We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort - Fantastic Entertainment Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Resort - Fantastic Entertainment Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family of 6 (kids ages 7-18) stayed at the the Gran Bahia Principe Coba in June. The resort was BEAUTIFUL. Very clean and well kept. The buffets had a nice selection and the a la carte dinners were a nice treat - we especially liked Oasis.

The Entertainment Staff made our trip that much better. They were energetic and very people oriented EVERYDAY at the main pool and at the nighttime productions. By the end of the week, they knew our names and all of our kids were very sad to say goodbye. They truly were a treat to get to know especially Victor and Jesus, and they would be one of the major reasons to go back to this resort.

The only negative to the trip was the lack of air conditioner EVERYWHERE in the resort. Our room never got cold and there was no place to cool off in the lobby, as they were open to the outdoors. While this adds to the ambiance, it would have been really nice to get cold at some point. Also - the maid staff often did not show up when we called for towels or other essentials that were not left in the room when it was cleaned.

All and all it was a great trip. Our kids had a nice time and we met some really great people. If the air conditioning in the rooms gets fixed, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms by the lobby are the best for getting around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jroberts763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionhotelComp, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your fantastic experience during your recent family vacation at our resort.

We truly appreciate your feedback in order to continuously improve our service and standards. It is a pleasure to read that you had enjoyed the a la carte restaurants, the well kept facilities and the fantastic entertainment.

The inconveniences you have suffered with the housekeeping are already sent to the concerns to make sure they do not happened again in the future, thank you for your observations.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Riviera Maya,

Kind Regards,

Brisa Islas
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,295
    3,631
    1,287
    422
    300
See reviews for
4,583
5,393
101
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,578)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Short and sweet: This was our 9th time at the Bahia Principe Complex, we have stayed at the Tulum, Akumal, Sian Kaan, and the Coba. This past trip of 10 days was at the Coba which is our favourite as well as Sian Kaan but can't go wrong with any of them, it's just a personal choice. The food, staff, pools, beach, rooms, and landscape are excellent for the dollar value as mentioned in all the great reviews posted here. We have stayed at many resorts along the Mayan Riviera as well as other countries and we keep coming back to this complex.

I would like to give a shout out to Jose Ermilo Vazques and of course his helper Carlos at the Coba Beach Bar los cocos, they were amazing. Jose was very personable, always had a smile and greeted you by name and was lively in conversation. Most of our time was spent here at the beach and Jose made our day every day!

We have already booked to go back in December for our 10th time...that to me says it all!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seeks2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionhotelComp, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Appreciated repetitive guest,

To hear from you after your recent stay with us s very rewarding, even more, to read such a nice review about your 9th time in Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort

Your comments had been sent to our staff, especially to Jose and Carlos, we are sure the will feel flattered to have been at your service; thank you very much for mentioning their personal service.

Looking forward to host you back on December,

Brisa Islas
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Analyzed various reviews before booking this one week all inclusive for my family. Stayed June 29 - July 6th. Weather was GREAT - extremely hot, but bearable! Hotel on the other hand was not a 5 Star. Extremely difficult to get reservations to the a la carte restaurants unless you wanted to eat at 10pm. We couldn't with two young kids.... The buffets were average, nothing stood out as exceptional - dishes were usually overcooked & bland. Found few staff members to be friendly and helpful, but there were definitely some who were very rude with BIG attitudes. Some just ignored you and pretended not to speak English.
The hotel's profile shows all restaurants to have air conditioning, but this incorrect. I was told only two of them do (the Oasis & the Mikado - and both are the a la cartes). Very difficult to have an appetite and to enjoy your meal when you're dripping sweat. That was the biggest turn off as I looked specifcially for air conditioned restaurants within the resort and chose the Bahia Principe Coba mainly due to this feature.
Hair dryer was broken upon arrival to our room and it took 3 days and maybe 10 phone calls before Carlos (Royal Golden Front Desk Manager) arranged to have it replaced. I was given the run around from the Front Desk & HouseKeeping.....they even stopped answering my calls on the second day. Thank God for Carlos!!......couldn't put my kids in bed with wet hair.....
The resort should be rated as a 3 to 3.5 star, but definitely not a 5 Star!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Pandora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Pandora,

Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay at our hotel.

Your comments are very important for us. We are very concerned to read about your disappointment with food quality, the staff friendliness, difficulty with booking the restaurants a la carte and the problems with your room.

Please be sure that we have addressed your comments to every manager in order to take measures as we always strive for excellence in service.

We would like to ask you give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

As a traveller i don't normally do resorts, but coming with the family we decided to stay for a week at Coba. This resort is extremely well rounded with something for everyone! I was very surprised at how well things were organised and set up for our total comfort, entertainment and satisfaction. The shows at night are great and the entertainment team during the day is excellent, always getting people involved in daily activities by the pool and within the resort. A special thanks to Jesús for patiently teaching me basic salsa dancing on more than one occasion! Everyone is very friendly and approachable and try to help the best they can. Additionally, I would highly suggest trying Le Gourmet restaurant, which has absolutely spectacular cuisine and services, but it might be necessary to reserve ahead of time. Thank you to all the staff at Coba for helping to make my week an unforgettable one :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionhotelComp, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Respected Krystal,

Thank you so mucho for writing about your recent experience, it is great to hear from our past guests.

We are happy to read that you had an unforgettable week in which you enjoyed the facilities, shows, pools, Le Gourmet restaurant and the service provided by our entertainment staff; we will forward your comments to the staff, especially to Jesus.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future,

Brisa Islas
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great hotel, very clean and friendly staff. The entertainment team was EXCELLENT. I would like to say Jesus from Bahia Principe Coba is the best, he was very friendly and energetic and always encouraged us to join in the activities which was so much fun. I highly recommend this resort and hotel because we had so much fun and the people and staff were all great. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionhotelComp, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Heather,

On behalf of our team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review regarding your excellent trip at our hotel.

We really appreciate you mentioning our excellent entertainment team, especially Jesus, they are great ambassadors of our hotel service, we will immediately forward your post to their manager for their well-deserved recognition.

We thank you also for recommending our hotel and for advice to all of our future guests. It will be wonderful to welcome you again and give you the good service you already know.

Best regards from sunny Mexico,

Brisa Islas
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at Coba for a week and the resort was excellent. The people were amazing as was the food (The buffet was AMAZING). The entertainment team was great and inviting, especially Jesus and company from the Coba lobby. The beach was great for everyone. There were quiet spots for those who wish to relax a bit more and there were party areas with great entertainment. The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff was great. Only down side to the hotel is that they make you pay a daily fee of 5$ to use the safe. Overall amazing resort!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionhotelComp, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Appreciated Kaly,

That you have spent your holidays with us it is very rewarding, especially when you have mentioned that your stay was excellent and great vacation.

We will forward your comments to our staff, especially to Jesus and lobby staff. Our staff is one of our main strength and I am very grateful that you value it so highly.

Kindly regards,

Brisa Islas
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Trip of a lifetime! Great staff, amazing resort! Everyone that works here goes above and beyond! Wish that there were more of a water area on the beach to play in as we do like playing in waves, but the fish were great in the water!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank imashutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionhotelComp, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thank you for your comments about your stay in October 2013, we wish that it was not the last one and you visit us again soon.

Your comments will be shared with our staff that will be happy to read such a nice ones.

Kind Regards,

Brisa Islas
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
27.3 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#73 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing