We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wishful vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wishful vacation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My friends and I were very excited to stay at this resort as we've heard so many good things about it from friends and coworkers that have stayed here. After we graduated we thought it'd be fun to go somewhere to celebrate, but we decided to wait a few months so we can work a bit and pay off some student loans and just get ourselves on our feet. Some of our classmates ended up moving for job opportunities.

So finally in February, we had our vacation days booked off work, and decided to chose this resort. Everything was set and booked, we were all excited! Then two days before we were set to leave, I received an email saying that the resort was overbooked and we were being located to another resort. The other resort was called Iberostar Paraiso del Mar.

I thought it would be okay, since I was going to an Iberostar resort the month following for a wedding, and heard that Iberostars are great resorts to stay on. However, we found out that only three of us were getting relocated and the others were staying at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba. This was very disappointing since this was supposed to be a graduation trip.

When we got to Iberostar, we asked if there was any way we could transfer to the Grand Bahia once there was an open room, we wouldn't mind if we had to wait a day or two or even three, but we were told that they couldn't do anything without the approval of Grand Bahia Principe since they will be the ones that will be paying for the relocation back. We waited and waited but we didn't get any information. When we called our guest services, they would tell us that they haven't heard back from Grand Bahia.

Finally, on the last few days, they transferred our friends to the Iberostar, but to a different tier. So even if we wanted to do dinners together, we couldn't because unlike staying at Grand Principe where you can dine at restaurants at sister resorts, Iberostar needed you to purchase another wristband.

All in all, we were very disappointed that after all that planning, and being able to get vacation time at the same time, we could not celebrate together. Being relocated 2 days before our departure date to a resort that was less than what was expected and less than what we paid for was a pretty big let down.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Bonnie,

We are grateful that you shared your opinion. It is great that you chose the Mayan Riviera to celebrate your graduation.

We are extremely sorry regarding your experience. Nevertheless, we would like to comment that this change regarding the hotel reservations was made by your tour operator and we are not involved in the tour operator decisions since they are external enterprises.

However, all your suggestions have been reviewed by our management team to take actions where is necessary.

Sending you our warmest regards,
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,283
    3,626
    1,284
    420
    300
See reviews for
4,573
5,385
101
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,574)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Please do not listen to the negative reviews! Anyone who gives this place bad reviews has to have ridiculously high expectations.

My boyfriend and I just returned from a trip at Grand Bahia Principe Coba from April 24-May 1 and all I can say is wow! Having never been to an all inclusive, both of us were a little weary of choosing a hotel but we couldn't have made a better choice. The Grand Bahia Principe resorts are fantastic and Riviera Maya is breathtakingly beautiful. For the price, this place is unreal.

I'll break it down by section:

Service
Service is incredible. I have never met so many friendly, polite, modest people in my life who are so willing to do anything to ensure you trip is top notch. We don't know more than a few words in Spanish so obviously there is a language barrier at times, but if you're patient and willing to slow down so the staff can understand you, you'll have no problems!

Value
If you can upgrade to Royal Club Golden for no charge or less than $50, do it. You get access to a private lounge where you can use the computers, use wifi and get drinks with no wait. For us it was great because we could use the interest beyond the hour of free wifi. Ultimately, this resort is a great value regardless of whether you upgrade or not because you get access to all 3 resorts - Coba, Akumal and Tulum. This means you can eat, drink, swim and hang out at all three. Check out Akumal for easy access to the beach and the best swim up bar/snack bar on the property!

Sleep Quality
One of the few complaints I have about this property is that if you want to sleep in at all this may not be the place for you! Maid service starts early (largely because lots of people get up early and want to come back to a clean room for a mid-day nap) so we would hear doors opening and closing and furniture being moved for cleaning starting at 8am. My suggestion, wear ear plugs and push for a room on the top floor. This should cut down on noise significantly. Also, we had a problem one night when the room next to us invited approx. 10 people into their room at 4am and were obscenely loud... Called the front desk and they put me through to the room to ask for quiet. All in all, the beds are comfy, the AC is cold and you can get the room nice and dark to sleep. Just bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.

Cleanliness
Spotless! There are constantly people out cleaning and taking care of the grounds. The property is absolutely beautiful. We had a cockroach on our balcony the second day but this in no way reflects the cleanliness of the property so please don't listen to people complaining about bugs! This property is situated amongst the beautiful Mexican jungle so some bugs are to be expected; however, they do a very good job of keeping them to a minimum. Absolutely no complaints about cleanliness.

Location
Awesome! It's on a beautiful beach and surrounded by nature. If you're looking to do excursions it's great (Akumal for turtle snorkelling is only 15 mins away, cenotes within 15 mins, Playa del Carmen 30 mins away). It's about an hour from Cancun so if you're looking to do anything in that area it's a bit of a trek but there's tons to do in a short distance.

Food/Beverage Selection
I'm an extremely picky eater and my boyfriend has a very sensitive stomach and we were fine! Always found an abundance of food to eat at the snack bars and buffets (awesome pizza and pasta selection) and the a la cartes were great! Definitely recommend Portofino at Coba and Tequila at Tulum. Every drink we asked for was made for us no problem, but we stuck largely with the classics and the selection offered. Don't be afraid to ask for mucho alcohol, they always oblige!

Other
The casino is awesome! It just opened 3 months ago but going to play Blackjack for a few hours was great. The stores in the lobby are wonderful - the ladies working there are so pleasant, the selection is great and the prices are way better than you'll find in Playa del Carmen. Also, check out La Hacienda if you don't want to go shopping in town! Head to Akumal for snorkelling (absolutely amazing experience, saw so many turtles). Transportation to and from the resort was effortless (don't buy drinks at the welcome bar at the airport because the sell Corona for $3 on the bus) and the keep your bags at the front while you get your room situated. On the last day if you have time after check-out before heading to the airport and want to go to the beach/on an excursion like we did, you can leave your luggage with the bell boy and there are free lockers downstairs in the clubhouse for your passports/wallets as well as showers to use before heading to the airport.

One thing, beware of sharp tile edges in the pool and on the stools at the swim up bar! Boyfriend took two big pieces out of two different toes and I cut my hand. Luckily we were all vaccinated. If you get any cuts/scrapes the front desk at all three hotels have bandaids, gauze and alcohol for you to clean yourself up.

Overall, I'm dying to go back. The property was beautiful, there is wildlife to observe everywhere. The beach is gorgeous, the pools are extremely well maintained, the people are lovely and the food/drinks are plentiful and delicious! Highly recommend if you want a week in sunny paradise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CourtneyWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Courtney,

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate that you had shared your comments about your first visit to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

It is great to read your comments and that you enjoyed the facilities we offer and the helpfulness of our staff. They will be happy to read your greeting. We are really pleased that we fulfilled your expectations.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in The Riviera Maya
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have stayed in many 4-5 star hotels in Mexico, Cuba, and Dominican, but we have not found anything that compares to the Mayan Riviera Bahia Principes. We have even stayed at some Bahia in other countries, but these are by far the best! The staff are excellent, Felix, the manager is a joy to deal with. The food, restaurants, beach, and accommodations are amazing. We are returning this month for 10 days because we love it there. Not sure if we will ever want to try anywhere else!

The Coba is a SOLID 4+ resort and I would highly recommend it, great value!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelFamilyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank you for expressing your valuable opinion. It is great that you had a wonderful stay at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

We are delighted that you were pleased with the facilities and that our job made your vacations a memorable experience. We are also proud of fulfilling your highest expectations. We will happy to send your comments to Felix.

We would be honored to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte-Julie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba for the 5th time from April 20 to May 04, this was another great experience, Food is excellent and various , rooms are clean, staff is customer service oriented.

We'll go back soon....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meggou02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

It is a pleasure to read your review regarding your stay at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We are thankful that you took the time to share them with us.

It is great that you enjoyed the variety of our facilities and had a good timem here.

It would be an honor to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Riviera Maya.
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

WE had a wonderful time. We did voice a few concerns while there. One being the Wi Fi only free 1 hr ea day.That was not mentioned in anything we read prior to going. also there was NO ice in the villas which stated in our villa.The most annoying was why would they put families with small children in villas with adults with no children???We were woken every night & early am with a crying baby.At least 1.5- 2 hrs at a time. We were never able to sleep in.We love kids & have them but why cant they put families with small children all in the same villas???They know who has them when you make your reservations.That way adults that choice not to travel with children could enjoy their vacation so much more. We did notice the musty smell everytime we came in but it didn't bother us while in our room.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with steps stay on lower level.No elevators so we had a lot of steps daily since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Terry,

We are very grateful for your opinion about your holidays at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. We are happy that you had a wonderful time with us.

All your suggestions are more than welcome. We will review them to take actions where is necessary.

We would like to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Iii stayed here with friends between 22nd and 29th April 2014. Travel company gave me correct documents for Coba but they had booked me into Tulum! Had to stay a night in GBP Tulum and then move to Coba the following day so lost a morning of my holiday... Moral is... Don't use Travel Republic!
The entire resort is fab...Tulum is just a little further to go if you are with a group staying at Akumal and Coba. The adult only hotel of Sian Ka'an also looks amazing. Food was brilliant, especially Tequila Mexican restaurant and the pools and beaches are superb.

Room Tip: If you want to be near beach choose Akumal or Coba
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smcStockport_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you very much for the review since words like yours makes our effort worth it. It is a pleasure to read that your holidays at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts were lovely and you enjoyed all the facilities.

Even though Travel Republic is an external enterprise, we will send them your comments so that they take corrective actions where is necessary.

We would like to welcome you back.

Kindest Regards,
Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed from April 12-19th -

Check-in - Pretty easy but they wanted to "upgrade us to the Si'an Kaan which was across the highway - they were overbooked - We said no thanks and that was that.

Rooms - 2nd floor Building #6 - They are all a good size, clean, cool - but we did get a musty smell to clothes etc.. needs to be addressed. - All in all rooms we quite nice

Getting around the resort - This was a bit of a turn off at first as the place is massive - but we knew that going into it. After a few days getting around the resort was a piece of cake.

Grounds - Extremely nice - well kept - they odd place ie walking to Coba beach - there is a spot where the pump station for sewage is and it does smell for 10 seconds or so.. Not sure what could be done about that...

Buffet - we liked it very much for breakfast and lunch - always found something good to eat - staff was nice and appreciated a little tip afterwards.

A La Carte Restaurants - Mikado Japanese restaurant - best one in our opinion - Ask for Carlos he was excellent ! Le Gourmet - Very excellent meal - could have turned on the AC :) but the décor in there just did not say "Gourmet" - the Italian restaurant - very nice décor - food was good but not great..

Pools - We went once for 15 minutes - There's lots of pools/ huge/small and water park for the little kids. We're not really pool people...

The Beach - We mainly stayed on Coba Beach - We got up at 6:30-7:00am to reserve a great location on the beach - 2 loungers and canopy - If you love the beach this is the one to go to. and get their early to get a good spot. - Very Clean, Jose at the bar will take good care of you.. A few types of fish around and great for novice snorkelers (sp). and safe for kids.. Don't go beyond the wave barriers. The waves can be pretty rough!! The other beaches were more rocky and not as much room to move.

Night life - We liked the hacienda and a few of the more quiet bars (more our speed) but a nice stroll after supper was good. See some Iguana's/Quati (monkey/raccoon things) and the oversize guinea pigs.. (not sure of there name)

Overall we had a good experience at Coba based on a friends recommendation and we'd do it again with our kids next time. There were lots of family with kids of all ages - very family friendly resort. and despite it really being 3 resorts in 1 with I'm guessing 6-7 thousand people - you really never felt like you were crowded.. Only a few times did we jockey for position to get on the golf carts, then we thought why are we rushing- we're on holiday ! In short we'd go back to Coba or Akumal in a snap - although the Tulum resort would leave you with a bit of a walk up the beach to get to the Coba Beach - which is the best beach there... Hope this helps! Enjoy !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElJeffe98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. It is a pleasure reading your review regarding your vacations at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

It is an honor that you trusted us your holidays. We are really grateful that enjoyed your time here.

We will be more than honored to welcome you back.

Cordially,
Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Nayma S. Amabiles
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
27.3 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#73 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing