We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great visit”

Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Mahahual’s premier ocean front dining experience. A unique cultural and culinary blend of the best of Mexico and the US. Our food, music and ambiance combine the tastes and flavors of both of these two wonderful countries. We are located on the Malecon right in the center of the downtown beachfront. We offer comfortable inside dining as well as tables in the sand, just a few steps from the beautiful clear Caribbean waters. Best food and conversation in town!
Alameda, California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, great visit”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our "excursion" for the Costa Maya stop of our cruise last week. Turns out it was our favorite beach and most affordable beach break we had at any of the four stops we made. The beach was amazing (there was some floating trash, but it didn't ruin the experience) even though we feared that the huge waves rocking our ship would make for an awful experience, Tropicante's beach it bordered by a huge coral reef which buffered all the huge waves and made for a wonderful lounging beach.

The service was excellent and the food very tasty. Try the ceviche, it tasted wonderfully fresh. Steve really has a great operation going.

It's a bit tricky getting out of the cruise terminal area as the shuttle buses will give you a hard sell and tell you the taxi stop is 2 miles away (it's not), but if you can negotiate a good rate, they'll drop you off in generally the right place. Beware of other beach club employees saying they'll take you to Tropicante.

We had two young children with us and it was a generally worry free day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    50
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“the place to hang out in Mahahual”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

great beach

great service

cold beer and wine

great food

we spent our time here on a cruise stop and glad we did. although we didnt have a reservation, Steve worked us in. he a great source of information. if your ship stops in Costa Maya, you need to visit the Tropicante

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stkdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent last Friday at Tropicante. Steve was great. He had our loungers ready when we arrived off our ship. We were in a group of eight. We all ate lunch and everyone had drinks. Prices were VERY affordable and the food is wonderful. The water is beautiful. Steve was very accommodating, checking several times to see if we had any questions or needed anything. His staff is the same. I definitely recommend Tropicante. Also, there were three ships in port the day we were there, but Tropicante was not overcrowded. I would make reservations to be sure you have a spot.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CruiseMarch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing day Mahahual/”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent the day at the Tropicante while in port on a cruise. It was a short day as we had to be back on the ship by 2:00. The taxi ride is maybe 10 minutes to the Malecon. This is an open air restaurant and beach club on a gorgeous beach. We had the best ceviche and delicious margaritas. The do not charge for the beach chairs or umbrellas, but trust that you will order something from the restaurant or bar during your stay. I had a massage right on the beach for 20 bucks for an HOUR. It was amazing and professionally done. The town is lovely and safe, the beach is beautiful, and it is close enough to the port for a short day. We hope to visit again some day. It was the most relaxing and inexpensive day of our cruise.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rombro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a wonderful visit at Tropicante. Not only does it have a restaurant, the beach is fantastic. Food is great! We ordered a lot! There was 25 of us and we all had a very good meal and drinks! Great place to go!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyLange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Tropicante Ameri-Mex Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing