We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rico in Gran Bahia Principe Coba,Premier, Riviera Maya.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Rico in Gran Bahia Principe Coba,Premier, Riviera Maya.”
Reviewed 4 April 2010

The Gran Bahia Principe Coba is very good hotel by most standards.
You will find everywhere Beautiful, manicured grounds.
If you do not want to walk there are shuttles going around
the resort every few minutes.

The rooms were spacious and kept exeptionally clean.

Food: There are so many different places to eat that you never
get bored and all the food that we had was excellent. We enjoyed
the breakfast and lunch the buffet Cozumel located in the Premier
section.

The beach had something for everyone, waves, calm waters,
sand, shells, fish. Beach chairs and shaded areas
were available at any time.

The main Coba pool was great and had very confortable cushioned
chairs for relaxing.

All together I would say that the resort is fantastic.
Everyone that works at Coba were so friendly and
accomodating and made our trip a pleasure. Felix the
F&B mgr is a big asset for the hotel as he is a great
communicater and always helpful and caring with the clients.
Also, in the a la carte restaurants, we had the pleasure
of meeting Victor, Louis, and the very pleasant and loveable
Guadeloupe. With her smile she greeted and seated us at our
favorite table.
We will surely return as we had a very enjoyable vacation at
GBP Coba and Cheers to all the great staff whom we met.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonardito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,361
    3,670
    1,308
    426
    302
See reviews for
4,635
5,447
102
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,601)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

My husband and I along with two friends stayed at the Coba for one week in March. The resort is fabulous. I'll just repeat what everyone else writes. Very clean, great staff, great food, good entertainment, we enjoyed the premier bar in the evenings. We asked to be placed in one of villa 22 to 27 and we got 26. It was a perfect spot by the quiet pool and also near the snack bar, premier bar and shopping area. In saying that, it was also only a short walk to the main lobby and buffett, perfectly located. The landscaping was some of the best I have ever seen. The gardeners were always hard at work as were everyone who worked on the resort. The pools were beautiful and clean and the beach was amazing although we did not get to spend much time there.

We spent time shopping in Playa Del Carmen and visited Senior Frogs, don't miss it.!! We also visited the Tulum Ruins, very interesting but the beach there was so gorgeous we spent most of the time down there.

We did the Italian, Japanese and Brazilian a la cartes. Can't remember the name of the restaurants. The Italian was excellent as was the Japanese. We were disappointed in the Brazilian because we are all meat lovers but we like our meat well done and most of theirs was really rare. Couldn't possibly eat it. I guess many people like their meat rare but they should cater to all. One other complaint, which you hear on most reviews, is not enough loungers. I know people go down early in the morning and save their chair and this is not allowed but they still do it. However, if there were more loungers it may not be as big a problem. Around the big quiet pool there could be another 25 to 30 loungers easily placed. Our last complaint was the weather which I know has nothing to do with the resort. We had two rainy, cold days and most evenings were cold enough for a jacket. We always travel this time of year and this was a first. Normally we have hot hot weather in mid March and if it rains it is a warm humid feeling. It seems the weather is gone for a "you know what" all over the world.

For me personally it was not a good trip. On the second morning there I awoke very sick, the usual diarrhea and vomiting which lasted 20 plus hours and I really didn't get over it till I got home. I do not think it had anything to do with the resort because everything I had eaten to this point my husband had as well. I really think I had a virus that I may of caught at home or something I picked up on the plane. There was this little guy sitting across from us who was throwing up on a regular basis on the trip to Mexico. Who knows???

If you are considering the Coba for a holiday, go for it. You will indeed enjoy it. If I had been feeling better I know it would of been a great holiday for me.

Will I return there again, I do not know. We like to try different places and resorts but maybe some year down the road we will.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We stayed at the Coba from 25th to 1st April (during spring break). We were a party of 6 and travelled with Thomas Cook. I have made a list of our experience at this resort:
The downright excellent:
The staff - can not fault them at Coba - always willing to please, extremely friendly. Never had chance to have an empty glass, they were super efficient and always had a smile on their face. The staff even helped out with our Spanish - which they are very grateful if you use. Note: Please remember to tip good service 20 pesos or $2 a time is sufficient
Resort - immaculate grounds, hotel, restaurant, rooms, beach (you get the idea). The gardens, tropical areas were beautiful and home to an abundance of creatures! We saw racoons, squirrels, quiotes (a rat like creature but the size of a small dog, deer and of course the abundant lizards and iguanas which are everywhere.
The 3 hotels are within walking distance of each other but it is easy to get lost. We took the buses which run between each of the hotels, beach etc on a daily basis. Tip: If you have a restaurant reservation you can pay one of the porters to take you there on your own private golf buggie, all you need to do is ask.
The rooms – we had the junior suites at Coba and found the rooms very spacious and clean. There is a free mini bar which is restocked daily with – Beer, Coca Cola, Sprite, orange juice, Mars bars, tortilla chips. We left $1 a day in the fridge and got so much more from the guy. The maid also made some amazing towel animals and always kept the room immaculate. We tipped him $2 a day. I had read that the beds were hard but we found them to be very comfortable. I overheard other passengers from our flight who were allocated to Akumal complaining about their room, so we were glad to be placed in Coba.
The beach – very clean and beautiful. The sea is lovely and shallow for about 100 yards until you come to the coral. You can snorkel in this area and I was told that there were lots of tropical fish.
The pools – The main one is very lively and good entertainment to join in if you like.
The quiet pool is lovely, with a swim up bar, hammocks and cushioned sun beds.
There are plenty of sun beds and umbrellas for everyone at the pools and the beach.
The restaurants – Mikado (Japanese) Mexican and Brazilian are the ones that we visited. The Japanese was the best by far, the Others were also very good. At Mikado we were sat at the Tepinyaki table with our own Tepinyaki chef! Amazing!! Tip: You will need to book ASAP for each of the restaurants, as they fill quickly. We went for a week and only managed to get in the Japanese on the last night; we booked on our first day!
You are able to move around the hotels freely and drink / eat in any of the other buffet/ pool side restaurants as you like.
The weather – hot hot hot! Not one cloudy day and it only rained once (over night).
Explor – the trip which is a must do for the very adventurous. It’s like Alton Towers meets Jurassic Park. There is zip lining, buggy cars through caves and jungle, swim and rafts through the underground caves and waterways. This was a full day adventure and the transportation was excellent. All in it is $129 per person, but well worth it.
Deportivos – the local buses which go up and down the main road. You jump on with the locals and other tourists to go where ever you please. Tip: Always agree a price with the driver before you set off. We used them to get to the Akumal Beach and also the Akumal ruins, very cheap and quick! Better than a taxi.
What could be better:
The buffet – was very good choice on day one, however became repetitive (especially for lunch and dinner). The best parts of the buffet for me were: The homemade yoghurts, freshly cooked pasta, great choice of cereals (boxed Kellogg’s), freshly cooked eggs and omelettes, home made milkshakes with fresh fruit, freshly cooked pancakes with caramel and chocolate sauce, the soups – lima soup is Mexican and a must try!
I found that the Mexican food was great – chilli, tacos, fried tortilla wraps with cheese (a favourite of mine). However as in other reviews it was limited. We did eat at the Akumal buffet restaurant one night and found the choice there to be better but the service no where near as good as Coba.
Unfortunately three of our party got food poisoning within 24hours of being at the resort which did spoil the holiday for them. They are still not 100%even when we came home. I put this down to the beef burgers, hot dogs and some other buffet food being left out for a long time. Tip: Watch what you eat, if it looks like it’s been there a while, then it probably has. Overall I found the food to be very good but I was cautious of the seafood.
The flight – Thomas Cook in flight entertainment was disappointing, especially for a 10 hour flight! The screen did not work correctly on the outbound flight and you only got to watch the best films in Premium class. Speaking of which was exactly like cattle class, only with extra padding on the headrest.
Holiday rep – he was that good I didn’t even catch his name! Terrible!!! With a capital T. He was never available. The Explor trip we wanted to book Thomas Cook did not support and he did not get any commission for and he basically told us if we wanted to book it then we could bog off! Safe to say we never saw him again. The hotel recommend it and we booked through Canada Air. Same price and easy to do!
We got more information from the nice lady who runs the Fat Cat boat trips – she has lived there for 6 years and gave us so much information about the best trips and the local transportation.
Overall the trip was brilliant with a few hiccups. The biggest tip of all: Take American dollars – they do not want pesos. Even the cash machine in the hotel dispenses dollars! EVERYTHING INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE RESORT IS IN DOLLARS.

We would definately return to Mexico and even this resort - we had such an amazing time!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alicia1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

March 6 – 13, 2010

History:

My husband and I are 38 & 35 and have travelled to the following: 2002 – Tryp Cayo Coco, Cuba 4*, 2003 – Brisas Guardalavaca, Cuba 4*, 2004 – Hotetur Palma Real, Cuba 3*, 2005 – Club Amigo Guardalavaca, Cuba 3*, 2006 – Breezes Puerto Plata, DR 4*, 2007 – Occidental Caribbean Village, DR 3*, 2008 – Carnival Liberty Cruise 4.5* and 2008 Paris Hilton Eiffel Tower 4*.

We had been booked to go to Blue Bay Villas Dorada, Puerto Plata, DR on March 5, 2010 with Go Travel South, when they shut down we were left scrambling to find another trip.

Flight:
We travelled from Moncton to Cancun on West Jet, and booked our holiday with Selloffvacations.com eight days before departure. Total cost of the trip was $1995cnd including tax for 2 people. Free pop/juice/water and cookies on the flight but everything else you had to pay for earphones, blankets, pillows, sandwiches, etc.

Cancun Airport:
Cancun airport is very large and busy. The airport does have boarding passenger bridges, but our plane arrived about an hour ahead of schedule and no bridges were available so we exited the plane onto the tarmac and were transported to the terminal by bus. The lines for immigration were very long (hint: there are about 4 entrances to a zig zag line, go to the last one...but any line is fine). We were in line for about 40 minutes, but by this time our luggage was waiting on the luggage carousel. After collecting your luggage you have to put it on an X-ray machine (weird). Next is the person you give your customs declaration to, if everything is fine they ask you to push as button and you are free to go. Now you are ready to leave the terminal (use the washroom now!!!) There are porters waiting to help with your luggage, but they weren't aggressive. When exiting the terminal there are many buses, tour operator signs, taxi transport signs, etc. We were with west jet so just looked for the west jet sign. He asked for our names and hotel than directed us to which bus was ours. Tell the bus baggage person which hotel you're going to because they sort the luggage accordingly.

Bus Transfer:
Bus was large and air-conditioned, but NO washroom. We had stops at the Grand Sirenis, GBP Tulum and GBP Coba. Total transfer time was 1hr and 45mins to the Coba. The drive along the way is mostly highway; you do not go through the Cancun strip. We were given a welcome package on the bus and told when the information session at the hotel will be. They had ice cold Corona beer on the bus for $3us per bottle. When you arrive at your resort they request you stay on the bus while the appropriate luggage is unloaded. I would make sure your luggage has been unloaded before heading to the front desk, we told the resort porters which bags were ours and they put stickers on them and gave us a slip. Then off to the front desk.

Check-In:
We checked in at the Coba Premier Lobby. Have ready your hotel voucher and your PASSPORTS. Fill in your names, passport #'s and sign the bottom of the form given to you by the front desk clerk. They will give you an envelope containing useful information, map, 2 towel cards, and 2 room keys (NOT swipe cards, actual keys on strings to put around your neck, one will only have a room key and the other will have a room key and a mini bar key). Some tourists are rude and butt in line, which the front desk shouldn't let happen but it's hard with so many people checking-in at once. After check-in go back to the luggage and tell the porters your room #, they will mark the room # on your bags and than transport you and your luggage to your villa by a golf cart, if a cart is available. We were only 3 villas away from the Premier lobby so the porter showed us which way to go and we walked, the luggage arrived within 10 minutes, tipped $2.

Villa 3 B Room 30324:
Large Junior Suite (adjoining room) with 2 double beds (2 pillows per bed and 1 extra in the closet) with an table between, telephone, desk (with 3 drawers) & chair, table & 2 chairs, bench style couch, large closet with shelves and hangers, iron & ironing board, old style key lock safe (cost $5us per day), and a balcony with a white plastic table & 2 chairs (No view, just trees). Also included was an alarm clock (that wasn't set) and coffee maker, coffee & large bottle of water.

Power voltage is the same as Canada / US, only 1 plug in the room was a 3 prong that looks like our outlets the other outlets in the room looked different and were 2 pronged but would fit our 2 prong plugs.

Mini Bar – (small key attached to one of the room keys) no charge for mini bar and if anything had been used it was replaced everyday for no charge with 1 mini snickers bar, 1 small bag of plain chips, 2 sprite, 2 light coke, 3 coke, 2 cristal mineral water, 2 orange juice packs, 3 Dos Equis XX Beer, 1 large bottle of water.

Bathroom – Large whirlpool tub with shower. If the towels were left on the floor they would be changed everyday, if hanging up they weren't changed. Included in the bathroom was bath mat, 2 bath towels, 2 face clothes, 2 hand towels, shower gel, conditioning shampoo, 3 soap, comb, shower cap, sewing kit, magnifying mirror, hair dryer, kleenex and 2 rolls of toilet paper.

-Room was cleaned and sheets changed everyday.

-Mini bar attendant gave us extra chocolate bars when we asked.

-Slept in one day and missed maid service, called front desk at 2pm and request the room be made up and it was done, no problem.

- The air condition will NOT work if the terrace door is not properly shut

- The terrace light will only turn on after 7pm, our terrace light never worked.

HINT: Request Villa 1 or 2 for the best location close to the beach (only a 5 minute walk from the room to Akumal lobby and beach), premier lobby, Cozumel buffet, 24hr snack bar, large pool and Jacuzzi pool. You will be farther from the main Coba lobby, larger buffet, theater, and kids club.

Buffet Food:
Excellent food, chefs were continually replacing buffet trays, not only when empty, even desserts were removed after a certain time and replaced with fresh ones. No swim suits in the buffets, tankini tops with shorts are OK.

Buffet Times: Breakfast 7am – 10:30am Lunch 12:30pm – 3:30pm Diner 6:30pm – 10:30pm

We ate at the following buffets:

Kukulcan Buffet – Main Coba Lobby – Larger Buffet. Lots of variety and good food. Very busy, and the service wasn't as quick as Cozumel Buffet but nothing to complain about.

Cozumel Restaurant Buffet – Coba Premier Lobby – Smaller Buffet. Service was amazing, when you walked in you were asked which seat you would like and if you would like anything to drink, then drinks would be at your table before you got back from getting your food. I'm not sure if people realized that everyone could use this buffet because it was never busy and the food was excellent......FAVORITE BY FAR.

Riviera Restaurant Buffet – Akumal Main Lobby – Large Buffet close to the beach. We went to this buffet at lunchtime because it is right by the beach, it was extremely busy, but as soon as we sat down we were given water and asked our drink orders. Food was good, but preferred Coba's buffets better.

- Never tried the Yucatan Buffet at Tulum.

- Tried to take a plate of breakfast back to the room for my husband and only fruit and breads were allowed to be removed from the buffets. This is to help prevent food poisoning.

- At the entrance of any place with food there is hand sanitizer.

- In the mornings at the Cozumel buffet they have a make your own bloody mary or champagne and orange juice station.

A la Carte Dining:
Book A la Carte's as soon as you arrive, at any Guest Service Desk, open from 8am to 11pm. (Guest Service Desk's are in every Lobby and have copies of the menus). Men must were long pants at all A la Carte's, women can wear anything and did, jogging suits, shorts, etc....I was not impressed, only a few women were dressed up at anytime through out all the resorts. Far from the formal atmosphere the resort was trying for. We tipped $2 at each A la Carte. Tipping is not required and we didn't feel obliged to and many people didn't tip. All A la Carte's are open from 6pm – 10:30pm.

La Gran Tortuga – Tulum Resort – Brazilian – Reservation was for Monday night at 7:30pm
At 6:45pm we headed down to the Premier Coba lobby to catch the trolley to the Tulum Lobby then take the Tulum resort trolley to the restaurant. We told Juan the Porter at Coba Premier lobby what we were doing and he offered to take us in one of the golf carts at 7pm, then gave us a # to call to come pick us up after we ate...now that's service.

When you arrive at the Brazilian A la Carte you will give the hostess your reservation slip that was given to you from Guest Services then she will give you a menu in your language and take you to your seat. A waiter will get you drinks and explain how everything works.
1st – Appetizer – Chef Specialty
2nd – Buffet Style Salad bar, if wanted
3rd – Choose your side dishes from a buffet (rice, potatoes, vegetables, etc)
4th – Each person is given a card; one side is red and the other green. When you are ready for the meat to arrive you would change the card to green and waiters will come one at a time with Beef, Pork, Chicken, Sausage, and Roast Beef on swords and put it in your plate. When you no longer want anymore meat you change the card to red. 5th - A waiter will arrive to take your dessert order.

Portofino – Coba Resort – Reservation was for Wednesday night at 7:30pm
Again Buffet Salad Bar and Side dishes were buffet.....not my idea of A la Carte!!!!! If it wasn't for my husbands wonderful dessert I wouldn't have gone to this one, better choice's at the regular buffet and I'm hardly being served anyway.
I ordered the Filet Mignon "alla Rossini" medium rare, when it arrived it was a chuck on meat in a bowl.....waiter asked if it was cooked to my liking, it was very tasty. Tiramisu for dessert, I didn't like it.
My husband ordered the oven-baked Lasagna, tasted good. Profiterole Gelato with chocolate, vanilla and mocha ice cream for dessert......delicious!

Mikado – Coba Resort – Reservation was for Friday night at 10pm
Mikado is a Japanese A la Carte where 12 people can sit around the grill while the chef prepares the meal.

You will be given a menu to choose your appetizer, then chicken, beef, shrimp, etc with your main meal and your dessert. Waiters also come around for drink orders.
We had chicken and beef for the main meal which also included the grilled vegetables and fried rice. Everything was Excellent including dessert. FAVORITE A la Carte.

24hr Snack Bars:
I never went to the "Piscis" snack bar.
The "La Casita" snack bar had made to order Ribs, Roasted Chicken, Hamburgers, Fries, Nachos, Chicken Nuggets, Hot dogs, Pizza, and Chicken Tacos. Self-serve Ice Cream and small buffets set-up at different times during the day. If they have items in the buffet, like hamburgers or hot dogs you have to get it from the buffet, not made to order.
-They don't know what a works pizza is, they call it a mixed pizza and it's majorly different every time........kind of like a "surprise me" pizza.
-You can have your food wrapped to take back to the room.
-When looking on the maps look for anything that says snack bar, that will probably be 24 hours.

Bars:
Cancun lobby bar (Main Coba Lobby)
Early Coffee 6am – 10am, Service 10am – 11pm
Daiquiri lobby bar (Premier Coba Lobby)
Early coffee 6am – 10am, Service 10am – 11pm, Live Music 8pm – 11:30pm
Music Bar
Service 6pm – 11:30pm
Live Music – 8pm – 11:30pm
Amphitheatre Coliseum Bar
Service 6pm – 11pm
Pool Bars
Service 10am – 6pm
Beach Bars
Service 9am – 5pm
Piscis & La Casita Snack Bars
Service – 24 hrs

-Lobby Bars and buffets have fancy glasses for drinks. Pool and Beach bars have small disposable cups or larger plastic glasses. If you want to leave the Lobby or buffet area with your drink ask for your drink "to go", sometimes you will see tables setup at the exits with disposable cups to transfer your drinks.

-The night of the Mexican Fiesta none of the 3 resorts have a show, we went to the bar next to the Akumal Amphitheatre, "Pakal" Bar and they were having Karaoke. I'm not sure if they have Karaoke every night or not. (Live Music 7:30pm – 11pm)

Kid's Club:
I believe the only kid's club is at the Coba. Mini-Club is open from 9am – 5pm for children ages 4 – 12, kids under 4 will be admitted when accompanied by and adult.
We saw some kids with Mini-club staff and they looked to be having a blast, especially the 4 – 7 year olds.
At the kids club they make masks, piñatas, game time, pool time, movie time, etc.
At 8pm in the Coliseum Amphitheatre – Coba the kids have a mini disco on the stage, with prizes, games, a mini fiesta party.

Nightly shows / Entertainment:
-Every night, except the night of the Mexican Fiesta, there is a different show in each of the resorts
-Kid's Mini Disco at 8pm at Coba Amphitheatre
-Shows at Coba start at 10pm, for preferred sitting go to the theatre at 9pm. Be careful when sitting on the upper level, the poles can get in the way.
-Michael Jackson show was packed and was on Sunday night at Coba.
-Most nights outside in front of the Main Coba Lobby / Kukulcan Buffet at around 8pm the entertainment staff would have dance lessons.

Disco / Hacienda:
Located at the Hacienda section of the resort is the Disco, Sports Bar, La Plaza Mayor Bar, Peso ATM Machine, variety of shops and some articles with the Bahia Principe Logo, Cuban and domestic cigars & cigarettes, and the 24hr medical center.

Disco has an international DJ, strobe lights, bubble machine, and is non-smoking by courtesy. If you have a white wristband or are under 18 you will not be permitted in the Disco. Hours are Thursday 11:45pm – 2:30am and Friday to Wednesday 12am – 2:30am.
I believe it was the Wednesday night that we were there the resort had a Mexicana Fiesta at the Hacienda with Contest, Mariachi band, Mexican games, Fire works, and a Mexican show. The cost was $16us or 160 peso per person that was charged to your room, if you wanted to go. This was the only time there was an extra charge for anything, we didn't go.

Beach:
We went to the beach 3 afternoons, never reserved lounge chairs and always found 2 available. Once we had to get one from the Akumal pool which is right by the beach. Only used the beach trolley once, they take you to the Coba beach area and we preferred the Akumal beach area and it was only a 5 min walk to this part of the beach from our villa. White Sands Pool / Beach bar Akumal, open 10am – 6pm has the following self-serve 2 beer taps, 2 frozen slush machines with a bottle of rum and a water dispenser....there is also a bartender for fancier drinks. Drinks are in little plastic disposable cups or larger washable plastic glasses. El Mar Bar (Seats are swings) is on the beach, open 9am – 5pm. You will see topless women of all shapes and forms on the beach.
Sand bags really don't look that bad and create a nice calm swimming area for snorkeling. You should bring your own snorkeling gear, no sure but you can probably rent it from the resort.
- The walk from the Coba Premier Lobby to the Akumal Lobby is only about 2 minutes.........

Pools:
Main Pool Coba is located by the 24 hr Piscis snack bar; it's the place to enjoy tournaments and animation activities.
Club Premium Pool Coba is located by the 24 hr La Casita snack bar; it's the best pool for relaxing.
Jacuzzi Pool Coba is located by La Iguana bar (villa 3, 4 & 5), is best for relaxing and over 18 years old. This is where I hung out; there are about 16 loungers around the pool and usually a couple available at any time. Jets come on and the bar opens at 10am.

Resort Stores:
There are stores everywhere, in each of the resorts and at the Hacienda. They will take US money or Pesos, some of the main resort shops will probably accept Debit and Credit Cards. The stores we went to didn't use the easy $1us = 10 peso exchange more like $1us = 13 pesos. So again if you are not spending a lot of money off the resort, just use US dollars.

Trolley System:
There are designated trolleys for the resort lobbies, the Hacienda, Beach, and then each resort. The trolleys will have a sign in the front window saying "Hacienda", "Coba Lobby", "Tulum Lobby", "Beach".....etc.
Red Trolley is usually for the Hacienda or going between resort lobbies. Runs from 7am – 3am
White and Blue Trolley are usually for the beach. Runs from 7am – 7pm.
All White Trolley just goes around your Resort and won't have a sign in the window.

Calling Home:
It cost a fortune to use your room phone even for local calls ($6 - $10 a minute) and your cell phone charges will be very high as well. The cheapest is to buy a Global Link phone card from the lobby gift shop for $10 – about 45mins or $20 – 100mins to Canada or the US. Once purchased go to the white lobby house phone and tell the "operator" you want to make a call with a Global Link phone card. The phone card number is a number you scratch off the back of the card.

Tulum Ruins:
Caught the Collectivo Van outside the Hacienda main entrance, you have to cross the highway to catch the Collectivo Van going south. We were lucky a van was already stopped on the side of the road. When we got on the van we told the driver we were going to Tulum Ruins and asked the cost, which was $2us or 20pesos per person. The ride took maybe 20 minutes with stops along the way. The driver let us know when we arrived at Tulum Ruins and you pay the driver when you get off the Van. We only had a 50peso bill and he didn't move to give me change so I guess he got a tip. When you get off the Van cross the highway again and follow the road down to the Ruins. At a wooden hut a man asked if we were going to the ruins gave us a map of the Ruins and explained how to get around, where you pay, that washrooms are only at the entrance, etc. He also gave us a book on Tulum and explained the different prices, the cost of just admission is 51pesos per person, 650pesos pp for a guided tour and 350pepos pp for a guided tour that also included a boat ride to another ruin site and snorkeling (yes, it is cheaper for the larger package! Weird). The walk from the wooden hut to the ruins is about ¾ of a mile. After just touring the ruins on our own, we walked the ¾ of a mile back to the highway and a collectivo van was waiting on the side of the road, we told the driver we were going to GBP and he said it would be $3us or 30 pesos pp. Total cost of trip was 101pesos or about $11us per person.

Check-out:
Check-out is at 12 noon. You can call the front desk for a porter to pick-up your luggage a half hour before they're needed. Return your beach towels to the towel hut, make sure you are given a towel card or just take your beach towels to the front desk with you. I believe your safe, the Mexican Fiesta if you choose to go, long distance charges and everything else is taken care of at this time. Once all charges are covered the clerk will issue you a check-out slip which we gave to the bus transfer person prior to getting on the bus to the airport.

Extras:
- Super Super Clean
- Excellent Service
- Power went out once for about 20 seconds.
- NO topless bathing at the pool, but it's fine to go topless on the beach
- We put a good key lock on our suitcase instead of getting the room safe, nothing was taken, saved $35us.
- ATM at Coba lobby dispenses US cash; the ATM at the Hacienda dispenses Peso's. I took out 500 pesos from the bank machine and it cost me $41.77cnd, but my bank didn't charge me a service fee, some banks charge $5 or more. So from the bank machine I got an exchange rate of $1cnd = 11.97 pesos
- Lobby exchange rates at the time we were there $1 cnd = 11 pesos / $1us = 12 pesos.
- You will be in the Central Standard Time Zone
- West jet Rep. said bug spray is a must, you are in the jungle.....the bugs weren't bad at all when I was there only had about 5 bites all week and bugs love me, but we didn't have a drop of rain so that could be why the bugs weren't out. Bug spray cost $10 -$12us at the resort stores.
- Free Wi-Fi is available in the lobbies or you can rent a laptop for $10us per hour.
- When leaving the resort do NOT take your passport, but take ID with you.
- Transfer from resort to Playa del Carmen every Mon/Wed/Fri at 3:20pm from the Tulum Lobby for $15us per person return.
- At the welcome meeting they wanted our transfer eticket to confirm the information and later in the day we had to pick-up our bus transfer ticket (back to airport) at the Best Day office.
- The resort staff we came across spoke English very well.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Krisikorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Long review:

My husband, myself, and two friends stayed at the Coba from March 8th to March 15th. Flight was good, transfer took 1 and 1/2 hours from airport but was very pleasant as Alphonso, our tour bus rep, supplied us with Coronas ($3.00 ea.) and a very good personality.

Check In: Arrived around noon. Checked in at the Golden Club lobby, very quick check in, less than a half hour. Room was not ready but no sweat, recieved bracelets and went for a drink and explored. Returned to get keys (and keys are not so bad, you can't wear a card around your neck when you're in a bathing suit). Arrived at our room at around 3:30, second floor, Golden Club, garden view. Huge room and very clean. Hair dryer, magnifying mirrow attached to the wall and face cloths on the counter!! I knew that the beds were harder than we are used to but we met the building Super when we arrived at the room and requested a foam topper and PRESTO it was there. Slept great.

Beach: I found the beach the next morning, but only after wandering a bit as friends were still sleeping, and then realized help was needed to find the beach, hopped on a trolley and was delivered directly to the Coba beach by a beautiful Spanish Angel. Stayed there for an hour or so and then realized, if I ever wanted to see my friends again, I better get back. Lost again, but trolley to the rescue! The beach is expansive. No problem anytime finding shade or a chair. People do reserve chairs but we didn' t have to. The calm section of the water is divided by two piers. The tropical fish swim around the piers, so if you don't snorkel, no problem, the fish swim around you in waist deep water. The break waters keep this section calm. There is a huge Pelican that sits on one of the piers all the time. We named him Pelican Pete. Life guards are watching the tourists that refuse to heed the warnings of the flags outside the calm area. They work hard!! They didn't have to rescue anyone while we were there , but they were definitely on guard and blowing the whistle, which made me feel safe.

Grounds: Iguanas everywhere, we named a few. One was Adias, as he had three stripes. Adias was in the same spot every day along with his brother Nike. Staff are constantly cleaning and there is no garbage anywhere. The aroma of the flowers is strong but they are beautiful (doesn't smell like snow at all). If you have allergies, take some benedryl, just in case.

Pools: The pools are very clean. We met the guy that tests the water daily and he is very serious about his job. They are not heated but that was not an issue for us as it was sunny every day and the temperature was nice. We were not there long enough to see all the pools that are at the resort. People do save chairs, but we didn't and it was not an issue for us. We didn't arrive until around 10:00 on the day we wanted to sit by the activity pool and had no problem finding 4 chairs in the shade. The quiet pool with padded seats was probably the hardest to find a chair at , but we didn't care, we just went somewhere else because everywhere is beautiful.

Shuttle system: The staff that drive those things are very friendly and if you take time to talk to them, they are funny. We had exceptional service from them .

Buffets: We usually didn't arrive at the buffet for breakfast until around 9:00. We had no problem finding the best cooked bacon everyday. Yes, sometimes the trays were empty but they were refilled in no time. There is a wide variety of breakfast food available, bread, toast, cereal, pancakes, fuit, eggs and omelettes made to order, hashbrowns, bacon, ham, yogurt, and a Mexican station, which had something different in the 3 pots every day. I tried some of the Mexican food and it and it was delicious. We ate at the Coba every morning and Luis and Sylvia gave us great service. We only ate at the Coba for lunch twice as we ate breakfast so late. The service at lunch was just as good. We had one lunch at the snack bar by the activity pool and it was great. It would be a good place to eat if you have kids that are picky eaters. The chicken fingers and french fries taste just like home. The self serve ice cream was delicious. I can't review all the buffets as we were only there for a week and you would have to be a full-time eater to review all the buffets and snack bars.

Al la cartes: We had four al la cartes.
Don Pablo: great steak, and service.
Mikado (Japanese): awesome service. Octavia, aka, Octopus, was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The food show was great and we met some nice people at our table. 12 people per table and we were only four so if you are at the show table you will be seated with people you don't know.
Le Gourmet: Food was wonderful, the other three had steak and I had stewed stuffed chicken. The salad with raspberries was my favorite. Just a hint - the restaurant looked fairly empty when we were seated and my friend asked for a different seat - the hostess definitely didn't like moving us but she did and service was great from there. They must stagger the seatings as the courses come very fast and the restaurant still looked half empty when we left. It only took around an hour and a half, at the most, to have all our courses.
La Gran Tortuga: As this restuarant is located in the Tulum section which is too far to walk when you have been in the sun all day and think there are too many transfers from Coba via regualar trolley service, (that day anyway) , my husband requested from Raymundo, (our Golden Club Manager) a private transfer to the restaurant. It picked us up at our door at the time requested and upon arrival, we were told to call when we were finished dinner. Restaurant - Well, this is where I thought my husband died and went to heaven. Meat on a stick and it just keeps coming. The two waiters couldn't feed him fast enough There is a huge salad bar but hubby probably didn't see it. He says he took a run by, with me but the meat was calling. The service was excellent. We called for pick up when finished and again, there they were ready to take us to the next destination.

Excursions: We only went off the resort twice. We decided to try the local transportation, the Collectivo and ride it in to Playa Del Carmen. It was so easy to do. Took the trolley to the Hacendia and caught the Collectivo near the highway. It delivered us right to the town. It took around 30 minutes to get there and only cost 30 pesos. We did the tourist strip on fifth avenue, had a snack and a drink at an opened air bar at the beach, watched the Cozumel ferry dock and then wandered off to the local Walmart. We got our liquor to take home there. Unreal, 40 oz of rum, the largest bottle of baileys, 8.4 ounces of pure mexican vanilla and a bottle of wine for 39 dollars. The second trip we did the same thing and went to he Tulum Ruins. They are beautiful and the beach is something to see. Again, only 30 pesos. I felt very safe using the local transportation, but if you do not, there are plenty of taxis waiting to serve you.

Shows: We only got to see the Michael Jackson show and a band at the Cozumel buffet. They were both fantastic.

Check out: Again very fast and the check out guys were really friendly. We had to check out before our pick up to the airport as our flight was at night. No problem, they store your luggage until you are ready to leave and you get to use all the grounds and restaurants while waiting, so we enjoyed the day by the pool while waiting for the bus. We were not there long enough to enjoy all the Bahia has to offer. I would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We did our first all inclusive last year and loved it but compared to the Gran Bahia Principe Coba it was a road side motel. What we experienced at the GBPC was totally beyond our expectations. The place was immaculate, well laid out and everything was so tropical, green and beautiful! We absolutlely loved it.

However, the one thing we would warn people about is the non-Italian food at the Portofino restaurant. It was thee worst! On the flip side the LeGourmet was truly a fine dining experience. Right down to the hot towels they give you after you've looked at the menu. The Black Opal wine tasted so much better at LeGourmet than it did at the Portofino. As for the buffet meals, there was a huge variety of food that was very good. The only thing missing was MEXICAN food. No tacos, no enchiladas, no burritos!

The wait staff was very friendly, prompt and professional. The beach, the sun and the grounds were perfect. I just wish it was closer to the airport. The one and a half hour ride is worth it though.

I've already told many people about it and we will go back. Hopefully next year.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank bacltosunspree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appleton,wi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Went to the coba from 3-19 till 3-27 with wife and another couple all age 55-60. The coba is layed out very strange, nothing seems to flow. The pools are one way rooms the other and the ocean another direction. Trollys are very inconsistent sometimes you wait way to long. Food is not the best and not kept warm. The beach is very limited as you can only swim about 75 feet from shore and there are plenty of rocks. The rooms were nice but when it was real hot the air seemed to have trouble keeping up. The grounds and pool are very well kept. When we checked out the front desk and bellboys were a little short tempered. All in all i wont stay here again, i have stayed in the riviera maya many times and this was average at best. Stayed at the Barcelo maya Palace last year and it was much nicer

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.8 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
27.3 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#74 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Coba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Coba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools 3 Jacuzzis Large sun terrace and gardens with sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 5 tennis courts, basketball court, bicycles Motorised sports (additional charge) Water activity centre Entertainment amphitheatre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Buffet restaurant 4 a la carte restaurants 8 Bars 2 Snack bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco Rooms 1080 rooms including 4 types: Superior Junior Suite, Club Golden Junior Suite, Family Junior Suite and Master Family Suite. Room facilities: Two full size beds or a king size bed Sitting area with sofa Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, wash basin, magnifying mirror and hair dryer Bathroom amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Radio alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Mini-bar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Terrace Wifi Family Junior Suites and Master Family Suites the perfect choice for families, including: All the facilities and services of a Junior Suite Bathrobes and slippers for all the family for use during your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks for children Two fully independent connecting rooms (Master Family Suites) Club Golden Junior Suites Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy a range of specially-tailored facilities: Children's pool Mini Club with daytime activities Evening Mini Disco Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's Club (11 - 16 years) Baby Station Other services On-site miniature railway providing access to all facilities Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Personalised diet option for celiacs and diabetics Cash point Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Coba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Akumal
Hotel Gran Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Coba Mexico
Gran Bahia Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Resort Coba
Gran Bahia Principe Coba Hotel
Gran Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Mexico
Bahia Coba
Grand Bahia Principe Coba Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing