We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Mahahual”
Review of Posada Pachamama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Pachamama
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We first visited Mahahual on a cruise ship. We liked the small town feel and character so much we decided to spend a week here and look into buying a home. We chose Pachamama because of the reviews and were really pleased with the price and the fact that we could book online. There aren't many hotels in Mahahual and doing everything by internet proved a little challenging since they don't all have websites or utilize a centralized booking service. The owner of the hotel, Massimiliano Palli, is from Italy. He and all his staff are very welcoming and inviting. The rooms are small by US standards (unless you have spend a lot of time in New York City), but very clean, with decent bathrooms and wi-fi. You also have hot and cold water; not always guaranteed in Mexico. He doesn't really have a restaurant on site but does have breakfast for those who want to eat at the hotel. There is a great restaurant just a few steps away, Bar Kita, that is also owned by an Itailian. We enjoyed this trip so much we are already planning our next trip sometime in July or August to finalize our home purchase. We will definitely stay at Posada Pachamama again.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe room on the top floor. It had good views of the water and great ocean breezes.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxico75, Owner at Posada Pachamama, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thanks for your visit,was a pleasure for us
kindley regards
Massimiliano Palli
Posada Pachamama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Posada Pachamama
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed here 2 nights Feb. 8th and 9th 2013 and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. The rooms were just right. Everything was clean and tidy. Front desk kept us supplied with plenty of bottles of water for our beach time. They even supplied beach towels at no charge. Super friendly and a great price! We booked as a drive up surprise and saved money by NOT booking online. Weird!

Room Tip: We picked a room on the ground floor. The extra dough for the "ocean view" didn't seem...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bethbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxico75, Owner at Posada Pachamama, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thanks for your stayed
kindley regards
Massimiliano Palli
Posada Pachamama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed a week at Pachamama during the Christmas Holiday. We wanted to get to know the place so we requested to move rooms when we could. We stayed in 3 different rooms. We liked the ones on the second floor best because the breeze and view was improved. But all were nice, and the price was reasonable. Each room was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. We were happy with all three mattresses. The rooms were small by US standards but offered everything that we needed. The owner, Max was very kind and helped us with everything. The cleaning and maintenance staff were really wonderful and helped even with our laundry!
The only reason I give the hotel a Very Good instead of Excellent is because the town of Mahahual is not likely to be everyone's cup of tea. We had a really nice time there and met some lovely people. It is a cruise ship town which makes for a surreal kind of environment. The town gets really busy when the ships arrive then everything relaxes as the ships leave. It was very nice to see the place busy (i.e. locals making a good living) and then really fun to be there when everyone was relaxing after a long day of servicing cruise ship tourists.

Room Tip: we liked second floor the most.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucyandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxico75, Owner at Posada Pachamama, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thanks for you stayed
best regards
Massimiliano Palli
POsada Pachamama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Mahuhual is a funny wee town. It looks like it was once a bustling place, but as the weather has eroded the buildings, and the financial crisis eroded the capitalists that tried to profit from a beach side community, it has turned into a little town with a big heart.
We scoured trip advisor for days looking for a suitable place to rest and ended up choosing the Posada Pachamama, mainly because of the great reports, but also because the building looked clean tidy, and very well presented, in a great location, one block back from the promenade or about 100 feet from the water.
Checking in was a breeze, but be prepared to leave a passport or ID at the counter (I did struggle with the idea of leaving a passport after everything I had read about identity theft in US and Mexico).
The room was small, but a very nice bathroom, hot and cold running water, and good air conditioning for those like me that are built more for cooler climates! A tv is provided with extra channels, and free wifi in the building. The layout is simple, but very mini hacienda-ish in its design (very charming). Lots of plugs to charge phones and laptops also.
In the evening we dined at the best little restaurant on the promenade, called Barkito (I will try to review this also) with a really awesome menu, and fantastic value for money. All food is natural, a real bonus. So good in fact that we went back for breakfast too!
In fact, while we were at breakfast, a storm rolled in and blew everyone inside, along with a sudden downpour to rival the 40 day flood! We didn't think anything of it, but it apparently took out the phone lines and we couldn't pay by credit card because the machines were down. Same problem with the 4 ATM's in the town. As a result we did not have enough cash in our wallet to pay for breakfast.
Enter or very gracious host at the pochamama. He offered to lend me the 50 pesos we were short, and then sent me an email so we could pay him, as well as the room bill on PayPal. What a savior!
All in all,this was a great experience, and I would definitely stay there again for sure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiintheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxico75, Propietario at Posada Pachamama, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario fue un placer que se hospedaron con nosotros
saludos cordiales
Massimiliano Palli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stumbled upon this hotel by chance when driving through mahahual. Had a rather small, yet clean, ground floor room with no sea view but hey, who needs this if you have the mexican ocean and lots of beach clubs just at your door step. unfortunately the village seems completely dead in low season.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxico75, Owner at Posada Pachamama, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thanks for your review.
Was a pleasure recive you in our Hotel.

Best regards

Massimiliano P.
Posada Pachamama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My stay was very comfortable indeed. The hotel is very clean and well ran. Max, the owner, could not be more helpful with his guests. He is an Italian gentleman who will go the extra mile to ensure your stay is the best possible. Max more than went that extra mile when I had car trouble and showed what a truly genuine person he is. His staff are warm,friendly and very helpful also.
There is authentic Italian and Spanish cuisine at the Hotel and very reasonably priced.
The beach is literally 60 seconds around the corner, so very convenient.
I spent three wonderful weeks and would consider Max my friend!
Posada Pachamama Hotel is highly recommended and I will be staying again on my next trip.
Dean Patrick

Room Tip: Speak with Max should you have any special requests/ needs, don't be shy, he's discreet and...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanpatrickk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxico75, Owner at Posada Pachamama, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thanks for your review Dean was a pleasure to know a genuine persone like you.We hope you soon !!!
Best regards
Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Great central location to stay in Mahahual. Park your car and you can walk anywhere.

The rooms are a bit small, but for the price you pay and the fact that what else would you do but sleep, they work. We stayed in an upstairs room with a balcony and it was nice to have the sliding doors open to catch a breeze in the night. Best balcony room would be facing the east to catch the breeze off the sea.

The rooms are clean with a safe in each one, but we never used it. Plenty of hot water with a good size shower. Its nice to go and sit on the hotel's patio, check your e-mail and have coffee in the morning.

Great buy if you're planning to spend little money and don't plan to spend much time in the room.

Room Tip: Room with balcony is best.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunlovers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxico75, Owner at Posada Pachamama, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thanks for your review,was a pleasure recive a kind person like you.
best regards
Massimiliano
Posada Pachamama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
0.0 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Las Cabanas del Doctor
Las Cabanas del Doctor
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Pachamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Pachamama

Address: Calle Huachinango S/N | Downtown Mahahual, Mahahual 77976, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mahahual
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mahahual
Price Range: £32 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Pachamama 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guest,Posada Pachamama was born in May 2007 after nine months of construction, just like a baby growing in his mother's womb. On August 20, 2007 the Posada had to close because of the damage caused by hurricane Dean. In November, after several weeks of re-building we were open for business once again; ready to receive all of those who want to visit us. We remodel it again in 2013 with more details and amenities.We are in the middle of the town, just 20 mts far to the beach and you don t have to cross the street to coming there. In this area there are the most popular restaurant in the town. We are just 20 mts far to the public Health Center. Best regards Massimiliano Palli Posada Pachamama ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Posada Pachamama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Pachamama Majahual
Posada Pachamama Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing