We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but few changes could improve it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good hotel but few changes could improve it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 26th aug till 9th sept. party of 5 from Scotland. Had emailed ahead asking for rooms near each other and we got them however as my husband had emailed saying it was my birthday he thought they might have upgraded us or provided a cake as other hotels have done but nothing. Mix up with rooms on arrival - we had booked 1 junior suite single occupancy and 2 suites. In his email he had specified who was in each room and despite this it was still wrong. We were eventually told to re sign all registration cards again and just whoever wanted to stay in each room cud just do so. I at least expected this to be organised as he emailed ahead.
As we organised out own transfers with cancun transfers for the arrival journey we let the Thomson rep know we wouldn't be travelling on the coach and was promised a special card with info and welcome meeting instructions to be at the reception desk the next day. Asked and nothing had arrived so we didn't get to go to the welcome meeting or find out about the hotel, we did this ourselves.
Holiday went smoothly enough after this despite it raining every day at some point but this would definitely put me off returning in the rainy season as the sunbathing is what I go for(didnt get much of that done)
Rooms are a bit dated and could really do with refurbishment however were cleaned well and the mini bar always stocked daily.
We were in villa 63 and like all reviews say this is a massive resort so if u don't want to be walking constantly get a room nearer the main building. Villa 63 is right near the beach and salt water pool.
Bridges in the resort are very high as boats go under , something to keep in mind if u have prams- I wouldn't like to have to lift them up and down numerous times a day.
Nearly all the staff we came across were very friendly and greeted u in passing with a hola. Restaurant food in both buffets and a la cartes were cold. Only things we had that were hot were the steak house and the fresh pasta station. This is a big let down for the hotel. I suggest temperature probes as I have seen in other all inclusive hotels. Apart from the temperature of the food there is a massive selection of choices for even the most picky of eaters. We ate in the steak house, Italian, Chinese, ribs n more, Mexican. Food was ok. Bit bland and as I said cold.
Evening entertainment by the people of palladium was really good, best of all inc hotels that I've been to. They try really hard to keep everyone entertained and put a lot of hard work into the shows. Would be better if they switched the colonial/ riviera shows around so if u ate there for 2 wks u don't have it repeated.
To sum this hotel up: lovely grounds, nice rooms, lovely friendly staff, nice spa. Only let down would be the food taste and temperature .
Not sure if I would return to this hotel as I like to try different places and from what I paid I expected a bit more!!!!
Any questions feel free to email me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herbii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DtorAdjunto, Director General at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
dear Herbii,

first let me thank you for your comments in reference to your experience at the hotel.
we will consider all of your reviews in order to improve our performance in the future.
specialy those related to the food temperature and flavor, we hope to hear about your next reservation to taste again our commitment in service and atention to our customers.

best regards,

William Cervera
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,609
    817
    324
    125
    118
See reviews for
1,098
1,174
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weyburn, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Great beach, very good service. Food was good at the buffets, and very good at the restaurants. Decent rooms, had to kill a roach one night. Nice resort, pools were great!
And the beach was great. Rooms were quiet.
We are a family of 5, shared one room. It was cozy. Beds were small.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JA-Braat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DtorAdjunto, Director General at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
dear hagarsclan,

thank you for your comments of the hotel.
we will consider your comments to improve our performance in the future.

best regards

William Cervera
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

One of my favorite resorts to take the family. We have stayed at the Colonial and Riviera and going again this year to the White Sands. Beautiful beach and wonderful food. Love going to all four resorts that are combined together. Also if you want to stay at the Adult only section, the Royal Suites of the Yucatan is wonderful also.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DtorAdjunto, Director General at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
dear Chrary,

thank you for your comments of the hotel.
it is always great to hear about the plans from repetitive guest to return to the hotel.
we will see you soon!

best regards

William Cervera
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were at the Grand Palladium Riviera Maya and stay there for a week, we where a group of 180 pax, a convention worth of six months of hard work prize. It was our 3rd or 4th time in this resort, and all though our previous stays had been OK with some details, in this one the details where out of control.
There is a lack of organization, logistic and professionalism regarding big groups, period, wouldn’t trust them for groups bigger than 10 pax!

All though we had mailed 2 weeks before our program for the week (time schedules and everything), even fill in previously ALL of the kardex for each person for a smooth registration, what a surprise to arrive and have NO ONE their to welcome us. We got out of the bus and finally after a crowded lobby we found a table with ONE person ready to check in 90 pax (our first group arriving). Are you kidding?! BIG chaos of course!

We had in our agreement welcome cocktails for our check in which probably I counted 10. Five minutes later another person came to help, ok now their are 2, still the same caos, because they had no idea of what they where doing, you could see panic through their eyes. Ok so they put bracelets on, people sign here and there, people where sent to another counter which was packed and they had no idea of who was register and who wasn´t. They say it was all because there was a wedding doing check out.

OK. So they tried to redeem themselves for our second group. There where 5 people ready to receive the pending 90 pax, but now the problem is that there where registration cards missing, duplications, etc. I had to check them myself one by one to see if we had missing registration cards which we had, so they had to go on and print missing cards, which later appeared with signatures already.. Strange, huh? Basic stuff people. Second (90 persons) group, same 10 welcome cocktails!

OK. We know check ins for groups are chaotic but how can you explained that after everyone was gone, we had front desk clerk reaching for myself and the other organizer asking for missing signatures, even our own signatures (when we had sign in front of the front desk manager and she had taken our registration card personally).
That is baby stuff for hoteliers, sorry but procedures are missing here! I´ve worked for several hotels and I know that groups can be stressing but the attitude of front desk personnel was super rude and unprofessional!

OK, Let’s leave that behind, give them a chance and enjoy our 6 night stay.
Yes, SPA, food and beverages are great, the Rodizio restaurant is pretty good, rooms are spacious (though we asked 5 times for our safe to be opened, and they never came!, We asked personally housekeeping, front desk at the Riviera, front desk at White sand, we called from our room to front desk, maintenance, nothing in our 6-day stay!), notorious lack of communication between departments.

The beach is not nice to be honest. I´ve prefer Playa del Carmen Beach, Xpuha, Tulum or even any other resort at the Riviera - than this one. If you want to see the true white sand and turquoise water this is not the place to be, if you want a pretty big all inclusive with a cool spa, then this might be your choice.

So we talked to the group representative, Roxana and her boss for some support in our future events during our stay, we talked about the chaotic check in and they say they where sorry and where trying to help us for the domino tournament and the football tournament we had planned for our group.
There I have to applaud the personnel of the sports area, they were terrific! As well as the servers at the Hemingway Bar!

We had also talked to Roxana about the group check out, that really worried us, bacause in previous years, bellboys had taken quite long time with the luggage and we were almost losing our flights. She told us everything was under control nothing to worry about.

Our schedule was planned with more than the needed time for check out, preventing a chaotic experience…

So the big check out day came and the whole group was organized by colors , every one new the time they should be at the lobby for the pick up, we even warned them to check out from their rooms 2 hours earlier and had special attention with their luggage.

Buses came 30 minutes earlier, we had the whole group ready but... we had luggage missing. People had checked out from their rooms 9:30 am and it was 12:00 and luggage wasn’t there yet. Buses where supposed to leave at 12:00, but weren’t able to reach for the people, because a big group of Hindus had arrived.
It was like a DEJAVU, this Hindu group (probably 50) arrived and there was NO ONE to greet them or to tell them what way to registered. Caos through our eyes again, and there was no hotel personnel to reach out for help.

I had to start yelling to the hindu group "This way please!, the registration is this way!” .
We needed to start moving fast and load luggage and persons to our buses.

Finally Hindu group bus moved and our buses where ready to start loading, 12:30 pm. SURPRISE we still had luggage missing even when we had notice since 11:30 we had them missing. For a check out of 4 buses and 180 pax there was 1 bellboy loading the luggage, 1 head bellboy/front desk (ignore his position) asking for the exit passes and 1 front desk girl calling out for the missing luggage. Are you for real?! All of them, of course, with an attitude problem.

The clerk asking for the exit passes would not let people go into the bus because they weren’t with the person they share rooms with (most of them where in the next schedule) individuals exit passes maybe a good idea???

More than 15 rooms had missing luggage and the only response was “They’re coming”, of course not so people had to walk again to their rooms to get their luggage, some luggage arrive with a couple of bellboys and myself, Roxana the group coordinator had to pick up luggage and load it to the bus. Where were all the bellboys at? Don’t they know their is an 180-group checking out!

Short story, first bus to leave, left 1:15, last bus 2:20! Hour and 15 minutes to the airport for a 4:15 flight!!!! We had to ask our chauffeurs to expose our group and speed off limits! We were cracking our fingers and praying for no traffic, no crowds at the airport; because we knew PALLADIUM wasn’t paying if we lost our flights, worth 50,000 USD.

In few words, they lack responsibility and customer service for big groups, their rude attitude and not feeling welcome are the reasons I WOULD NOT RECCOMMEND this hotel for large groups. This is certainly not what the brand Palladium promises. Sorry but they are in baby diapers and I wouldn’t trust them for weddings, conventions, or anything implying BIG responsibilities. It´s a shame!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CasLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear CasLuna,
Thank you for your comments. Definitely there are many things we can improve and the information you provided will be very helpful.
I'm sorry if we didn't exceed your expectations. I would like to mention that we receive many big groups everyday and our Groups department as well as our Wedding department, usually receive very good comments (in fact it is very difficult to find a wedding date available for 2014).
The main problem that could be in a big group arrival is when the rooming list we have been provided is not the same or the final one that the group provides the check in day. So this could be the main issue.
Again we apologize and I hope you give our Resort a second opportunity.

Regards,

Antonio Parrado Rodríguez
Director Residente / Resident Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We holidayed at the Grand Palladium from 17th to the 31st August as a family of four with two children aged 11 and 15 years. We had a wonderful time and found the hotel to offer the good quality we were looking for. The five star standard is different to that in say Turkey, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here. We booked through Thomson and had a great rep on site.

On arrival at the hotel we were very quickly checked in and shown to our room. A member of staff brought our bags up to the room for us, giving us a short period of time to check the room was to our satisfaction. We were tired after the long flight and didn't give it much thought at this stage, although we did note a damp smell. After a self directed tour of the hotel and grounds, we ate in the buffet restaurant and slept.

The next morning we checked the room out properly and felt a little disappointed for what we'd got for the money we paid. We were in 6232; the room smelt damp, as though it hadn't been used in a while, the tap water ran cool and when turned on the jets in the bath smelt of egg. The room also looked like it was in need of a good make over. After the arrival talk with the Thomson rep, we raised this with her and the manager over the Riviera side of the hotel. The manager was alarmed and immediately changed our room to 6531. As part of the change she upgraded us very kindly from the junior suite to a suite. It was amazing and reflected what we expected in terms of quality, comfort and condition.

The junior suite in the first room comprises of one large room with a separate bathroom. The room has two double beds, a sofa bed, tv, mini bar, dressing table and plenty of cupboard space. The bathroom has a separate shower, jet bath, sink and toilet.

The suite bathroom offered the same facilities. The temperature of the water is easy to control and the water pressure good. There is a sink unit with large mirrors, and a further magnifying mirror. Plenty of loo roll and towels changed each day. Chambermaids attended to the room each day and kept the room incredibly clean and tidy. The suite room had one master bedroom and a separate living area with a sofa bed. The master bedroom had a huge king size bed, bedside units, shelves, dressing table and drawers. The living area had a double sofa bed, large wardrobe, tv, complimentary safe, desk/dressing table and mini bar. The mini bar has bottles of water, Pepsi, 7up, Mirinda orange and beer. Both rooms had their own balcony with chairs and table.

Our only suggestion for improving the room/balcony is for management to provide equipment for drying clothes on the balcony or in the room. We had a bit of rain during our two week stay, which came and went very quickly. Anything dry or drying on the balcony got soaked, and didn't dry off again very quickly in the humid conditions. The rain and storms were great to watch, although we did only have a few. Otherwise, the weather was perfect.

It was our anniversary while we were away and upon arrival we were presented with a nice bottle of champagne. It was lovely, well received and an example of the extra lengths this hotel will go to to ensure you have a special stay.

On our third day my husband and I visited the onsite spa for a massage. Although fairly dear, I recommend you go and try! My husband had the 80 minute deep tissue massage and I had the 80 minute Zentropia massage which involved a number of different massage techniques. We were in a room together and felt brilliant afterwards. The spa pools and infinity pool are also great to use. There is a well resourced gym too within this area, which was quite quiet. The decor and cleanliness is far better in this spa than any I have ever been to at home; creating a very relaxing setting. I visited twice more for another massage and a foot treatment. My husbands advice is to pay at the spa in dollars rather than letting the spa bill to your room. This is because when you pay at the time of checkout, they convert the cost to pesos and you don't get a favourable rate.

The foyer areas of all receptions really have the wow factor and the hotel is easy to navigate so long as you take your time to read the map and take it with you. Reception staff are happy to provide you with a new map if you forget yours. While others on here have grumbled about the walking, in reality it takes just six minutes to walk from the Riviera to the Kantenah receptions, which are the two at either end of the resort. This is at a relaxed walking pace. There are also loads of short cuts, which also provide you with the opportunity to check out the mangroves, animals, onsite cenotes, beach, chapel, etc. The four hotels are on a big site but you know this when booking. In our experience, the walking is good and far quicker than waiting for the train or a buggy. That said, there were plenty of times when we were walking that a buggy stopped and picked us up. There is a boat trip around the lagoon/lake that you can take up until 4pm. A boat comes to a number of different stops every ten minutes and takes you to drop off points. While on the journey the staff show you different plants, baby chicks nesting, and different parts of the resort. The kids loved it. There is also a canoe / kayak tour later each afternoon which leaves from the pool. It looked a lot of fun but we didn't get around to trying it.

The hotel grounds, in fact the whole setting, is incredible. The hotels are set in mangroves, which has a really jungle feel. You walk through these areas and can't help but recognise the beauty of the environment you're in. This resort is like no where else I have been; it is stunning and has a really Eco friendly feel. Onsite cenotes, orchards, animals such as flamingos, alligators, fish are a plenty, not to mention the big bottomed guinea pigs, raccoons, birds etc. There are unfortunately plenty of mosquitos too and we were all subject to a number of bites. Remember to pack your plug in mosquito deterrent for your room and bring some strong repellent spray! We bought more from the Thomson rep, called Off, which was very effective. This is dear in the supermarket onsite, cheaper from the rep and much much cheaper from the pharmacies in Playa de Carmen. We also got the yellow citronella bands, which were also good. Despite the inevitable mosquitos, the grounds are beautiful and worth a good explore.

The staff across the whole resort couldn't do more to help you. All staff were attentive and very helpful. We didn't wait for long at any bar and they often remembered our drinks order. The bar tender in the Hemmingway was excellent and clearly enjoys his job. He loved nothing more than creating something new for you if you told him roughly what you might like. His flaming tequila drink is also worth a try! This is an adults only bar in the Kantenah lobby, with all branded drinks and live piano playing. Having said that, branded drinks are the norm across all bars, but this one offered more. The Churchill is the second adults only bar and I believe it's got cigars too. We didn't get chance to go in. The manager of the Riviera; Laura, was great. She phoned us a few days after our room move to check all was to our satisfaction and to see if there was anything she could help us with. Given that this is a large resort, the personal touch was excellent.

The food in the buffet and all restaurants is wonderful, plentiful and offers a super variety. We particularly enjoyed the Mediterranean, Mexican, Brazilian and Ribs and More restaurants and found the menus well considered with lots of choice. The Japenese show cooking was also great fun but does require booking early morning the day before you want to go. The bar/restaurant by the beach does excellent snack meals by the beach and the pastry cakes are a must. You find these in covered units on the bars and can help yourself. It took us a few days to find the proper ice cream. Buffet restaurants have Mr Whippy type ice cream, which you help yourself to. The outdoor buffet areas have a bar, linked to the pool bar, and this is where you find the proper ice cream. It's available all day in pots or cones - I recommend the coconut flavour!

The pools were clean and a good temperature. We got sunbeds each day without getting up early. We arrived by the pool for 10am most days and positioned them where we wanted to. The beach has a lot more space and choice for sun beds and the salt water pool is fab. The beach, given that its off the reef, is stony/rocky in parts. I would recommend bringing beach shoes. Take note also of the signs regarding stingray and how to shuffle your feet in the water. We did see a few, which the kids loved.

The beach is white sand and just stunning. Water sports run directly from the beach, more over the Kantenah side and residents of the hotel get free time in pedalos/canoes, scuba diving, etc. We paid extra for the boys to try parasailing. There is jet skiing and other stuff that you can also pay for.

We also did the Segway tour which was a lot of fun, try it! Turtle nests are over the Kantenah side too, which is worth a look. There is also a sea trampoline and a climbing thing available in the sea for the kids.

The Colonial/Kantenah pool is much deeper than the pool over the White Sand/Riviera side. The first currently has some building work, which staff said is a water park being built. This looks like it will be fairly small, and the building work wasn't a problem in terms of noise by the beach or pool. Regardless of which part of the hotel you're staying in you can use either pool, and any of the facilities. We accessed all four parts of the resorts and loved what each different part had to offer. If we could we would have stayed for longer than the two weeks we were there,

The shows at night were good fun. We tended to just watch the earlier show at 9pm at the Colonial, but there is a later 10.15pm show also at the Riviera. We watched the Caribe show, Colours of the world, talent show and others. The fire show/white party each Monday is good fun and something different down at the salt water pool.

The kids went to the teen club at night by choice. They have never been to such clubs before, but really enjoyed it and made some nice friends.

Through Thomson we went on the Chichen Itza and Coba Maya trips. They were well worth the money and the early starts. They gave us a real sense of Mexico and the opportunity to swim in cenotes. We also took a taxi into Playa De Carmen for a look around the shops and went to Akumel beach also. You can hire or use your own snorkelling gear to swim with the turtles. There are plenty of groups you can pay to join when swimming out, but we just did it ourselves and saw loads of different sized turtles, which was a really great experience. The sea does get quite deep quite quickly so life jacket hire is quite a good idea. We didn't, but I would if I went again. The beach here is stunning; the nicest we have ever been to. The views are wonderful and our trip here is something we will never forget.

All people we spoke to at the time of our break were having an equally wonderful time as us. We wouldn't hesitate to return, or to recommend to family and friends. Our research into this place before we booked was worthwhile - if you're reading this and thinking of booking - go!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank saw646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DtorAdjunto, Director General at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
dear Saw646,

let me thank you for all those great comments about the hotel and facilities.

we are glad to know that the first impresion was changed and corrected, and after that, the vacation were the best like your were expecting. all your comments and sugestions will be consider to improve our performance in the future, and we will love for having the pleasure in receiving you back on a near future.

best regards,

William Cervera
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
294 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I am no expert. This is my fourth resort (3 in Mexico and 1 in Dominican). I have also been on five cruises. All my experiences have been good. None have been great. This is another average. There are really nice things about this resort and some that I found to be negative.

The good things: Beautiful beach, Long, clean sand, a reef, a pool with salt water. The service (see below). Some people were really nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and well maintained. (Exactly the same as the rooms in Dominican - same designer?). The Spa is beautiful and restful. Went a couple of times and found it incredibly gorgeous - free to use and great water features. The pools themselves were clean and nice. I am a little bit of a wine snob but the house wine was the best Mexican wine I have ever drank! (Don't get excited -not great but for Mexican wine...pretty good!) The evening entertainment in the main lobby of the Riviera resort was wonderful. Highly recommend checking them out. We spent a few evenings just sitting, listening and having a drink. The bartenders in the lobby bar were very friendly and efficient.

Some issues: This is a big resort (actually 4). It is a hike to everything. The "lagoon" is a wonderful environments idea...doesn't belong in the middle of a resort. In order to get through it and over the lagoon, there are numerous bridges. This is not a seniors or persons with disabilities resort. Just too far to everything. The specialty restaurants were nothing special. Italian was basically the Italian food from the Buffet. The Rib place was very average (had better ribs at the lagoon pool the next day for lunch) and the Brazilian was rather plain. Yo know that if you put the same sauce on the meat and you over cook everything - whether it is chicken, beef, pork, shrimp...it tastes all the same...and not great. A tip: if you have kids you need to go early to the a la carte restaurants -if not, the resort picks a restaurant a night where kids are not allowed...follow that cycle and you can eat in that restaurant at any time! Some servers may have been good but the majority were indifferent. Some looked visibly miffed when we were assigned to there sections - like "now I have to do something!" Especially at the various buffets...try to get a second drink from some of the servers! the evening entertainment was the weakest I have seen at a resort or on a cruise. Did not follow the posted schedule and some night, while the schedule said there was a show, the was nothing. Free wireless in the lobby is incredibly slow and only really worth using when no else is trying. Mid morning or later in the evening when everyone tries to get on...forget it. They want you to pay $55 (US) for high speed. I needed something in between -I am not streaming movies but I do need a consistent reliable connection due to family health issues at home.

Overall a good week - weather was beautiful, still put 5 pounds on, had fun, hung at the pool....pretty consistent with the other resorts I have been too.

Room Tip: All Riviera rooms are far from the lobby. White Sands appeared closer to everything. I would recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DtorAdjunto, Gerente at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear ScotAlberta,

we appreciate your comments about the resort and services overall.

we also consider our SPA and humid areas to be one of the best places of the resort; calm, quiet and relaxing, just like what you have experienced.

in regarding our restaurants and the food served on them, we will consider your comments to improve our performance in the future.

we hope to have the oportunity to receive your visit again and show your our commitment in service and improvements made.

best regards,

William Cervera
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel, resort & Country. We had a great holiday even though we knew it could rain during our holiday which it did for 2 days but there was plenty to do. The entertainment team worked non stop trying to cater for all types of guests & there was something for everyone if you wanted it. If not you got left alone to relax & enjoy. The restaurants were great with none I wouldn't recommend trying, our favourite was Sumptouri which was Japanese, I didn't want to go but my husband did as I don't like sushi, I do now & so pleased we went twice. No restrictions on the time you go to the restaurants but you may have to wait for your table but the system works & you can go away & come back when the table is ready. Plenty of pools which were clean & great, you could even use the exercise bikes in the pool so no excuse for not working off all the food you eat. The beach was fabulous & the restaurants on it with the bar. No need to venture off as everything you needed wherever you were was very near by. The resort is massive & we kept finding more every day. The trips we went on were great as well to the Island of Contoy & Chichen Itza both worth a visit. The only downside to this holiday was all of the bites we got, don't bother taking the jungle spray from the UK & buy OFF when you get there & try the bracelets they sell. Rooms goods & fridge kept stocked, coffee a little weak for our taste so you may want to take with you as we did miss Starbucks until at the airport to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DtorAdjunto, Director General at Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
hello,

we would like to thank you for all those positive comments in reference to the hotel and services.
the pool bikes seem to be a great asset for guest that love to do a little exercise during relaxing time.

best regards,

William Cervera
Director Adjunto de Alojamiento / Assistant Manager
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
The Royal Suites Yucatán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
5.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
5.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, km 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Akumal
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#12 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa is located sea front with superb access to the beach and is only 20 minutes from Playa del Carmen. Guests are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Riviera Hotel Akumal
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Riviera Maya
Hotel Grand Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Riveria
Gran Palladium Riviera
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing