We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large resort, lots of variety”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Large resort, lots of variety”
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Stayed at the Grand Sirenis from 1 - 8 November, 2009 and had a fabulous time. We were booked to stay at the Mayan Beach resort but as that side of the resort is closed, we were put in the Riveria Maya side. To be honest, the two complexes didn't look any different so I suspect the rooms were identical. The resort is large with tons of things to do. We especially enjoyed the coffee house and lazy river. We unfortunately arrived the same week as Hurricane Ida made an appearance which brought lots of rain and very little sunshine but we didn't let that ruin our stay. We spent our rainy days at the spa which is a little bit of a walk from the main complex but the shuttle was always on hand if you didn't want to walk. Definitely try the water circuit. It takes just under 2 hours to complete and costs around $28 USD. The theatre was a nice option especially given the rainy weather. We really enjoyed the Lion King show. The rooms were lovely. Only used the jacuzzi once which seemed to take a long time to fill up .. 45+ minutes. We were a little disappointed not to receive the king room we had booked and wound up with 2 double beds instead. A little surprising given the resort was at maybe 30% capacity but not a big deal. We didn't bother to request a change. Enjoyed the towel sculptures left by the maid ... the snail was my favorite lol! We noticed a lot of condensation on the floor of the hotel room which made it a little bit slippery but if you keep the air conditioner running 24/7, it seems to keep the moisture at bay. Tried the japanese, cajun and brazilian a la cartes during our week. Our favorite by a landslide was the japanese. We all took our turn trying to catch the piece of fried egg in our mouths. Harder than it looks but good fun! We booked the scuba introduction at the dive center located on the beach. Our dive instructor Alex was very patient and made us feel at ease! We started in the pool getting used to the equipment and then just before lunch we were off to our big dive. Managed to see a sting ray which was very exciting for a bunch of scuba newbies! We booked only 1 excursion off the resort. The coba mayan encounter with Alltournative. It was awesome. You start by rappelling down into a cave. Then you kayak into the jungle and hike to a cenote where you can swim. You then zipline back out of the jungle to catch your transportation and are wisked to a mayan village for lunch prepared by the mayan women from the village. It finishes with a trip to the coba ruins. An excellent tour if you're looking to experience a variety of things in a short period of time. Overall I would absolutely recommend this hotel. We very much enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coop3767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,669
    3,594
    1,473
    459
    324
See reviews for
3,882
5,147
145
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,803)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

The rooms were very nicely decorated and had a stocked mini bar in them. Location was nice. We are all big on snorkleing so this was a perfect resort.
Food was good. We went to the Mexician restraunt, and the Japanese loved them both. We are really not beach relaxing people. So we went to Xel-ha on day 2. This was my 3rd time there. I love the environment. Day 3 went to Xplor and some went to Atlantis. Xplor is a must for those who like the adventure. Day 4 we spent on the resort enjoying the view and the pool. I have been to alot of resorts in this area and found the pools to be amazing at the resort! Thay are so big. Alway had a lounge chair, but the resort was only 35% full at that time. Walked on the beach at night (flashlight a must) there is lots of crabs out at night. I liked that they had shops set up a couple of times. so if you wanted to shop you did not have to leave to do this. We also went to Play del Carmen twice. The resort was always clean. Locked our room keys in the room more than once but the maids were always close by to let us in. We stayed in 1900 building, right in front of the beach. couldn't ask for a better view. All the staff was very friendly and got you involved in the activities. My husband who does not dance learned merangue by the pool.
Bell boys were amazing zipping around on there carts. I think they were the most fun out of the resort staff. They gave us the in's and out's of the area. We also went to yah-ku snorkeling, nice snorkleing but nothing else to do there. plus lots of jelly fish there!
They had a different animal each day at the resort to take a picture with. We got pictures with the monkey ( Pinkie) So make sure you check out the photo shop to see what animals are coming and what day. Pictures were $8
Overall the resort was nice. I am a pretty easy person to please so I have nothing to complain about. Afterall you are in tropical paradise so enjoys it!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RHadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We visited this hotel just after the swine flu saga, I must say my expectations were not only met but exceeded. This is a beautiful hotel with superb service, amazing food and everything you need for a relaxing holiday, particularly like the lazy river and the on-site disco.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FraserCR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion,Oh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

WOW!!! That is the first thought that comes to mind. We were at the Grand Sirenis 10/09 thru 10/17...and it was one of the best vacations I have ever been on. I've stayed at other all inclusives in Mexico, (6th time in Mexico), and this is by far the very best. Right from the time we got there until the time we had to leave. Like everyone else we were met with an ice cold glass of champange. Check in was the quickest I have ever had. Checked in and on our way to our room in less than 10 minutes. We met our concierge (Engrique), wonderful and very helpful throught out the whole stay. We were taken to our room, and our bell boy handed us a beer out of the refrigerator and proceeded to tell us everything we needed to know about the room. We then proceeded to walk around the resort..(and that's a lot of walking :-) ).. everyone there was just as nice as they could be, we felt no pressure for anything....
The first night we were given our 2 free shot glasses and the last night our free bottle of tequila. We did go to the little sales thing that they ask you to go to...I told our concerige that at 90 minutes we were done, and at 90 minutes the sales pitch was over, we were given our $100 and not one time did I really feel any pressure to buy.
We were given a free water circuit spa on sunday, and that was great....
We saw all the shows in the evening, and the actors/singers/dancers do a really great job. And it's espically funny to watch the audience participation part at the start of every show.
We did 2 ala carte restaurants..the steak and the japanese. The japanese was great..the show and the food..
The buffets were good too..
But the best place to eat lunch was at the beach bar..the wings were wonderful!!!!

The beach was really nice, with no problem finding a chair any day, and the same with the pool, no problems getting chairs, which I am sure is due to the fact they were only at about 40% capacity. It's bad for them economically, but nice for the guests.
As I read in other posts, by all means take bread with you when you go to the beach and go by the rocks.. throw a little bread in the water and the fish come out of no where!!!
As others have said the gift shop in the resort is a little pricey..($3 for 2 very small packages of chips), so shop at the little store as you go out of the resort, or go to Playa.
I have seen where other people have written about watered down drinks, but we did not have that problem..alcohol was good and drinks were great also. Go to the lobby bar and see Martin and get a Martin special...yummmm
We did tip waiters and waitress' and our maid..whether it made any difference in how we were treated or not, I couldn't tell you, but I know if made me feel good to do it, because everyone there is very hard working and deserves to be tipped.
We only had 2 problems the whole time we were there, our refrigerator wasn't working when we first got there, and I told them about it the next morning and it was fixed by that evening. Also on thursday before we left the toilet wasn't woking and within 2 hours after I reported that, it was repaired..
My only complaint is about the beer that they put in the mini bar, not so good.... :-)..but then it also wasn't a big deal because I could always go to the bar and get a drink or a beer.
The other reviews I've read about Grand Sirenis, where people complained about and were not satisfied with anything, can't possibly have acually gone to this resort. We will be going back next year and hopefully are taking 2 other couples with us.
If your looking for a really nice resort, with good food, awesome people, and relaxation and fun..definitely go to the Sirenis.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cherokeewaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We stayed in Grand SIrenis for just over 2 weeks. The room was HUGE, and VERY clean, and the maids came every day, and even gave us a new animal shape with our towels everyday... nice little touch. Balcony small and not private, but not an issue!
The Lobby Bar is very spacious, mix of comfy chairs and stools. Pool with swim bar is great, this pool is very entertaining, the sports team do aqua sports, games, salsa dancing etc, and music! They also have a quieter pool and a lovely beach, i would say walk futher along, dont stay near the beach hut, take water/coke from your room to keep you sustained till lunch as further on down found there were no rocks when going in to the sea, and great snorkelling! Take your own snorkels!!
The Hotel offer lots of included activities...archery, tennis, basketball, football etc.

Restaurants.... Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner, the lunch one is fab, found it was best food! The evening buffet changes as they do themed nights..oriental, italian, mexican etc, but only differs slightly to the normal buffet you would get on an unthemed night, but still nice food and the wine is ALOT better in the buffet than at the Lobby bar....tip..ask for ice in the white wine in the lobby bar...tastes alot better!!!
The Al a Carte's are great!!! Japanese, Brazillian, Italian, Mexican are REALLY good, Steak house and Cajun house....do not waste an al a carte on this! Meat is really bad, and its held in the lunch buffet room so not the same atmosphere as the other al a cartes!!
They also have a french one, but this is extra, a bit cheeky really but we tried it anyway! you may as well!
Also they offer >LObster and champagne on the beach! Again is EXTRA but OH MY it was wonderful!!! only 8 tables, all candle lit, 6ft away from the sea, lovely music, fab service and wonderful food, i have never seen a lobster so big!!

Other areas;
We did a few excursions; swam with dolphins, but you also swim with sea cows and sea lions!! fantastic. $199 per person! but worth it if you have never done it.
Chichen Itza.... considered one of the new wonders of the world, 2.5 hours away, was good to see, wasnt blown away, but also swam in Cenotes....they are incredible!!
Tulum; We zip lined across the jungle, had a bike ride, Mayan Mexican ritual in a cave, and swam in more Cenotes....this was the BEST excursion!! apart from dolphins!!
We tried to venture to Cozumel which is another little island, you have to go to Playa Del Carmen which has lots of shops and apparently good bars and the home of CoCo Bongo's club.....didnt try them but heard good things!! Then you get a ferry to Cozumel, we had a bad experience becasue the weather was awful, we got there, walked around for a bit and came back, but if you explore apparently some amazing beaches etc.
Akumel; is a MUST. 10 mins in a cab and you swim with sea turtles and the beach itself is just amazinnnnnggg!!!!

The hotel itself was nice, very clean, i felt the lobby was a bit clinical but apart from that was great.
The sports and Entertainment team were SO GREAT!!! the hotel has a theatre and they put shows on each night and these people work god damn hard! all day and then into the night, the shows are really good!!!! You should def get involved when they ask, you may not want to at first but trust me once they entice you, you have such a laugh and just makes it fun!! They are there for you to have fun!!!
The dancers are fab, they speak to you in the lobby so want to say a HUGE thanks to Laura, Jerry, Karlos, Marco, Velaria, Joelle, Sol, Eli, David and all of the others!! You must get up on the stage and do the Grand Sirenis Dance after they do the show!
Get involved and have fun with them!!

I would definately reccommend this place. And although it is all inclusive i would def say you have to get out and explore the sites!! there is no point in going all that way otherwise!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jemr_blueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We returned from the Sirenis on the 29th of October after two weeks we will never forget (for all the right reasons!). Upon arrival we were greeted with a cold glass of bubbly - much needed after a 10 hour flight and 90 minute transfer! Check-in was effortless and organised, our cases taken to our rooms for us.

The hotel itself is clean and beautiful. The beach is lovely, I disagree with all the people saying that you need water shoes for the sea - it's only a little bit pebbly ( certainly not rocky!) when you first get in but then it's sand. We're more beach lovers so we didn't really use the pool, only went to the quieter pool a couple of times. However, the main pool looked fun and eventful for those who wish to join in with water polo, aerobics and various other competitions like 'guess the weight of the watermelon'. The animation team work very hard to entertain the guests all day and night. Their shows in the huge theatre on an evening were brilliant, very entertaining.

The amenities were great. I used the gym once (I had intended to go every other day but my book and the beach got in the way of that one!) and it was fully air-conditioned with good machines. The spa looked great, we didn't use it but it looked very swish!

The food was fantastic. The main buffet restaurant (which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner) was varied and to a high standard. The El Rancho restaurant which used for lunch was great too, it caters for all appetites and tastes. The a la carte restaurants were brilliant, with 3 per week we were able to try almost all of them. Our favourities were the Japanese and the steakhouse (the top sirloin was HUGE!). We has room service too and that was included on the all-inclusive, the menu is limited but the food was still great and arrived fairly promptly after we ordered it.

The staff were fantastic. Excellent work-ethic and extremely hardworking and friendly, that goes for animation team, bar and waiting staff, concierge, reception, cleaners - everyone! Couldn't say a bad word about them.

Our room was great, nice and spacious with a big jet bath and shower. It was cleaned everyday to a high standard by our friendly cleaner Sara.

We've been on a lot of holidays and this was by far our best, it's our honeymoon next year and we don't know how we're going to top it after staying at the Sirenis!

i would recommend it to anyone; families, couples of all ages, friends - it caters for all.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiana
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

the only thing that wasn't perfect was the loong ride from the airport to the hotel. previous reviews warned of the ride (2 1/2 hrs there....1 1/2 back to airport). we always ask ourselves on the flight back to ord if we'd go there again ....the answer would be "yes".the health club was fairly far so we used the walk there as a warm up and then enjoyed (??) the exercise equipment for an hour. then we would walk back to the main lobby and used the internet (for a reasonable fee) and then went upstairs for breakfast at the main buffet.we are NOT fans of buffets but this one had a wide variety of foods and very tasty dishes for breakfasts and dinners.The grounds, swimming pools and general areas were kept in pristene condition and so was our beautiful room.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndianaLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
23.8 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#80 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,998 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
5.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,856 reviews
21.8 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#31 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
7,239 reviews
18.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#54 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
7,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, Km. 256.3 | Zona Costera, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Akumal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 948
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa 5* is an astonishing complex, situated on the Mayan Riviera, just 20 miles from Playa del Carmen, and 1 hour from the airport at Cancun. Is in a class of its own due to its spectacular design. It brings to mind the ancient Mayan buildings; but at the same time, a moder, minimalist style which blends perfectly with the luxurious natural vegetation in the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel And Spa
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach
Grand Sirenis Mexico
Gran Sirenis
Sirenis Riviera Maya
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing