We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16,819)
Filter reviews
16,819 results
Traveller rating
8,226
5,185
2,114
705
589
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,226
5,185
2,114
705
589
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river mayan beach ice cream parlour health bar el rancho hole in the wall a la carte restaurants fish main buffet frosted glass swim up bar the lion king time share water circuit quiet pool kids club spider monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
1,408 - 1,413 of 16,819 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018

My wife and daughter and I vacationed at the Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort and Spa which is also the Riviera Maya resort. It sounds weird and by all accounts, no one could tell us why is was that way, there are two different but attached lobby's with two different rows of rooms but when you stay at one but you can go to any of the other pools or restaurants. First piece of advise, stay at the cheaper and enjoy they entire resort.
We stayed on the second floor of the MAKAL building facing in towards the pool with a balcony. The room was comfortable and large, with an open style bathroom allowing the soaker tub to be accessed from either the bathroom or the bedroom. There is a frosted door for both the watercloset and shower so privacy isn't a terrible problem unless you're a teen with your parents. Yikes. The bed was comfy yet bouncy and the concierge stationed for each set of buildings was excellent unless you got sucked into talking about time shares. That sounds worse than it was, they just sent a few notes under the door and tried to corner us once, but really left us alone when they realized we wanted a vacation, not a condo sales pitch.
I saw into some "water view" rooms in our building and others (nosy) and the second floor rooms are the only view you get is the water way, off, around the jungle. If you want to see the water, you really have to be on the third floor.
The resort is situated in a jungle and there is wild life to prove it, We encountered Sereque's daily (cute harmless large rodents), Coati's (look them up, so fun) crazy bird calls and large lounging iguana's. And don't forget about the reef! Right off the beach is a beautiful reef teaming with all types of fish, turtles, stingrays and all the small fish you would expect. I heard some complain about the rough beach and rocky shore, but remember this is an eco resort and they haven't tried to turn the beach into a swimming pool with sand, they have left it for you to enjoy. People pay big bucks to see a reef like that. Don't miss it, there is free snorkel rental right on the beach. Bring water shoes and you'll be happy.
There was a shortage of chairs in prime spots because of the towel people...you know who you are, hold a spot you like while you're on your way to visit something else you want see. Each hut clearly says not to do it, but you really had to if you wanted seats. Of course, the resort was fully booked, and the Christmas break was apparently their busiest time. The pool nearest our room, 1 min walk, was very large with lots of sun and shade spots, there is a smaller buffet there for breakfast and after that there is a small snack buffet just outside the doors. It also holds the ice cream parlor which was a huge hit but was really the only place the dress code was enforced, we found that strange when it was basically part of the pool. Speaking of dress code, I carried all the pants I thought I would need for 4 or 5 a la cart restaurants but was chagrined to learn that I was one of the only men wearing pants, most were wearing t shirts and cargos. In the main building, between the two lobby's, sat the main large buffet. We enjoyed eating there, and have an 8 year old that loves to shop around for her preferred dinner. I found a nice selection of Mexican specialties that I have never had before and I enjoy that. I heard grumblings about the dinner being strange and too Mexican but I digress. Why leave your couch really? There is lots of burgers and freshly rolled pizza and fries and nachos everyday if that's your thing. But there is also sushi, excellent meats, and fantastic vegetables each day.
We never had trouble getting a steady supply of coffee/cappuccino in the morning and cervasa at every other meal . We did tip a buck or two each meal, but that is a cheap price to pay for what you want.
We personally found the a la carts less appealing for the family as we were never offered a kids menu, which we found out later they had. And if you've been to a Brazilian like Copacabana in Niagara Falls, don't think that's what is gunna happen here. Its good, not great.
We found the lazy river fun, except they had 25-30 rafts and there was a perpetual line up. We did find the beach hut with floaties and beer bubbas, hats and towels was reasonably priced and we grabbed an 8 dollar tube for our girl who then had her own way down the river without waiting. Speaking of prices, the kids art hut nearby was extremely expensive for something that could be run by the resort instead of local artisans. They charged 20US min for a small painting project, 15 us for a one colour string bracelet and hena tattoos were 30US min!
There is a coffee shop that made excellent beans, and would whip any concoction that you could imagine, however they didn't stock many pastries and always seamed to out.
There is a large quiet pool and two large party pools. There is a great bar staff that come by every 30 or so minutes so you never really have to leave your book and chair to quench your thirst.
Alfonso, Marciel, Oscar, Ronnie, Saret all made our trip special and deserved a kudos.
Over all this spot was fun, comfy and satisfied our need to chill with decent food and drink.

Room tip: Facing away from the lobby is quieter. The lobby hosts the sky bar and entertainment, both of which are loud until 10-11 pm.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank natestahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Hello natestahle,

Thank you for the positives comments you have published on TripAdvisor about your vacations.

We are glad that you liked our accommodations, the culinary experience, wildlife and the service and the amiability of our staff provided to you by Alfonso, Marciel, Oscar, Ronnie, Saret from the F&B department.

We have taken all your comments in consideration in order to improve the service in the future, especially drinks and offer the kids menu.

We hope to host you again very soon.

Kind Regards
Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Hi to all, Came here for xmas 2017, would like to thank all staff who worked hard making our holiday good, The hotel is a 3 star and no more the drinks are very poor but the food is average. Avoid the Mexican would you believe as this is dog food at its best. The pools are lovely but beach is awful . We stayed in block 2400 which was very nice and cleaned to a very high standard. Well done our cleaner and to all drink runners these girls work very hard so deserve a little tip. If you stay for 7 days you get 3 res Uranus 10 nights is 4 and 2 weeks 6. So the rest is spent in the school canteen. Ie buffet. If you do stay here please change your money before hand as it has the lowest exchange rate in mexico complete rip off. I have complained to tui about there reps and lies. Avoid coco bongo unless you want to spend 100s on a table. If I am honest and want to give any one advice . Avoid . There are lots better.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 2043nooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We visited April 2007 and are a Family of five with Kids aged 8,9,12. I do not write reviews normally however It has taken this long to cool down and write this review with a level head. When you spend a great deal of money on a vacation the hotel staff should be bending over backwards to ensure everything is going well. The concierge on the first day wanted us to attend a timeshare lecture. We politely said no thankyou and from there on they asked daily....multiple times. We ended up having to take an alternate route so as to avoid the desk so we would not have to spend another 15 minutes explaining that we are not interested. They then started leaving notes on our door to come see them. When we continued to ignore them they started not stocking our fridge with water etc.. so we would have to go see them to sort this issue out and then they could hit us up about the time share again. We went to the front desk so as to avoid the concierge desk and they said all complaints have to go through the concierge....

The other downfall of this resort is the drink service. You will wait at least an hour for a drink to be served to you on the beach and thereafter. We started having to go up to the bar and order directly.

You also have to pay something like 200.00 at check in for the safe that is already in your room to lock up valuables. Ridiculous. This should be included.

To the resort - People go on a vacation to relax and not be hounded. Shame on you!

Otherwise an ok vacation but we will not be returning or recommending this resort unless the resort focuses on customer service and not selling timeshares.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Jason1234432132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hola Jason1234432132,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya.
We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay.

I took good note of your observations regarding your problem with the concierge and discussed the issues with the various Department Managers in order to take the appropriate measures and avoid situations, such as you described.

I understand that is very difficult for us to earn your trust, but please if you give us other opportunity, I assure that you will receive a special attention and you will not regret. It will be a pleasure to show you the real Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Experience.

Kind Regards
Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Arrived Dec 29 and returned on January 5th. Had arranged a private transfer to the resort. Since thus resort is one if the last we got there in 1:15 vs 2:30 hr. Dint buy beer in airport for $5 usa wait and get driver to stop at gas station and get a 6 pack for that.
Checkin was quick. Our teens were given a room with a king bed so they changed on the spot. Transfer to the room was quick and we were pleased with the accommodations. We didnt book the a-la-carts and should have immediately. We wanted to join a big group of friends that were arriving the next day. They were VIP. Well that was a mess. Too many people and the concierge they had couldn’t quite figure it out. We went to the building 10 concierge Natalia, she was our saviour and very accommodating. She spent time calling and and trying to figure everything out. We ended up getting our 3 restaurants and then that night she personally walked us ti the Italian Restaurant and got us a 4th a-la-cart. I tried multiple times to give he a tip and she would not accept it. Natalia is a rock star!
There is an active loud pool and a quiet one also. The food is very good. We loved the Italian, Mexican and the Brazilian. Booked a fishing trip from the beach, good value, easy and caught fish. Nice bars to hang out. The beer was good and the liquor wasnt just cheap stuff.
What didnt we like? The pool activity schedule wasnt followed. If they said water polo at 3, well maybe it happened maybe not. That bothered us because we like to do stuff and would organize our day accordingly. The evenings didnt have much going on. Basically we played cards on our own because it felt there wasn’t much else. The gym is a ling walk and the carts dont come by much if you need them.
Back to positive thoughts. Very clean. Staff very friendly.
Thanks for a great vacation with our kids.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank networthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hola networthy,

Thank you for having chosen the Valentin Imperial Maya for your recent vacation. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we would like to thank you for sharing your positive comments.

Thank you also for bringing to our attention the entertainment program, your comments have been brought to the attention of the entertainment Management in order to improve the service of the pool activities. Regarding the nights I am a bit surprised because we have our disco every night open, nightly shows in our theatre and also singers and entertainment at our sky bar.

We look forward to welcome you back for a next visit at the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya.

Kind Regards
Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 week holiday at this resort over the festive period. We really couldn’t fault the place, amazed at how clean such a big resort was kept. The staff are really what make this place special though. Couldn’t have been more friendly or helpful! Great food with plenty of variety. Great private beach and loads of activities. Great value, great staff and a great service! Well done to everyone

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank 420stevec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Hola Steve C,

Many thanks for sharing your experiences with future travelers, we enjoyed reading your feedback and are happy you had a great vacation at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya.

Reviews like yours, are the motivation to keep in the good job; we will pass all your inspiring comments to the staff.

Warm regards and let us know as soon as you are ready to comeback; our great team will be ready to exceed your expectations again!!

Kind Regards
Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews