We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16,543)
Filter reviews
16,543 results
Traveller rating
8,052
5,115
2,098
698
580
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,052
5,115
2,098
698
580
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river mayan beach ice cream parlour el rancho health bar hole in the wall a la carte restaurants fish frosted glass the lion king time share quiet pool water circuit beach bar main buffet spider monkeys each block
Filter
Updating list...
1,130 - 1,135 of 16,543 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Not a five star hotel. On arrival room smelt. Said it was humidity and that they would get a dehumidifier. Not done. Then the fun begins. Noisy on a night from midnight till five am. Noisy disrespectful out of control Canadians. Every night We complained. They sent security every night the Canadians were rude and just said prove it. They moved us to another room only to be put from frying pan into fire. Not acceptable. Told Tui rep too. She said oh yes we know the Canadians are noisy. So the rep didn't do anything either. They kept wanting us to join the membership st a cost so we could get a. Enter too. Why should we when already paid a price to go to a five star hotel. The members were priority for the hotel booking the restaurants before anyone else so normal guests unable to get a table. On checking out we were told we could have the room free of charge as late check out for all the upset we had had. But only if we signed a waiver to say we would not complain. The room would only cost a tenner an hour to have anyway. They are very aware of what is going on but choose to do nothing about it. A very disappointing holiday where we just wanted a rest and chill we had one nights sleep out of a fortnight. On a good note the hotel was clean and the staff very good. It is management that need to step up. The food was ok average. The beach disappointing. No where to walk and rocky. The gardens kept well but maintenance on the hotel disappointing too. The pool areas were noisy again with Canadians although there are a couple of quieter pool areas so on the whole a very unsuccessful re,axing holiday. We went t Mexico two years ago and stayed in Dreams Tulum, ow that is a hotel. Will definitely not be returning to Grand Sirenis

Room tip: Be very aware very noisy at night. The members get the quiet rooms all rooms have safes but you have to pay extra in some
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Garlands4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, other at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Hello Garlands4,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your visit at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the efforts and friendliness of our staff as the facilities.

Please accept our most sincere apologies regarding your incident with the other visitors, its always disappointed when we cannot exceed your expectations, security staff works every day to avoid this kind of issue mentioned.

We hope that despite of this situation you afford us the opportunity to serve you again and demonstrate you how wonderful a stay at the Grand Sirenis can truly be.

Kind Regards
Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Sirenis from 16 to 23 January. We found it a great place with many great amenities and service. We stayed in the Naab block and our concierges Jacky and Jose were excellent. As well we had great service from our waiter Erik Romero Meza (Bayou Restaurant). Every morning and lunch time he found us a table and provided excellent service . All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.
A very enjoyable time and we will be back.

Kent and Janice Rowden
Calgary, Alberta Canada

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank kjrowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, other at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Hello kjrowden,

Thank you for sharing your experiene about your vacation with TripAdvisor community.

We appreciate your kind words concerning our beautiful facilities and friendliness staff, especially Jacky and José from concierge department and Erik (waiter). We will pass your comments to them and let them know they are doing a wonderful job.

We will waiting for you very soon once again in the Mexican Caribbean.

Kind Regards
Marco Mandoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

We were at this resort from January 13-20th 2018 and had a mixed experience. The best thing about this resort is the service provided by the staff. The service was great at most bars and restaurants. We tipped a few dollars for most meals and a dollar for every couple of drinks if we were staying in the same place. We had especially good service in the lobby bar from Clemente and from Samuel at the sky bar. They remembered our names and our drinks and even made sure they had the liquor we wanted at the bar. The beach and pool service was also pretty good.

The food was probably the low point of this resort for us. It was pretty bad overall, the buffets were horrible and the reservation restaurants we ok to good. This was about the worst food we had at an all inclusive and the first time we have struggled eating at a buffet on several nights. We at at the Mexican restaurant which was ok but not great. The italian restaurant was a little better but still just ok and the steak house was really good. The reservation restaurants actually had 1 or 2 things to order off the menu the rest was really buffet style which was different than what we expected. So while you needed a reservation there was still a buffet for some of the sides, salads, soups, and desserts. It could have just been bad luck or timing at the buffet but we just did not like the food at this resort as much as we have at other resorts with similar costs in the area. Even though we did not particularly like the food overall we did find the service at the restaurants to be great.

The rooms were nice and cleaned daily. We did have some problems with the toilet flushing, it would flush but only once every five minutes or so. Not sure why, it was kind of gross but not really that big of deal. We did leave tips for housekeeping and requested a few extra beers which we got most days. The beer is superior in the rooms and dos equis at the bars on tap. We had new towel art each day which was nice. I did like that they left a gallon jug of water in the fridge for us to drink. I do wish however that they also included a couple individual bottles of water as well. I thought housekeeping did a good job except on our arrival when we had a dirty towel in the room, but after that everything was clean and pretty well maintained.

One of the big fails with the rooms is the noise. You can hear everything happening in the building unit. The modern design is like an echo chamber and we were woken up every night by the partiers and every morning by the kids. We started shoving the provided robes under the door to try and block some sound and made sure the air fan was running and that helped some. It was mostly just people having fun and I'm sure we were those people some nights but I do think the resort needs to work on some soundproofing and work to reduce the echo in the buildings.

The vacation club will call early in the morning to try to get you to attend a celebration breakfast. We unplugged the main phone but forgot to unplug the bathroom phone so they actually woke us up two mornings in a row. Note to self, immediately unplug all phones on arrival to avoid the early calls.

The beach was just ok for us. Chairs are pretty deep and not enough space to have an ocean view unless you get up early or work hard at moving them around to jump in front of others. It would be nice to add some chairs to the secret/hidden beach and some services to spread people out more. I assume it's for turtle conservation but it seems like it could certainly be used more during non nesting season when the resort is at capacity. Snorkeling was good in the bay but the weather was bad when we were there so we did not have the best conditions to judge.

The pools were very cold due to the weather we had for the week. I do think these large resorts should heat at least one pool a bit for when we hit those bad weather days. I spent maybe an hour in the water the entire week we were there because it was so cool and cloudy most of the week.

Bottom line… would I come back to this resort. Nope, service and staff were great but I think there are better options in the area for the same price.

DISCLAIMER: I think that the weather did have an impact on our stay. It's not the resorts fault and we made the best of it but it's hard to be completely unbiased in the review because with different weather we may have had different experiences or enjoyed some of the facilities more. That is why I am adding the disclaimer about the weather and am not blaming the resort for it.

Room tip: Some of the high rooms do have ocean views
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank qwerty127684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, other at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Hello qwerty127684,

Thank you for write your review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you liked our grounds, food, room and the amiability of our staff, especially Clemente and Samuel, we will gladly pass on to them your comments and tell them they are doing a great job.

We appreciate that you liked our amenities in the room.

Regarding to the water temperature in the pools, these were unfortunately not built with integrated heating, the weather is the reason why this situation was totally out of our control.

Your feedback regarding the pool has been shared with our maintenance team. Rest assured that immediate corrective actions in all the areas you have highlighted have been taken in order to improve our service in the future.

Please accept our most sincere apologies regarding your disgust with the food, its always disappointed when we cannot exceed your expectations, and our cook staff works every day to avoid this issue mentioned in your comment.

Be assured that we will keep on working to improve our services and we hope that you will allow us another chance to restore all your confidence in Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya.

We hope you'll be back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

On initial impression the hotel was lovely, but when you start scratching the surface ,
There was bird poo on the sunbeds , can't see why they wasn't jet washed down everyday like the pool area was !
We were quite often made to feel like second class citizens as were not MEMBERS! They had MEMBERS only golf buggies , and then approached regarding becoming a member of the 'CLUB', by one of the concierge and not just once either, but whatever everybody should be treated the same, as my sister and I had worked and saved hard for a luxury Holiday .
The variety of food disappointing, breakfast was fantastic, dinner was always very badly cooked there was meat that was only fit to sole your shoes with.
Our A la Carte experiences were a disaster we got served pork that was all gristle and fat , and Beef that was still running around the field , the Steak restaurant was awful to I ordered sirloin and it was all gristle and fat .
On the plus side the staff go out of there way to help and accommodate your needs , beach area very nice kept very clean , and we also felt very safe and secure on the complex .
Another plus is the Dolphin Discovery well worth the visit.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank Lucinda1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, other at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Hello Lucinda1312,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya.

Concerning the cleaning we know that it is a very important category within an all inclusive resort, be certain we take it very seriously.

The cook team, would like to apologize for being unable to exceed your expectations when you gave us the opportunity to serve you. We have already taken steps to reinforce procedures and criteria and to give additional training to the staff involved in order to maintain our high quality standards and prevent similar incidents from happening in the future.

We really appreciate your comments and we hope you can give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards
Marco Mendoza
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at The Grand Sirenis for 7 nights 14th-21st jan, me, my daughter and my 3 friends for my 40th birthday!
We arrived on the Sunday afternoon and all I can say is WOW....such a beautiful resort and so big!! Check in was quick and easy and our bags were taken to our rooms by the porters on like a golf buggy.
Rooms were very spacious we had two double beds in ours, sofa,tv, dressing table, balcony with table and chairs, mini bar included in our all inclusive which had cans of soft drink, beers and water and was refilled daily!
The bathroom had a lovely jacuzzi bath and a walk in shower, towels were changed as requested and cleaning was done daily!
There are concierge desks at the ground floor of every block of apartments which I thought was amazing, we asked for an extra dressing gown and chair for our balcony as there were three of us in our room and it was brought within 15 mins! there were 8 a la carte restaurants you could have 3 for a 7 night stay and 5 for a 14 night stay!
We booked the Brazilian, the Thai and the Japanese they were all amazing and the Japanese was as good as one we have been to London! Deffo a must!!
Be sure to book these on arrival so you get your first choices!
You book these at your concierge desk and anything you need to know you ask here to.
Our concierge was Jacky and she was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble and she made us feel very welcome and she went above and beyond by organising special treats for my birthday that my friends requested and treated me to, when I returned to my room on the afternoon of my bday the whole room was decorated with balloons and streamers and a bday cake and animals made out of towels all on the bed covered in confetti i was overwhelmed!!
The buffet restaurants are also amazing so much choice, you can get an omelette cooked fresh in front of with your choice of ingredients, or crepes and it’s all lovely and fresh food, they had a sushi bar one lunchtime too!
And the guacamole is gorgeous!!
they have themed nights a few times a week, they really go all out then and decorate the restaurant, we went to the Mexican night and they had Mexican singers outside and Mexican hats you could have a picture with and again the food was amazing!
The waiters and waitresses are all friendly and attentive too, and it’s lovely and clean everywhere, they are always cleaning and tidying up.
There are lots of bars to choose from we loved the sky bar they have live singers most nights and it’s a good atmosphere and a lovely setting.
Ask for a scooby doo shot they are lovely!!
The evening entertainment is really good too we saw the Michael Jackson tribute show, brilliant!!!
And they had several others too like Lion King but we went to out coco bongos on my birthday which is a must do it’s amazing!!
Well worth it! You can book your tickets round the pool area!
Romeo the animation supervisor who was compere at the evening shows was so funny and a really friendly guy too.
The pools were all lovely and the daytime entertainment was also good, something for everyone, Diego one of the animation team was so lovely, he made us feel very welcome and was so funny he had us laughing every day and joining in the activities.
The beach is lovely too and there is a beach bar and a bbq down there so no need to leave to get food and drink!
Also AK disco (the nightclub on site) is worth a visit for a late drink and a dance it’s a laugh and you get to meet people there!
And if you need a late night snack the steak house restaurant is open until 4am and they cook you fresh burgers and hotdogs I thought that was so good.
We also went to the spa which is a really lovely day we used all the hydrotherapy pools and also had a massage, it’s not at all expensive!!
They also have a free dolphin show everyday and you can pay to swim with them.
All in all this was an amazing resort with brilliant staff!!
The best holiday (and birthday) I’ve ever had and I’ll deffo be returning and recommending to all!!
Grand Sirenis Thank you for such an amazing time xx

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
9  Thank claredavisx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, other at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Hello,

We really want to thank you for the positive impressions you have published on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at our resort; we are sure this has helped many travelers from Trip advisor community to confirm that our Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya is the perfect hotel for their vacation and birthday.

We are happy to know that you had chance to enjoy our services and facilities and especially you had a good time with us.

We are proud to receive comments about our staff especially Jacky from concierge department, Romeo and Diego from the entertainment team, we will gladly pass on to them your comments and tell them they are doing a good job.

We hope you afford us the opportunity to serve you again in our resort.

Kind Regards
Marco Mendoza
Assistant Maneger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews