We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-timers and will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I'll start by saying this is only the second time we've stayed at an AI in Mexico..most of the time we rent condos, but needed a chill-out last minute vacation before the chaos of Christmas !...Yes, we did really love the whole aspect of the AI experience, but in spite of the fact that the food was great everywhere...I think a week would about do it for me.
We did love this resort...stayed at the Royal section of Coba. Didn't spend much time at the pools...but really loved the beach area. I particularly liked the Tulum part of the resort due to the proximity to the beach (like being able to sit on the beach for your morning coffee)..but would stay at Coba again for sure. Again, we thought the food was great...hubby gained 5 lbs!..in spite of all the walking and exercise !..liked the a-la-cartes...especially Mikado..next time we will try Arlequin...which is supposed to be really amazing. Staff was wonderful at all levels. We have only one complaint about the service and that is the fact that they didn't have beach or pool drink service...you had to line up...sometimes for a long time...to get a drink because lots of time there was only one bartender. This really surprised us but it didn't kill us for sure.
I really want to add that we noticed,..after great service from these extremely hard-working waiters - especially in the a la cartes...some people could actually walk away without leaving any sort of tip!!! hard to believe they could do that in good conscience..(if you received good service and in most cases you do!) and very few left anything at the buffets either...folks ....a couple of bucks (20 pesos) won't kill you ! We usually left between 50 and 100 pesos at the restaurants - these people work mostly for tips..the way I look at it, if we can afford a trip like this, surely we can afford to acknowledge good service.
I loved the fact that we could reserve the restaurants in advance on-line, rather than having to line up in the morning...that we had to do in the other one we stayed at !...already looking forward to going back..

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 31...very close to everything and had a top floor room. We don't like air co...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lululemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. It is a pleasure to read your review about your positive experience.

We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed our resort and that you appreciate the effort of our staff.

We would like to welcome you soon

Sending you our kindest regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13,546)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Coba
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,048 - 5,054 of 13,546 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was our second time to the Grand Bahia/Coba & hopefully not the last. Everything was perfect. Check-in was unbelieveably fast, perhaps because of our Royal Golden status. The rooms are great, the food fabulous, the people super...I cannot say enough about this place. Beaches, pools, shows, buffets, ala carte restaurants. Ready to go again...in a heart beat!

Room Tip: The Royal Golden status gives a great room plus.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank outtherecamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank you for your nice comments. It is an honor to have hosted you and made your second stay pleasant.

Your comments about the staff are very rewarding. They will be delighted to receive them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Cordially,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels on Riviera Maya
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This resort is Huge. There are trolleys coming and going constantly to take you to the Beach or where ever you like to go. However don't count on keeping your waist line under control when staying here, the food is varied and delicious - so walking instead of using the trolleys may be in your best interest. Get one of those little maps and keep it on you when ever you go some where on foot so you won't get lost.
A word of caution ! When you arrive you will be accosted to sign a form agreeing to sit in on a 90 minute Presentation to learn about all the wonderful things you can do at this resort.
I believe it is a member ship of sorts that entitles you to certain benefits when staying at this resort . At no time was the location of the Presentation revealed - nor was I told how much this would cost. Very sleazy ! The management of this resort could score point's with the travelling public by advertising that such sales tactics will no longer be applied. We don't like to have our intelligence insulted. A small distraction to an otherwise excellent vacation resort.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the top floors - they are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snorkeler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

It is grateful reading that your holidays were amazing at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We are thankful for your review about your holidays. We are happy that you were pleased by the facilities.

It would be a pleasure to host you again.

Kind regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

It's hard to find reviews for travelling with small kids (a toddler and a baby), even though there are many young families using this resort. We have a 2.5 year old toddler and 14 month old baby. Here's my scoop:

Resort grounds and layout: The resort is huge when you take advantage of all three resorts (Coba, Akumal and Tulum). The beach is not that far from Coba, definitely walkable but lots of trolleys available if you want. We would take the trolley to Tulum though, definitely too far with kids in tow. The grounds are remarkable. Perfectly manicured.

Beach and pools: The beach is great. They have these massive sandbags breaking the waves so it makes playing in the water much better for the kids (and more enjoyable for adults too). Water is crystal clear and warm. We only went to the beach a couple times. In terms of pools, all of them are great but we spent most time in the big pool that had a kids area, zero entry, close to all the action and near the water park. They also lend out balls at one of the huts.

Rooms: We stayed in Villa 19, close to the kids club, main pool, water park, lobby and main buffet. Location was great for us. We travelled with my mom and requested an adjoining room in advance and we were very excited to get it (btw, last year, we stayed at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya last year and their charge for an adjoining room was $50 per night so we didn't bother). The rooms were impeccably clean although they missed cleaning it one day which was annoying but not the end of the world. They provided a playpen and made up a kids bed on one of the day beds although my oldest ended up sleeping in her own bed in her grandma room :)

Restaurant service: I hated the large buffet at Coba. My main issue was waiting for 20 minutes every time we needed a high chair. With small kids, we don't have that kind of time to wait for a high chair. We ate our first two meals there and the service was so bad I went to the public relations desk and asked what we had to do to get service! They gave us access to the premier club and we ended up eating many of our breakfast/lunches at the Cozumel buffet and dinner at the Tulum buffet where the service was remarkably better. The service at the poolside snack bar (Pisces) at Coba was also very good. The staff is really great with kids. I don't travel to AIs with too high of expectation in terms of service but a minimum level is expected and once we figured out the best places to go, we were better off. At the A la Cartes, service was also hit or miss. Generally though, they should have high chairs way more readily available instead of having to ask and wait, sometimes twice. It seems like a no-brainer to me...it's in everyone's interest to get the kids settled quickly so that they don't lose interest and cause a raucous in the restaurant.

Restaurant food: The buffets are fine. Lots of choice. Can't complain. My expectations aren't unreasonable and I know what kind of food I'm signing up for when I go to an AI! The A la Cartes were nothing special but a good break from the buffet. We went to the Mediterranean, Japanese, Gourmet and Seafood restaurants.

Outing: We love going to Playa Del Carmen and spending some time walking up 5th Ave and having dinner. We did that this year with the kids and it's fun.

Kids Stuff: Water park is great although our kids are a little young for it. We spent lots of time in the water. The kids club staff is really good - Alexandra, Brenda and Akary. Even though our kids were too young to stay, they made them feel included when we went to the Club or when we crossed paths in the pool. The mini-disco was a huge daily highlight, a lot of fun for the kids to get up and dance. The Friday night Disney show is really cute for the kids to attend as well.

General: We booked at the end of low season. It was still quite busy but not to the point where there are huge line ups. There is always something going on to keep people entertained and the more you learn about where to go, the better it is. There is a diverse group of all kinds of travelers. Our goal was just to have some fun in the sun and water with our young family and feel like we are getting a break as well. Mission accomplished.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Loyachik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank you because reading words like yours makes our effort worth it. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your holidays and we made you feel comfortable enjoying all the facilities.

Your suggestions regarding the high chair, we have already reviewed them to take actions where is necessary.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kindest Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

It was my first trip to this resort. Myself and other members of my party were well treated with courtesy and a willingness to please. We enjoyed excellent meals at several different restaurants and the choice at the bars was great. My room was clean and well maintained and the bed couldn't be better. I will return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank you for sharing your nice comments. It is really pleasant to know that your stay was enjoyable.

Your compliments about the staff effort are very rewarding. It makes us keep working hard so that our guests are always pleased.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Warm regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We most recently travelled for a week in Nov 2013 for some much needed Vitamin D to the Coba (Golden) The rain came and didn't let up until the Saturday (we left the morning of the following Tuesday) Totally disappointed with the weather(can't control that!) BUT the dining staff at the Coba Premiere was excellent...namely Miguel ...and Maria was great too. While we were 'umbrella challenged' we were always impressed with the way Miguel hustled around that place, always with a smile and an attitude to please his people. It was our 4th time there and we will most probably return.
Diane Nanaimo BC

Room Tip: We were located near the quiet pool and had a great view of the pool and the cote's(neat long ta...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Diane,

We would like to thank you very much for choosing us for and for sharing your review. It is a pleasure to know your opinion.

Our main aim is to fulfill our guests’ expectations. We are very proud of making you feel at home despite the weather and that you were pleased by the service of our staff. We will be more than happy to transmit your greetings.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is our third visit to this all inclusive beachside complex comprising of three adjoining hotels, Akumal, Tulum and Coba. The two former are located right on the beach. Guests have full use of the amenities of all hotels and golf buggies are used to get around the resort. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the hotel is kept immaculately clean. The food is excellent and as eell as the buffet restaurants there are numerous gourmet restaurants the pick of ehich are the French goyrmet and the Mikado Japanese restaurant, ( ask for a show table). There is a dolphinarium within the grounds of the complex which offers packages for swimmimng with the dolphins. This horel was recommended to us by friends and I in turn have told other friends who have all enjoyed their time spent there. Although some have spent the entire time in the complex and have admitted to not spending a penny, there are plenty of nearby must see attractions. The pick of which are the local Tulum Mayan ruins and Akumal beach is a must for snorkeling eith giant sea turtles. Indeed durinf early Summer you can even go seimming with Whale sharks. Further afield is Chitza nitza ( I know I've spelt that wrong). All in all if you can get over the fact that it's a long haul flight then you will be sure to have a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Akumal and Tulum are both located on the beach. Although Coba is predominantly larger junior suite a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Brian,

First of all we would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. It is an honor to assist and pamper you.

Thank you for making us participants of your overall impression. Your comments about the quality of our service and facilities do that our effort worth it.

We would like to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards from your Mexican home.
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
143.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
145.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
166.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
148.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
149.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: £105 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing