We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect, perfectly comfortable”
Review of Las Casitas Akumal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Las Casitas Akumal
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Located a short jaunt down the beach from Akumal is this beautiful little resort. We had a unit on the second floor with an expansive palapa covered patio looking out on the the Caribbean blue sea. The unit was perfect, larger than we needed with a king bed looking out on the sea. A huge spacious living area with fully functional kitchen. It is a perfect place for a few a few nights or a longer stay. The units were cleaned daily and were spotless. The internet service which in Mexico can be a bit spotty was excellent. We walked to the town of Akumal along the beach many times during the day. Choosing to drive there at night. We will return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 9 days in mid-November. It was suggested by a friend who has been staying here almost every year for over 20 years. I cannot thank her enough. I have been looking for a laid back place, directly on the water, where you can lay in the sun or take a few steps into the ocean without tripping over anyone to get there. This was the place. Bring your snorkle gear or rent it next door. You walk into the Carribean right there at your casita and within a few yards there are coral reefs with all sorts of colorful fish and also cannons from 18th century shipwrecks. A bit further out and you are swimming with turtles. We never failed to see at least 6-10 each day. We even saw ells and the Spotted Eagle Ray. The location absolutely cannot be beat. Walking distance to several small thatched roof restaurants and bars that serve up excellent cuisine. The casitas are 2 bedroom, 2 bath and our AC would freeze you out if you wished. Maid service every day (she would take the better part of an hour on our place) which included washing the dishes. We had a couple of very minor problems, while we were there. We called the front office and maintenance was there with 5 minutes, literally. I simply cannot say enough about every aspect of this place. This will become an annual pilgrimage for us. Do not miss out. THIS IS THE PLACE !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wkfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Perfect Casitas, perfect beach, private. Lovely private beach away from other travelers. Best snorkeling. Clean, location location. Patio. Right steps from the beach. Incredible restaurants walking distance. Was able to entertain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SherriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed in #5 for three nights. The casita is very spacious with two bedrooms and two bathrooms; lovely wall of sliders out to a cute patio and quiet walkway to the bluff and beach. The staff was very cordial and helpful - we messed up the combo on the safe the first day and they quickly came over with the key! The private beach is very nice; loungers all claimed by 8:30 AM however. Easy walk to restaurants, but try to get over to Buena Vida - the view is to die for! We loved it here and heartily recommend the casitas.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank workfortrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Las Casitas is by far the best place I have ever stayed in Mexico. The location is perfect. You walk out your door and are steps away from a private beach. The patios are superb with the trees and flowers and views of Akumal Bay. Access to the grocery stores so you can make your own meals if you want or there are many really cool restaurants. The staff is wonderful. They will attend to your needs with grace and smiles. Las Casitas is THE BEST!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MtnManDanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A can not say enough nice things about this place. We are staying here the last week in September and so far our trip has been perfect. We have contacted the staff a number of times and they have taken care of our every need. They have arranged private trips for us to various Mayan ruins, etc. with total efficiency.
We are staying in Casita #3. It is a wonderful little home. Two bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. One room has a King size bed and the other has a double and single. The furniture is comfortable and the beach and entrance to the water is just steps away.
If you are considering a stay in Akumal, please give this place a chance. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank luv2travel2places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Started staying here every summer from the time my son was 12 years old to present. My son who is now 30 and had his destination wedding here. Condos are all unique from one another, original Casitas are 2 bedrooms to bath, comfortable and the water is a couple of feet away. Amazing place to snorkel and safe for young children since the water is so calm. Several places to eat in Akumal. If really looking for a place to get away, this is it. You don't deal with the crowds and commericalization of Cancun and now unfortunately Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.9 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#14 of 22 in Akumal
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#15 of 22 in Akumal
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#20 of 22 in Akumal
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Luna Azul Condominiums
Luna Azul Condominiums
#19 of 22 in Akumal
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casitas Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casitas Akumal

Address: Akumal, Quintana Roo, Akumal, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Akumal
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully furnished homes, nestled among lush private gardens overlooking the calm turquoise waters of Akumal Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Casitas Akumal Hotel Akumal
Las Casitas Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing