We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time in Akamal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Ladner
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great time in Akamal”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from two weeks at the Sirenis. Great hotel, great a la carte restaurants and great staff. Very clean everywhere, grounds, rooms, public areas and pool areas. Fourth time at this hotel and will keep going back. They have made some improvements, including new walkway from pool area down to the beach and new roofs on outside eating areas. They really need a railing on the steps from building 19 down to the beach as the open stairs are hazardous.
Service at the swim up bar pool was excellent with Didi and Leyde and on the beach with Karen. Also a great bartender at the swim up bar, Diego.
The French restaurant was fantastic. Best steak I think I have ever had in a restaurant just plain melt in your mouth.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Back again in the Fall.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,671
    3,599
    1,474
    460
    325
See reviews for
3,891
5,148
145
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,805)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

First impressions are wow what an amazing design sleek & in keeping with Mayan theme.
Well managed for a large resort, service like clockwork from reception to concierge who phone at 8.30 on our first morning to see if we needed anything. Lots of blocks we were in block 16 and it was convenient to get to both main and quiet pools & restaurants (less than 5 mins walk). ON all inclusive package which included 3 a la carte restaurants per week. Don't expect 5 star service in restaurants but staff were helpful & friendly. Would say Brazilian and Japanese were best with El Rancho steak house 3rd. Don't bother with others which were mediocre. (Mexican and Cayjan). Try the small coffee bar in the evening after dinner do a full range of coffees and Irish was excellent and the staff were lovely. In main Buffet, Cosme was the perfect waiter to us constantly topping up our wine. In breakfast buffet (Rancho at pool) Miguel was always on hand. The room (standard suite) was very clean spacious and had everything necessary, bed was better that most hotels for comfort. Maid service excellent, lots of large towels and coffee for the coffee maker, mini bar well stocked with soft drinks.
I agree with comments about lazy river if an adult get the large clear rings I got dunked twice tipped in! a good concept though.
Any issues - sunbeds were a bit short some days but we moved to a space n the shade on the beach under trees but had to get down by 8am to save with towels. It lacks a quiet bar the main bar was near the entertainment and was busy & noisy. Some people got very burned so beware when hazy it is deceptive. Would recommend as a package from UK very good VFM overall but remember to leave tips 20 pesos about £1 after each drink/meal to show appreciation.

Room Tip: High floor if you have no kids as quieter ( no one walking above)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I am literally still in the long typing this as I wait for our shuttle to take us to the airport. We arrived on March 13. Aranza told us our room was not ready but we would be upgraded for the night and for the inconvenience we would get free internet and a free safe for the week. This is the first time this has ever happened to me on vacation so we agreed. Oh man- what a headache- the next day our permanent room wouldn't be ready until 3 but we had to be our of the temp room at 1130, really annoying that we lost all that time worrying about the room. We were told that our new room would be a king size bed with a nice view which never happened. We didn't complain cause who wants to complain on vacation anyways? The room was still nice, very very spacious. Mini bar was always stocked at 10am regardless if u were still sleeping when they showed up lol, didn't bother us- we asked for more beer- they gave us extra. The food was about 8/10 which is better then the -5/10 in Cuba but I felt the food in Cancun was still better. Aranza was a gracious host at reception when we entered. Jesus was a great tour guide around the resort when we went cycling. Air gun shooting was a nice touch and people we met on excursions seems pretty jeleoua that we had that. The shows were fantastic!!!! We watched half of the rock show which was crazy! OMG their Grease show- no words to describe it, if they didn't pronounce some of the words with an accent we would of though for sure they were lip syncing, beyond words amazing job. They are doing the lion long tonight which sucks cause we are leaving in couple hours- BOO we bet it will be superb. Everyone one of the servers, bartenders and chefs showed impeccable service. Koodos! The beaches here are beautiful, the pools are spotless and fantastic, we went to the Mexican, steakhouse and Brazzillian Rodizio. Couldn't get in to the Japanese unfortunately. I would pass on the Mexican. Service and the food was sub par. There is a little store in the riviera loby that u can buy medicine and other needed items- they took my American money 2 of the 5 times I bought stuff from there and refused the rest of the time which was really Inconvient especially when my boyfriend had a fever and they wouldn't let me buy him tylonel. Over all I would still come back there. Had a great time and all the staff were superb!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jayf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

paid over £1000 pp and we wernt disappointed, food on tap, free mini bar, lobster on the beach and not having to lift a finger, plus consierge and much more. loved it and went back with more family.

the only complaint was the sound proofing, we could hear rain from outside the room and also if birds got into the hotel as its corridors were open and plus noises from passing passenger cars and other visitors. other than that really enjoyed ourself and the service was brilliant

Room Tip: room near the cajun restaurant facing the pool puts you at the center of entertainment, with a pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new westminster bc
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Beautiful grounds, building 18 is the best location. Best beach ever with snorkelling right off the beach. Friendly helpful staff especially Didi our beach waitress. Lazy river is great fun but watch those blue floats they are tippy, lost my sunglasses when I flipped backwards off the thing. Will be back.

Room Tip: Muuyal building 18 is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayjay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hr. Grace, NL
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just back from GSR. Very pleasantly suprised by the convenient layout of such a large resort. If you like taking long beach walks, this is not the resort for you. It has three smaller beaches which are nestled in between corral reefs. Snorkeling can be fair on occasion. We had about 3 of 7 days when snorkeling was fairly good. Lots of activities for kids. Good overall staff.

Plenty of loungers on beach and at pool. Food was excellent, even at buffet. A la cartes were really good, especially the Brazilian.

I found the reception area and main lounge bar underwhelming, although it grew on me as time progressed.

Overall, I would make a return visit to GSR.

Room Tip: Overlooking ocean is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was not my first pick while choosing a resort. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The lazy river was a blast and the rooms were cleaned to perfection. The entertainment staff were great and sociable! My only issue was the long cab ride to the closest town, Playa Del Carmen. We travelled to Playa a few times for shopping, bar hopping and sight seeing. This is a very large resort but we found the "party crowd" to be on the Maya Beach side.

Room Tip: Front desk was helpful when we asked to switch to a room on a higher level. Very accommodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkvasnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
23.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#80 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,027 reviews
148.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,877 reviews
18.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
21.8 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
7,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Km. 256.3 | Zona Costera, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
#11 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing