a bench and a roof to protect you from the sun. But they will pick you up anywhere around the resorts just flag them as they pass. Even if the Coba is not on the beach it's a great hotel, it was our favourite! We hesitated at first between the three but i'm glad we booked Coba. The beach area for the Coba is great, close to the Akumal so you have access to food, drinks and bathrooms. The hacienda is also fun, they have a mexican fiesta night but you need to buy tickets for it which covers the show and the bar. They also have shops to buy souvenirs but for a real shopping experience go to Playa del Carmen. We had a great holiday and would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 5travellersGatineau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for sharing your review regarding your stay at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We are happy that you had a wonderful time.

We are honored that you have decided to spend your holidays with us. Your satisfaction makes us feel proud of our job.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife an I have just returned from an amazing holiday experience in Mexico. The Bahia Principe, Akumal, Mexico is all that a discerning traveller could wish from an all inclusive. Accomodation very good; food excellent; activities excellent; entertainment amazing; beach great; price unbeatable.
The hotel is very, very eco friendly and the wild life, and flora, that abounds within the hotel complex added greatly to the experience.
The only very small minus was two and a half days of heavy rain, which could not be blamed on the resort!
I can say no more except...Brilliant!!!

Room Tip: We were happy to be located in the part of the resort away from the activities in block 70.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spassspass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your compliments.

It is a pleasure to read that you had fun during your holidays. We are very happy that you had spent your time with us and that your expectations were fulfiled.

We would be honored to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
2.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
2.7 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#14 of 22 in Akumal
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: £97 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing