We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14,262)
Filter reviews
14,262 results
Traveller rating
7,871
4,054
1,467
500
370
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,871
4,054
1,467
500
370
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier lobbycozumel buffetle gourmeta la cartesfishgolden lobbysnack barplaya del carmenquiet poolakumal beachshow tablemichael jackson showmain buffetother resortsgreat resortdon pabloactivity pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,763 - 4,768 of 14,262 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Loved the atmosphere and the staff are always around to help . One of the best places to stay in Mexico , we booked with west jet vacations where we had a rep on site in the hotel to help us book any excursions and answer any questions we had. The rooms were supper clean and air conditioned !
Food was amazing and it was great that we could choose between the 3 resorts where we wanted to eat !
Overall amazing trip I will definitely be returning to this hotel in the near future

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank newfiegirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your holidays with us, also the food, the room, the staff and the atmosphere in general.

We would be very glad to welcome you again at our hotel in the nearest future.

Best regards,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Visited the gran Bahia Príncipe coba recently in June and had the holiday of a lifetime! Staff were excellent as well as facilities, the hotel, value for money...
Hotel is big however you don't have to walk anywhere instead you get driven around the resort on golf Buggys!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hull8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for trusting Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback; it will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are really happy to know that you enjoyed the facilities of our hotel.

We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Riviera Maya!

Sending you my kindest regards,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Like all Grand Bahia Principe Resorts this is a reliable choice. They do everything well from food and beverage to ambiance to infrastructure. However the rooms at this GBP require some serious upgrades to remain competitive.

And if you like being on the beach forget about it, there is a 5 minute trolley or 10-15 minute walk depending on which building you are in. However it is the best beach in the area once you get there.

And what respectable hotel does not have safes with codes? This one doesn't, it's lock and key like in the 80's and 5$ a day at that. Unacceptable.

The Air Conditioning in the rooms is as old as the safes. You must keep them on max all day to be able to sleep at night and with nothing more than a sheet at that.

The third strike was that like all hotels in Mexico, the water is not drinkable, but when we checked in there was no bottled water in our non functioning mini bar. I called the front desk 3 times before finally getting our bottled water. Unacceptable and no apology.

Two days into our trip and after 3 calls, I'm still waiting for a working mini-bar and telephone which also doesn't work.

Now enough complaining. Despite all this, GBP's excellent worldwide experience still saved our vacation with their excellent food and drink served on clean yet dated premises.

We've been to the GBP Esmeralda and Cayo Levantado which are great but this one needs alot of work but it has potential and can be easily remedied.

The pools are great, the beach is the best in a coral filled region and the 1100 rooms spread into 30+ two floor villas is a great format which make it feel less crowded.

We will return after GBP injects some much needed cash and invests in some electric carts in keeping with their Eco-friendly marketing.

PS Omelette bar tip: have your guests select and serve their omelette ingredients and have the cook prepare them to save time.

PS2 have a separate line for beer and sodas (non-blended cocktails) at all bars also to save time.

PS3 consider implementing bracelets with built in RFID chip keys to the rooms so we have one less thing to carry in our bathing suits.





Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Paul-YUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2014

Dear Paul,

First of all I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel resort. It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We are delighted that you have spent your vacation with us.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the food and drinks of our hotel and that you are fascinated by the beach and the pools.

We are very concerned to learn about the inconveniences you have experienced. We have already taken actions of improvement. Furthermore I would like to express my appreciation for your concerns.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second opportunity in a near future.

Sending you my kindest regards,

Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Fantastic venue and hotel. I spent 2 weeks on holiday here with my daughter (17 years) May/June. Exceeded all our expectations, great pools, beach, food choice, staff so friendly and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend. Phil P Wiltshire England

Room Tip: Why not ask for an upgrade!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Phil,

Thank you for your recent visit to Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

We are very happy that your holydays at our hotel exceeded all your expectations and that you enjoyed our pools, beach, food choice, friendly and helpful staff.

We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Riviera Maya!

Sending you my kindest regards,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba for one week and we could have stayed there for another week. All the staff go out of their way to make your stay as carefree and comfortable as possible. Our check in was quick and easy and they even had fresh drinks for us. Our rooms were great and always kept clean by the maid service. They always made sure we had every thing we needed in our rooms. The different food areas were very nice and the food was very good with a good variety of items. We didn't have any kids with us but they even had an area in the buffet with all kinds of food for the kids. We had most of our noon meals at the snack shack which was by the swimming pool which was also very good. The swimming pools were nice and big and you didn't feel like you were crowded. They even had a swimming pool for the kids with all kinds of stuff for them to do. The beach was exquisite! We even tried the para-sailing, which was so much fun! We did the Tulum Jungle Maya excursion and had a wonderful time. We did zip-lines, cenotes and of course the Tulum ruin. Thank you Fabricio with Alltournative Adventures. The resort is close to so many excursion areas that you could be busy every day all day long. We had a special dinner at the Alux which was fantastic and at La Gran Tortuga which was also very nice! The whole resort was clean and the grounds/garden areas were so beautiful. I truly want to thank Alejandra Reynoso, Director Ana Lopez, Jasmin R., Ricardo, Fabiola, Antonio at the Beach Bar, Paulino at the pool bar, Eli at the Bahia Spa, and Julio who helped us set up our Tulum Jungle Maya excursion. All of you helped make this the best vacation ever especially since there were 7 adults in our group whom I know will never forget this vacation! Thank You and we will come back!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor of our unit and we could not hear the people under us or next to us. It was nice and quite. It doesn't matter what room you get because they always have little bus carts that will pick you up and drop you off close to your room, restaurants, pools, everywhere you would like to go.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jade370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts as your holiday destination.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments; it will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are happy that you enjoyed the variety of food, cleanliness of the rooms, big pools, the beach and that you had a lot of fun trying para-sailing and a good time during your excursions.

We would be very glad to welcome you again at our hotel in the nearest future.

Best regards,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews