We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First time”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This place is heaven,we went with 10 family members,we had a blast, the staff is wonderful,the grounds is so clean the restaurants is amazing even the buffets the bars has a large selections also the beach is a clean, Bahia Principe is the best

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bibimohammad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.

We are very happy you and your family members enjoyed your first visit to the resort. It is a pleasure to read that all your expectations have been exceeded. We appreciate your positive comments about the staff, the grounds, selections at the bars and the buffets and the cleanliness of the beach.

It would be honor to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Sincerely,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,398
    3,707
    1,329
    438
    307
See reviews for
4,685
5,491
102
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,623)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed at Coba resort 14th-28th August 2014, cannot make any negative comments about the resort, everything from check in to check out was outstanding, resort is beautiful, everything very well maintained, choice of bars and restaurants was huge. Rooms great, air conditioning could have been cooler but was fine. Staff were amazing - obvious these guys do not earn great money but never come across any member of staff that did not have a smile and very polite at all times, tram drivers late at night are a scream ! big thank you to Jose Puc Chi our bell boy who just kept popping up everywhere and would go out of his way to do anything he could for us, animation team are fantastic hard working guys, big thanks to Jonathan, David, Rodriguz, Jesus, Manuelle. Resort is huge - can use all facilities in all resorts, beach beautiful, entertainment good, variety of stuff going on all day and up to 11pm, only niggle is terrace entertainment at night could either last longer or start earlier and continue till 11pm. Already booked to go back next year and cannot wait

Room Tip: by the pool or lobby are convenient rooms - resort huge so might mean bus ride
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank londonlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and sharing your experience.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you for appreciating the beauty and the maintenance of the resort, variety of the bars and the restaurants, politeness of the staff, the beach and the entertainment.

We will definitely forward your nice words to Jose and the animation staff mentioned.

It would be honor to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatzacoalcos, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

It has AMAZING corals near the beach. Great to do snokerling without paying anything.
The food is good, doesnt have a lot of pools. It's HUGE! You don't get bored with all the activities that you can do there. Is just the best beach EVER!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesliearaiross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Leslie,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your vacations and for your positive comments.

We are really happy you have spent excellent time at our hotel and enjoyed the food, the beach and the activities.

It would be pleasure to welcome you again at our resort in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

This resort is huge! Very spacious, it's actually 3 resorts, each having access to all 3. There are pools and bars everywhere on the resort. There were ample bartenders for the amount of guests so I was never waiting more than a minute or two for drinks, not that I would have minded if I did.
There are trolleys that are always driving around to different places around the resort to hop on and take you if you don't like walking.
They say golfing is complementary, but they downplay the fact that it costs $65/pp to rent a mandatory golf cart. That being said, the golf course is Gorgeous!!
The activities on site are really fun! Beach volleyball being my favorite.
Evening shows were a lot of fun, the buffets and restaurants were excellent, but hard to get reservations for, and the room we were in was clean, spacious, and fully stocked with drinks every day.
The hacienda (the discotheque) played club music, and nothing else, which isn't my favorite type of music, but if you like that kind of thing you'd like the hacienda.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Andrew,

First of all thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays.

We are very happy that your stay was good and that we met your expectations. Positive comments always motivate the staff to provide excellent service. Thank you for enjoying the golf course, the activities at the beach, the evening shows, the buffets and the restaurants, the room neatness and amenities.

It would be honour for us to welcome you again at our resort.

Sending you our kindest regards,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford Essex UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We are a hard working family..who save up all year to go on holiday..we dont eat at fancy restaurants or stay in 5* British hotels.. So here is an honest review of Coba hotel..
Firstly..this Hotel is Mexican 4/5*.. Not UK 5*
We have been to Mexico 3 times and this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in.
We stayed for 2 weeks August'14 ...4adults 1 child..12yrs old.Traveling with Virgin Holiday..
Check in..
Smooth and easy
Rooms..
Very spacious, huge comfortable beds, fridge and air-con worked fine..
Left a note and few dollars for drinks guy and always had a filled fridge.
Cleaned at times everyday but didnt bother us.. Lovely towel art, Thanks Ruben!!
Loads of English movie channels on tv, if you need them?
Bathroom huge.. Hot shower, lovely toiletries.

Food..
We tried the Buffet in ll 3 hotels...

Great food..always fresh and hot.. Lots of choice,even after 2 weeks.
Yes it was warm in restaurants but your in Mexico, it didnt stop us enjoying our meals!
Staff always friendly and helpful, we tipped for dinners.
If you cant find something you like at the Buffets then you must be really fussy...

Al a Carte Restaurants
We tried to book by email before the holiday, but they have stopped this, so the day after we arrived we went to the Premiere lobby and book them, No problem at all.. We got the 7pm times we wanted and the show table at Japanese...
Our fav was Mikado, Japanese at Coba...ask for show table, it was amazing..foor great too!
Brazilian..at Tulum, amazing meats..they keep bringing it until you tell them to stop!!!
Mexican at Tulum.. Delicious food,great atmosphere had a lovely evening there.
We also tried Don Pablo..Gourmet at Tulum.. Mostly fish/seafood and duck dishes..hubby loved it but i dont eat either so had 'surf and turf'..without surf, steak was lovely.. But myself and niece struggled a bit. The rest of our group loved it.
Oasis at Coba was nice and also the Mediterranean at Coba..
Only Don Pablo Gourmet required Trousers, the others just smart shorts and polo/shirts for men..
24 hr snack bar.. I loved the burgers and food here, its only a snack bar but the luch choice was great, self serve...drinks food and ice cream, great for kids!

Pools..
We are early risers, and so getting a sunbed was never a problem..we were down by 6am and stayed there drinking coffee as the sun came up..but we watched all nationallities put towels down to reserve beds by 6am, and they wouldnt return until 10/11am..not good! There are signs, but no one enforces them, and so nobodys takes any notice of them.. If you want shade..get your towels down early!!
We used 'quiet pool', the other was a bit noisy for us.

Beach..we are pool people, but went to Tulum hotel beach twice, lovely, amazing fish..fed them with bread, some were huge..great for all ages!! Next to Tulum 24hr snack bar and pool..with a bar, toilets etc.

Trolley buses..easy and great to use to get around the 3 hotels, just ask where you want to go before boarding..no where was more then 4 mins away..

Entertainment..
We went to activity pool once..bit noisy for us, but had a lovely kids water park..for under 8's i think, my niece is 12 and was way too big!
Always activites going on around both pools,but you never feel pressured into doing anything.
Evening entertainment was good, we got the trolley to Tulum to watch the shows...we found their theatre cooler as its by sea. We didnt have an issue with bars closing by 11pm as we get up eary, but if you wanted a later night,there is a disco thst stays open until 2am..
We liked the Daquari bar by at Coba premier lobby..slow service..but good cocktails and wifi too.

Wifi..you get an hour each day at hotel lobbys..so you could go round to each hotel and get 3 hrs..we didnt bother.. Just used our free hour at Daquari bar where if we sat near the building we could pick up wifi, and it was cooler than sitting inside the other lobby bars.
Everyone from other hotels seemed to visit Coba at night as there was more going on.
We went to the Casino at Coba..i won $40 my sister didn't lol!
Karaoke..bucking bronko bull.. Live music.. Face painting, kids stuff ..always something going on in the lobby...just really warm inside.

Grounds..immaculate...animals and wildlife amazing...

We had an amazing holiday... We did a few trips..my niece swam with dolphins at Tulum, and they looked really well cared for..
We always do Captain Hook cruise from Cancun..fantastic night..all inclusive..surf n turf..drinks..cocktails etc..$102 but well worth it..booked thru tompson
Buggies thru jungle and cenotes..booked by Tulum beach..a great fun day out..
Xe-hal.. Been 2 times but love this park..snorkelling..dolphins..all inclusive all day... Bikes..zip wires etc..
We took the local bus..'collectivo' to a few places..$3 each way and payed on the door..saved money.

We would recommend this lovely complex to all families..coupmes and anyone who wants a lovley holiday...
We could not fault this place and do not understand where negative comments come from..maybe these people expect UK 5* hotels for Travel Lodge prices...
Thanks to all the staff for helping to make this another great Mexican holiday!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor..less mossies..bit cooler in block 24..right next to everything..great locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank paularorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Paul,

We highly appreciate your comments.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a lovely holiday and were content with the check in, the service in the room, the variety of food at the buffets, snack bars and the restaurants, staff helpfulness, the beach and the pools, the shuttle system, the entertainment, the wildlife, the grounds and the activities.

Thank you for mentioning our staff. We will send your gratitude to Ruben.

It would be honor to welcome you again at the resort

Sending you our kindest regards,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This place is heaven!! we were there last summer and just couldn't find a better place to spend our holiday this year. we arrived august 15th for 2 weeks, and after a long flight from Belgium we were so happy to come home again, because that's how we feel about the Bahia Principe! Check in went fast, and when we arrived in our room, there were some presents, like free tshirts, slippers, bottle of tequila, fruit basket and we had bathrobes :D. so a fantastic start of the Holiday. we stayed at Villa 28, very quit but very close to everything. On a monday night we had a Meet and Greet with some other Bahia lovers at the Daquiri bar, and we had a fab time!! when we got back to our room, after some drinks and a Mexican Flag(everyone should try it ) we got an invite to have dinner for repeating guests at the Mexican Restaurant.. it was brilliant!! we loved it and once again, we felt so wellcome and got a bottle of tequila :D
We had dinner reservations, one for Le Gourmet, fantastic service and the food is so delicious! we also went 2 times to Gran Tartugo, The Brazilian restaurant, again, very tasty! And we went 2 times to Mikado, The Japanese, both showtable and both times we had lots of fun, and OMG i love the rice and the Desert, Pisang goreng, jummy!
We did some Excurions, Xel ha, Xcaret, Isla Contoy and went with some other Bahia lovers over to Tulum. The rest of the days we spent our time over the whole complex, it's so huge, and we love it! We were Happy to see back Jorge, member of the animation team of Akumal, he is a friend for life! always kind, always happy! spent some nights at the Hacienda where there was a band and dancing, Loved it! The Coba buffet, The kukulcan is still our favorite! The staff is brilliant!! The food is great! lots of choice. some days the girls were making flowers for us, my daughter loved it! we don't have a single thing to complain, rooms were very clean, airco was working very good, the grounds are impacable, and everyone who works there gives you a smile and do all they can to make your holiday unforgetable!! We got home yesterday, and we miss the place so much. there were some tears on the way home! But it's not a goodbye, it's a see you next year! Thank you Bahia principe, for once again giving us the time of our life! 50 more weeks and we'll back again ;)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Taschatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your loyalty in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us once again to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality at the hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities in the room, the service and the food choice at the restaurants and the buffet, the neatness of the rooms and grounds and the staff friendliness.

We are looking forward to your next visit in order to repeat this unforgettable experience.

Kind Regards
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my family arrived at the resort and our first impressions was that we had found paradise . The hotel is set in wonderful grounds with plenty for the kids and a large selection of bars and restaurants so your never far away from anything.

Check in
Arriving at the hotel after a 10 hour flight , 3 hours getting through Cancun airport and a 2 hour coach transfer we we're greeted by our rep who informed us that as we had upgraded to golden guests we has to wait for a little train to take us to our golden reception not good when you just want to get to your room

The swimming pools and beach areas are fantastic the kids loved the slides and I myself found the beach perfect with its fine sand and clear waters . The snorkelling is pretty good and there is an area at the far end of akemel that is quiet and the fish are plentiful

The main buffet is HOT it has no air conditioning and at a few times at breakfast there was hardly any food and a lack of cutlery . It got so bad that on one occasion we had bread and butter for breakfast as we couldn't get anything else and they had no spoons for us to eat our cereal with and this was at 8:30 so there is no excuse.The service in the main restaurant started off well but as the days passed it fell away and was virtually non existent at some points . The a la carte restaurants are hit and miss the Brazilian was the highlight whilst the Mediterranean wasn't good.

Evening entertainment was good although again the main theatre was very hot but some of the shows were brilliant the best being the lion king . After the show they would have dj and some entertainment on the patio area outside the buffet restaurant the only problem being that this started at 10 and the bar in that area shuts at 10 ! You can go up to the lobby bar for drinks but surely someone would have the brains to leave the bar open

The rooms are comfy and ours was well cleaned during our stay . The air conditioning unit began leaking at one point and it took several calls to reception to get someone to repair but this seemed to be a common problem .

Overall this hotel was great but some little things let it down and stop it becoming even better . Some of the staff were rude if you complained and some seemed more interested in simply having a chat with other staff members rather than doing there jobs . We was unfortunate to have a weekend there when the hotel was full up and didn't cope well with lack of basic items and staff members meaning standards dropped. I have read that soon you will no longer have access to the beach if that is the case then the hotel has lost a huge selling point , me and my family will return to Mexico in the future as the country is fantastic and has plenty to offer after our first week I would defiantly returned to the same hotel but after our second week I'm not so sure my review is 4 stars with week one being 5 stars and week 2 getting 3 stars

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank Calverfamily69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRPPCOBA, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Coba, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review about your stay at our hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that you liked the grounds, the selection of bars and restaurants, the pools and the beach, the room cleanliness and the night entertainment.

We are sorry for the inconveniences you have experienced. Your comments have been sent to the Maintenance and the Food and Beverages departments in order to take necessary measures to improve the areas mentioned and the service.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you at the resort.

Cordially,
Iryna Shapoval
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
23.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#50 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing