We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Snorkeling Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The great thing about this resort is the Snorkeling on the beach. Go to the North beach and enter there. We brought are own equipment which was a good move. I was told by others on the beach the wait to get the free snorkeling gear was over an hour and the hotel was not full. They do not give you fins we brought are own. Nice coral in the bay, sponges, turtles, rays and eels. We went everyday. Several days water was rough but if your a good swimmer it was ok.
5 Adults on trip. 3 did dolphin encounter right on grounds this was great to. All had a great time. Spa was very nice wife and I did it.
Good price for dolphin encounter.
The bad was the Italian restaurant. My son and son-in-law ate the mussels and both got very sick that night 5 minutes apart from each other. They both had the mussels. The rest did not they got sick we did not. You be the judge.
Rooms big and clean. Pillows flat.
Secret to good service is building Concierge call them for anything you want. They will get it done. You want mini-bar restocked call them, Extra pillow, more bottle water.
I will say a lot of choices on buffet restaurants. Main buffet in morning always had smoked salmon which is nice. Had grouper for lunch most days.
Watch out in town. People will come up to you and say they served you last night to get you in store, common trick. They look at your wrist bracelet.
Over all we enjoyed it very much but it is very hot. They need to air condition restaurants more at night. They try to go cheap on the air at restaurants.

Room Tip: Building 18 or 19 best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TomOrlandoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,234
    937
    350
    124
    110
See reviews for
971
1,207
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Gran sirenis hotel was quite simply the most amazing hotel I have ever been to. The grounds are immaculate, the food well above par and the staff were great too. A Big shout out to Max and Martin in the mayan beach buffet section they made us feel so welcome and even enjoyed a spot of football with my son which he loved. The beach is beautiful, full of fish, ray's and during our two week stay a group of turtles visited the far left side of the beach everyday which was truly an amazing experience for both me my wife and son. All in all it was the perfect holiday..
Sturgess family 2014

Room Tip: All rooms are great all noise from pool areas finish by 5pm the only noise you can hear comes from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Gerente at Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hola Sturgess family,

Many thanks for sharing your experiences with future travelers, we enjoyed reading your feedback and we are happy you had a great vacation.

I am happy that you’ve enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. Gladly I shared your lovely remarks to our team members, especially to Max and Martin who were pleased to be mentioned on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon and hope you will not hesitate to spend another wonderful vacation in Grand Sirenis Hotels,

Kind Regards from Grand Sirenis Staff,

Jorge Viñuela
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

have just returned on the 18th june from our holiday i was worried by the comments on trip advisor but all i can say is these people need something to and moan about i have been to mexico four times and this hotel was the cleanest of all our room was massive with a king size bed which we needed walkie talkies to speak to each other we were in block 12 which was a two min walk to lobby and pools we book in the mayan side but were put in rivera side which was much better close to everything plus all the young emericans went to the pool at that side next to the ice cream bar which i would have hated we went to the beach nearly everyday but the quiet pool was lovely and really big and quiet the food was fab as well and loads to choose from i dont care what anyone says but it dont matter where you go you always get sick of the food on the second week the entertainment did a fantastic job as did the waitressess i want to give a mention to my little sweetheart laura who served us in the tequila bar everynight the compex was quite big but you found short cuts to most places we were lucky because we were close to everything . we had a few spots of rain which lasted seconds but had two weeks of fab weather but as i said before you go on holiday to relax and enjoy the sun as long as my room is clean and the food ok you make your own holiday so ignore the stupid comments and enjoy

Room Tip: the best blocks close to everything on the quiet side are 10 11 12 we were in block 12 heard no noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The whole experience was excellent. Nothing negative to say about anything.we stayed there for a week from june 6th to june 13 th 2014. We were in building 25 hundreds. The room was excellent. I think any of the buildings are pretty good, with the buildings 25 hundreds and up closest to the ocean. Special thanks to Merary, JD at the members area, Marlene, fabian and Alan.Best of luck to them for their future plans. Would definitely come back in the future. Check out the painting person by the theatre who comes there when there is a bazaar and who paints on tiles with his fingers - pretty talented. The home made lunch during the Ek balam trip which we got at the cenote was truly excellent. Can still taste it in my mouth. The food at the buffet restaurant [ resort ] was ok but not excellent. The tour guide speedy [ omar ] for the tulum trip was excellent - very knowledgeable. A few constructive suggestions are as follows:
1. We took a half day trip to tulum and a full day trip to Ek balam / Cenote maya. We booked with the air transat representative at the hotel. When i went on line to check the prices with the same tour operators for the same trips i found that they were considerably cheaper [ about 40 -50 % cheaper ]. would like to find out whats going on with that. why is it so?.
2. Please aircondition the A la carte restaurants. If they are air conditioned it does not work very well. Liked the japanese and brazilian restaurants . A special mention that although my wife is vegetarian the staff were able to cook up some vegetarian for her despite the restaurants being mostly meat etc.Thanks for that.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room up on the 2 nd or 3 rd floor if possible so you are away from the noise of peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jessefromtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely grounds, lots of facilities. Lovely (if a little crowded) beach and although a couple of pools weren't to our taste, we found the one near the beach was perfect.

The rooms were nice enough and well equipped.

My main gripe though is the food. The food was woeful overall. I know that the taste of food is subjective but myself and my Fiancée are struggling to see how anyone rates it! I'll give them their due, the freshly made pizzas were nice in the buffet. However everything else was of poor quality, lacked taste and quite often the ability to recognise what it was you were eating. This is a buffet though, what was I really expecting. The A La Cartes would save the day...

Mediterranean - No feeling of being special, collect your own starters and desserts. A common theme. Bland, tasteless slop! The restaurant was just a room.

The Steakhouse - Worst steak I've ever eaten. Think I'm still chewing a bit of it now actually.

Japanese - Pretty good. Not amazing but decent food, cooked in front of you. Nice to have a bit of atmosphere and it felt like an occasion.

Brazilian - We have a restaurant here in Leeds called Fazenda. Similar theme. You sit there and they bring lots of meat to you. This place was so poor, they'd bring a skewer round the restaurant and cut a tiny bit of sausage or steak off for you. I was left with a plate with one fork's worth of sausage until ten minutes later when they would bring the next scrap of meat over. Oh and the chicken was inedible.

Cajun - You know those tinned hot dogs you get in brine? Cut those up and put them on some rice. No taste, felt like it had been microwaved (hotspots).

The beach bar was alright for a quick snack but the ingredients are of poor quality. Tastier than majority of the restaurants though.

Overall the restaurants were poorer than the buffet. I suspect because a lot of it was buffet food reheated.

We will be returning to Mexico again hopefully, loved the country, people and Akumal Beach is a must. No need for a tour, just get the collectivo down there and walk into the sea and swim with turtles, incredible! We will not be going to the Grand Sirenis though! All inclusive means food is a big part of the price and it was just shocking!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank JayHayNay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandrivieramaya, Gerente at Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hola JayHayNay,

Thank you for sharing your comments with all the readers, I appreciate your time and dedication as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.

I’m very sorry to read your comments concerning our food quality, it’s understandable that we can’t always be the best for everyone’s discerning tastes .We do have a wide gastronomic offer with 2 main buffets and 8 thematic restaurants “à la Carte”, with a wide variety of both cold and hot dishes to comply the expectations for all ages and nationalities and most of our guests find the service at the resort warm, polite and most of all, efficient.

We hope that despite of this situation you afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Jorge Viñuela
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The experience was great, we made some new Canadian friends for life which we intend to visit.

The resort was very picturesque, the facilities were clean and all the staff were friendly. We enjoyed the whole experience, but the food became very repetitive, bland and boring and the entertainment is less than desired.

We would highly recommend Coco Bongos excursion which can be booked through your provider, Xplor All Inclusive and Xcaret Plus which can be booked through your provider or through Cancun Adventure which is an independent company we used to save money.

These experiences were absolutely amazing.

We enjoyed our holiday to this resort all in all, but the excursions were the best part

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaun2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We 2 families went Grand Sirenis weak ago for 7 days and we enjoyed.Rooms are very clean service also very good.Breakfast is same menu but there is something to eat and Alcarte I like japaneese and mexican restaurent service very excellent and awsome food but cajun restaurent we had bad service.Kids they enjoy lazy river, beach and pool.Bar service also very good.Main language is spanish but some staff they knew english so we managed well.Shows we like circus.In buffet some staffs are giving excelent service.Totally we enjoyed and I recomand to others also.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arulsatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
5.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
2.7 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.0 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
5.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun-Tulum, | Zona Costera, km 256,3, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#11 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 456
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Hotel Akumal
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort And Spa
Grand Sirenis Mayan Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing