We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for all Ages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We went at the end of November mainly because of the travel deal with Transat. This was our second visit at Coba and our fourth on a GBP property. We like our holiday experience at GBP properties and usually choose this brand over other properties. We stayed a week although we did meet other couples who were staying two weeks.

We had a Royal Golden room in the Coba section. These villas are all relatively close to a main buffet, snack buffet, and pools. If you have children under 7 along on your trip, Coba is the place to have a room as this section is the only section with a water area for pre-schoolers. This includes a large adventure splash area with slides, bridges, and water spouts. Parents can relax in lounges under a pergola while supervising their kids. Just steps away there is a small splash pool (water comes up to kids knees) for ease of mind water play for toddlers. This kids' area has piped in Disney kids music, but at a low level. The washrooms at this kids' pool area have toilets and sinks adjusted for the height of kiddies. This splash pool area is located right beside an activity pool. So if there are older children in the family, they can enjoy the water sports, water games, and exercises offered here as well as swimming around the large pool while still being in your eye view. Inflatables are offered for sale at some of the beach stands. There is a first aid attendant at this pool area. A snack area which offers hot dogs, hamburgers, fries, chicken bites, tortilla chips, salad offerings, desserts, and ice cream and drinks is available here as well. Adults, wanting a quieter pool area with no activities or children, have a selection of areas available in the Coba section too. We had no problem at the end of November with getting a lounger around the pool areas even though we often waited until after breakfast (mid-morning) to select one.

The Golden rooms are larger in size than the hotel rooms offered in the Tulum section, but after seeing a room in Tulum I would not hesitate to book a room in that section. We liked the free in-room safe that came with the Golden status, and the free use of a computer in the special Golden Club area.

The Tulum section has a Dolphinarium/Swim with the Dolphins pool. For a fee ($80-$120US), kids and adults can give commands to the 5-8 dolphins to do "tricks". It was fun to watch and take pictures poolside for free.

The trolleys do an excellent job of taking guests between sections in the resorts. One look at our wrist bands, however, was enough for the Sian Kaan trolley driver to tell us we were not allowed to go there to look around. We had considered booking a room there, but after seeing its location (on the other side of the highway), we were glad we were closer to the ocean. It is, after all, a golfing community.

The beach is similar to a big U curve with mainly GBP surrounding it. We didn't come across any locals trying to sell stuff to people on the loungers. While the loungers are laid out in rows under palapas umbrellas, we always found some loungers that were spaced further apart and away from the noisy, active water sports programs. These areas are usually at the far ends of the Akumal and Tulum beach areas. The white sand is a joy to walk on which you can for a few miles. The water varies from calm to surf so choose your preference. I didn't find many small coral chunks in the water where I waded so water shoes, IMO, are not necessary. If you are on the beach, there is more of a walk for food, drinks, and restrooms than if you are situated around a pool area. There even is an area set aside for wedding ceremonies right at the beach. Very romantic, not rustic at all.

We enjoyed all our meals except the one night it poured. The rain came through the roof in spots at the a la carte restaurant we were in (El Pescador) so that staff had to move tables around, mop up floors, etc. To make our meals something to look forward to we ate at different buffets, snack bars, and a la carte restaurants on the property. We liked the BBQ on the patio at the Tulum snack area where the meats (hamburger patties, steak, chicken) were hot off the grill. I thought the food at the kids' section at the main buffets was presented very attractively. The peanut butter sandwiches had faces on them, the hard boiled eggs were decorated like snowmen. I liked the Healthy section food (fruit, juices, veggies, protein without sauces); the Mexican section and the other buffet areas where there was always something interesting to eat with lots of selection even among the protein trays. My favorite tray was the Spinach cheese ravioli.. .so yummy with freshly grated cheese on top. The chefs do chicken dishes very well, too. I selected a different protein each night to make the meal special. Of course, at breakfast there is the usual line up at the Egg Station.

We know what to expect at a GBP property. We like the total experience...the food, the accommodation, the pools, the sand, the ocean, and, of course, the warm weather. The staff are friendly...holas abound!.. but they also speak English. Definitely a third floor room would be quieter than a first or second floor room, but if guests below or above you are quiet these rooms are quiet too. We just took the room that was given to us and I don't know how difficult it would be to make a room change or when to ask for a particular room if you book through a company like Transat. At the end of November no mossies were around. The only thing that bugged me was the quality of the hand towels. They felt like bath mats rather than soft fluffy towels. Amenities in the bathroom are plentiful and even include face cloths. We both enjoyed the use of a whirlpool/jacuzzi/jetted bathtub in our bathroom!

We look forward to our next trip to the Mexican Riviera at the GBP.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retireeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for sharing your detailed review. It is wonderful to know you had enjoyable holidays at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

It is delightful that you were pleased by all our facilities. Our main aim is to satisfy our guests and make your vacations unforgettable. We are very proud of making you feel at home.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,413 - 5,419 of 14,087 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

First didn't do sufficient research. This hotel is 1.5 hours from airport. The airport experience was daunting as no one warned us of the vulchers lurking under signs offering maps and information. These individuals on the surface seemed harmless when in fact they were luring you to different hotels in attempts to convince you to purchase time shares. The same aggressive tactics were also surrounding all of the lobbies located on the property of Grand Bahia Principe. Communication barrier was evident, as well of down right lack of communication. What appeared to be a closet on the first floor of our unit was in fact an ice machine, which by the way was empty everytime we went to get ice. Most if not all of the staff were on mexican time, which translates to 15 minutes after a designated time to 30 minutes after designated time. Booking of a la carte restaurants thankfully was advised by a prior guest, so in knowing this attempted to book first afternoon of arrival and was unable to book a restaurant until three days into the 7 day vacation and any availability before this was mostly eating in then 9 or 10 pm range. Also be advised this area of the world evidently is not big on the usage of face clothes, as it took two days to get replacements. We booked some excursions through the hotel, which were good, however the snorkeling adventure had hidden costs of "national park" fee and necessary purchase of their "eco" friendly sunscreen as to not damage the coral or other sea life. Do not be alarmed as you visit Chichen Itza as the pathways are coated with vendors all screaming out for your attention and proclaiming "deals". Several vendors had obnoxiously noisy items when employed made sounds like that of a wild cat of some sort, that was a tad disconcerting as you walked by and suddenly hit by that sound! So back to the hotel itself, this property has many "lobbies" and you are free to go to any of them, IF you can catch the proper tram. Not all staff were pleasant or accomodating. We were advised that this all inclusive was also inclusive of tips, however it appeared that if you didn't give an immediate tip to staff you basically didn't exist. I believe our favorite part was the pool bar where you can swim right up to the bar for a drink, but seating at this bar is not always available. I am disheartened in seeing other reviews pop up here with such raving reviews?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank punchtraveladviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. It is wonderful that you enjoyed our facilities.

We are extremely sorry to hear that some of our facilities did not meet with your full approval as we do pride ourselves on guest satisfaction. We apologize regarding the airport and the excursion issues. Even though, they are third parties outside our enterprise, please, rest assured that we will send your comments so that they take the necessary actions.

However we have reviewed your comments with our management team to take actions where is necessary

Cordially
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We travelled to Bahia Principe Coba back last week of April to first week of May. It was an incredible experience to say the least! It was a HUGE resort and we were happy it was. It gave us more to do and see! We were NEVER bored. The kids enjoyed the many pools, the beaches and we all loved the food. The staff is incredibly friendly! I can't say anything bad about this place. We read that the beds weren't so comfy so we requested mattress toppers before arrival. We had Royal Golden Status and it's pluses were well worth it. We also booked our al a carts before we left. We left the resort three different days. First we went on tour to Tulum Ruins and Jungle Maya with beautiful cenotes, zip lining, snorkelling plus more! This was worth EVERY penny! Then we went into Playa del carmen by colectivo and returned by taxi( much safer in my opinion). We found the shopping was a bit overwhelming, but the beach was absolutely beautiful. The last outing was to Akumal beach where we snorkelled around the coral reef and seen sea turtles. This beach was amazing. My boys 12 and 9 and ourselves had the experience of a lifetime while in the Mayan Riviera and we can't wait to do it all again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snikib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. Your comments make us keep on doing our best every day.

We are glad we fulfilled your expectations and you appreciated the service since our aim is to make our guests feel comfortable.

We are looking forward to welcoming you.

Receive our warmest regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We traveled here in October 2013 with our 2 1/2 yr old. The resort is a little over an hour from Cancun airport, but the included bus transportation was totally fine. As you probably know by know this whole complex is 4 resorts in one. The adults only (Sian Kaan) is north of the highway, while Akumal & Tulum are on the beach with Coba in between. It would be about a 12-15 minute walk from the Coba lobby to the beach, but there is almost always a trolley going by that you can hop on, if you somehow are not wanting a bit of exercise ;o)
Our check-in desk was in the Royal Golden section which is not in the main lobby and the wait wait was less than a minute. Bags were already waiting at our room when we got there!
The grounds are immaculate and our room was totally clean. It did smell a little musty when we first checked in, but I'm guessing the AC was off before we got there. It soon went away. The rooms are spacious, ours had a king bed plus the day bed that was set up as a place for our toddler when we arrived. We did have a ground floor room, which was nice. The little critters (coati I think they are called) came and visited outside the balcony each morning. Our toddler thought they were absolutely adorable - they did get somewhat aggressive when other people fed them though!
Food in the main buffet was good every single meal and the servers were very attentive. They knew our drink orders by the second day. The only disappointment about the food was that none of the a' la carte dinners were worth the hassle - with the exception of Le Gourmet which was the best dinner we had by far. The Brazilian, Japanese, Don Pablo all failed to impress. We wish we had stayed at the main buffet - that's how good the main buffet can be!
One of the big reasons we chose this resort is because it looked like it was good for children and IT IS! The water park is awesome and the toddler area of the main pool was a favorite too. Most of the pools also have a "beach" entry where is slowly gets deep which was perfect for our daughter. The mini-disco that they put on every night at 8pm was the kid's favorite part of the trip. She loved being up there on the stage every night with the other children. All staff were super friendly with the children too. We didn't end up using the Kid's Club at all during the day but we did hire a sitter through the resort one evening so that we could have a date night dinner and that went off perfectly.
We ended up spending more time at the pools than the beach since the waterpark was such a success, but that was not because the beach wasn't nice! The beach was beautiful, water was warm and there really is the opportunity to snorkel right off the beach. Even our two yr old managed to breathe through the snorkel and see the colorful fish! You can borrow masks & snorkels from the EcoSafari desk by the turtle sanctuary (along the beach towards Tulum resort).
Our only day trip was to Tulum ruins. We don't do organized tours often, so we just grabbed a taxi. The driver took us to Tulum ruins, a lunch spot in town for awesome local food and then made a stop at Paradise Beach for a swim which was absolutely gorgeous. He spent 6+ hours with us and only asked for the equivalent of $60 when we got back. WAY less than a tour would have cost us! I will say that Tulum is beautiful, but I regret not going to Coba ruins as I hear they are much more majestic.
Well, I'm tired of finger pecking on the keyboard. I just say that you should book it - you would have to be an extremely hard to please person to not enjoy this place ;o)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank itsgeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write your review. Your comments are very kind and they make us feel proud of our effort.

We are delighted that you and your family had spent your holidays with us, but the most important is that you really enjoyed your time here since the goal of all the services we offer is that our guests are comfortable and satisfied.
It will be an honor to host you again soon.

Regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Never been to a 5 star resort that could care less about its customer. A 5 star resort that did not supply a paid safe for its customers. charge $5. per day. No room slippers or robes. Advertises 6 or 7 ali cart resturants to which you can not get reservations unless eating a 10pm . God forbid you bring an extra person to dinner you would think the sky had fell in. Don't come 5 mins early or 5 min late. They get very unhappy. Rooms were ok clean etc. Food always cold. We were a very large group and you would think that they would have been somewhat accomidating. We were told no more than I can count. Never would go back. I would strongly advise against this resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Doreen,

We are thankful for the time you took to share your opinion about your stay with us. We are happy that you had a good time here.

We are extremely sorry to hear that our facilities did not meet with your full approval as we do pride ourselves on guest satisfaction. Indeed, the safe has an additional cost. It is also important to remark that the dinner reservations that requests are strictly depending on availability on the arrival date.

However, your comments and suggestions have been reviewed by the head of the department to improve where is necessary.

Receive our warmest regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Grand Bahia Pricipe Coba is our preferred Mexican destination, this was our fourth visit. Well maintained, resort facilities are wonderful, pools are beautiful and most of all, employees at all levels provide excellent service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mullerovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write a valuable review of your stay at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We are honored that we fulfilled your expectations.

Knowing that the staff efforts pleased you and we provided you a good service as usual makes us feel proud of our job.

Warmest regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels on Riviera Maya
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I'll start by saying this is only the second time we've stayed at an AI in Mexico..most of the time we rent condos, but needed a chill-out last minute vacation before the chaos of Christmas !...Yes, we did really love the whole aspect of the AI experience, but in spite of the fact that the food was great everywhere...I think a week would about do it for me.
We did love this resort...stayed at the Royal section of Coba. Didn't spend much time at the pools...but really loved the beach area. I particularly liked the Tulum part of the resort due to the proximity to the beach (like being able to sit on the beach for your morning coffee)..but would stay at Coba again for sure. Again, we thought the food was great...hubby gained 5 lbs!..in spite of all the walking and exercise !..liked the a-la-cartes...especially Mikado..next time we will try Arlequin...which is supposed to be really amazing. Staff was wonderful at all levels. We have only one complaint about the service and that is the fact that they didn't have beach or pool drink service...you had to line up...sometimes for a long time...to get a drink because lots of time there was only one bartender. This really surprised us but it didn't kill us for sure.
I really want to add that we noticed,..after great service from these extremely hard-working waiters - especially in the a la cartes...some people could actually walk away without leaving any sort of tip!!! hard to believe they could do that in good conscience..(if you received good service and in most cases you do!) and very few left anything at the buffets either...folks ....a couple of bucks (20 pesos) won't kill you ! We usually left between 50 and 100 pesos at the restaurants - these people work mostly for tips..the way I look at it, if we can afford a trip like this, surely we can afford to acknowledge good service.
I loved the fact that we could reserve the restaurants in advance on-line, rather than having to line up in the morning...that we had to do in the other one we stayed at !...already looking forward to going back..

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 31...very close to everything and had a top floor room. We don't like air co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lululemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. It is a pleasure to read your review about your positive experience.

We are pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed our resort and that you appreciate the effort of our staff.

We would like to welcome you soon

Sending you our kindest regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
2.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
2.7 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#14 of 22 in Akumal
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: £98 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: 2 lake-style pools, 3 Jacuzzis, large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers, pool and beach towel service, BAHIA SPA (additional charge). Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles, motorized sports (additional charge), water activity centre, entertainment amphitheater. WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge), buffet restaurant, 4 a la carte restaurants, 8 bars, 2 snack bars. Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed, sitting area with sofa, fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bathtub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer, bathroom amenities. Balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, radio alarm clock, flat screen satellite TV, mini-bar, coffee-making facilities, safe (additional charge), ironing set, terrace, Wifi. Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites, the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite; bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay, children's bath kit, welcome basket with sweets, mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children, two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites), Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Stayforlong S.L. and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing