We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a big hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Visited Grand Sirenis for two weeks from April 3rd for a wedding. Location is an hour from the Airport and check-in for us was fairly chaotic, but once settled we had a lot of fun and will always have brilliant memories of the wedding we attended.
Rooms are large and spacious, but some are a long walk from the main reception complex. Booking restaurants is a challenge and whilst you're often told they're full when you walk past you'll see there are plenty of empty tables, which is a shame.
For me what the resort lacks is an intimate bar / pub which can be used in the evenings as sitting in the vast reception areas isn't the best experience.
Lots of positives for the resort, but with a little bit more care and attention this could be a fabulous resort.

Room Tip: we were in 28 block which is near to a pool which has music and entertainment all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,437 - 6,443 of 14,839 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Arrived late evening, reception was understaffed. Room we were issued was none of what we had requested. Dank smell, ground floor, Building 12.Next day, W asked for, and graciously received, a third-floor in any building. We got Building 18, closer to the beach and lovely. great to overlook the gardens and the jungle, unique animals and birds. Room very spacious, bathroom to die for (full Jacuzzi and state of the art shower system). Water purified, no stomach issues at all. Glorious, quite room. Pool nearby, but the balcony doors keep out the sound (if you prefer).
Excellent service and friendly deportment by staff. Loved the beach - snorkeling is fantastic here. A Mayan ruin right along the beach. Loved this hotel! Only problem - and I could usually work around it - were the very starchy supper meals, poor-quality beef cuts, moussy/gelatinous sweets, and limited and poor quality orange juice (Tang mix with some OJ). The breakfasts were impeccable. Coffee on the resort is not American style, be warned. Take your own if you need a strong cup.The steakhouse, El Rancho(one of the a la carts), was inferior for supper dining (poor meat cuts). The Brazilian was superb. Room service menu for the all-inclusive was very limited (hot dogs, salad, fries, that sort of thing). Excellent service and a fantastic setting made for a romantic, relaxing, absolutely memorable stay. I will be back to Grand Sirenis! The staff are impeccable, and that, along with the beauty of the resort, will bring me back as soon as possible. A lovely piece of Paradise.

Room Tip: Building 18, or third floor in any to avoid dank smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolyne909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just arrived home after 2 weeks at the Grand Sirenis. Checked in very quickly after a long journey, emailed the hotel before we went to request room near pool and restaurants as we knew the complex was huge and we had a lovely room in the Bacab block 2 mins walk from most places.Room was massive cleaned each day to a high standard mini bar stocked most days staff very polite and freindly they all work very hard so please tip them they deserve it. The pools are great, so was the beach plenty of sun beds we never had a problem getting beds any time of the day the food in the buffet restaurants was to a high standard coffee shop on site and a lovely ice cream parlour. The evening entertainment was ok the main show starts at 9-30pm and lasts about 50 mins we also did a spa package it was great but very expensive. A few minor issues we had the concierge spoke to us about the 50th special breakfast presentation which we refused (timeshare) we got notes pushed under our door every other day asking us to contact him the Al a carte restuarants was poor we tried the steakhouse first our soup was served to us only just warm then i ordered sirloin steak it was like that 1 minute sandwich steak i could not get my knife through it and we were rushed through our courses as it closes just after 10pm a few days later we tried the Italian our starter was served to 3 of us and my wifes starter arrived 15 mins later i complained only to be told the kitchen is right at the back of the restuarant thats why it was late we were all gobsmacked with the waiters reply then again rushed with our meal so they could get closed most of the Al a cartes are closed by 10-10-30pm also all the bars around the complex are shut by 6pm only place to drink on a evening is the Lobby bar 1 & 2 with no outside seating areas the lobby bars get packed with people with not alot of seats We had a lovely holiday great weather great location brilliant staff just needs some minor improvements

Room Tip: Try to avoid ground floor rooms as noisy through the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My daughter and i stayed at this resort from April 13th through the 19th.This was our first trip to Mexico. We had an absolutely amazing time. we stayed in the 1400 building on the second floor. We could hear people out in the hallways at night but it was nothing that was to bothersome. The beach was amazing. I had heard from others who have been to Mexico in the past that you have to get up early to get a spot. That was not the case at this resort. We went out everyday around 9am and got a nice shaded spot.
They had three pools, at two of them they had activities with music and the third one in between them was the quite pool. This is very nice if you have children. My daughter is 13 and the other pools can get a little crazy, but in the quite pool we did not experience this at all. there was also shade at quite pool and it was right along the beach.
The coffee and ice cream shops were amazing. Overall the food was good. It was our waiter that really made the experience fun. His name was Floriberto Reys (Beto) and he works in restaurant Tulum. . every day when we came in he greeted us with a smile and helped us find a seat. He was so fast and efficient everyday. I loved that he was always smiling and singing.
It was hard to get reservations to the restaurants we wanted. We only ended up going to one out of the three.
The only thing i had an issue with was the communication. When i checked in i got a map with so much information on it, (this is like your bible). I could not read it because it was in two languages that i don't speak. I wish they had something in English to give me. They also have tons of activities and themed dining and we were never sure about times and days on this stuff either. Eventually we did see the boards with activities, i believe there are three of them. Once you get the swing of things though, this is not a big deal.
We did not even leave the resort because there was so much to do there. Overall we loved it there. Super friendly staff, large rooms and a great beach is all we needed.

Room Tip: When you go swimming on the beach, stay to the left side. there is less rocks and its easier to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just returned 5 days ago after a 2 weeks stay with my family of 4 and my daughters boyfriend.
We found this hotel to be excellent , staff lovely and very hard working and always smiling, beach excellent and food in abundance. I cannot understand some peoples negative comments regarding the food as there was plenty of choice and variety everyday...

The themed restaurants of which there were 7 - 6 of which we ate in - the steak house and Japanese being our favourite.

The Concierge - Alberto- is the best sorted everything out for us including a small leak on the Jacuzzi bath , organising the restaurants and always had a welcoming smile and something to say.

If going on a trip we would highly recommend Xcaret and whilst there swimming with the dolphins
my girls enjoyed this having a 1 hour class with just 4 in a group.
(Primax 4 which included a meal in any chosen restaurant and the evening show- which was excellent)

Please do not be put off by negative people - please try this hotel for yourself as you will not be disappointed .

ps. Try the cocktail menu especially the coco loco, flying gorillas and iguanas - fantastic !!!
Well done the Grand Sirenis - The Westwoods x

Room Tip: The first floor is a good choice and if you can get the rooms on the south side these are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Westwoods2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Travelled as a family with three kids aged 10, 12, 14 via Air Transat Le Mirage package. We had a great time despite hotel not being a 5 star as claimed. I would put it at 3.5 to 4 at best.

Check in - takes a while but no issues. We arrived in the morning but were able to use everything except the room which was ready for us by check in time (3pm). Bell boy says he'll bring bags to your room in five minutes but he probably means 30 to 45 minutes.

Our room was fine and thankfully we got two double beds with the privacy glass between the washroom and sleeping area. The linens are really poor quality and well used. But our housekeeper Gloria did an excellent job of maintaining the room for us every day. The beds are firm but not as bad as I expected, but the pull out sofa was so brutal it was funny. You could feel the outline of the metal underneath. Thankfully our youngest could probably sleep on the marble floor and wouldn't complain so he slept on the pullout with no problems. But I think most people would not tolerate it very well.

The resort is very spread out so there is a lot of walking. If you have mobility issues you will likely not enjoy this resort. The shuttles are unreliable. We didn't need them but to give you an idea we would see three or four pass us in our ten minute walk to the buffet and then none at all for two days.

The design of the room buildings is such that the sound carries loudly. We were on the ground floor, but I have doubts that being on the second or third floor would have helped dampen the sound of revellers returning to their rooms at 2:30 am after the disco closed at 2. I am a light sleeper though, but had no problem falling back asleep after the partyers cleared the hallways.

Our concierge Marlene was polite and helpful and we spent about twenty minutes listening to her coworker give the invitation pitch for the membership presentation but we said we'd think about it and did not get approached about it again.

The beach is awesome and not as hard to walk on as I had imagined. We brought water shoes but only used them twice when the water was really churned and couldn't see where the coral was when going into the water. The water by the beach to the far left doesnt require water shoes at all. Bare feet and flip flops are fine for the beach itself. We refused to play the towel game and still managed to get a palapa or a spot of shade every day despite the resort being busy. A lot of chairs are broken though; the resort should replace them.

Food: resort food. Enough said. (You will not starve. As a mom of three, I didnt have to cook; +1. My kids didnt complain; +5. I will also add that the fruits and veggies are quite fresh.)

Now, if you're reading this to find out whether your kids will like this place, I can only tell you that my kids loved it. The beach, the pools, the lazy river, the ice cream shop, the snack bar at the beach, the iguanas, raccoons, capybaras, birds, the white cat by the activity pool on the way to dinner every night, seeing and feeding the fish on the beach in ankle-high water - they loved all of it and showed no signs of getting bored by the time we left. I was really worried about what we'd do in the evenings but after dinner all they wanted to do was hang in the room and watch a bit of tv before falling fast asleep by 10-11pm. They were go go go all day long so I didn't force them to stay up to check out the evening shows.

We found the staff at this resort to be great. All were very friendly and provided good service. A few were more attentive than others but we really have no complaints about the people working there, and was one aspect I really liked about this resort.

A few other things to note: coffee shop opens at 8am not 8:30 as it states on the resort map. No Mosquitos and not many bugs in April. Room a/c shuts off when you open the patio door. They make it pretty clear at check in to bring the towels or the towel cards back to the front desk at check out. We got 15 minutes of free wifi with our package but you have to use all 15 in one shot (not a few minutes one day, a few the next). We did not purchase any extra as we figured we could live without being plugged in for a week and even my 14 year old managed to survive without. The free tequila included with your Le Mirage package arrives in your room the day after you arrive so don't expect to see it right away. Activity pool was loud with lots of people drinking, twerking, and quite a few f-bombs so maybe not the best area for younger children or anyone with sensitive eyes and ears; other pools would be better. Unless you're up for a laugh, as many of the participants are middle aged folk. Yes, you read that right.

If you are very fussy or have high expectations don't go here as I don't think the five star rating is accurate and you might be disappointed. I consider myself not too demanding and maybe medium fussy and we had an awesome time at the Grand Sirenis!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2400 block, furthest away from activity pool, thank goodness. But close to disco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank memahmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Overall a great family vacation. Lots to do. Resort is very clean and the landscaping nice. Staff are knowledgeable and very friendly. We had fun with Omar at the archery target. Favorite is the leasy river.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
5.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
5.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
1 mi away
Camp Akumal
Camp Akumal
#4 of 25 in Akumal
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Km. 256.3 | Zona Costera, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#11 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: £142 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing