We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TRS Yucatan by Palladium
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tahoe, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort”
Reviewed 18 June 2009

4 couples traveling together. We got 4 Royal Cabanas on the river. Ages were 30s to 70s. We stayed 10 nights on this trip. Back in late 2008 we stayed in a Royal Jr. Suite for 12 nights. So I have 22 nights in the royal in about a 5 month period. The Royal section affords a no children setting within the pool, rooms and Royal only restaruant and bar areas. Being able to have reservations for any alacart restaurant any day is a great advantage, you don't have to stand in long lines or get a pager and wait for a table. Buffets are very good food on average, loved them for lunch. The Jardin restaurant is a Royal only restaurant for breakfast and dinner, no reservatios required, we never had to wait. They will cook just about anything you want, always steaks and fish and lots to choose from and if you just ask they can likely make it for you. Fantastic service here, lighting is a bit too bright for dinner. The alacart restaurants are good and bad. Really liked the Eldorado and the Mexican. Ribs and More was OK. The Italian place was not good for me, only the desert was good here. Chinese was terrible, walked out on cold bad tasting food and lousy service. The Brazilian BBQ place was very tasty, just so much meat.

The beach is beautiful, often windy onshore. I enjoyed the sail boats, tough getting out with a straight onshore wind and a narrow exit channel to protect swimmers. Once out the sailing was great. Watch out for the reef breakers, they are hard to see when outside the reef. Boats were in good condition and fun. The bottom of the beach everywhere I swam was rocky, water shoes were a must and even then I stubbed my toe more than once. Tons of chairs on the beach always easy to find one. Some hammocks. The Royal Section of the beach is at the extreme opposite end of the resort from the Royal rooms, you can get a cart there or take a long walk.

The gym is very nice a good basic selection of typical hotel equipment, never crowded in the 10 or so days I used the facilities. The steam room is not hot enough and needs menthol as it is just sweat smelling steam. Nice hot, cold and warm tubs here too. All of the spa and gym are included except massage and other treatments.

Alcohol was good in the Royal section, they kept running out of Beefeater gin, I helped but, it appeared that they were rationing it one bottle per Royal bar per day. Other than that the Alcohol in the Royal section was mid to high end stuff and better than most of the non-Royal bars. Pool side bar service was very nice, including fruit and sandwiches from the pool bar. The selection of beers was very limited. Sol almost everywhere, once in a while you would find XX and in the Royal Lobby Bar and in room mini bars there was one other that was darker and good in a brown bottle. Also Miller in a can. So maybe 4 beer types, which isn't great, as I like Mexican Beer and would have like to have seen several choices of Mexican beer.

The onsite photographer was really fantastic. Two gents that are brothers are fantastic to work with. They made our family pictures fun and the product was very nice, they went the extra distance for us. The quality was very good on the prints, even the large scale ones and the prices were reasonable for the level of service. They are in one of the gift shops.

The Royal Cabanas are nice rooms. One big round bedroom with a deck, large bathroom with jacuzzi tub, bidet and double sink, then an outside shower, which was fantastic. The deck was smallish but nice.

The Royal Jr. Suite was also nice, Jacuzzi tub for two which took a long time to fill but was very nice. Room for two lounges out on the deck too. Separate toilet room and shower room off of a large double sink.

Royal in room bars are nicely stocked with sodas, beer and few liters of mid range alcohol, vodka, rum, tequila, and scotch. Room service was good for the few snacks we ordered to have with cocktails before dinner.

The Royal concierge/butler, Angles was a fantastic help, worked so hard to make all of our trips fantastic times. Royal guests also get on call golf cart service to anywhere in the resort. Just call the royal lobby or ask any bell man or flag down a Royal cart and they wisk you away to dinner or the beach or what ever, this was nice when we were tired from long days at the gym and beach, to get a ride to dinner seemed quite decadent and fun.

The few problems are minor and the overall experience was stress free, relaxing and fun. I hope to go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Flyboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRS Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Dear Guest

Awesome! Sounds like you had a splendid trip here at Grand Palladium Resort & Spa. We have succeeded providing a memorable vacation.
Thank you for your feedback.
This information has let us know during the years to know what we are excelling in and what we need to work on and we can proudly show a new development with many renovated facilities and a generally resort upgrade.
We appreciate your kind words on our resort amenities. Our staff is always there to assist and make your experience even greater. It’s our hope to be able to exceed your expectations once more.
We feel honored that you would return and can’t wait to see you on your next vacation!

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,632
    377
    130
    38
    24
See reviews for
170
1,663
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I had stayed @ The Royal Suites Yucatan from May 28 to June 4 2009. The entire trip was excellent from start to finish. The weather was about 85 degrees & sunny every day. Due to the sine flu scare, the resort was almost empty & my wife & I felt like we had the entire resort to ourselves. The private lobby/bar, swimming pool, El Jardin restaurant, room service, & golf cart service where great perks! I forgot to mention that the Royal Yucatan is adults only, so it is very peaceful. The royal butler service provided was excellent & takes care of anything that you need. We stayed in a junior suite that had a fully stocked bar with beer, soda, water, & liquor, a 45 inch flat screen Sony TV, & a very large hot tub on our private balcony which was awesome & was used every night. All of the bars served strong drinks & never kept you waiting. The food was delicious. The El Jardin restaurant is great for breakfast. You can order just about any type of breakfast dish off of their menu & they also have a buffet & omelet station. For dinner we dined at the Japanese, Chinese, Brazilian (twice), & El Jardin, all of which where excellent & had excellent service as well. We also went into Playa Del Carmen one night & dined @ La Parilla which was also very good. The resort grounds & beach are both beautiful & well maintained. The beach is white sand & crystal clear calm blue water. We never had a problem finding chairs at the beach or pool anytime of day. The service at this resort is second to none from the front desk to bartenders, waiters, golf cart drivers, & butlers. They all work very hard & deliver prompt VIP service with a smile. I have been to the Palladium in Riviera Maya many times in the past; however & this is the first time that I have stayed in the Royal Yucatan section of this resort. I can honestly tell you that it is now my favorite part of the resort & I will stay there for all future visits to this resort. It’s like you are vacationing in a country club in paradise! I will definitely be coming back sooner then later.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mraudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRS Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, 25 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback regarding your stay at the Royal Suites Yucatan

We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience on our lovely resort years ago. It’s always a pleasure when our guests have a wonderful time with us.
We appreciate your kind tone and look very forward to welcoming you back again in the near future to show you the newest development and progress.
Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

I stayed in the Royal Suites in the first week of November 08. My overall experience of the resort is pretty good. I stayed there for 4 nights. We stayed on the building close to the lobby on the second floor overlooking the river.

Our rooms are very clean and thanks to our maid, Joan, who did a good job. She made different tower art everyday. We enjoyed soaking in the Jacuzzi on the balcony every night after a day of activities. The Jacuzzi is big enough for 2 people. I highly recommend couples to use the Jacuzzi since it is very romantic soaking in there and looking at the stars at night.

Try to at least stay on the second floor or higher if you want to use the Jacuzzi. On the first night, we stayed on the ground floor. After my husband turned the Jacuzzi on, he found there were tons of big red ants crawling into the tub from the outside lawn. After we switched room on the second night, we did not have the ant problem.

The reception and the drivers are very friendly and courteous. However, the bartender who worked in the afternoon shift is kind of moody. One negative thing I wanted to point out is the guy who worked in the activities center is very rude. The schedule for the archery game is from 10:30 am to 11:30 am. We arrived there at 10:35amm but the guy said the game was over which we did not understand why. He also acted very rude.

As for the food, IMHO, the food at the Whitesand is pretty good, but the food is about the same every day. As for Royal Suites guests, we are able to reserve for a la carte dinner every night. I enjoyed the most is the Mediterranean dinner. The meat at the Brazilian grill is kind of tough.

I would recommend my friends to stay at the Royal Suites and I will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank funtravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRS Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your friendly review. We are very pleased to have made your stay a special and memorable one!
It makes us happy to know that you had a wonderful vacation and we were able to live up your expectations! Thank you for sharing.
Your home away from home awaits you next time you are in Mexico, and show all the newest renovation and progress

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We loved everything about The Royal Suites Yucatan. Staying at that resort is a must. The food, staff, resort were more than you can ever imagine. We are already planning our vacation next year at the same resort. The only thing we had a problem with was the wind. Every day was windy. They told us that was normal for Feb. We stayed in The Royal Mayan Suite. It had a hammock on the deck that ran along a river. There was a Mayan shower which is outside but with complete privacy. At first it was hard to get use to but we did. We can not say enough about how great the staff was. Your wish was there command. We never had to wait for anything we asked for. Staying at the Royal Suites, you had the use of the other Palladium Resorts. All you had to do was go to your lobby and ask to have a ride to the other resorts and in no time you were there. When have you ever gone to a large resort and have a resort worker ask your name and everytime they saw you after that they called you by name? We would recommend The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium to everyone. We have gone to Punta Cana the last two years and Riviera Maya put them to shame. It was a great time. The very worst part of it was leaving Riviera Maya with the tempature at 83 degrees and coming home to 28 degrees. Pati and Steve

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pkrs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRS Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, 25 January 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for choosing us as you holiday provider. Thank you also for sharing your excellent experience at the Royal Suites Yucatan.

We are delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations. We are beyond thrilled when our guests have a fantastic experience with us.
Thank you again. We are so looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future to show you all the improvements and renovations in the last years

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

This resort was top notch in my books. Everything was clean, while the staff catered to your every need. The openess of the lobby and the other buildings make for a very inviting experience. The food wasn't as good as I expected but it still tasted pretty good (don't expect a lot of meat on the bone with the ribs). Overall my family and I enjoyed the seclusion from the rest of the resort while still being able to roam free among the other 4 hotels that were connected to it. Also the specialized restaurant and two bars just for the Royals suites was very nice to have.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CancunManiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRS Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Dear Guest

Awesome! Sounds like you had a splendid trip here at Grand Palladium Resort & Spa. We have succeeded providing a memorable vacation.
Thank you for your feedback. This information has let us know during the years to know what we are excelling in and what we need to work on and we can proudly show a new development with many renovated facilities and a generally resort upgrade.
We appreciate your kind words on our resort amenities. Our staff is always there to assist and make your experience even greater. It’s our hope to be able to exceed your expectations once more.
We feel honored that you would return and can’t wait to see you on your next vacation!

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
punta cana
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2009

first i like to say we compare this to the other resorts we stayed at in the carribean that is the iberostar tucan in the riveria jan/07 and gran bahia ambar royal punta cana jan/08 we r in our forties
likes
we were in cabana 7213 the pontoon boat does not go by this section so u have more privacy.the cabana was awesome !we had a male maid who left towel art everyday we left him $5.00 everyday and 2 for the mini bar.
the spa and fitness was the best we ever stayed at.
the grounds are beautiful!the disco was great.
loved feeding the fish from our deck and in the ocean they loved bannans.
disliked
the beach we were very disappointed,our first morning we walked to the beach from the riveria section down to the kenetah beach there were cups,cig.butts,broken glass.there is hardly no staff that cleans up .i can't believe that people can not pick up after themselves as there is garbage cans everywhere.the only decent part to swim in was the kenetah section as all the other sections was full of rocks and coral u still had to watch out for a few rocks in this section as well.but if u walk 5 min.to the left it was good.
we did not use the bali beds in the royal section as it was to shelterd and set to far back from the beach.
we did not use the royal pool as we r beach people .
this is a massive resort and u do not get to know the staff.u can in the royal section but it is to quiet for us.we prefer resorts that have 500 rooms compared to 2,000
we went to the secret bar one night and my husband said to put a little more vodka in he totally ignored him.i heard thet have to ration there bottles.this is not all inclusive to me.the riveria lobby the bar tender did not listen we wanted a hgh ball cosmo and he insisted on doing it his way martini style.
it would be nice if they added yoga or pilates to the royal section.as they did that in the royal at the bahia in punta cana.
we went to the riveria buffet mostly as there was more varity to eat.but the dinners in the royal was very good loved the grilled salmon.tuesdays r free lobster night if u like lobster.
bartenders weather it was the royal or on the beach they did not like making cappuccinos even when they see your tip in your hand.we did not watch the shows as the chairs r sardines together in a can.
overall this is a nice resort and beautiful.but we won't be back as we have been to better resortsalbertagirl01

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dshavingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We returned last month from a trip to the Royal Suites Yucatan by Paladium in Puertos Aventuras and it was an overall pleasant and wonderful vacation.

What we enjoyed the most:

Food: wonderful and delicious at all times but El Jardin for a late dinner was the best. The buffets were also good and there is so much choice that it is almost impossible to feel that you are eating the same thing all the time.

Bar: very wide choice of drinks and a very special and personal service at the Royal Lobby by Filiberto (always did a small "baila" while making my Brandy Alexander).

Transportation on the resort: being handicaped lightly myself, I must tell you that being in the Royal section and having transportation available at all time was a huge relief for me and I might add a necessity. The drivers of the carts that I called "Safary guys" were always nice and chearful, especially Pedro and Ricardo.

Concierge service: special mention for Marcel our concierge, we stayed in building 69 (room 6936) and his attentions were well above expectations. He even helped us on his day off when we decided to take the Colectivo to Playa Del Carmen, he was on the same one and was of great help to us. THANK YOU MARCEL!

SPA: terrific place, went twice but we should have tried on the first day because we would have finished there every end of afternoon prior to getting ready for supper.

What we did not like:

Having to pay 70$US for 2 lobsters (usually this is part of the all inclusive package in a 5 star resort) but let me tell you that after eating them, we did not regret it at all.

While going from one hotel to the other, we found ourselves often confused as to where we were (which hotel) because they are so similar. In other resorts we have been to, the hotels were so different from one another that it felt like visiting someplace new all the time as to this complex, it felt like we were always coming back to the same place.

Would we go back: Yes for sure in the royal suites section or very close to the Kanthena beach area.

  • Liked — Transport with the carts all over the resort
  • Disliked — Paying for the lobsters!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Gentille1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DtorAdjunto, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at TRS Yucatan by Palladium, responded to this review, 25 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your friendly review. We are very pleased to have made your stay a special and memorable one!
It makes us happy to know that you had a wonderful vacation and we were able to live up your expectations! Thank you for sharing.
Your home away from home awaits you next time you are in Mexico, and show all the newest renovation and progress

Best regards,
Grand Palladium Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akumal hotels
3.5 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
5.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRS Yucatan by Palladium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRS Yucatan by Palladium

Property: TRS Yucatan by Palladium
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#1 Green Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TRS Yucatan by Palladium 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRS Yucatan consists of 130 luxurious rooms located in an exclusive area within the Grand Palladium Resort & Spa in the Mayan Riviera. Guest may enjoy first class facilities that include a private lobby with a bar, exclusive swimming pool with Jacuzzi, unlimited dinner reservations at the theme restaurants, private bar with premium beverages, room service, free Internet connection, bar service to the pool sun beds and an exclusive restaurant. For adults only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your TRS Yucatan by Palladium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Suites Yucatan By Palladium Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Royal Hotel Puerto Aventuras
TRS Yucatan By Palladium Riviera Maya, Mexico - Akumal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing