We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$467
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$335
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$403
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Que Onda(Akumal)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (15,369)
Filter reviews
15,369 results
Traveller rating
7,409
4,844
1,980
635
501
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,409
4,844
1,980
635
501
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy rivermayan beachhealth barice cream parlourel ranchohole in the walla la carte restaurantsfishfrosted glassthe lion kingtime sharewater circuitquiet poolbeach barmain buffetjuice barspider monkeys
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,409 - 6,414 of 15,369 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Well we're do I start... Was abit worried before we went with some negative reviews,but honestly go with a open mind,and you will not disappointed .Airport We travelled on the Thomson Dreamliner which was excellent,Cancun airport was abit unorganised,we had to fill out immigration forms and wait for a good hour to get through security,it's not what you wanted to do, after a 10 hr flight , but i suspose they we're doing there job..transfer time from airport was around 1hr, HOTEL ..... Amazing clean, friendly,the staff worked so hard,everything about the hotel you couldn't fault,the snorkelling at the beach was brilliant and the sea was clear,the lazy river was good,the air-con was great in your room,tequila volleyball was great,the food had everything for everyone,the rooms we're cleaned daily and your mini fridge in your room was filled,we only stayed a week,but regret not staying longer,... We booked to go to Xel-ha again amazing,my 2 children aged 17&11 loved swimming with dolphins,and the zip wire,the snorklin was better at the hotel,something they'll never forget. There was alot reviews about being harassed about time share etc,we never experienced it once,...would I recommend this hotel and return it's a massive YES !!!!

Stayed: July 2014
8  Thank Tonykel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was our second visit to the Grand Sirenis and it was every bit as good as last time. The weather was excellent, the rooms spacious, food good and the beach superb. The buffet food can be a little samey and the bar areas lack a little atmosphere but the hotel and staff really cannot be faulted. The evening entertainment was very professional and the a la carte restaurants are excellent (especially the Japanese!). The local wildlife seems to have got a little bolder, with raccoons and coatis regular visitors on the lookout for food. There are plenty of fish to see just offshore and the occasional turtle can be seen swimming near the beach so take goggles and a snorkel for an even better look.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor as there are better views and you are less likely to bump into a raccoon in the evening!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hola David W,

I am grateful for your positive review and your loyalty for the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya.

It is really important to us to receive positive feedback as yours, and I am glad to know that we exceeded your expectations during your recent stay with us.

It makes me extremely happy that you enjoyed the spacious room, our delicious food,the beach and that you appreciated how the entertainment staff works hard to make this property the friendliest ever !!!!

I thank you once again for commending us on that attribute. It will be always a pleasure to welcome you back at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya & Spa for your 3rd visit.

Joice Rivadeneyra
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Travelled as a couple for 2 weeks in May this year. Flight was ok from Gatwick on the new Dreamliner, long as expected.
The transfer from Cancun airport put me off coming back to this hotel unfortunately. It is basically at the end of the road and took over 1.5 to get to Grand Sirenis. If you don’t mind long journeys it would be fine.

Check in was painfully slow as they explain the same thing and go over the map to everyone separately instead of 2 or 3 couples at the same time for example. Overall, check in took probably 45mins, also took atleast 15-20 minutes for a drink to arrive at the front desk for everyone.

Room was lovely, ground floor right infront of the lazy river so was pretty central – lively pool on one side and beach to the other side so we was happy with that.

As we stayed for two weeks we had 6 visits to the Al a carte resturants, the worst one for us was the Italian on our first night. Table was for half 8 we arrived 8.20 and they ignored us until half 8, which would never happen in England there wasn’t even a hello, they just kept walking past us. I didn’t understand why they couldn’t just seat us instead of ignoring the whole que starting to form. Also we was first in line yet 2 other tables was served before us for all of their courses, I thought it was first come first served but obviously not.
We didn’t eat at the Mexican or fish restaurant. Our favourite was the Brazillian we was so stuffed we couldn’t move. Japanese was good, the chef put on a little show.

Buffet restaurant breakfast lunch and dinner was standard all inclusive hotel food, always found something to eat. The best night in the buffet was probably the oriental night once a week. We enjoyed the fish/meat counter where it would cooked fresh in front of you although the ques were long some nights.

The waiters in these restaurants should stick to their section and attend to everyone regardless of tips or not, one night we ate our whole meal without a drink as they kept by passing our table. We got one ourselves. The waitress’s at the bars of a night was very good, once the drinks finished they are straight back over asking if they can get you anything else. The cleaners do a good job, we had towel art on our bed every day he was very talented.

We done a bar crawl via Thomson which ended up in Coco Bongos, meant to VIP bla bla bla. We definatly was not! What a disappointment it was absolutely packed we was up on the top and once you are there you can’t move or you won’t get back in atall. That spoilt it to be honest, I couldn’t dance there was constantly people trying to get past, people are even standing on the stairs. I only managed to get one drink all night.

We visited the Dolphins through Thomson which was one of the best experiences ever, rip off though when you get there because not only had we paid 100 pounds each it was 50 GBP for one photo, so make sure you take money if you want more and the video etc.

We was hoping to visit Cancun nightlife a few nights of our trip for something to do as we are only 23 but the cab fare was way too dear as it was 1.5 hours away. If you are looking to be able to go out of a night most nights, this hotel is not for you.

This review sounds negative but we did enjoy our two weeks and did not want to leave, the weather was lovely even though it rains about 20 mins a day it needed it, was so sticky. However, we feel we could have found somewhere else to stay, better value for money and maybe more livelier.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The rooms were larger, food was better and had more variety and bars were more efficient than we expected. We didn't pay much attention to the shows except for going to the Lion King night. It's a lip-sync focused on costumes and dancing but they really do a terrific job. Rooms have a jacuzzi tub and great shower. If the beds and linens were upgraded they would be perfect! The best restaurant was the Brazilian but the Mexican was a close second. Drinks in your room and at the bars, coffees, milkshakes, snacks, the lazy river -- what's not to like?

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I never post reviews. My husband and I travel many times a year and have stayed at Sandals properties and Couples. I must say even though this vacation was a lot less expensive, it was honestly comparable to those. I debated posting this as I wanted to keep this hotel our little gem, but seeing some reviews on here I had to say something. The service here is second to none. No need to hold a tip out to get service or waiting forever in a line. Lots of staff and always service with a smile. The food was amazing and the rooms are massive. Everyone we spoke to went out of their way to help us if needed. We booked all three of our al la cartes with no problem. We even got a forth one. The pool was massive and there are a number of them. The ice cream shop was great. So was the lazy river and coffee shop. Taco bar was great. Trust me. You won't be disappointed. One of the best. We never return to the same place but I would definitely come here again. It was amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Leyanashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews