We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely uncovered so explore away”
Review of Coba Ruins

Coba Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Cancun Combo: Xel-Ha and Coba Ruins in One Day from Cancun
More Info
US$47.99*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist from Playa...
More Info
US$115.00*
and up
Private Tour: Coba and Tulum with Lunch from Cancun or Riviera Maya
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Coba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coba (pronounced cō-bǝ) is an ancient Maya city on the Yucatán Peninsula, located in what is now northeastern Quintana Roo, Mexico. The site is the nexus of the largest network of stone causeways of the ancient Mayan world, and it contains many engraved and sculpted stelae that document ceremonial life and important events of the Late Classic Period (AD 600-900) of Mesoamerican civilization.[1] The adjacent modern village bearing the same name, reported a population of 1,278 inhabitants in the 2010 Mexican federal census.[2]
Courtice, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Barely uncovered so explore away”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a huge site and the parts that are exposed are a very small portion of what is there. It is a substantial walk so there are pedicabs or bicycles that you can be driven or rent There are also guides who will take you through and I think it is worth it if you are interested in the history of these amazing people. On par with the highest civilizations of their times they are one of the least known about Not overly commercialized and a lot quieter than other major sites ( Chitzen Itza ) it is well worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,307
    1,548
    196
    20
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“amazing archaeological site in the jungle”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I felt privileged to have climbed nohoch mul pyramid as this is closing to the public soon. This was a mysterious site, less well preserved than chichen itza and hidden in jungle in places. It is a very large site but easy to see the main parts in a couple of hours by which time in June/July it is far too hot! There are lots of hidden buildings, some of which were pointed out by our very knowledgable guide. I hope the government does spend money excavating this site but it would be nice to see it preserved hidden as it is and remain free of the cattle market of traders to be found at chichen itza.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Climbing the pyramid is a must do”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a very interesting Mayan site deep in the jungle. There's a lot to see here, the ball courts are very impressive. It's an interesting walk through the jungle to the pyramid, the climb is relatively easy but do watch your step especially on the way down. The views from the top are superb, the jungle canopy stretches for miles in all directions. The easy way back is to take one of the bicycle taxis. Keep a look out for the Mayan bee hives, the bees don't sting so you can get some great close up photos. We saw some wonderful birds and butterflies high in the canopy.
Try to visit Tulum and for the ultimate treat Chichen Itza.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Once a lifetime experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We got there early around 8:30am and went straight to the pyramid. The weather was warm already and we only got 2 hours for this attraction.

So the 4 of us rented 2 trikes (someone riding in the back and 2 passengers sitting in front) and it was the best decision. We were the first ones to climb up the pyramid. Climbing up was easy with or without the help of the rope. Climbing down was harder and scarier because it was so high. So I did it really slowly, trying not to look at the bottom.

I am so glad I did it. It was awesome.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The ruins at Coba are very spread out so I recommend you ride the bicycles or, better yet, take one of the bike taxis...we did and were glad. We climbed the temple and from the top you can see for miles in every direction. It is fascinating to learn of the Mayans and their culture. This is a must visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick_Sue1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coba Ruins also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Coba Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing