We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our Favorite Places!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of our Favorite Places!!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was our 6th year returning to Coba and it was just as Fabulous as ever. If you have never been, the Grand Bahia Principe Resort is like a small city-with lots of activities for all ages. First of all, the hotel and grounds are beautiful and well kept. The staff is courteous and always willing to do their best to serve your needs. We spend our day at the Akumal beach, which is a short walk from Coba (or you can take the trolley) and we never have an issue getting a lounge. Our family's favorite beach activities include volleyball and sailing. My youngest child always makes new friends and spends the day socializing at all of the various pools! Additionally, there are "quiet" pools if you just want to read your book without distraction and there are "party" pools that provide ongoing daily activites for the more energetic. After dinner, my husband & I enjoy early dancing at the Premier Lounge on Coba and, if still ready to continue dancing, we join the kids at the outdoor entertaiment at the Hacienda outside the Sports Bar. Of course, there are other activities going on at night, including a nightly show- my favorite being the Michael Jackson performance. I cannot wait to return next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank BEW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

It is a pleasure to read your comments about this great experience at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

It is rewarding to read that these vacations were full of joy and now your family has a lot of beautiful memories.

We are looking forward to welcome back soon.

Regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,398
    3,707
    1,329
    438
    307
See reviews for
4,685
5,491
102
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,623)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality and quality of the services provided as well as the friendliness of the staff. I would highly recommend this for families or couples. The lobby internet service was shoddy at times, but you can upgrade to a better working, supposedly, paid wifi service that is available almost throughout the hotel grounds.

Room Tip: Aim for the top floors, the walls seem paper thin (Coba) as well as the floors/ceilings and it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Worksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. It is delightful that you had great vacations.

We are pleased that you had decided to visit. We are very proud of our job because your comments show us that you really had a great time with us.

We would like to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a wonderful time! lots of off resort excursions, the food was great, and plenty of activities during the day and night. I recommend Chichenitz ruins. Also make sure you set up your restaurants as soon as you can.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lisabeth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Lisabeth,

Thank you very much for your comments and for the appreciation that you show us.

It is a delight to read that you enjoyed the facilities and we fulfilled your expectations. Your kind comments are the best reward we can receive.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Cordially,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Great place to experience an all inclusive resort for the first time on a romantic adventure holiday with my fiancé. The place is so big that you'll need a map to get around the first few times. Luckily there were very convenient shuttles inside the resort area to take you anywhere you wanted.

Staff was very friendly and helpful without being too pushy. Lobby wifi could have been better but it wasn't that big of a deal.

Buffet was a very positive surprise. Everything tasted fresh and good and there was more options than one could imagine. Everything (fruits, vegetables etc.) was also very safe to eat as we did not experience any stomach issues during the two weeks. The A la Carte restaurants were ok, best of them was clearly the Brazilian one which had the best meat selection of all the restaurants there.

Pool area(s) was great, although the chairs were always booked and you would usually have to wait for someone to leave to get a chair by the pool. There was a lot of activities happening each day around the pool (and sometimes in it).

The resort beach was beautiful. Very soft sand and turquoise water. The chairs at the beach were very early on taken as well, so we usually needed to wait for someone to leave.

Plenty of animals around the resort area but not a lot of bugs, which was very positive.

Room Tip: We were very happy with a junior suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Camilla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
.
It is delightful that you enjoyed your time here. We are very happy that these holidays were a memorable experience. It is great know that you were pleased with the facilities.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards
Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This was our first trip to the Bahia Principe Coba, we stayed Nov 30 - Dec 14 with our two children (6&8). We were very happy with our stay. This was our 5th trip to Riviera Maya and we have found all of the resorts have been great. We took a tour of the residences for sale in the golf course complex and are seriously considering buying a home here, we liked it that much, we are also looking at Tulum and Puerto Aventuras.

Room - was very clean everyday. The house keeper really did a good job. Don't forget to tip them as they are paid about $7US/day and rely heavily on tips for their living. We had a family master suite which is two adjoining rooms so we let the kids stay in one room and we stayed in the other leaving the door open. It was right by the water park and we found everything close and convenient at the Coba.
The only issue we had were with ants that had made a nest in the door frame on the outside of the door. I reported it to the front desk the next day and it was taken care of right away. This did not bother me as this is not Cancun, you are in an area where the vast majority of the land is kept natural to protect the local environment so wildlife is to be expected.

Beach - The beach is a 4 or 5 minute ride away on the trolley which you never have to wait more than 5 minutes for. The Coba section of the beach is very nice, especially for smaller children. There is a board walk at the end of the beach that is quite long and a large dock both with stairs going down to the water. You can see the hundreds of fish right from the board walk without getting wet. This is really a cove protected by large sand bags. It creates a shallow protected area that is very safe for kids. There are hundreds of fish in this area and they swim very close to you which our kids loved. The sand is very soft with no rocks. There is a beach bar close by as well.

Teens Club - Although our kids were only 6 & 8 they preferred to go to the teen's club which is geared more towards kids under 12. There is a ping pong table, xbox, wii, board games etc. here. Brian is the guy who runs it and he was great. This was the first time our kids begged to go to a kid's club. He was very engaging and welcoming. He would have to close down the club between 6-7 to get supper but he always offered to take our kids with him to the buffet. We never took him up on it as he deserved a break. Anytime we stopped by the kids did not want to leave and Brian was either playing xbox, monopoly, Jenga or basketball with them. Our last night the teen and kid's club had a beach party at night which was a great experience. Thanks Brian!

Water park - very clean, well supervised and lots of fun for the kids. It is only about 40 feet away from the main pool, very close to the buffet and the trolley stop.

Pools - were very clean. The main pool has a large o grade shallow area for young kids. The resort was apparently full but the pool was not crowded at all.

Food and service - We ate mainly at the buffet as we find all of the resorts have similar a la cartes. The food was good, however, they only had bananas 2 days out of 14. The pool side snack bar always had great fast food. The burgers were very good and there was a fresh salad bar for healthy lunches. You can get fresh onions, lettuce and tomatoes for your burgers there;)

Overall - we would definately go back. We are most likely going to buy a small house or condo in the area in the next 18 months so we may be getting out of the all inclusives soon. The one thing I would have liked to see at the Bahia would be a lazy river. We have stayed at a couple of other resorts with lazy rivers and they are a big hit with the kids. The only real down side of this resort is it's distance from the beach. But the Tulum and Akumel are right on the beach and the trolleys are very quick at getting you around.
The time share people in the lobby can be annoying. They are positioned in the hallway between reception and the buffet so they have a captive audience and are too pushy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Chris,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. It is very rewarding that your family enjoyed their holidays.

We are proud of our effort because your children had a stay full of fun. Certainly Brian is a good example of the good job of all our staff. We will send him your greetings.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was my friends and I's (Ages 20-21) 3rd trip to gran bahia principe coba and we were slightly disappointed this trip. We've previously stayed for one week and had heard with the new management things were changing but, we loved it so much the previous times that we decided we'd stay for 10 this time. The past two times we've been there, there was something truly for ALL ages. Being young adults we really enjoyed the pool parties, terrace parties, music at the disco, etc., geared towards young adults. This year we felt as though it was only for families, older couples, children which was really disappointing because before it was more of something for everyone. Now the pool parties are water balloon fights and a contest to pick up the most popped balloons... which is great for kids but this resort is no longer for a younger crowd. This resort would be a GREAT resort for older people and families, with its new children's water park.

Besides that,

the food is amazing. In the buffets you definitely need to try a variety because the food will not be what you're used to. But everyday there is sushi, mexican, american, italian, asian, deserts, and a huge array of everything you could imagine. The food is fresh and hot with incredible service in the buffets. This year we went to pescador which is okay, mikado, make sure to request the show table (AMAZING), dolce vita (VERY GOOD), arlequin (VERY GOOD), and the mediterranean (decent). We've also been to gran tortuga which is fantastic, portofino (decent),and le gourmet (decent). Bahia needs to update their website though because those restaurants do not offer most of those entrees featured on the site. The snack bar is open 24/7 and we spent many nights there after 3am and still received amazing service. Gamaliel, Mario, Wilder, and Ricardo are an incredible waitstaff and went out of their way every night to make sure we had everything we needed and were completely taken care of. They are superb people and we will miss them a lot!

the entertainment staff was SO different from previous years. Before the animators were constantly creating this great energy for everyone and making sure that everyone was having a great time. Now all the activities and energy was geared towards kids. They were still really fun and we had fun in the lobby. Past years we praised all of the entertainment staff. This year Baldemar was the only animator that stood out and engaged everyone of all ages to enjoy the coba activities and made it a point to get to know many of the guests. He was high energy all of the time!

Jose at the beach bar is as always a great time and he is an INCREDIBLE bartender. He is so funny and an overall nice guy who is truly wonderful to talk to. His drinks and conversation always made for a great time!

the beach in coba is probably the least rocky out of all of them and is a 3 minute trolley drive from the lobby or a 5-10 minute walk.

Maria, the maid in 24A on the third floor is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING and we loved having her as our maid. Everyday she cleaned everything and organized all of our things, cosmetics, jewelry, clothes. She cleaned from top to bottom and did such a great job everyday. We could not express how happy we were to have her and could tell when it was her day off because whoever her replacement was did a mediocre job. We will miss her!

Every night in the resort there is a lot to do. There is a kids show and adults show in the theater and then some type of dancing, contest, etc in the lobby afterwards. After that, take the trolley to the hacienda where they have an incredible band who kept us dancing for hours. At 1130 the disco opens till 230am i believe. It was a great time with a lot of young people most nights. This year they changed it so you cannot take drinks out of the disco which really sucked because it gets very warm and loud and sometimes you just want to relax and drink outside for a bit.

The service throughout the grounds is impeccable and almost everyone will go out of their ways to help you with anything you may need. Thank you to Melchor who helped us get a new room key ASAP! Thank you to Angela and Francisco in the main coba lobby who are great bar staff! Mario our apple vacations rep was absolutely fantastic and helped us with booking our catamaran trip. We had to reschedule 3 times because it rained 6/11 days of our trip. He was so helpful, gracious, and so willing to work with us for everything we needed.

The grounds of this resort are immaculate and so beautiful.

It is located about 1 hour and 20 minutes from the airport with no stops and about 40 minutes from playa del carmen. You can easily take trolleys everywhere you need to go on the resort. Collectivos will take you to playa for about $3 USD right outside the resort.

the rooms are great! We always stay in 24A because its close to both pools, lobby, trolley pickup a la carte restaurants and snack bar.

Overall we still had a great trip and love bahia principe but we will most likely not be returning because it is no longer geared for all ages.

Room Tip: 24A -->close to both pools, snack bar, all the a la carte restaurants, main lobby, and trolley pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lilly1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Lilly,

We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about your vacations at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us again.

We are happy that you and your friends had enjoyed your holidays and you had another good experience here.

We are really sorry that this time some of our facilities did not meet with your full approval since we have activities for all ages. We will review your comments to take actions where is necessary.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to pamper you.

Cordially,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Had a good vacation at Bahia Coba but the resort is not for everyone. I'm referring to how large it is. All though it does offer a lot of choices in restaurants, bars, pools etc... you do end up waisting a lot of time getting around, finding things, going to beach etc. If you are a family that mostly uses the pool, you can try to get a room close to the pool and kids water park. But if you are a beach family like we are, with small kids, staying at Coba is not a great idea. You will not be able to do quick trips to your room to get something, which for us was a bit of an inconvenience.
Restaurants are good, although compared to other resorts we visited, for example the Riu, had better. Rooms are clean but seem to be outdated and when we arrived ours had a really strong moldy smell, we had to get a different room. One other detail which I'm not sure if its the same at other resorts, the way they clean the plastic glasses at the bars is just plainly gross. Glasses are thrown into a soapy sink, not really "washed", rinsed in tap water. Makes me wonder if this would be the same case at 5 star luxury resorts....
What we loved about the resorts was the grounds, gorgeous, very well kept, clean....and beach is amazing for small kids... Shallow water with no waves.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Puszek78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. It is great that your children enjoyed the facilities.

We are extremely sorry to hear that our facilities did not meet with your full approval as we do pride ourselves on guest satisfaction. We have already reviewed your comments to take actions where is necessary.

Nevertheless it is important to remark that we have a very strict procedure to sterilize all our kitchenware as well as all the dishes and glasses.

We would like to welcome you back soon.

Cordially,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
23.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#50 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing