We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Akumal - The Penthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Reef Condominiums
Ranked #11 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Akumal
Boston
1 review
“Akumal - The Penthouse”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The Reef Condominiums in Akumal is an excellent place to stay and enjoy sun, water and underwater life. The Penthouse is beautifully furnished, with everything you need while on vacation. Moreover, when not on the beach or in water, two huge terraces allow for having great time outside, with a gorgeous view of Half Moon Bay or a jungle. This is a dream place we would like to visit every year.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piesek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodacre, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2011

My husband and I stayed in this pristine one bedroom unit for a week. Our friend stayed comfortably on the sofa bed by the sliding glass doors steps from the beach. The sounds of the Caribbean surf on the white sand and the sunrises were delightful. The condo is artfully decorated by the owner, Gloria, from her travels. Don't miss her Goddess mosaic in the bathroom. We shopped at the friendly pueblo nearby and the housekeeping staff cleaned up after us. Other evenings we enjoyed dining at local resaurants on the beach. The snorkeling and swimming with the fish turtles were a treat. We would return in a heart-beat and feel we were welcomed home.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dahlia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed in this condo at Akumal this summer and had an amazing time! The little village atmosphere is so safe, welcoming, and convenient. The condo itself, was very charming, clean, and comfortable. The condo is not only pristine and artfully decorated inside, but is situated right on the beach only steps from the water's edge. One of the highlights of our stay was seeing the sea turtles laying thier eggs on the beach under a full moon, right outside the condo. What a truly fabulous experience!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I have stayed in this wonderful one bedroom unit several times over the lat 6 years. There is nothing quite like waking up to the sounds of the Caribbean waves lapping at the white sand beach right outside the front doors. This charming casita welcomes the visitor with authentic and beautiful local art and quality appointments. The full-function kitchen has everything one needs to prepare tasty home-cooked meals - a nice change from eating out continuously. The unit is impeccably maintained - I've never experienced anything except squeeky-clean. The housekeeping staff is efficient and gracious, and seem to time their daily tasks so that you never see them come or go - magic! This is a perfect place to stay for a week or a lifetime!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We have been staying in this beautiful one bedroom condo for many years and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Akumal. The condo is thoughtfully appointed with personal touches by the owner including wine and margarita glasses! My first cup of coffee is always at the beach watching the breath taking sun rise slowly on the horizon. Then, there are the turtles in the ocean in front of me having their breakfast. We feel comfortable and secure here and the privacy of Unit A can't be beat. It's our home away from home every year for a month. One word to describe all: priceless!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chispa507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I have stayed at Reef A in Akumal numerous times because the location can't be beat, the property is well maintained, the price is extremely reasonable and the accommodations are comfortable and beautiful. I can't imagine a more perfect place for a vacation. The sliding glass doors open onto the beach where you can snorkel with turtles and exotic fish in the calm sea. It is exquisite! Reef A is well furnished with native art and artifacts. The owner, Gloria, created an amazing mosaic of the sea in the bathroom. You must see it! The kitchen is well stocked so you can cook your own meals after buying food at the Saturday/Wednesday outdoor market - or walk down the beach to many quaint restaurants. I love this property and highly recommend Reef A.

Room Tip: Reef A provides a prime location to access the sea and is comfortably and artistically furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teezol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We got into Akumal late in the evening, after a long day of travel. Since it was the offseason we had not booked a hotel, but being so late everything was closed. We inquired with a night watchmen, who sent us to La Bahia. The manager there, who was off duty, warmed greeted us, and made a room available at The Reef. The next mornning I was pleasantly surprised to see our condo was right on the beach. The condo was just right for a couple, and provide many of the comforts of home.

Akumal, which means turtle in Mayan, is a beautiful village/condo community far from the bustle of Playa del Carmen. It lived up to it name, as we snorkel with huge, beautiful hawksbill turtles just off the beach!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickclark73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.0 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#17 of 23 in Akumal
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Villa Morena
Villa Morena
#2 of 21 in Akumal
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Condominiums

Property: The Reef Condominiums
Address: Half Moon Bay | North Akumal, Akumal 77730, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront condominiums located on Half Moon Bay. Excellent snorkeling from own beach, and just a few blocks from Yal-Ku lagoon. Building has three 1-bedroom condos on patio level, two 2-bedroom units on 2nd floor, and one 2-bedroom penthouse unit on the 3rd floor. All have private balconies and/or patios, are fully furnished (including full kitchens—not "kitchenettes"), and include daily maid service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Reef Condominiums Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing